Battle Ready: Train Your Mind to Conquer Challenges, Defeat Doubt, and Live Victoriously

Battle Ready: Train Your Mind to Conquer Challenges, Defeat Doubt, and Live Victoriously

by Kelly Balarie

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Battle Ready: Train Your Mind to Conquer Challenges, Defeat Doubt, and Live Victoriously 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
CindiS 7 months ago
I confess that I had a very difficult time getting into this book. I had high expectations based on the back cover description. It promised to "make new habits stick in just five steps," yet there are twelve "mind-set" chapters. There a section at the beginning of the book that offered tips on how to use the book, and the very first tip was to NOT use it as a study guide. But each chapter (or mind-set) contains questions, scriptures to look up, blanks to fill in, and boxes to check off as they apply to you. If that isn't studying I'm not sure what is. While admonishing the reader not to expect change overnight, she states that "it actually takes 66 days to form a new habit," but in reality, the time it takes each individual is ... individual. It can take as little as 18 days for some, or almost a year for others. Which in retrospect is a good thing because it may take me that long to really work through the book. I read it once through without doing any of the study questions, and felt that it would have been better if it was read as part of a book study or a women's bible study. I know that for my own studying purposes, I envision more than one notebook being used before I would reach the end of the book... or feel like I had changed my mind-set.
Amaack 8 months ago
If there's one thing I've learned recently it's that I have more control over the way that I react to situations in my life if I take the time to prepare my heart a little bit every day for whatever I may face. It's not about knowing you're going to face a battle and then mentally preparing yourself. It's about expecting that every day might bring you a battle and you have to do a little bit every single day so that you are battle ready.  In her newest book, Battle Ready, Kelly Balarie has taken the time to break down what she calls the 12 Warrior-Mindsets. Each mindset is designed to help us change the way we are currently thinking about our situations. To reshape the challenges, troubles and even positive opportunities into situations where we can thrive. And all this happens because we've put the time in day by day to create a plan that lets us thrive.  As you work your way through these mindsets, there is space to work out what you're learning. Through questions and checklists and thought inventories, Balarie will challenge you to examine your current life. And once you've examined your current life, you'll be able to move forward and thrive in a better life. This isn't a pretty book to sit on your bookshelf. This is a book that invites you to dig in. To accept the messy parts of life and work through them.  Through each page, Balarie will point you back towards living victoriously with God. It's not a book that will prop you up for a moment. It's a book that will give you the tools necessary to continuously live your best life. No matter what gets thrown at us each and every day, when we can spend some time focused on the possibilities and ways God is encouraging us to turn to him, we live victoriously. Battle Ready will teach you, the reader, learn how to face the worst moments of life with hope. When you live Battle Ready, you're not going to have to question whether or not you are thriving in life. You will know that you are sitting in the palm of God's hand, and trusting His plan for your every day. I received a copy of this book from the publisher. This review is my own, honest opinion.
JLYoung 8 months ago
Reading the description I thought, "oh this is a book I need to read. Everyone experiences challenges, trouble, fear, doubt etc. I can really use this book". My very favorite parts of the book were the explore individually questions and then the explore in a group questions. It would be good for the explore individually questions to be completed before group discussion. I love that the book can be used alone or within a group. The questions are pointed and make you think about the material in the chapter. Examples are practical and real life. They help to make the points easy to understand. There is tons of how-to, scripture, it's like self-help does a dance with the Bible. It's definitely a book you must take your time to work through in order to get the full value of the book. I loved the questions to examine your story. Really thought provoking. The thing I felt would have made the book better for me was if there weren't so many lists. I get bored with lists and find myself jumping over the information. It's not that the information is bad, because it's not. It's the format that I do not do well with. I would have a much easier time if it was written in paragraph form with stories and illustrations spread throughout so it's more balanced. I really struggled to get everything out of the book because the lists were just so extensive. I had a hard time following the outline because of this as well. There is just so much information it can get easily overwhelming. Overall the information is great and very applicable. The authors voice is genuine. I love all the personal narrative. I received a copy of this book from the publisher. This has in no way influenced my review. All thoughts are my own.
thelegendarylibrary 10 months ago
I did receive this book at no charge from the publisher for my unbiased, honest opinion. This book is fantastic! As someone who struggles with anxiety and depression, I can absolutely see the benefits that this book will bring for many years to come. It is not your typical book that you read once and are done with it. This is one of those books that you can read and re-read, over and over and always get something new and helpful from each time. The author outlines 12 mindsets that we all at sometime or another get stuck and how to correct these mindsets to make our lives better. Each chapter is gives an example of how someone has struggled with that mindset. She breaks the examples down so they are easy to follow and understand. She goes over how each issue has different points of view (or mindsets) that you could view the issue and how each of those points of view provides different possible outcomes. It helps you to understand your options in similar situations, and since each chapter has an example struggle of the author or another person, it really allows you to relate to the individuals personal struggle. My favorite was the activity chapter. I think this is something that we all struggle with at some point. Whether it is listening to others or our own little inner voice telling us not to do something, we all have moments filled with doubt about undertaking something. As mentioned above, I have experienced both depression and anxiety, so this is perfect for those moments of doubt as a reminder to not only trust myself and my instincts, but to also trust in God who will get me through. She gives some great biblical passages to reflect on as well as some other helpful tidbits/reminders to reference. I truly feel this will be a beneficial book for many years to come for both myself and others. I highly recommend reading this book!
LLSadowski1 10 months ago
BATTLE READY: WOW! WHAT A BOOK! Battle Ready is a book that came into my life at just the right time. Bottom line, I cannot recommend it highly enough. Thank you, Kelly Balarie. Let me tell you a little more… Jesus Christ is the center of this book’s message. His love, grace and mercy lovingly flow over every page. I battled severe anxiety, panic attacks and depression for a huge chunk of my life (Thanks be to God, family, friends and a great medical team, I am doing very well now!), and The Lord reminded me within the pages of Battle Ready and through Kelly’s words that “[T]o get somewhere, we start somewhere, with a small thing, believing God, day-by-day, will take us to His somewhere” (pg. 103). I also was reminded of the following incredible nugget in God’s Holy Word: “Do not despise these small beginnings, for the Lord rejoices to see the work begin.” (Zechariah 4:10 NLT) This verse is now on my computer, keeping me anchored to The Lord. So many of us have wrestled with defeat, depression, anxiety and fear. Believe me, I know. But Kelly reiterates throughout this work that Jesus Christ loves us for who we are. We are His, and He is pleased with us. She illustrates through Scripture and spot-on stories that our true identity is in Jesus Christ and Him alone. “God wants your heart more than He wants your work” (pg. 55). For a recovering people pleaser like me, this is great news! Because of what Jesus did for me (and you) on the cross, we can live free from fear. Be sure and savor this book. There is a great deal of life-changing principles to take in within the twelve warrior mindset chapters. Read it slowly with your Bible open and your heart expectant. Marinate on God’s Word. Journal what speaks to you. And be ready to wear out your highlighter! You will LOVE this book! Guaranteed. **Full disclaimer, as a member of the book launch team, I received a digital copy of Battle Ready prior to release.**
dhiggins4 10 months ago
“Battle Ready” by Kelly Balarie is a great “how to” book to retrain our brain to approach our thoughts and problems with confidence and positivity. This is one of those books that really needs to be read slowly to absorb all the great truths in it. It is divided into twelve different truths. Each chapter gives an abundance of information for changing our thinking. This is definitely a book that I will keep on hand and go back and read again, probably slower the second time around! I recommend this book to anyone needing more help and confidence to conquer your fears and doubts. I received this book from Baker Books for my honest opinion.
Emily Saxe 10 months ago
This book gives amazing, real-life examples of how to prepare your heart and mind for battle against the enemy. From page 1 I was resonating with Kelly’s examples, and I so appreciate how she is willing to be vulnerable and honest in her writing. And she is certainly a challenger! Each chapter is packed with not only her own experiences, but ways the reader can be challenged and can grow through each topic. What I really appreciate about this book is how it’s very different from your normal Christian Living kind of book. Kelly doesn’t just share the context of struggle and preparation, but she gives practical advice and steps to move forward for the reader. If you desire to learn how to rid yourself of self-doubt and discouraging thoughts, this is certainly the book for you!
