Body Shot: A Last Shot Novel

Body Shot: A Last Shot Novel

by Kelly Jamieson

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Body Shot: A Last Shot Novel 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved both Hayden & Beck. Great new series.
2kasmom More than 1 year ago
Hayden and her best friend check out a new place and learn about tequila and men. Many surprises for the reader in this series opener. Interesting characters and fun times are had inside. Beck is a former SEAL, who opens a restaurant/bar with his best friends. Hayden turns his life upside down, and he finds that was the best part of all. If they can agree it is love, the future looks bright. I really enjoyed this book. There was a lot to learn. I laughed, cried, and basically felt every page. I cannot wait to check out the next book in this Last Shot series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Marichus-Real More than 1 year ago
I received a free review copy of this book by NetGalley. Beck is an ex-Navy SEAL who after living the service got a tequila bar with Marco and Cade, his two best friends. Hayden is a biochemistry professor who after losing both her parents because of cancer is trying to find a cure for it. This is the first book I’ve ever read by this author and I have to say that I found the story lacking of adventure and action. Being the main character an ex-SEAL I expected some kind of action but they spend all the time eating, drinking and doing some activities which they consider fun and exciting. And, of course, lots of hot, steamy sex scenes. I suppose somebody has already edited the book and write “Instituto Europeo de Diseño” correctly. And I would like to know why Marco says “Well, the way Spanish people speak is stupid.” He didn’t explain why he said that. Is it because he doesn’t want Carrie to go to Spain or just because he thinks we, Spanish people, really speak stupidly?
LittleMissBookmark More than 1 year ago
I wish that I had read a book by Kelly Jamieson before because holy cannoli ... this was an amazing book and boy, she sure does create steamy characters. Within the first few pages, I wanted a Beck. More than one would work also ... Hayden and Beck have to be two of my favorite characters that I've come across in a very long time. I instantly connected with Hayden because she was so stuck in her own head that she couldn't see what was in front of her: a gorgeous man who finds her absolutely beautiful. She just has this self doubt that is so undeniably realistic because we've all been there. We've all been so into someone else and thought that they were out of our league and sometimes, just sometimes, this object of our affections thinks the same thing about us! All of that just made me love Hayden and absolutely adore Beck. This man did not give up and the chase that ensued was nothing short of enchanting. I was sucked into this book so quickly because of Beck. He's that mans-man ... he's a Navy Seal, he's tough as hell and at the same time, such a sweet guy. Basically the perfect balance. Don't get me wrong, I actually don't enjoy reading about those "perfect" guys because how boring! But Jamieson pulled it off because Beck had these little insecurities and jealousies that were actually adorable. Never knew jealousy could be attractive but it was in this case. Anyway, I could go on and on about these characters but I don't want to spoil (anything else) for you. The plot was also just as good as the characters. I literally read this in a day. I couldn't put it down because the plot was so entertaining. I was always looking forward to what all of the characters were going to be getting themselves into - this includes the secondary characters, I enjoyed them almost as much as Hayden and Beck. There I go, talking about the characters again. I just can't get them out of my head!! I've won the book lottery lately because once again, this is one of the best books that I've read this year and I can't wait to see what the rest of this series holds. New author to add to my favorites! So go get this one, you won't be disappointed. * I received this novel in exchange for an honest review *
Anlenhart1 More than 1 year ago
This is a classic opposites attract romance featuring a former navy seal who owns a bar and a university professor trying to cure cancer. Beck rebelled against family expectation and joined the Seals. After he retired, Beck joined his friends and bought a Tequila bar where he currently works as a bartender. Hayden is forced to go to the bar by her best friend and there she meets Beck. He decides to pursue her, she doesn't understand his interest. Each has a lot of hurdles to overcome in pursuit of their dreams. Will Beck and Hayden work out their differences and find their happy ending? This is a cute book. I liked the pacing, characters and plot. Overall it was refreshing see the woman rejecting the hot hero's advances. I was given a free copy for an honest review.
