Blood and Gold (Vampire Chronicles Series #8)

Blood and Gold (Vampire Chronicles Series #8)

by Anne Rice

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$8.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, June 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Blood and Gold (Vampire Chronicles Series #8) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 229 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Marius was very happy living as a patrician in Ancient Rome. However, he becomes disheartened when a Druid priest kidnaps him insisting that Marius will be the God of the Grove. He is turned into a vampire, but manages to escape. Marius journeys to Egypt to find the Divine Parents of the Vampires and bring them back to his hometown. For most of his life, he was the guardian of Those Who Must Be Kept, paying homage to them on a consistent basis.

Throughout his long life, Marius observed many world events including the fall of the Roman Empire. He found mortals that he loved and converted them, but none ever remained with him for long after changing. Marius made many enemies with one nearly killing him, causing centuries of healing before recovering. However, the ruler of the vampires stymies his efforts for vengeance by forbidding Marius vengeance.

Anne Rice has created another brilliant installment in her vampire chronicles that seem to have been running at a top quality level for as long as Marius¿ life span. Readers see the events of history through the eyes of the protagonist and understand what it is like to live in each era depicted in BLOOD AND GOLD. The characters are deep and complex and the tale is enhanced by action that occurs throughout the novel. Vampire lovers, paranormal fans, and Rice readers will enjoy this saga.