AmyWa 10 months ago
This book has a ton and I mean a ton of content. The author doesn’t recommended reading it all at once and I agree. This book is meant to digest a little at a time. Each chapters contains a strategy to help you battle in your mind. If you are looking for a resource to help you walk through renewing your mind, I would recommend looking at this book. The style is a little more workbook than book with all the tips so it might be worth glancing through it at your local book store to see if it is a fit for you. I was blessed to receive a complimentary copy but I wasn’t required to write a positive review.
mollymadonna 11 months ago
If you're craving positive, lasting change in your life, Battle Ready is about to land itself on top of the stack of items you can't leave home without. Kelly's heart for life change and transformation pour out of this book from the start. Her passion to guide and lead women to freedom and restoration in Christ is contagious...this is a book you'll go back to again and again as a resource and help in key seasons, and a companion to keep right alongside your Bible as you run after greater hope and authentic joy. What I love most about Battle Ready are the tangible actions and steps Kelly provides in every chapter. There are things we can do right now--today!--to move ourselves, our hearts, our lives and our futures toward the dreams we have and the big things we're called to in faith. Kelly's words are vulnerable, honest and welcoming. She is living out what she's written, and she offers her own stories in a way that immediately lends credibility and trust. As her reader, it feels like I'm entering in with a good friend. Battle Ready is the real deal, and I truly believe it will bring life transformation to anyone willing to begin. This is not a read it and forget it kind of book. It's the kind you want to share with the people you love, and one you'll refer back to for years to come.
Anonymous 11 months ago
The battles we face in life often win, defeating us in our mind. Negative thoughts and internal chatter lie to us. But Kelly shows us how to retrain and reset our minds so we are declared the victor. "Battle Ready" lays out a battle plan for the fight. Are you ready to conquer and walk in freedom?
Dragonfly1976 11 months ago
Battle Ready is written by Kelly Balarie, it is full of reminders, lessons for each and every one of us. What we think in our head often turns into action which can steer us in the wrong direction. Kelly gives 12 mind sets to give victory over any battles we may face. It's a book that needs reading more than once, because there is too much in-site to take it all in on the first reading. Have your highlighter ready, you will want to highlight many key points so you can return to them later to study.
Dragonfly1976 11 months ago
Battle Ready is written by Kelly Balarie, it is full of reminders, lessons for each and every one of us. What we think in our head often turns into action which can steer us in the wrong direction. Kelly gives 12 mind sets to give victory over any battles we may face. It's a book that needs reading more than once, because there is too much in-site to take it all in on the first reading. Have your highlighter ready, you will want to highlight many key points so you can return to them later to study.
SusanMB 11 months ago
“Battle Ready” by Kelly Balarie is an amazing read! It is so much more than a book. I consider it to be a Spiritual tool guide to be Battle Ready! I feel it’s essential reading material to equip us for the battles and discouragement we encounter daily. “Battle Ready” provides thought-provoking questions, lessons, action steps, key points, prayers, and biblical verses and truths, to live in our awareness and faith in Christ. Kelly Balarie walks the reader through real-life examples, the good, the bad, and the ugly, to help move us beyond where we are stuck and feeling defeated. “Battle Ready” is not a light read, yet it’s rich in wisdom, scripture, and faith-filled truths. It’s a book you will pick up again and again as you walk through various seasons of life. Kelly writes beautifully and with genuine honesty and vulnerability. She is passionate about equipping our minds and hearts with the Spiritual tools needed to face our daily battles. “Battle Ready” is an easy to follow battle plan with twelve mindsets to train and transform our thought patterns and actionable steps to live them out. We can reclaim our identity in Christ and live our lives in victory! Kelly Balarie has written an empowering and encouraging book that speaks to the defeat and soul-weariness we often feel. I am confident you’ll be blessed and love “Battle Ready” as much as I do!
Anonymous 11 months ago
Battle Ready is an amazing book that equips you with numerous ways to fight the battle in your mind. This book offers sound advice on how to deal with your thoughts by counteracting them with what God says. Battle Ready is a great tool to keep you focused on living a victorious life. The examples and stories Kelly Balarie provides lets you know you aren’t alone in the battle and that there are ways to fight and come out on top. If you no longer want to feel defeated and become a conqueror, then this book is for you.
DorisSwift 11 months ago
This book inspired me to make positive changes in my life! What new possibilities and limitless heights could we reach with God if we could just overcome defeating and negative thoughts and feelings? God has plans for us, but the enemy prowls around daily threatening to devour us, our purpose, and our calling. In Kelly’s book, Battle Ready, we find a proven battle plan against the enemy’s lies and practical steps to implement a strong, godly, and victorious thought-life and develop healthy habits that stick. Straight from God’s Word of truth, Kelly takes us through 12 biblical mind-sets that will help us overcome defeating and negative self-talk and lies from the enemy. This book inspired me to get off the couch and get back in shape! God wants us healthy and strong physically, emotionally, and spiritually. Battle Ready is filled with God’s inspired Word and Kelly’s personal stories of overcoming life’s challenges through Christ. We face a battle every day but we don’t need to face it alone. Grab a copy of this book today and it makes a great gift as well! - Doris Swift, Author of Goodbye Regret, Forgiving Yourself of Past Mistakes.
Debbie Kitterman 11 months ago
As a pastor and ministry leader, I know the importance of being “Battle Ready!” Kelly's new book is a power-packed resource of battle proven strategies! Kelly hits it hard from page one, but the end of the book holds my favorite chapters. I love the way Kelly is equipping women to walk in freedom, so they can move forward to walk in God’s purpose for their lives. One of my favorite chapters is: Warrior Mind-Set #9 Eternity – where Kelly talks about "now is the time for Jesus." We are called to be “do or die biker chicks” for Jesus, we have eternity on the line.
Anonymous 11 months ago
An arsenal to capture the lies and strengthen your faith. This book opened my eyes to thoughts and beliefs that held me down in fear and paralysis. Reading this book I realized how little I was taking my thoughts captive, and how weak my faith had become. "Discouragement makes us see what we don't have and forget what we do have." "If it is God's kindness that saves us, why do we keep speaking mean to ourselves." "I sowed the thought- I can't do this, I reaped an - identity of failure". This book has the most practical action steps to take your thoughts captive and to strengthen your faith. Taking action with the steps from Battle Ready has returned my confidence, energy and JOY, despite the storms happening around me. It has reminded me of the right focus and equipped me with the ability to push through the obstacles meant to stop me.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Kelly Balarie's transparency pulled me right in and her message become relevant to me. This read is filled with truth, scripture, life changing testimonies and jam packed with powerful heart questions that help the readers to coach themselves. The Psalmist, King David tells us in Psalm 62:8 to pour out our heart before God. Well, Kelly has provided a tool through this book to do just that. Take each question and bring it before God and allow Him to show you your heart and who you are in Him. The message of this book encourages the reader to take a close look at their thoughts and heart and discover the truth. The battle starts in our minds and hearts. It is time to get Battle Ready and be set free. John 8:32 says You shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free. I highly recommend this book.
GayIdle 11 months ago
In John 16:33, Jesus Himself tells us that we can have peace in spite of the fact that we are going to face troubles in this fallen world. But in spite of this, we go on with our 'day-to-day' existence unprepared for the battle ahead. The enemy of your soul wants nothing more than to jump into your weakest moments and ambush your faith, leaving you weak and exhausted and doubting the Lord's love for you. Don't wait for that to happen. In order to experience the 'peace that passes understanding', we need to be ready for the battle...before it occurs. In Battle Ready, Kelly Balarie provides a variety of biblical truths to begin to renew the mind, exercises to boost our hope, and habit-altering strategies to equip and prepare us to be ready to stand firm when the attacks come...even to experience peace in the midst of the mess. The hardest battle is the battle of the mind. In Battle Ready, we are given 12 biblical warrior mind-sets to overcome our own negative self-talk and to overcome the enemies lies. We spend so much time getting our bodies in shape. This book will help you get your thought life in shape and in line with God's will for your life. I highly recommend this book. It's not a quick read...it's more of a practical, hands-0n guide to walk you through the tools you need to equip your heart, spirit, and mind to be Battle Ready.
Anonymous 11 months ago
I’ve struggled with my negativity and thoughts, my whole life. I didn’t think I could change. After reading this book, all those lies were just that lies. With God behind me, I can start over. Lots of meat in this book and tips for changing our default behavior with thoughts, fears, and doubts. You will need to go slow in this book and digest all and ponder it all because there’s so much great stuff. I truly believe this book will change our lives. We want to change, don't we?!?
Anonymous 12 months ago
Just finished reading Battle Ready by Kelly Balarie! Loved every page. Game-changer. The author gives solid, practical, biblical wisdom framed as 12 different Warrior Mindsets that will equip us for battles of many kinds. Kelly unpacks each of the Warrior Mindsets with a generous helping of transparency, compassion, scripture, encouragement, and how-to real girl tips. Each chapter has great talking points, a summary, a prayer, and study questions that are perfect for small group discussion. This is not a one-and-done quick Bible study book to put on the shelf when you’ve read through the first time. It’s something you will want to dig back into and digest a little at a time. I plan to use it for my women’s group this fall!
KEShttlwrth 12 months ago
"A Woman armed with the power and protection of God can't easily be taken down." One of the best books ever! 'Battle Ready' is a practical, empowering, and encouraging guide that will help you to avoid defeat, discouragement, and face challenges. Kelly inspires us to shift our thought patterns and equips us with a battle ready mindset full of truth, love, peace and prayer. Kelly has so much love for her readers, followers, and God. In one of her recent post she writes "Don't ever doubt your ability to be the battle-answer to someone looking for someone: to save them." Like guys really let that soak in for a minute!!! I seriously adore her. #HeartToBattle #WarriorSisters
HarborBlack 12 months ago
I was blessed enough to be part of the pre-release and this book has changed me- through the life giving work of the Bible- and Kelly's ability to teach me how to recognize the attacks on my mind, target them and apply God's promises to fight them! I have never felt so free and excited about the good work that is happening in my life, now that my eyes are open to the purposes of my struggle. I am #battleready
MelissaGH 12 months ago
Totally outstanding book. Encouraging and uplifting. Be brave in sharing your faith. Don't let doubts interfere with living a life honoring God. Filled with insight and Biblical applications, this is a book for anyone with doubts and for anyone ready to learn how to be bold. I received a copy of this book and this is my personal honest opinion. No review was required.
SarahEKoontz 12 months ago
This book is packed with actionable steps, relatable stories, thought-provoking questions, and powerful, biblical truths. But I wouldn’t really classify it as a book, it’s more of a reference tool—a guide, a manual. It’s one of those books you stick on your bedside table and refer to often throughout the ups and downs of life. Kelly Balarie’s writing reminds us that feelings are not reality & God’s Word provides the only stability we need in a world that’s been turned topsy-turvy. As we learn how to focus in on God’s truth, we experience the kind of victory only He can provide. If you’ve ever struggled with self-doubt, comparison, defeat, or loneliness—this book is for you! Kally’s words teach us how to exchange limitations for expectation. She encourages and equips us to take small steps on a daily basis that will help us become bigger, better, bolder fighters. She offers hope for every woman, every battle, and every circumstance—because of who Jesus Christ is and what Jesus Christ has done for us. Simply stated, Kelly shows us a better way to battle! Here are a few of my favorite take-aways from the book: • God wants open hearts, not perfect hearts. • Small victories in everyday battles prepare us for the ultimate victory in life’s biggest battle. • Repentance leads to restoration. • What we nurture in our hearts fills our minds and flows into our lives. • Rest in God’s provision, rejoice in God’s direction, and rejuvenate your weary soul. If you only read one section of this book—read warrior mindset 12—it’s not about us after all! It’s about Jesus and all He has done for us. Once we can grasp this beautiful truth, we are free to battle courageously, and live victoriously. My only caution to readers is this: don’t try to read and apply the whole book to your life in a week. Your brain might just explode! Just pick one powerful truth to focus on at a time. Allow that truth to infuse your soul and invest time and energy into applying it to your everyday life. Once you feel confident you’ve “got it down,” return to Kelly’s words and find another truth to focus on. **I received an advanced copy from the publisher for review purposes