Beautiful Lies

Beautiful Lies

by Jessica Warman

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Beautiful Lies 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
JenniferPittman More than 1 year ago
Beautiful Lies will keep you guessing from beginning to end. This was the first book I have ever read by Jessica Warman, but it definately won't be my last. This is a story I had a hard time putting down. It kept a steady pace, while not making you think that it's too much for the story.
megan105 More than 1 year ago
Great Book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading Between, I knew I had to read Warman's other books. Similar to Between, I found it impossible to put this book down! Every time you think you have everything figured out, something happens that changes it all. I love that the story was real and didn't have a unrealistic ending. The concept of the book was unique and engaging. I was not disappointed
ElegantlyBoundReviews More than 1 year ago
Beautiful Lies was a complete mind confusing mystery straight from chapter one! I don’t know any other way to explain it but to say WHAT??!!?? Rachel and Alice, identical monoamniotic twins, take readers on a really crazy adventure that never fails to throw twists and turns right in your face! Rachel and Alice are identical monoamniotic twins which mean that they shared the same amniotic sack while they were in their mother’s womb. Apparently this type of twin is very rare and back when doctors didn’t know much about it, very few survived. That’s not too hard to wrap your head around because you can google it and read all about it. But then the reader is hit with the fact that the twins claim they share physical sensations such as pain. So when one twin is chocking the other twin chocks as well even though nothing is obstructing her airway. It’s a pretty interesting concept and it plays out really well in the book! Beautiful lies really reminded me of that really weird Lindsay Lohan movie I Know Who Killed Me. Even though the story lines are completely different, both sets of twins experience their sister’s physical sensations. Although Alice and Rachel are identical, it turns out that their personalities are completely different. Rachel is the straight-A honors student who dresses conservatively and never breaks the rules. Alice is definitely the rule breaker. She struggles to pass her classes, breaks curfew and throws all of her energy and emotions into her art. I had the most difficult time keeping up with the flash back parts of the book. The littlest thing would trigger Alice’s memory and without warning the reader would be thrown into a memory that would last for pages! I sometimes forgot what was happening in the present time. I also got the implication that there was a history of mental illness in the family so I was never really sure if things were imagined or if they were real. The scene in the barn was the most bazaar for me. Alice is convinced her sister is bound and gagged in the hay loft and truly believes that she watched Rachel pull one of her own teeth out. Then suddenly Rachel is gone and when Alice goes back to the house, it’s like it never happened. Super weird! In the end, I still don’t really know what happened! Were some of the characters real or imagined? I don’t know. Was it Rachel or Alice who was kidnapped? I don’t know. Was Alice seeing ghosts? I don’t know. Do the twins have special powers? I don’t know. I’ve struggled over the rating but I’ve decided to give Beautiful Lies 3 hearts because I was left with so many unanswered questions. If you’re looking for a good mindf**k, then this book is for you!
Icecream18JA More than 1 year ago
Warman has written a great Young Adult psychological thriller. Alice and Rachel are twins, but twins that are so identical that no one can tell them apart. They have a special bond, too. If one is hit, the other feels pain. This phenomenon is how Alice knows that her sister is in danger. Rachel disappears and Alice begins experiencing pain. Who can Alice trust? She keeps her sister’s disappearance a secret and searches for the abductor. Beautiful Lies confused me at times and I am still figuring out the story right now, even though I finished the book. Despite this, I definitely enjoyed reading. I loved the plot twists and turns and reading about the bond between Alice and Rachel. This book will be loved by teen readers and anyone who likes mystery. The only complaint I had while reading is that the narrator is not someone you can trust. I will not spoil any of the novel, but thought that readers should be warned. Alice is not a girl who always speaks the truth. Beautiful Lies was a wild ride and earns four out of five stars.
OtotheD More than 1 year ago
This book made me feel like I was going a little crazy while reading. It’s an intriguing read, and while I’m not sure that I loved the book when all was said and done, I definitely had a heck of a time reading it. Rachel and Alice are identical twins — so identical on the outside (though personality wise they couldn’t be more different) even those closest to them have never been able to tell them apart. The bond between them goes beyond just sharing identical looks. Each of them can feel the other’s emotions and physical pain, almost as if they’re experiencing it first hand. When Rachel goes missing, Alice knows she’s still alive, but when she begins to experience physical pain and emotional trauma, she knows Rachel is going through something horrific and she needs to find her before things get worse. The problem is no one seems to want to help her — not her family, or the police, so it’s up to Alice to find Rachel herself. There are quite a few other things I could say here, but I won’t for fear of giving away some of the plot points. I will say that this one kept me on my toes through the entire book, even though I had an idea of what was really happening. I had my suspicions about the villain early on, so when they were revealed I wasn’t totally surprised, but along the way I did second guess myself a few times. I really enjoyed Ms. Warman’s writing style, and overall the story was great, though I felt some of the twists/reveals felt a little contrived (but that’s just me). I won’t lie, there were times when this one made my brain hurt, but in the end it was a satisfying read. I would highly recommend it to someone who enjoys intricately woven plots, and well-crafted characters.
booktwirps on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book made me feel like I was going a little crazy while reading. It¿s an intriguing read, and while I¿m not sure that I loved the book when all was said and done, I definitely had a heck of a time reading it.Rachel and Alice are identical twins ¿ so identical on the outside (though personality wise they couldn¿t be more different) even those closest to them have never been able to tell them apart. The bond between them goes beyond just sharing identical looks. Each of them can feel the other¿s emotions and physical pain, almost as if they¿re experiencing it first hand. When Rachel goes missing, Alice knows she¿s still alive, but when she begins to experience physical pain and emotional trauma, she knows Rachel is going through something horrific and she needs to find her before things get worse. The problem is no one seems to want to help her ¿ not her family, or the police, so it¿s up to Alice to find Rachel herself.There are quite a few other things I could say here, but I won¿t for fear of giving away some of the plot points. I will say that this one kept me on my toes through the entire book, even though I had an idea of what was really happening. I had my suspicions about the villain early on, so when they were revealed I wasn¿t totally surprised, but along the way I did second guess myself a few times.I really enjoyed Ms. Warman¿s writing style, and overall the story was great, though I felt some of the twists/reveals felt a little contrived (but that¿s just me). I won¿t lie, there were times when this one made my brain hurt, but in the end it was a satisfying read. I would highly recommend it to someone who enjoys intricately woven plots, and well-crafted characters.
catiesmoviesinmyhead on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
How do I start talking about Beautiful Lies? I had so many different feelings about this book, some very positive and some negative. There were parts of the story that were incredibly intense and thrilling and just as many that were somewhat non-eventful, where I forgot that this was a book about abduction and it felt like a contemporary minus the romance. Even after reading this book, I'm still not 100% sure how I feel about it. The other thing that has made it so hard to write about Beautiful Lies is that it had lots of twists and so I'm going to have to be super careful not to give anything away. At least all of the twists made for an interesting read, even if the blogger in me is frustrated that she can't blurt everything out. LIKES:The writing style: I loved Warman's writing style. I hadn't read anything by the author before and I was very impressed by her story-telling abilities. She is very good at creating a mood and foreshadowing without giving anything away. I loved it.The relationship between the girls: Twins have always fascinated me. Rachel and Alice's relationship was really interesting. I loved that they weren't very similar apart from their looks and that they both struggled with completely different issues. Their love for one another is boundless but they still must follow their own paths and this is harder for one of them to deal with than the other. There was real emotion in their characters and their stories explored real problems and conflicts. These side conflicts enhanced the thriller aspect and made you really care for the characters.The creep factor: This book, and especially the villain, was super creepy. Books about vampires, ghosts and werewolves all do their best to make us lose sleep, but sometimes it is much more intimidating to remember that there are real monsters out there. This book does a great job of reminding you.DISLIKES:The pacing: The pacing was a bit off for me with this story. The beginning tended to drag a bit and it slowed down again about 3/4 of the way through. Luckily the middle and end more than made up for the slow start and the lag later on.Lets take a moment to talk about smoking: I can't even tell you how many times cigarettes/smoking were a topic of conversation in this book. Many times this theme didn't have much to do with the story. It just seemed like the author was launching a personal crusade against smoking (well cigarettes at least, weed seems to be more acceptable) that was a bit distracting at times. There were certainly points in the story where smoking/cigarettes played a part in the mood of the scene which was fine, but there were plenty of times where I was thrown off by why the characters were talking about smoking again. I get it, smoking is dangerous and will kill you, cigarette smoke stinks, but can we get back to the story?NOT SURE:The darkness: I can appreciate a good amount of darkness in a book, but I'm not really sure how I felt about the level of darkness in this one. It covered everything from dead parents to mental illness to extreme violence. Parts of this story are very hard to get through. I think, though, that it was an appropriate amount to get the point of the book across. It is just uncomfortable to see characters you have come to care about going through such unthinkable things.Overall, I am happy that I got to read this book. Even with all of the hard subject matter, I think it is an important story that was waiting to be told. I would recommend this book to those of you who like thrills and aren't afraid of some very realistic terror.
arlenadean on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Author: Jessica WarmanPublished By: Walker ChildrensAge Recommended: 16Reviewer: Arlena DeanRaven Rating: 4Blog For GMTAReveiw:"Beautiful Lies" by Jessica Warman was a good YA mystery novel which was full of many twist and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat. This story is of twins(The Foster's) that were identical and even their aunt Sharon and uncle Jeff ....that raised them since their parents had died were not able to tell them apart. Rachel was the normal twin....quiet and studious while Alice had a wide side, who was a artist as a 'psychic.' While the twins were out...one of the twins...Alice disappears and it becomes Rachel's plot to figure out just what as happened and why. Since this was not the first time that Alice has disappeared...their aunt and uncle don't seem too concerned. But what had happened to Alice? Now, this is the time that I say you must pick up "Beautiful Lies" to find out just what is going on. Where had Alice gone or is this Rachel? 'With one of the twins actually having the ability to sense the other things people could not...she's a sensitive." Was Jessica able to feel emotions and pain the other one is experiencing? Is Alice suffering somewhere? Now, what is that about? Again you must pick up "Beautiful Lies" to find out! As I said earlier there will be many twist and turns and if you are able to stay with "Beautiful Lies" ....it will all come out as a very good mystery novel. From ...disappearance of sister.... dreams... birth of kittens....lots of blood... to stolen money...the other house on Pennsylvania Avenue... where money was stolen.... and this novel takes off until the end.The characters were all very interesting...Rachel, Alice, Aunt Sharon, Uncle Jeff, Charlie, Holly, Kimber, Nicholas, Mr. Hahn Jill Allen, TJ(Tom), Officer Martin, Robin, Jamie Slater, Homeless Harvey(David Monroe), Mr. and Mrs. Ray Gardil, Sean, Officier Balest and Robin. "Beautiful Lies" was a very unsettling novel that will keep you on the edge of your seat. You will be definitely asking the question????.... who am I with now ....Rachel or Alice (monochorionic monoamniotic twins)? If you are in for a good intriguing mystery with plenty of twist and turns..."Beautiful Lies" would be recommended to you.
AngelaFristoe on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Beautiful Lies is really all about lies. Not just the lies the characters tell each other, but also the lies the narrator tells the reader, and the tricks that the author plays on them.Part of those lies and tricks play into the idea that the girls come from a family with a history of mental illness. As the story progresses and we learn about the secrets and lies that are between the twins, it makes the idea of mental illness seem even more likely, but which one is suffering from it? The twin that is missing, who maybe really just ran away? Or the twin left behind, who is suffering from strange injuries? Warman worked so hard to make me not trust the narrator, yet then struggled to make me believe in her. Maybe that was her intention, to have me constantly questioning what was real, but it didn't work. When the first major 'lie' is revealed about 20% into the book, I was able to piece together most of the remaining plot really quickly. By halfway I had figured out the rest.The sympathetic injuries would have been interesting, but I felt like certain aspects were being forced onto me. There's constant dialogue and narration about how the girls are an extremely rare type of twins, yada, yada, yada. Hearing it explained three times to different characters isn't going to make it believable. Let the actions and experiences of the twins speak to the power of it. Don't add in a cop with epilepsy and a guide dog that believes in her because he can make lights flicker. The cop doesn't have to have powers believe her at all, he only has to believe that she believes it, especially when his 'ability' never actually does anything for the plot.There were parts I liked. Parts that were scattered throughout, but were disjointed by various overly descriptive memories that cut through them. Warman's writing shines when she is focused on the intensity of the action. There is a scene in the barn, which was wonderful, yet just before that there was a super long trip down memory lane that had me skimming paragraph after paragraph. This was a long book, 422 pages in print. So much of what was written was unnecessary to the central plot, yet was supposed to tie in, which made it even stranger that the end was wrapped up in less time than it took to describe the family that passes by the girls before the disappearance. The way I see it, a kidnapping/missing person story is a story that needs urgency. There is absolutely none of that, and one of the biggest details that would have given all the other characters a reason to be feeling urgent is a lie that the narrator keeps, which even after reading the entire book, I still don't get why she wouldn't have confessed to it the minute she 'knew' something was wrong.This is definitely a book for readers who are up for a long read, love detail, and don't mind guessing if what they are being told is the truth. Personally I like to have some trust in my narrator.
KDH_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Whenever I've read and enjoyed a book by an author before, I develop expectations for any books of theirs that I may read in the future. Since I had read and enjoyed one of her other books, Between, I figured Beautiful Lies would be another book I'd enjoy. Unfortunately, that's not exactly what happened. Beautiful Lies started out strong. After the big twist is revealed, a few chapters in, it's downhill from there. I feel like there should have been a change in the narrator's tone once the twist was revealed. Since there wasn't, it was confusing and I found myself rereading parts of the book to understand what was going on. The book ended up being more complicated than it could have been. The ending was a big disappointment. It felt like such a letdown compared to the rest of the book. While I was reading, I kept waiting for that ah-ha! moment where everything made sense and the book went from just alright to amazing... but it never happened. It just... ended and left me very unfulfilled. 2.5 out of 5 stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I pretty much have all of Jessica warmans books after reading between and beautiful lies was not an acception the book kept my guessing the whole time after her sisteer rachel dissappeared he whole time as rachel was giving her clues in her dreams during the book i felt like alice lost and confussed thinkin and suppecting everybody but the nice cute neighbor named sean ! He even fooled me the whole time but thatone day she came home and tj sean her uncle and auntie waiting for her and her said some words to her lime he was a differnt person i still did not think it was him until she saw they meys her twin keys   on his chain and put two and two  together and it was him her sister told her to find the monkey and she did he nearly killed her but she got away trying to get help for rachel but it was too late ! I felt her pain losing her sister that way "and i highly reccomand everybody to read this because you wont stop quessing until you see at the end the truth !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story can be confusing at times, until you realise which sister is being written about. The ending was strange and had to be reread. it was a bit repitious and boing.
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
This book kept me guessing, I sure can say that. There are so many factors, and I am not really able to trust any of the information given to me. I felt like I knew where the missing twin was several times, and where something was off, but I never could piece everything completely together. I think that Jessica Warman was very brave with the ending, and at first I thought it was opposite of what she intended, but I think that I am okay with it. It's definitely not wrapped in a pretty little bow, but the storyline is tied up and the sorrow is laced with sacrifice. I wasn't completely in love with this book, but on the other hand, I had to know what happened.