singneon More than 1 year ago
Great read! Hot, sexy, filthy rich, ex-Navy Seal, bartender, tequila bar owner Beck is so not prepared for a nerdy work-alcoholic like Hayden. For once in her life, Hayden just shockingly goes for it so out-of-character for the very serious bio-chemist to be naughty.... must be the tequila??.. The two can't resist their chemistry but are relationship shy. Beck is a great catch, he has some family issues but a great group of supportive Navy buddies & their banter is hilarious. Hayden is very driven to cure cancer, can she ever find time to have fun and find love? Whew, I love the fact that she's very intelligent but she tested my patience...lol. Enjoyed this and hope to catch up with these two in Carrie & Marco's story!!! :) NetGalley provided this ARC in exchange for my honest review
Dalitza More than 1 year ago
Sexy, hot and sweet! Against his family’s wishes, Beck Whitcomb served his country as a Navy SEAL and proved to himself he was worth something without their love or money. After coming back stateside, he’s decided to ignore his parents’ insistence that he take over the family business and instead used his trust fund to open up a tequila bar with his SEAL buddies. Not wanting to continue with his family’s legacy of having an empty family of his own, he’s devoted to enjoy life and his womanizing ways. Until a straight laced professor gives a lesson in explosive chemistry and then… rejects him?! Can he convince her experience life outside her laboratory? “There is no chemical formula for sand, because it’s a mix of different minerals and particles. But most sand consists mainly of silicon dioxide…” “Adorkable. Come on, let’s go analyze some sand.” Hayden Miles has always been the “quiet, shy, smart” girl who never really fit in. The one who doesn’t let many people in because being available to emotions includes getting hurt. So for the life of her she can’t understand why the drop dead gorgeous bartender is so interested in her, much less why she’s so eager to risk getting involved with him. One thing she can’t deny is their incredible attraction, excitement and sense of feeling alive she experiences whenever she’s with Beck who seems to want much more than to just live in the moment with her. Will she leave her planned and orderly life? “She understood hormones, but this was something inexplicable… a feeling like being high on a drug, like just the smell and taste of him was intoxicating. Addicting.” What do you get when you mix cocktails and dreams (did anyone catch the reference)? A lot of seduction and fun for sure. Kelly Jamieson writes an entertaining story about two very opposite people who complimented each other perfectly. They were on different sides of the “how to live your life spectrum” and when they collided they did just cause a sizzling reaction they also showed each other how to balance their lives between work, family, friends and fun together. There were loads of sexy times as well as sweet and tender moments. I enjoyed getting to know them while they got to know each other and slowly develop their feelings for one another, because they both had doubts and fears they needed to surpass. But eventually they get over the biggest hurdles and find that their happiness is with each other. “ I kind of get a thrill just from being with you.” ~Beck I will comment on a couple of things. Because I liked the characters and had fun reading their story, I would have loved to have the same level of emotional depth as their attraction. Don’t get me wrong, you do feel how they fall for each other, but I also think it could have been more. Again, because I liked Hayden and Beck I wanted more at the end. Body Shot is book #1 in the Last Shot series by Kelly Jamieson. It’s a light, fun and sexy contemporary romance. It can be read as a standalone. Told from both points of view.
astroyic More than 1 year ago
Fantastic romance of opposites attract! This was full of sexual chemistry that will curl your toes, romance, passion and some laugh out loud moments. Theses main characters are well developed and likable. This story will capture your heart and sweep you away with their passion, sexuality, and sizzling chemistry that starts as a simple one night stand. Two passionate people who have never found such chemistry with anyone else, develop something beautiful that took these two main characters out of their comfort zones and to their HEA. Loved it. Highly Recommended! Received a complimentary copy through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
JWright57 More than 1 year ago
What can I say apart from another great read from this author. it was such a refreshing change to have a nerdy scientist as the heroine and put that with a sexy ex Seal who wants to teach her to have fun and you get a fun lighthearted read. Hayden is a biochemist that lost both her parents to Cancer so she is determined to work 24/7 and find a cure for this awful illness, she also takes care of her aging aunt and uncle who took her in when she lost her parents. Life is not fun, it's busy with work and commitments and on top of all this she suffers from anxiety and OCD. The last thing she wants is a love life ..... Beck walked away from his wealthy family when he joined the Navy and became a Seal, he is now retired and runs a Tequila Bar with two of his ex Seal buddies. He lives life to the full, he has a lot of fun and the last thing he wants is a relationship..... This story was beautifully written and I could not put it down, I loved following Beck and Hayden and watching him bring her come out of her shell and enjoy life. I also loved the strong secondary characters and I'm really looking forward to their stories. Great read. I was given this book by the author for an honest review
Momscookingthebooks More than 1 year ago
This is the first book in the new series by Kelly Jamieson and I really liked it. It was a sweet love story with some very steamy sexy scenes. Who doesn’t love a story with an extremely sexy ex-military guy and a beautiful nerdy professor! Beck is portrayed as this hot guy player, but he shows that he really has a sensitive side that he doesn’t show anyone, only Hayden. He’s fun, generous with not only his money, but his time. He is loyal to his friends that he considers his family, as he has a very strained relationship with his parents since his brother died when they were teenagers. After he graduated from college, he joined the Navy and became a Seal. He never felt like he could please his parents and he didn’t want to work in the family business, Whitcomb Industries, and take over for his father when he retired. It was not for him. Not many people know that Beck comes from a privileged wealthy background. He looks like he belongs in a rock band, man bun, tattoos and extremely good looking. He is not into committed relationships, he just wants to keep it light, fun and sexy. Until he meets Hayden! Hayden is a brilliant biochemist, she has her doctorate and not only runs her own company, but is on faculty at the University of California San Diego. She is working on the cure for cancer. She works all the time and her best friend wants her to get out and have fun. Hayden is not athletic in the least and is klutzy. She first meets Beck when he rescues her from falling on her butt after she runs into a post while reading her email on her phone. Hayden is dumbstruck by this handsome man and says only a few words to him and then scurries away. They meet again when her best friend Carrie gets them tickets to a tequila tasting party at a local bar/restaurant that Beck owns with his partners and Seal buddies. Hayden sees Beck behind the bar and he notices her too, but it takes him a minute to figure out it is the girl from the street, but boy did she go from a very pretty up tight business woman to a gorgeous hot woman! They have an instant sexual attraction and their chemistry is combustible. They truly bring out the best in each other. Beck gets Hayden to loosen up and have fun and not let work rule her life. Hayden gives Beck the sense of family that she shares with Beck while taking care of her aunt and uncle. They both share the personal loss of their immediate family, Beck his brother and Hayden, her parents. As their relationship develops it goes from just having fun and hookups to both wanting more, but afraid to take that leap. You are taken on a journey of seeing how these two unlikely people make their relationship work. You see the beauty of discovery when they both realize just how special that person is by their thoughts and deeds. There is of course miscommunication and secrets kept that eventually come out and blow up in their faces, but you are just going to have to read the story to find out how it all plays out! There is so much more to the story then the little snippets I am giving you. If you love a sweet and sexy read, then you really should give this book a try!
weluvdopey More than 1 year ago
This is a great book; this is the first book in the Last Shot series written by Kelly Jamieson. Beck Whitcomb is a former Navy Seal, he left his world of privilege to prove he could make it on his own. He has used his trust fund to open the Conquistadors tequila bar with his brothers-in-arms. When it comes to women, commitment’s not his thing until he gets a taste of the pretty professor who walks into his bar, and winds up in his bed. This is a great book with a wonderful story and well developed characters. This book will keep you reading long into the night and you will not want to put this book down until you finish. This was such a great read and full of surprises. I am looking forward to reading the next book by this great author. A Review copy was provided to me in exchange for a fair and honest review. The free book held no determination on my personal review.
Linda_RochesterNY More than 1 year ago
Body Shot is straight up romance, beautifully written by the awesome Kelly Jamieson. Beck and Hayden are the stars in this sweet, romantic, steamy love story. He's a retired SEAL who co-owns a bar with his buddies. She's a biochemist working on a cure for cancer. An unlikely pairing with mega chemistry. I loved it! I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in return for an honest review.
MJBrown67 More than 1 year ago
I received an ARC cop of this book for an honest review. What do you get when you mix an ex-Navy Seal turned bar owner and a buttoned up, to serious needs to have fun heroine with tequila? This awesome book by Kelly Jamieson. This book was fun, sexy and kept my attention. I loved the characters, they were real people with real issues and real pasts that made them who they are. I loved Beck and Hayden together. They were the perfect mix of fun and serious. The truly brought out the best in each other. Hayden is a dedicated scientist, running her own business as well as teaching. She doesn't do "fun". Beck is an ex navy seal who owns a tequila bar with his former teammates. Pretty much Beck only does "fun". Hayden's friend Carrie talks her into going to a tequila tasting which happens to be at Beck's bar. The supporting characters were fun and intriguing and I cannot wait to read carrie's story. I recommend this book, it is a great start to a new series.
