Bambi: A Life in the Woods

Bambi: A Life in the Woods

Hardcover(Reissue)

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, July 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bambi: A Life in the Woods 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A wonderful book. If you think that you know this story because you have seen Disney's movie, think again! This is one of the most beautifully written books ever written. Every child should either read this book or have it read to him.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bambi: A Life in the Woods was a beautiful, but harsh story. When I was younger, I used to watch Bambi as Walt Disney's childish character who became king of the forest and lived happily ever after. But as time progressed, I realized there was a novel behind the tale. I wanted to read the book, and so I went to the Buffalo Public Library. I was facinated with the whole thing. I was horrified at times, as in when Man came and began killing everyhting in sight. But you must read this magestic tale carefully at times, it can get complicated. I have read many good books in my time, but I say Bambi: A Life in the Woods was one of the best yet. I rate it all five stars!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The original 'Bambi' by Felix Salten, is a story one ought to read carefully. Sure, you are free to observe the visually evocative surface of nature in the wild - what the author chose as his setting. However, to grasp the true depth of what he is saying - the words thought, & spoken, through his characters - reveals aspects of humanity one ought to think about. Among his most memorable scenes, try reading the scene toward the story's end, where the Old Stag speaks to Bambi about Him (the hunter with his hat fallen on the snow) who has just been shot. Or read the nasty conversation between the Hunter's dogs & the wounded fox. I feel, also, that Disney, although no doubt well-intended, failed to justify accurately what Felix Salten felt when writing this novel. The movie is good, however the story is better!
picolina on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A very heartbreaking story about the struggles of a baby dear out in the wild, Bambi is sure to expose your soft side.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the book Bambi a life in the woods!!! It was better than the movie!!!:)
Queen_Bloomfield More than 1 year ago
I chose this book because I had already watched the movie so I thought hey this might be easy  for my book report because I watched the movie and I am reading the book. I really liked the book it was cute. The only thing that was wrong with the book was it was sad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book when i was in 4th grade it had a different cover though. It was amazing I loved it! It told a beautiful story it told more than the movie. I'm hoping to buy this nook version because I don't own it. Highly recomended book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Even though this book had some sad parts, I really enjoyed it. At the beginning, it's all about the happy, calm life of a little deer in the woods. Towards the middle, it begins to get mysterious with more apperances of the Great Stag, and the end is wonderful (I don't want to give it away). Screw the Disney movie, this book is much better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is sad because his mother dieed but is a great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A white grey spotted bunny came in. "I am so sorry..." she said. Hopped off.