Between the Tides

Between the Tides

by Patti Callahan Henry

Paperback

$16.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Between the Tides 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
sunshine52LM More than 1 year ago
This is my first Patti Callahan Henry books to read and it was beautifully written. I felt I as though the characters were people I know in my life. I couldn't put it down. I can't wait to read the next book. Great job Patti Henry Callahan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Between the Tides is one of those novels that draws the reader in and absorbs you into the lives of the characters. I lived with Catherine as a child -- understanding, empathizing; only to follow her into adulthood willingly and compassionately as she is forced to explore her fears and doubts and insecurities. I couldn't wait to get back into this other-life at the end of every day and dreaded closing the book for the last time. A must for cold, rainy days or hot afternoons at the beach!
RobynKelly More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book. "Southern Charm" First time reading this author, will surely buy more of her books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I hesitated to actually recommend this book. Although the writing is good and keeps you interested, it was easy to figure out the 'twist' early on.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My friend's mom talked me into buying this book, and though it took me nearly 3 months to finally read it, the touching story will remain with me for a long time. This book is a beautifully written story that will make you laugh, cry, and leave you begging for more!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I started reading Between the Tides towards the beginning of summer, put it down for a while and then finished reading the book today. You can learn a lot about yourself and life through Catherine Leary and other characters in the novel. I highly recommend this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an outstanding read! It will take you to every level of emotion.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Couldnt put it down!!
veens on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Patti Callahan Henry¿s Between the Tides is an amazing story of self realization and of love. Nature and books belong to the eyes that see them.How True, right?I loved this book, and it is one book that I don¿t want to let go and give off to someone else. The best thing I loved about this book is that each chapter starts with a famous saying such as the above and they are all so true and beautiful. Though it was a little predictable for me, but I loved the way the story was told, revealing bit by bit just like unraveling a secret kept for years, just like arousing the feelings suppressed for years; just like finding those tears, that had dried years before. Patti Callahan Henry has beautifully sketched the place where she wanted her main protagonist to live, and you can see its beauty through the words that bring it to life.This is the story of a women who had did a big sin when she was a young little girl and lived with the guilt of it till her father, her mentor dies and asks her 3 simple questions through a letter he gives to his trusted friend and student. She on the journey of answering these questions goes back to the place where she belonged and finds out about things that she had never known. It is a beautiful story despite being predictable at times and a very quick read as well. I hope you enjoy it, as I did.
jamaicanmecrazy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is sort of a chick book, which isn't ordinarily my preference, but there is an entertaining story with a twist here. Catherine Leary's life has been colored by a childhood tragedy, and when she returns to the scene to scatter her father's ashes, she is confronted with a collision of truth and memories.
Kace on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was a suprise for me, almost lyrical in its storytelling, I fell in love with the characters. The story opens with a daughter who has lost her dad, the last remaining parent, and the secrets she finds when fulfilling his last wish. You run the gamut in the story from life and death, love and loss, despair and hope.Catherine is identifiable in so many ways, locked into childhood by a trauma that affected many, though she believes she moved past it. There were so many great quotes in the book but the one that I identified instantly in the moment of reading is."I realized Ellie would be up-she was always up early-so I rolled from bed and slipped the on the coutoff jeans and pink tube top I wore all that summer, then dropped a Nancy Drew book into my bike basket-I was never without a book, just in case there were empty moments to slip into a life that wasn't mine."That is so me, minus the bike basket. Love it.There is much to recommend the book to someone, so I suggest you do it ;)
whoot on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A compelling read - read straight through when I got it. Saw the author that day and was very intrigued. Not a challenging read, but a fabulous story, if only a little bit predictable. Even the predictability, however, was carried out through unusual details.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want to comment on the review posted by the person who stated that they couldnt believe a persons life could be so devasted by a single tragedy that occured during childhood. Clearly someone who has been fortunate to have never suffered such a loss. I have and can positively state that my life has never been the same since the tragic loss of my own little brother. Never underestimate the power of a truly broken heart no matter the age of the person enduring it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago