Backstabbing in Beaujolais

Backstabbing in Beaujolais

Paperback(Translatio)

$12.95
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Backstabbing in Beaujolais 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
bookwomen37 More than 1 year ago
I enjoy this series. This is a quick light mystery. In this one the Winemaker Detective, Benjamin and his assistant are hired by a new owner of a vineyard in Beaujolais to insure that his new business venture will be successful. Other winemakers are not happy to have to have the outsider move in or to have the competition. There is an accidental death, vandalism, and murder. Benjamin along with making sure the wine is good also solves the crimes. The authors include a lot of wine background and do a very good job with French Wine Country Background. The mystery was OK, there are only a few suspects. This series does not have to be read in order. It is a quick enjoyable read.
InspirationalAngel531 More than 1 year ago
Title: Backstabbing In Beaujolais - Winemaker Detective Mystery 9 Author: Jean-Pierre Alaux & Noel Balen Translator: Anne Trager Published: 11-19-2015 Publisher: Le French Book Pages: 163 Genre: Mystery, Thrillers & Suspense Sub Genre: Cooking, Food & Wine ISBN: 9781939474537 ASIN: B016J0NXKI Reviewer: DelAnne Reviewed For: NetGalley My Rating: 4 1/2 Stars . Traveling to the Beaujolais region to meet with Guillame Perithiard A wealthy business man who has decided he wishes to buy a vineyard in Beaujolais where he grew up. He is pushy and wants to become a premier Vintner immediately without taking time to build the property back up. There is also the pesky saboteur who is trying to get him out before he even opens. Add in a murder or two and you have a cozy mystery to fall into. With so much going on this is a busy Winemaker Detective book. Again Virgile takes center stage with the investigation while Benjamin is away. His character continues to grow. Benjamin is trying to learn patience which he needs when dealing with Perithiard, a car accident and the vandalism. As always the writing of Alaux & Balen leaves you feeling you are able envision the scenic beauty of Beaujolais. So much so that you can almost reach out to sample the sweetness of the grapes. I look forward to reading more in this series and hope that Le French Book has plans to publish the remaining eleven books in the Winemaker Detective series. Beaujolais is the ninth book in the series, but can easily be read as a stand-alone. I can tell you though that these are addictive and you will be looking to read the other books in the series. On the positive side you will get to watch the growth of the characters from one book to the other. My rating is 4 1/2 out of 5 stars.
rokinrev More than 1 year ago
[ I received this book free from the publisher through NetGalley. I thank them for their generousity. In exchange, I was simply asked to write an honest review, and post it. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising] "An ancient Buddhist monk’s quote came to Benjamin. “‘ The human mind, with its infinite afflictions, passions, and evils, is rooted in the three poisons: greed, anger, and delusion.’” Benjamin Cooker and his wife Elizabeth are preparing for a trip to Hungary with their publisher to explore and savor Tokaji wines in their habitat. [We in the west call it Tokay]. However, Claude has brought his latest paramour, a woman of dubious background and a key to this adventure. Meanwhile, Virgile is in charge of the office and Alexandrine, the lab tech has been beaten bloody and in hospital, and being very tight-lipped over the perpetrator. He and a former school acquaintance whom Virgile believes is up to no good are forced to work together as Cooker has hired Dider to help with the office backlog. However, Dider has another agenda. The Hungarian trip has not been as wonderful as they had all felt it would be. The current Syrian immigration situation looms large in the story, and touches all the travelers. Everyone seems relieved at the end of the story, including the reader. I have read a number of this series, and have found the fast paced culinary cozies very entertaining. However, this particular story tries too hard. It also reads very much like a script: choppy and alternating between Virgile and the Cookers with little transition. This is a distraction to a regular reader. The wine region of Hungary has not been written of much in contemporary fiction. I learned a lot about that in here, even with the distractions of the other storylines. However, I give this book 4 stars over my usual 5 for this series.
StudentofParables More than 1 year ago
My day-job includes coverage of current events around the world. I had just finished reading Backstabbing in Beaujolais when I got to watch an in-depth report on the Chinese wine market, the high-end buying frenzy and the corruption crackdown. It was so cool to get a deeper perspective on topics that had just been introduced through the book! A new aspect for the authors this time was to incorporate time-skip and flashbacks, as one often comes across in today’s crime dramas. They started with the murder, and then jumped back in time to all the events leading up to the death. It added a layer of depth to my reading. I felt like I was actually a part of the action, looking at each character through an investigative lens, trying to figure out the answer before the reveal. And in my own personal standard for a great mystery tale, I was completely surprised by the twist! It was NOT the body I was expecting. I get a deep satisfaction out of works that I can’t immediately tell the ending, and this book – indeed, this series – has never let me down. Layers upon layers of intrigue! Murder on top of murder, crimes on top of crimes. I would think I had an idea of what would happen next, only to be upended by great twists. One other detail stood out to me in this work, the authors’ lovely defense of the police force and all they do, through the words of their characters. Even in their criticisms, they were understanding and praised the police for all they do for the communities they live in. This resonated with me deeply, as many of the aforementioned current events I deal with every day have recently been much less kind to the men and women putting themselves on the line for their communities. A great work! Excited for the next! I received a review copy of this work from the publisher through NetGalley
TheReadingWriter More than 1 year ago
“Beaujolais is a lighthearted wine that makes people happy.”
We simply cannot ever have too many novels from France here in the U.S. and the publisher Le French Book is trying to bring those novels, translated, to market. Especially popular among the “cozy” mystery set is this series of novels set in the wine regions of France by Jean-Pierre Alaux and Noël Balen. We learn a great deal about wine production in each one, and the stories revolve around the great passions that wine evokes in producers and buyers…

