Beauty Dates the Beast (Midnight Liaisons Series #1)

Beauty Dates the Beast (Midnight Liaisons Series #1)

by Jessica Sims

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Beauty Dates the Beast 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 104 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Six years ago, a werewolf viciously assaulted Sara Ward. Since the bites, Sara's sister Bathsheba protects her sibling and helps her conceal her dark secret. Sara and Bathsheba work at Midnight Liaisons paranormal dating service. When Bathsheba replaces Rosie on a date with alpha cougar shifter Beau Russell, her boss Giselle threatens to reveal Sara's secret unless she cooperates by dating their paranormal clients who will want her Alliance-certified virginity. When a rival pack abducts one of Beau's females Savannah, the human virgin and the Russell alpha search for Savannah while falling in love; but remain ignorant that the victim is a pawn for an enemy who desires someone else and a betrayal from within. Beauty Dates the Beast is a fun romantic urban fantasy as the leader of the Russell pack and head of the paranormal Alliance finds a human female who is the first person in a dozen years to ignore his orders. The fast-paced story line is loaded with action as from the moment the two B protagonists meet and never slows down until the final confrontations. With a terrific late twist, readers will appreciate Jessica Sims opening act. Harriet Klausner
Ravenous_Reader More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book and sped through it quickly but after I was done I was left wanting more. My main complaint is that I didn't feel a strong connection between Beau and Bath. I think that's where the author let me down a little bit. The storyline was fun and the physical attraction was definitely there, but I didn't get the "romance" you expect from a paranormal romance novel. I am looking forward to reading about Bath's sister Sara. Maybe the author will be able to forge a stronger romantic connection for her now that the backstory has been somewhat laid out. I do recommend this book, it is just not the best I've ever read. But, very enjoyable.
brandyzbooks More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was amazing. It was hot and romantic at the same time. It is fast paced and keeps you wanting more. I couldn't put it down until I finished it. I can't wait for the next book in this series. Bathsheba is a human female working in a paranormal dating service. Her boss is a Siren and a *****. Her sister is a werewolf in hiding, who shifts at the slightest sign of something going wrong. Did I mention that Bath is a virgin, yep and that is just the start of this awesome adventure. Beau Russell is a were-cougar. Head of the local Alliance and the go to man for all the loners in the para world. Beau has a problem, the only female were-cougar in the territory is going into heat and so is he, but she is his cousing and he needs a girl for a week long trist bad!!! Beau's luck goes down hill and his "date" from the dating service cancels on him and he needs a replacement fast. Bathsheba is the office manager and when a problem comes up its up to her to fix it. When Beau's date falls through, Bath finally agrees to go on 1 date with Beau with NO SEX. And the rest is hot romantic history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book trying to find a new paranormal author to read and was not disapointed, read it in one day because I couldn't put it down from the page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book started out slow but got interesting as you read it. I would buy the next in the series.
thewalkinggirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The author's voice is strangely charming given that the heroine is a moron, the hero is from the overprotective-underexplaining-stalker mold, and the plotting is ... poor. I think that's the kindest way I can describe it. I didn't really enjoy reading this, frequently wanted to have a little chat with the author about the message she's sending to readers, yet the teaser for book 2 makes me kind of want to read the next in the series.