Lorizen More than 1 year ago
I like Kelly Jamieson, this is not my first book from her and she writes a great story. I felt this was not her best. I loved Beck and Hayden and their chemistry together. The backstories were complete and I enjoyed that aspect. A good insight into the two of them. The two of them dance around each other, each with their own misgivings until that one night. Every book has one. At least one. From there the books focus seemed to be mainly on the two of them in bed. I'm the first one that loves lots of steam, sexual tension and smoking bedroom scenes. Theirs seemed to border on empty. I had a hard time staying with the story and was often tempted to skip over some of the pages, I did in fact skim some of the redundant sex scenes out of boredom. Beck could have been a stronger lead. For all his history, he surprised me a little in the backbone area. Bluster, lots of bluster. Hayden I felt had more going on in her self expression, right or wrong. For me the secondary's were not significant enough to make a huge difference. Again the backstory was good, I think seeing Beck's loss of his brother and those unresolved feelings he had made a difference. I think sometimes the first book in a series is a testing ground and I felt like maybe that's what happened here. Yes, I would read a second book, because I really do like the author. She knows how to write. I look forward to the next book. I would like to see more of Beck and Hayden actually... **arc from NetGalley and publisher in exchange for an honest review**
Lashea677 More than 1 year ago
All work and no play makes for a stressful dull life. Beck is about to show Hayden how fun relaxation can be. Cute at first sight. These two work hard but Beck knows how to relieve stress and let go. Hayden needs a few pointers in that department. Their first meeting was one for the record books, I have never laughed so hard in my entire life. Embarassing? Yes, but there was a vulnerability there that added to the charm. It also provided a peek at the fledgling embers of attraction before they blossomed into an inferno. I have just began to become acquainted with Ms. Jamieson body of work and I am impressed. The heated build up is slower but the stories are beautiful. Body Shot sets the tone for an exciting series.
BananaTricky More than 1 year ago
Hayden is a serious, introverted, workaholic: she works fourteen hours a day, seven days a week running her own company which does medical research into cancer. Her best friend Carrie, a model, persuades her to go out one night and they end up at a tequila tasting evening at a local bar. Beck and his two friends run the bar. They are former Navy SEALs and adrenaline junkies. Beck is actually fabulously wealthy as a result of a trust fund and a billion dollar inheritance from his grandfather. Apologies in advance, I'm obviously in a miserable book reviewing phase but I was so disappointed with this book. I have read other books by Kelly Jamieson and really liked them so I leapt at the chance to read this when it appeared on NetGalley but I really didn't like it and had to admit I couldn't face reading any more of it at 57%. This is supposed to be an opposites attract kind of novel, geeky science nerd girl meets hot Navy SEAL who brings her out of her shell etc. Unfortunately, for me the nerdy science girl lasted all of 10 minutes then Hayden is wearing sexy underwear and short skirts, allowing people to take tequila shots off her belly in the bar and suddenly a sex goddess. Also, I know Beck runs a tequila bar but I began to feel that the book was sponsored by a tequila distillery! I love, love, love the nerd meets hot guy trope but I really like it when the girl stays true to her origins. This book didn't really work for me but I still like Kelly Jamieson as an author and will look out for other books. I received a free copy of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review.
Crystal61 More than 1 year ago
This is a steamy read. Hayden is a nerd who is focused on work and the plan for her life. Her friend Cassie drags her out for a night of fun where Hayden meets Beck. Now Beck is full of fun and adventure, covering up his painful memories as a SEAL and his family. The two heat up whenever they are together, but they also complement each other. Together, they are better people. I really enjoyed this story and hope to see more of the owners of the Conquistadors. I recommend this book. I received a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
disneytothemax More than 1 year ago
Hayden is a biochemist and a profession, so she knows her chemistry. She needs something fun in her life, since she now takes care of her Aunt and Uncle. She doesn't mind taking care of them, because they raised her when her parents were killed and she loves them deeply. Her friend, Carrie, decides to take her to a bar. She sees this super hot bartender with tattoos and oh yea, there's chemistry between her and this bartender, Beck. Beck is an ex Nave SEAL. He's wealthy and enjoys this wealth! He lost his brother when he was younger. Typical rich guy, likes the finer things in life (women being one of those). He does hook ups...nothing serious..ever. He doesn't want a relationship with women..it's hit it and quit it. However, could all those plans go out the window when Hayden walks into his bar. They wind up sleeping together, in the office..when they just met! But is that all it'll ever be is a hook up? I loved this book! The chemistry between Beck and Hayden was off the charts hot!! Love books that have Navy SEALS in them! Hayden and Beck were so opposite but you know what they say about opposites! Thanks you to Random House Publishing Group (Loveswept) via NetGalley for a copy of this amazing book!