This episode in the long-running mystery series manages to end before the body count exceeds two, and at the end everyone still alive is moving towards a fulfilling career or marriage. It is meant to be as lighthearted and refreshing as the wine it describes, and, for those with an interest in viticulture, it succeeds admirably.
“…moderate consumption [of red wine]—one glass a day for women and two for men—can be good for the health: reducing your risk of depression as well as your risk of developing colon cancer… Wine has anti-aging properties. While consumption of other alcoholic drinks can increase a woman’s chances of developing breast cancer, red wine in moderate amounts can actually lower that risk. One study has even found that a chemical found in wine can improve your sensitivity to insulin. That means you’re not as vulnerable to diabetes…”
While I am not convinced by the one study that suggests red wine might make one less vulnerable to diabetes, I believe the other claims have more solid scientific results. But I was surprised, I admit, to learn ”You can drink Beaujolais early on, but the wines frequently open up three to five years after being bottled. They are precocious and aromatic, but round enough to have a lingering taste.
The story had the requisite homegrown local who harbored resentments against everyone, the millionaire businessman who wanted to bottle wine but knew nothing of the process, the gorgeously-dressed, slim, blond marketing wizard…you get the picture. One intriguing character, Benjamin, was a French wine expert who I could have sworn was British.

Beaujolais wines have a unique winemaking process call ‘whole-berry fermentation.’ The technique preserves the fruity quality without extracting tannins from the skins. The vintners in this novel considered “drawing out the vatting time and submerging the cap of grape skins during the maceration to enhance flavor and intensity, thinking it would preserve the fruity aromas and flavors while enhancing color and tannins. Who knows if it would have worked? They never got to try it, sadly.
“From time immemorial, [Beaujolais Nouveau] has been celebrated when it’s young, at the start of fermentation. Centuries ago winemakers traded early in the year, and the yeast would complete its job while the barrels were in transit, moving slowly by carriage or boat along the Saône and Rhône rivers or up the Loire.”Beaujolais Nouveau commonly goes on sale in November and is meant to be enjoyed before May the following year.