Harriet Klausner

SlowLeisureReader3 More than 1 year ago
This is a great add on to the Lestat story without focusing so much on Lestat. I enjoyed it very much.
Furry_drow More than 1 year ago
This has to be one of my favorites in the VC series! The storyline is compelling and it just sucks you into a world all it's own, it's just so easy to feel like you're part of the story yourself. I would definatly recomend this to anyone who loves a deep storyline!
Guest More than 1 year ago
ok I fall in love with Marius with Arman's book but now...God! Marius you have my heart and some more!!!I am simply crazy for you!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once again Rice will keep you on the edge with the long awaited tale of Marius. A true child of the millenia. I can't wait to see where she will take us next!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I must say that I truley and deepley love this book. I mean it was just written so well. I loved all the detail. This was my second Anne Rice book, my first being 'Interveiw with the vampire' and while this may not be as good as that, this one still shines through. The only thing that holds thi back from being excellent is the slow beggining.
Bookmarque on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Well this was a little strange. So much detail in places where we didn¿t need it and so little in the places we did. It seems that Rice really knows the story of the ancient Egyptian origins of the story, and the birth and duty of Marius, but she knows precious little of the history in which Marius passed. The Reformation ¿ she gave it a sentence. The fall of Rome and the rise of Constantinople she gave a few paragraphs. The Renaissance got a few distracted chapters during which Marius fell under the spell of egg tempera.And the end ¿ rushed is too kind a word. As I read about his getting back together with Pandora and he hadn¿t even gotten to Lestat yet and there was only about ¼ of an inch of pages left ¿ I knew the end would be miserable. I wasn¿t disappointed. Marius comes across as a self-serving ego-maniac the whole time. Always going on about his responsibility to the Devine Parents. The children he creates all abandon him because he always has to be ¿on¿. He envisions himself as a great teacher and cannot stand it when his pupils actually begin to learn. That¿s why he and Mael don¿t get along ¿ Mael doesn¿t want to learn anything that Marius knows. But the times we don¿t know about aren¿t elaborated on much. What he was before he was captured by Mael. Bah.
mramos on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Blood and Gold is the story of the Vampire Marius of Rome. It is the eight book of Ms Rice in the Vampire Chronicles. I found this book to be an easy read. I would rate it in the top four of the chronicles. We have an ancient Norse man waking up in the artic, where he went to sleep in darkness. We learn that he had learned of the world through the 'Mind Gift'. And he finally finds a reason to wake. He walks south back into civilization and into Marius' hands. I wanted to know more of this vampire...but this is a book about Marius. And he has what he needs in Throne, a student/listener hungrey to hear his words. So we have Marius teeling his story to Thorne...And we are in the shadows listening. We some some of th eother books story line through Marius eyes. Which I found interesting. The story starts after his creation as a blood drinker. He takes us from Ancient Rome to all the cities he made home. To his first love The Queen of the Dammend, Akasha. Pandora, his second, who he lost because of his anger. Then in Venice he falls in love with Bianca and Amadeo, one leaves because of a lie the other is taken. And eventually to our first book, Lestat, who he sends away. We see he loves to be in love, but his anger drives him to solitude. Marius learns he has been watched by the Talamasca, with who he develops a sort of realtionship. What appears to me to be the only honest relationship he had. For Marius saw himself as a scholar, and the Talamasca were true scholars. His life, though having moments of great pleasure, seemed to be filled with tragedy of his own making. Though if you like the Vampire Chronicles, I do recommend you read this.
hermit_9 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Rice returns to the Vampire Chronicles with elan. The character Thorne hooked me, and I wish there were more of him.
Flamika on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had felt for a while that Anne Rice's novels were declining in quality and enjoyment, but this novel was the one where I decided to stop reading anything by Rice. It's Marius' story, but the problem is that it's been told through the eyes of so many people that a lot of the stuff he has to add isn't particularly interesting. I was addicted for years to Rice's novels, but sorry, I'm now filing for divorce.
PigOfHappiness on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As Marius was always one of my favorite characters, I particularly enjoyed this book. Beautifully written and expressive, this is a must read for lovers of the vampire chronicles. Appropriate for high school and beyond.
DocWalt10 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Love everything to do with Vampire stories. Anne Rice is one of the best at it.
EmScape on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm kind of glad I waited more than a year to read this book after having read the first eight, plus the Mayfair Witches book all pretty much right in a row. I think I would have found the parts where Marius is retelling things that Lestat told us in The Vampire Lestat and that Armand told us in The Vampire Armand rather boring and repetitive. As it was, it was a nice reminder of things I'd forgotten, and I was able to jump right back in without re-reading, which would have been quite the undertaking. I would really recommend, if you're reading straight through, to take a hiatus before jumping into this one, because it seems others who'd done so were quite disappointed by this. I've always really admired the wisdom and even temper of Marius, particularly in The Queen of the Damned and although we knew a little of him from the two previously mentioned books, it was a treat to have his story fleshed out even more and his perspective shown on things we already knew the other side of. It's unfortunate that the character of Thorne, who emerges from the ice apparently only to listen to Marius tell a 500-page story and then complete a couple of acts no other previously introduced character would have been able to. I would have liked to have known more about him; the climax of this tale might have meant more or had more feeling for me. As it was, it was a little bit of a let down. I was feeling like awarding this book three stars because of that feeling, but sitting down to write about it has induced me to add back the fourth star I was intending to give it right before I came to the end. Had the ending been more exciting or satisfying, I probably would've given 4.5 stars. As it stands, it's a good, full, tale of history and blood and a fascinating vampire with a rather lame last three chapters. I hope that's a set-up for something more interesting, but it seems the next book in this series takes an entirely different tack. I am looking forward to completing this author's vampire-related works in their entirety.
ragwaine on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not as overwritten as some of the others, better than Merrick, Vittorio, and Pandora. Some rehash of already known stuff but enough new things to keep it interesting.
sdtaylor555 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is the last really great Vampire Chronicle. After this book they go down hill fast. This one was brilliant though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the chronicles!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was ok. Not the best in her series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE Anne Rice. I've devoured all her books, reading most many times. I loved Marius until I read his story. Now free of the burden of Those Who Must Be Kept, he claims the boring role of caretaker of the now insane Daniel. Really? Marius, get a life!! In my opinion, by far the most interesting character in this story is the elusive stranger to which Marius imparts his history. If you want to know more about Marius, buy Pandora instead!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago