Beach Music

Beach Music

by Pat Conroy

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Beach Music 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 176 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
it is so good that you will want to read it again and again through the years. One read and my paperback has fallen apart. I related well to the times and the characters could have been any number of friends from my past. I confess that on my visits this summer to the Beaufort/Fripp Isl area this summer I looked around wondering if some of my characters were around and when I saw the protected turtle nest areas I smiled. Obviously this book does not need my applause but I could not resist sharing my enthusiasm and advice. Thank you for giving me hours of escape and enjoyment Mr. Conroy!
LeapingLissy More than 1 year ago
I completely agree with the comment about getting the hardcover version of this book - my paperback copy is falling apart. Conroy's writing style is beautiful, the plot is engaging, and the characters are described in such depth, it's as if I was right there with them. Love this book!
Kevin Mitchell More than 1 year ago
This was quite possibly the best book I have ever read. The characters seemed so real and I could completely relate to the family and the relationships between them all. Definitely a must read. The first chapter is beautiful-simply put.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best works of fiction that I've ever read. Pat Conroy's use of the language is beautiful and very memorable. I've given this book as a gift many times and everyone is moved by the story. Buy the hardcover for your library as you will want to read this again and again. Buy several copies as you will want to share this with everyone! Don't forget to read his other books, too ! They are all exceptional. I can't wait until "South of Broad" is released.
porggie1 More than 1 year ago
very good read. hard to put down. Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am so glad a friend introduced me to Pat Conroy. Beach Music is every bit as good as South of Broad. Funny, poignant, sad, exhilarating. Deals with lots of controversial topics. Hate for it to end!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was surprised I had not heard of this Pat Conroy book before. I wasn'sure in the beginning if I would like; the conversations were a bit too snappy like a bad detective story. Four boyhood friends along with two girls and how their lives are so connected. Of course they grow up on the coast of South Carolina which seems to have the power to bind them together forever. So many different characters with unusual personalities, you just can't stop reading to see what will happen next. A lot seemed a bit far fetched, but overall a good read. JDL 05/24/18
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books that I have ever read. Hard to put it down.
SAB48 More than 1 year ago
I would recommend anything by Pat conroy & Beach Music is no exception! The story unfolds into story that touches your soul & doesn't let you go. If you have read or not read any of his other works this one will not disappoint you, a haunting story you can't put down.
Karen Johnson More than 1 year ago
I truly believe that Pat Conroy is the master of southern writing. I have read all of his books and I have never been disappointed. Take time to read this book so you can absorb all the words and the characters. No one has a writing style like Pat Conroy. You won't be disappointed!
Nookhooked556 More than 1 year ago
This was the first novel by Pat Conroy that I read & it has stayed with me since then. The characters & locales come alive in a great tale of family, friendship, heartache, forgiveness & love. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm still not sure how I've managed to not read anything by Pat Conroy at this point in my life, but here I am having finished my first novel of his, Beach Music, and I now want to read every word he has ever put on paper. The characters were developed at a steady pace and the plots were very well thought out. As the book goes on and the characters backstories' are only eluded to and not fully described, I began to think everything would be wrapped up in a hurry with only a hint of real resolution. But while the ending was quick, it was plausable. You feel for the characters and what they went through. You forget it's a third party telling of the story and you begin to imagine yourself right there along with everyone else. It's a really fantastic read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very intense and powerful emotions in this book. The characters have endured terrible tragedies but displayed the stregnth of the human spirit.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If I were to be stranded on an island and could take just one book, Beach Music is the one I would choose. Like others have expressed before me, I have read and reread Beach Music. Each time I discover something new. Conroy makes magic when he writes, and this is his best so far. Yes, Beach Music would be my one book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Years ago, I tried to read Prince of Tides and was bothered by some of the subject matter. I was very young and it disturbed me. Since then, I have been hesitant to read any of Mr Conroy's other books. However, he is one of my boss's favorite authors so I thought I'd give him another try. AM I glad I did!!!! This book was sooooo good I didn't want to put it down. The characters are so richly described and the characterization of the South is perfect!!!! I would definitely recommend this book to everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed Prince of Tides years ago, and decided at that time to read more of Mr. Conroy's work... and Beach Music is absolutely excellent! I found myself rereading some parts occasionally to get the full effect of his beautiful descriptions. This book was enjoyable from beginning to end. The characters are so real, and the family dysfunction so true to form. At times I laughed out loud, at times I cried. Other times my mouth watered at his savory descriptions of food. I would recommend this book to anyone, and plan on buying a copy or two as gifts.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Pat Conroy uses beautiful diction throughout this novel. I enjoyed reading it and every page was never a waste of time. It's amazing how he combines all these different times without making the reader confused. He taught me a valuable lesson No matter how far you go, you can never escape family. He gives everybody hope and lets us all know that no matter what, we can allways look forward to a better tomorrow.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I have ever read!!! I loved the family and all the crazy personalities. The family's unconditional love for one another through good and bad takes you through every emotion known. I laughed til I cried, and cried til my eyes were red. Pat Conroy continues to write books full of 'life'. This is a great read with a family worth knowing, a mother with incredible spirit - by the books end I wanted to be a member of this family. I have recommended this story many times & everyone loved it! The audio version is just as good. Enoy!
Anonymous 4 days ago
i did really enjoy most of the book. maybe a little too drawn out and in some places repetitive. there are books i would read again somewhere down the road, this is not one of them.
readingrat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
For the first third of this book it felt like it could be a (rather lame) sequel to Prince of Tides - different characters, same themes. Eventually though the author began to allow the story to take its own shape and that's when it really started to shine.
Schmerguls on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As usual, Pat Conroy displays a rabidly dysfunctional family, based in Waterford, South Carolina. Jack McCall born to a drunken father and a weird mother, who had a horrid childhood, has four brothers,one of whom is crazy at times. Conroy weaves a tale about these people and those who come in touch with them, which manages to say much about the Vietnam divisions in the US, and the Holocaust horror--based on fact or imagination? The book is 800 pages and frankly I think is too long, and a lot of the hagiographical stuff about Leah, Jack's daughter, could have been spared the reader. There are episodes whch are of high interest, but there is an excess of foul language at times and it is hard to believe the events as described could have happened. I know they did not but even in fiction one should be able to believe the events could have happened.
WeeziesBooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
¿Beach Music¿ by Pat Conroy was a delightful story. The characters were strong and well developed. I both strongly disliked or identified with and cared for different individuals in the story. Jack McCall and his childhood school friends compose the main characters in ¿Beach Music.¿ There was an important smaller story within about the Viet Nam war and the effect that it had upon one group of friends and family. Conroy¿s descriptions of and loyalty to the South are demonstrated in all his books but seemed to be more personal in this one. The reexamining and reconnecting with ones past and finding a comfortable relationship with it was the major theme. Conroy touched on so many important concepts and issues, including mental health illnesses, cancer, war, family struggles and love and loyalty between friends. I really liked reading Conroy¿s ¿South of Broad¿ and getting to know his style of writing. ¿Beach Music¿ was also a good read and kept me engaged throughout. I almost enjoyed this story of South Carolina and the South as much.
fishhook7 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not my favorite of his but very interesting from an auto-biographical sort of place.
idiotgirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Audiobook. Ambitious novel. I had recently read My Revolution. This is also about coming to grips with 60s and Vietnam as one approaches getting older. This one also throws in the Red Brigade and the Holocaust. Nothing if not nervy. This books is definitely more interested in the male characters. The females are male fantasies. But this was an interesting read. Finished on a road trip.
Nancylouu on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Loved this book - hope to find the time to reread it some day.