ReaderLoverKV More than 1 year ago
Loved it!!! Loved every hot scorching, thrill seeking, tequila drunk in love moment. Wow! Navy Seal meets Biochemistry Scientist!!! Sign me up. Lol. Hayden & Beck were incandescent! They blazed a trail of fun and extremely burn your clothes off sex. This book was AWESOME! I loved Beck's vulnerability, coming from a family of wealth and little love to overcoming your fears to become one of the elite groups that defend our country. Then we have Hayden who was teased as a young child for being the smartest person in the room and not knowing exactly how to react to Beck's attention towards her. They end up with their HEA. This story was well written and the secondary characters, Cade, Marco, Beck's SEAL buddies, along with Carrie, Hayden's best friend makes it interesting and full of laughter. Great Read! 4.5 stars!!!!
TheBunny1 More than 1 year ago
***ARC provided by the Publisher and NetGalley*** I don't know what it was, exactly, but I was never really able to fully engage with this book. I liked the characters individually. Beck was interesting, but at the same time, a bit of a cliche as the former SEAL turned bar owner who has refused to live the wealthy life expected of him. Hayden was under developed and maybe a little stereotypical as the shy woman who gets involved with a man she sees as out of her league. I liked them separately and I think I was more interested in the development of them individually than I was in the development of their relationship. I think it felt like I was reading about 2 people who I didn't quite know, and as a result I was not able to invest in their relationship. It could have been me on this one, and I am guessing, as I have read other books by this author and enjoyed them, that it may have been something about this book that didn't click for me...so I can't say don't read it...I can just say that I don't really recommend it.
MiekeReads More than 1 year ago
This book was just O.K., really more of a 3.5 than a 4 star book. I have read a lot of books by Jamieson and I generally enjoy them. Body Shot was a quick and enjoyable read, however, I didn't feel much of a connection to the characters. While both Hayden and Beck were likable they were both kind of one dimensional. Hayden was going to cure cancer and Beck was going to just do whatever he enjoyed with his days while working at his bar. That's it. The end of their character development. Oh, and Beck was a secret billionaire and former Navy Seal. (Because it wouldn't be good enough to just be one or the other.) Also, there was waaaay too much info about tequila. So much so that I began to worry that this book may have been a cry for help from the author. (Hopefully, not.) I get that they were at a tequila tasting event but I just ended up skipping all the detailed description of tequila cause I seriously do not care about the nuances of booze. If you like Kelly Jamieson this is a book worth reading, although, it is definitely not her strongest book. I received an ARC of this book for an honest review.
Maja_Vo More than 1 year ago
So...I'm not 100% sure how I feel about this book. I liked it but there was just something that didn't get me to where I wanted to go with this story. I've read some of the reviews that were posted for this book and I have to agree that there could have been more emotional connection between the main characters. We get both POVs and while I loved that we got to see how they thoughts and emotions changed for each other, I simply can't help but feel that the potential of the story wasn't fully used and executed. Had the story had more emotional development, more inner analyzing about how they felt about each other and maybe less everyday scenes, which were great btw., then maybe I would give it a five stars. But despite what I said, that doesn't mean that the story is not good, because it is, it's just the unused potential that's bothering me so much and that's why I couldn't fully enjoy the story. The best word to describe this book is probably realistic. We get to see how two completely different people, from completelly different background find each other and become friends. Guy meets girl, they have a connection and hit it off. Go together to lunch or dinner and have fun just beeing with each other. It's stuff that happens everyday in real life and I really liked that the author chose to take this path to make her plot. There are also situations that let us see that they aren't perfect and that they are real people with real problems, just like anyone of us. That's why I could connect with the story so much and in the end that's why I gave it four stars. Of course, the sexy parts also played a role in that decision. Their connection of one of a kind and their chemistry is just spot on. It's safe to say I enjoyed their playful side. And as far as the other characters go, I liked them a lot! I have a feeling whose book might be next and if I'm right, it's going to be an interesting read.
DannyJeffbooks More than 1 year ago
Body Shot was an enjoyable, light romance. One of my highlights from this book was, our female lead, Hayden. It was refreshing to read about a sexy female who was incredibly intelligent and caring. She was quirky and shy and certainly likeable. She was offset by the handsome, tattooed, ex-navy seal, Beck. I felt their chemistry but overall it just fell a little short and for me, their connection just lacked that little spark. Overall, this was an ok sweet read. I was gifted a copy of this book from the Publisher via NetGalley.