pollywannabook on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Review courtesy of All Things Urban FantasyBEAUTY DATES THE BEAST, the first book in the Midnight Liaisons series by Jessica Sims (aka Jill Myles) is exactly what I hoped it would be based on the cover and description: super sexy, super fun, and full of super hot shifters. Bathsheba is a human pencil pusher working at a paranormal dating service. She is fiercely protective of her younger sister Sara and has gladly sacrificed her own personal happiness in order to keep Sara safe from a werewolf pack that hunts them both. When a cancelled date puts her job and safety in jeopardy, Bath is forced to step in and ends up on a date with Beau, a were-cougar who made my Alpha loving heart race. Supernatural politics, past vendettas, and an unnatural paranormal danger threaten to extinguish the sparks that fly between these two, but Beau refuses to let go of what he wants, and Bath is finding it harder and harder to remember why she keeps running.If you¿ve read Jill Myles¿s Succubus Diaries series, you know she excels at blending humor and romance in a way that elevates both. Under her new pseudonym, Jessica Sims, that same trademark blend shines throughout BEAUTY DATES THE BEAST but with a greater emphasis on romance. There is also a strong suspense element kept me up way into the wee hours of the night. Plus, I loved that the romantic tension started hot and stayed that way thanks to a very sexy twist on shifter mythology which I won¿t spoil.If you¿re a paranormal romance fan you¿re going to love BEAUTY DATES THE BEAST. This has all the ingredients that make up a classic romance novel, but with a paranormal twist that heightens everything. The future books in the Midnight Liaisons series will feature new characters and new romances. Based on the ending of BEATY DATES THE BEAST, I¿m betting that Bathsheba¿s sister Sara and a certain were-bear will be up next. Can¿t wait.Sexual Content:Scenes of sensuality. A few graphic sex scenes. Sexual assault. References to rape
vampiregirl76 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Bathsheba Ward, is a human who works at Midnight Liaisons. A dating service exclusive to paranormals. When high profile client and were-cougar, Beau Russell gets cancelled on Bath seems to be the only logical replacement -- at least in Beau's eyes. Bath is constantly trying protect her werewolf sister from the wolf packs, taking this date with Beau could ruin all that they've worked for, but she really has no choice.I love when there is a great story to go along with a beautiful cover. Captivated by the gorgeous cover, I couldn't wait to read this one. I loved, loved Bathsheba and Beau's story. Beauty Dates the Beast was a fun and sensual read. Everything I love about paranormal romance was in this book. Beau Russell is absolutely yummy! If you are a shapeshifter fan this book is a must read.
ABookwormsHaven on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have seen a lot of buzz for this book around the blogosphere and it sounded interesting so I decided to give it a try. Plus, I am a huge fan of shifters and when I saw that this world revolved around them I was really excited.We view this world through the eyes of Bathsheba, yeah, that is her name. I will admit I had a hard time getting used to that name. Her nickname was ¿Bath¿ and that just did not flow well either. She mentions in the book that her mother gave her a name from the Bible, but I am still not a fan. Names aside, Bathsheba works at Midnight Liaisons, which is a dating service for the paranormal. She is a human, but she still knows all about things that go bump in the night and it is her job to set them up on dates with each other. She works with her sister, Sara, who is a werewolf on the run. Sara was turned six years ago and does not want the wolf pack to find her and make her join them. So, Bathsheba protects her and does everything she can to keep people from discovering what Sara is. Since Bathsheba is playing protector, she does not get out much and hasn¿t dated in a long time. I did admire Bathsheba for always putting her sister¿s safety first and trying to do what was best for her family. She has a hard time keeping that up though once she meets Beau. He slowly convinces her that she is allowed to want something for herself. I mean, how long could anyone resist a hot cougar shifter doing everything in his power to seduce you? And Beau is a sweet talker. His sarcastic comments had me laughing out loud. The best scene with him though, was when he was trying to ¿romance¿ Bathsheba. I don¿t know if he got his ideas from a cheesy movie or what, but his efforts, while very well intentioned, were so terrible. I was cringing for Bathsheba and laughing at poor Beau. The humor in this book kept the mood light and it was a nice diversion from the danger that was constantly chasing them.This book is a paranormal romance, but is only told from the point of view of Bathsheba. I will admit I missed the usual back and forth point of views that we normally see in the paranormal romance genre. I really wanted to get inside Beau¿s head and see what he was thinking. Jessica did do a great job of describing things through Bathsheba¿s eyes, but I was still curious about what life was like for Beau when Bathsheba wasn¿t around. How did he run his clan every day? What were some of those members like? We do get to meet one, Ramsey, who is Beau¿s second, but I wanted to see more.The only other issue I had with this book was the pacing. Everything was flowing great and I was hooked right up until the last fifty pages. While the book was supposed to be reaching its climax, I was just not as interested. Everything seemed to slow down and the writing style changed from the beginning of the book. After we meet our villain and the book comes back down to the resolution, I was happy with how things ended. There were just a couple of rough patches in there that I wish had moved faster or been more suspenseful.Even though there were a couple of aspects of this book that I had issues with, overall it was a good, fun read. The next book is going to focus on Bathsheba¿s sister, Sara and I think Ramsey, especially after the last line of this book. I am hoping we will see more shifters in the next book since Sara is one herself. The book does not come out until next November, so we have a bit of a wait, but I look forward to seeing what adventure Jessica will bring us next.
