Belly Up (FunJungle Series #1)

Belly Up (FunJungle Series #1)

by Stuart Gibbs

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Belly Up 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 190 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldnt stop reading thi book because it is so hilarious! I hope Stuart Gibbs writes more books as funny as this one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The begining is good but the ending completely blew my mind . There were so many accusations and so much suspense . WOW!!! I HAVE READ 22 BOOKS THIS YEAR AND THIS WAS ONE OF THREE THAT STOOD OUT AND WAS A FAIRLY QUICK READ! I THINK IT WAS ABOUT 294 PAGES! ITS A MUST READ!
Irlanda More than 1 year ago
This book was great! I would highly recommend this to a friend. What i really liked about this book was all the mystery and excitement of it. It really makes you just want to skip to the end of the book to see the person that's behind all the mystery. Its very detailed and has a great plot. You can imagine every scene that's happening and you just cant stop reading it. You just immediately get sucked into it. Its a very good book and its also nice how the author puts a small little touch of romance in it at the end. But basically its a full time mystery. Another book i might read by this author would be Spy School. I just happen to really love mysteries. It looks like a really good mystery/comedy book by just reading the summary. If the author wrote more books i would surely like to read them all. His books are amazing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great from the first page. Fun, whitty, with the right amount of suspense. Poor Henry the hippo. Great read for any boy or girl.
lovestoread203 More than 1 year ago
Sneaking into a hippo’s autopsy wasn’t supposed put him in danger. Teddy Fitzroy lives at FunJungle, a theme park/zoo with his mom and dad. His mom is a gorilla researcher and his dad is a nature photographer. Teddy is used to getting in trouble but after sneaking into the autopsy of Henry the Hippo, FunJungle’s mascot, he lands in a hazardous situation. He learns that Henry may not have gone “belly up” the natural way. Since no one else is investigating the murder of the parks beloved mascot, Teddy takes it upon himself to find the hippo assassin. Finding out that investigating alone may be a little too much for him, he enlists the help of Summer McCracken, the daughter of the billionaire who built FunJungle. As Summer and Teddy dig deeper into the case, they find that more than one person may have had a personnel vendetta against Henry. After the killer sets up Teddy for a date with a black mamba and a tiger, it becomes clear that the murderer might want Teddy out of the picture. Many things make this book an unbelievable read. The first thing that makes it amazing is the setting. For me, having the book set in a zoo makes it that much more fun to read. All the details about the zoo give you a mental picture of the zoo in your head. The humor and wit is also fantastic. For example when Marge O’Malley, part of the park security and better known as Large Marge, asks Teddy why he is still hanging around he replies, “Trying to guess who’s bigger: Henry or you.” Another example is when the dumb head of P-R, Pete Thwacker, asks the veterinarian doing the autopsy what he thinks killed Henry, Doc replies, “Cigarettes, did you know Henry was smoking six packs a day?” Another reason this book is phenomenal is all the suspense and mystery. Suspense always makes a book better because it keeps you on the edge of your seat, reading more, and wanting to find out want happens. The mystery part of it is great because you can follow along with Teddy and Summer and try to figure out who murdered Henry. The final reason is that you feel like you’re in the story, Teddy Fitzroy narrates the story so it’s like you’re tagging along with Teddy and Summer and experiencing everything they experience. This book is an astonishing read and I would recommend it to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Every chapter ends in a cliffhanger, nad you'll be up on your feet with suspence. Stuart Gibbs writes an amzazing mystery novel that you won't forget in years.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book... Would reccomend this to a lot of my friends. Just a quick note, this book does have a bit of language in it, just incase you might be worried about that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow, this book is the best, especially when it describes the Mean things that henry does to people.HA! But really, you should get it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very realistic, fun to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was very interesting i highly recomend it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is the best
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the book could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this book so many times but it never gets old. It is really good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a really good book
krau0098 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I got a copy of this book through the Amazon Vine program. I couldn't resist the humorous description and the fun cover. Overall it was an enjoyable read and lots of fun!Teddy lives in FunJungle Park with his mom, who researches apes, and his dad, who is a wildlife photographer. It's kind of crazy living in a zoo/theme park but things get even crazier when the unpleasant park mascot Henry the Hippo is found belly up in his habitat. Teddy sneaks into Henry's autopsy and overhears the fact that Henry's death may not have been an accident but instead...murder. Now Teddy, with the help of the park owner's ultra-rich daughter, Summer, are trying to unravel the mystery as to why Henry, and other animals in the park, are being killed. As Teddy gets deeper into the mystery he will find that he better watch his step because who ever killed Henry is after Teddy too.This book was an interesting and fun read. The plot moves along nicely and the mystery Teddy is trying to solve has some interesting twists to it. This book deals with some serious issues such as corporate greed and animal cruelty, but it deals with these issues in such a way that they never become too overwhelming or overly serious. I enjoyed Teddy as a character; both him and his parents have very interesting backgrounds that were interesting to learn about.You learn a lot about how a zoo is run in this book, it is also a good introduction to what happens when individuals in a corporation get too greedy. It is a very engaging story and a page turner, very hard to put down. I also liked that Teddy had a great relationship with his parents. This would be an appropriate book for kids in the middle grade or older range, I think adults would enjoy it too. As I said the book has a great sense of humor and makes for a fun read.The story ends well wrapping up most of the loose ends, there were a couple small issues that weren't resolved and this left me wondering if we will read any more books about Teddy and Summer. It reminded me a bit of Carl Hiassen's book Hoot, so if you liked Hoot you should get a kick out of this book too.Overall an entertaining read. A good sense of humor with a fast-paced plot and a great mystery. Should appeal to animal lovers and mystery buffs.
skstiles612 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Twelve year old Teddy Fitzroy has grown up around animals all his life. His parents worked with animals in the Congo until the war got so bad they feared for their son's life. Now they work for the new internationally know zoo, FunJungle. Teddy is constantly having problems with security. It is no wonder he finds himself in trouble when the zoo's mascot, Henry the Hippo is found dead in his pool. He sneaks into the autopsy room and finds out that Henry was murdered. He doesn't know who to trust so he tries to tell the police. They think it is a prank call. Now he must find out who is behind all of this and why before they find him and try to eliminate him. I loved this book. I originally had checked it out from my local library but found it so good that I purchased a copy for my shelves at school. It has several good lessons about the problems facing animals in the jungle and the diamond/emerald trade.
Carstairs38 More than 1 year ago
This book follows 12-year-old Teddy as he attempts to figure out who killed the hippo mascot of the newest amusement park/zoo. This was a fun read from start to finish. I can't recommend it highly enough for tweens and up (including adults).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book and I can not wait to read the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like Belly up because the charcters are funny and Teddy is always getting into some type of troubble and he trys to denie it he says they are wrong and they always are.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would nevr have rand it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by Stuart Gibbs. I wasn't expecting it to be this good. I will most likely read Stuart Gibbs other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kiss your hand three times then post this on three diffrent book then look under your pillow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book