SCM More than 1 year ago
Benjamin Cooker and his assistant Virgile are back in another installment of the Winemaker Detective series. They have been commissioned by Guillaume Périthiard to help restore a wine estate in Beaujolais. Mr. Périthiard wants to become a major force in the region where he grew up. But not everyone is happy about his plans. Things take a turn for the worse when one of his new employees dies while out hunting. While overseeing the restoration of the vines and wine making equipment Benjamin and Virgile must find out who is behind the murderous attempts to sabotage Mr. Périthiard's business interests. Once again the authors have written an interesting mystery full of beguiling characters, descriptions of delicious food, wine and scenery from the French countryside. I can't imagine a better way to spend a lazy afternoon, than with Benjamin and Virgile traveling around Beaujolais looking for answers to Mr. Périthiard's problems. All you need to accompany this book is a good glass of wine. Thanks to Netgalley for allowing me to read this book in exchange for an honest review.
jayfwms More than 1 year ago
The Winemaker Detective is truly in his element as he is summoned to assist a querulous rich man in buying a winery and land, and developing a successful new wine. As usual, the reader is treated to lots of good information on the manufacture of fine wine. Sex and violence add intrigue to the plot, and more than one murder occurs along the way. If you've never read any of the books in this series, you will still enjoy this well-told tale. I have read all of the many books in this series, and I am astounded at how fresh the stories are and how the quality never slips.
VickiLN More than 1 year ago
This is the 4th book I’ve read in this series and I loved it as much as the others. It’s a quick read that transports you to the wine country in France. As usual, the characters are well developed and I thought it had a nice even flow. There are roadblocks in the journey to get the wine business going, some of the townspeople don’t want them to succeed. There is a lot of drama and a murder, and it all makes this book worth the time spent reading it. This is the 9th book in the series but it can be read as a stand alone. If you like books that take place in France, about wine or murder, this is a book for you.
MaraBlaise More than 1 year ago
Benjamin Cooker and Virgile Lanssien are called in to help a business magnet to kickstart his new wine business in Beaujolais. But this is easier said than done. And, soon someone is shot to death...is it murder? Seductive women, jealousy, and murder are the ingredients in this book. It starts with a murder and then the book takes us 3 months earlier and we get to know the history behind everyone involved as Benjamin and Virgile work with Guillaume Périthiard to get his winery working. Unfortunately, it seems that not everyone is happy with Périthiard entering the wine business and when he steals an employee from a rival the real trouble begins. I found this book actually to be very much different from the previous books I've read in this series. First it starts with the murder and then it goes back in time and we move to present time to have Benjamin revealing who the murderer is. Usually, there aren't that many suspects to choose from, but this time the book had several personal that could have done it, also the identity of the body is not revealed in the beginning so either one in the book could be it. And, the one that was killed was not the one that I had expected. This is a cozy french mystery book, so it's not much blood and gore. I find these books very nice to read between heavier and darker books. And, it's quite fun to read cozy mystery books set in France instead of England. A change of scenery is never wrong. I received a copy from the publisher and france book tours in return for an honest review!
Griperang72a More than 1 year ago
I am so happy that I got to visit the Winemaker Detective series again. In this book you will not find a lot of bloody graphics but what you will find is great characters, a murder, suspense and a whole list of suspects. You may also learn a little about wine and the area where it comes with, as with each of these books they are titled after a wine. It is nice to enjoy the descriptions these authors use in their story as it really makes the book come alive. I also like that they are shorter and quicker to read. In fact you could read this book in one sitting. This book is a part of a series but you should have no problems reading it as a stand alone. I am looking forward to the next book in this series.
libriamorimiei More than 1 year ago
I love more and more this series, the books are short but very funny and interesting with intriguing mysteries to solve, lovable characters, many notions about wines and their production and a wonderful region of France to visit. In this new episode we know another beautiful area, Beaujolais. Benjamin and Virgile leave Bordeaux to help Guillaume Périthiard, a self-made billionaire who has decided to invest his money in the production of wine. He wants to become one of the largest winemaker, although his wife would have preferred him to do a quiet retreat. He has visited a beautiful estate with some hectares of vineyards in Beaujolais and wants the advice of Benjamin to verify if it can be a good deal. This is the ninth book in the series but can also be read as a stand alone. I would love to see even the TV series, I'd love to see those wonderful places that Virgile and Benjamin have visited in the various episodes. It's the ideal reading for a relaxing afternoon, perhaps with a glass of wine.