feather_lashes More than 1 year ago
★★★½ Last month, I started this series out of order. I wanted to try it out so I picked up the second installment to test out because it was the one with the highest goodreads ratings. I could tell there was a backstory I was missing out on but it wasn't too bad. It earned a shiny four stars from me and I knew it was a series I wanted to continue. So, now I'm starting in proper order. Yay! Beauty Dates the Beast is the first installment in Jessica Sims's adult, urban fantasy series titled: Midnight Liaisons. Midnight Liaisons is the name of a paranormal dating service (matchmaking not escort) that brings together all kinds of romance-seeking members of the supernatural community. Humans are definitely not included. However, awkward circumstances bring together our werecougar hero and very human heroine. Romance ensues, also a little mystery, a lot of suspense, some unnecessary drama (IMO), and a crazy horror-filled ending that brings everything together. All in all, Beauty Dates the Beast is a strong series starter that I'm glad I didn't miss. It sets up for book two beautifully and I might just have to re-read that one again...you know, to make sure I get them all ;) My favorite quote: "I like women. Soft, curvy women." I rolled my eyes. "That doesn't count." "Why not?" "Because it's a given - like if I said I liked men with large packages." I reached over for a cheese fry. "That's like saying that you like breathing, or eating." "Sounds like we're a match made in heaven," he said lazily. "I like to eat, love to breathe" -he leaned over the table - "and I have a very large package."
Sissymae1 More than 1 year ago
This is book one in the "Midnight Liaisons " series. This was somewhat violent toward the end, so I just wanted to let you know in case that was a issue for you. It wasn't for very long but just making note of it. Bathsheba is somewhat on the run with her sister but they have been working at a paranormal dating company. Bathsheba is a human and has been trying to protect her younger sister who was bitten by her abusive boyfriend. Her sister even though she is can turn into a wolf she is afraid of them and does not want to join a pack. So they go on the run to try to get away from the wolf pack. Bathsheba had killer her sister abusive boyfriend so that is another reason they are on the run. Beau who calls into the dating site to report his 'date' has canceled and he wants a replacement. Of course Bathsheba answered the phone and Beau finds that he likes her right off the bat. So Beau insist that she be his fill in date. Beau is also a shiftier and this puts off Bathsheba because she is scared that he will smell her sister wolf sent on her. But she is also scared to loose this job. So she meets up with Beau and that starts a chain of events that they have to overcome to be together. Please follow more reviews at the below sites: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1831318-sissy-s-romance-book-review-for-you http://sissymaereads.blogspot.com/ https://www.facebook.com/sally.mae.395454 http://booklikes.com/ https://romancebookreviewforyou.wordpress.com/ https://www.facebook.com/groups/1709181636033417/
LilyElementBookReviews More than 1 year ago
Beauty Dates the Beast is book one in the Midnight Liaisons series. The series revolves around a supernatural dating service and its members. The office manager, Bathsheba Ward is having a somewhat normal day in the office when everything decides to hit the fan. One of the few ladies that is a member of the service cancels a date at the last second, and Bathsheba is pretty much forced to go in her place. It's a no-win situation, she'll be fired if her boss finds out a high-profile client was ditched right before his date, but at the same time she'll be fired if she dates a customer. Bathsheba and her sister need to keep their jobs at Midnight Liaisons so she's hoping the werepanther will play nice. Beau Russell, a werepanther that runs a clan of local weres needs a date for a few days. He managed to get Bathsheba to agree and promises not to tell her boss. He even comes to the rescue later that night when an intruder is in Bath's house. Beau's character is sweet and protective and I just really enjoyed him. Bathsheba, on the other hand, made some very careless decisions and put herself and others in danger a few times. I understand that she and her sister are hiding a secret that no one can find out about. And that someone seems to be out to get them. But Beau was trying to help out and she decided to do her own thing. Beauty Dates the Beast is a promising start to the Midnight Liaisons series. Though this installment was a bit predictable and a bit frustrating at times with the leading lady's actions, it was still a quite enjoyable read. I wound up reading these out of order and didn't have an issue besides slight spoilers. If you enjoy paranormal romance with a hot werepanther I recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Write a full damn book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sucked really didnt like it i tried i really tried
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it. Was a good read with plenty of story, and a good amount of romance. Had some laughs. Would continue to follow series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But I heard bk 2 is Great. Probs w/this book. It got boring. The heroine spent 90% of the book doing the I cant like you. Nothing can happen. I cant be yours. Im breaking up with you- mulitiple times on the break.. UGH... I also couldn't past the heroine's name- Bathsheba.. Little character development. Wasn't buying Beau & Bathsheba as a couple either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was a good first book in the series. I read a short story called Bear Naked first and after reading that book I just had to read the series from the beginning. I will now start book 2 in the series and hope it is just as good as the first if not even better. Hope you enjoy! Happy reading all....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an awesome series . Love all the characters !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago