Elements of Chemistry, Part 1: Attraction

Elements of Chemistry, Part 1: Attraction

by Penny Reid

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Elements of Chemistry, Part 1: Attraction 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
BlushingReader More than 1 year ago
Typically, if I read a book blurb and college is mentioned anywhere in that blurb, I pass.  I know, I know, this does make me a bit of a snob (I own that) and I am sure I have missed out on many fantastic stories, but staring at 40 sometimes when reading about college aged characters makes me roll my eyes and feel old.  However, with Penny Reid I would read ANYTHING she writes (you know my fangirl tendencies with her), even a college romance story, like Attraction.  I have read pretty much every book Penny Reid has written at this point and I can state with authority (of which I have none) that I'm pretty sure it is impossible for Penny Reid to write a bad book.  I love her writing, her style, her sense of humor, the characters she creates, all the feels she infuses her stories with and now I love this start of a trilogy about two college students who are fumbling their way through their "attraction" to one another (see what I did there?). Attraction starts off right away very addicting and interesting.  Thank goodness it is Spring Break around here or my kids would have never gotten picked up from school!  Once you start reading about Kaitlyn and Martin, it is VERY hard to stop reading their story.  In case you aren't aware Penny Reid took her Elements of Chemistry story and broke into three books (they are full stories, not shorts or novellas): Attraction, Heat and Capture.  All these books will be release fairly close together so you won't be waiting too long to get the complete story.  Thank you for that, Penny. Everything I love about Penny Reid's writing is here in Attraction.  Kaitlyn is a painfully awkward 19 year old that has lots of quirky habits and endearing ticks but she is also an honest and loyal friend to those who know her.  Her obliviousness is part of her charm and I fell for her instantly.  Martin is the man about campus that everyone wants (or has had) and we are ready to judge him right off the bat based on Kaitlyn's assumptions that he is a jerk face.  However, with this being a Penny Reid book, Martin doesn't do what we expect and he is more than his reputation and my heart is so very happy to see where this couple will take us. Since this book is broken into three parts, expect Penny Reid to leave us wanting (craving and cussing for) more story when we get to the end of Attraction.  Luckily, part 2, Heat comes out in a couple of weeks (April 30th) so we can stop pacing the floor wanting to know what happens next.   Penny Reid is a storyteller that shows me with every book that she is the real deal.  Her books seem genuine, the humor is real (not forced) and she creates these characters that you can't help but fall in love with (even if they are nerdy or jerk faces).  I get goosebumps and my heart beating up in my throat reading about Kaitlyn and Martin.  The Elements of Chemistry series (so far) is a magical mix of feels, heat and spark that I HIGHLY recommend. Attraction releases today and (as of this post) is only $0.99!!  I guarantee this will be your best dollar spent all week!  If you are a Penny Reid devotee, like I am, then you probably have already read and fallen in love with this book, but if you are on the fence about this series JUMP!  I promise this book is just as good as you are hoping it would be.  If you have never read a Penny Reid book, then I beg you to 1-click this gem and fall in love with the words Penny Reid puts on paper (or e-paper) you are in for a treat! Attraction is definitely a MUST 1-click book!
Lisa-Lou More than 1 year ago
Attraction by Penny Reid is the first book in the Elements of Chemistry series. Elements of Chemistry started out as one book but the story became so involved and intense that the decision was made to split it into three parts. This enabled the story to be told as intended without any cutting of scenes etc. (Thank God, because I just want more, more, more) When I first saw Neanderthal Seeks Human: A Smart Romance, I thought "Smart romance?" and was a little intimidated. When I met Penny at a book signing I was sold. While I do have to fully engage while reading her books it is by no means a hardship. This book was no exception. The quirkiness of the characters and the situations they find themselves in... Kaitlyn is socially awkward and has a tendency to hide in closets. But her POV in the book makes it all make total perfect sense. She wears what she is most comfortable in and doesn't worry about makeup etc. It helps that she is a natural beauty but she is so unassuming it's a pleasant change. When she overhears some nefarious plot to take down her lab partner (THE hottest guy on campus, even in her opinion) she not only comes out of hiding, but she puts on a dress and goes to a frat party to track him down to warn him. This of course sets things in motion that will forever alter her... Martin is the hottest guy on campus. He's the stroke seat on the rowing team (the pace-setter and the most important seat on the boat) and he's also been quietly interested in Kaitlyn since they became lab partners at the beginning of the year. Not that she has noticed or that he has pursued it. Until, of course, she comes to his rescue at the frat party. What ensues is a learning process for the both of them. For Kaitlyn, how to let go and just be... For Martin, how to be with someone like Kaitlyn who is like no other girl he's ever been with before. Like one of the guys, Ray, says to Kaitlyn... "You're not the hook-up girl, you couldn't be if you tried. You're the girl we marry." Up next, Heat scheduled for an April 30, 2015 release date.
HoBraReader More than 1 year ago
5 jerk-face stars! Gah! This book got me "right in the feels"! Some friends of mine were talking about this series so in an effort to not be left out, I read it. Holy crapballs, I loved it. This book is witty, smart and funny. It had me all over the place. I was so captivated by Kaitlyn Parker, her quirks and quick-wit are phenomenal. I haven't met a character like her before. She is refreshing and challenging. I love her "jerk conscience. Always making me do things." Martin Sandeke, being the "equal opportunity jerk- face" that he is, is quite lovable. I love that he is kind and patient with Katy while she tries to figure life out. I am so glad there are more books in this series as I'm loving these characters and can't wait to see what happens next.
feather_lashes More than 1 year ago
Personally, the new-adult ship has sailed for me and I just don't find the genre that enjoyable anymore. However, I like to check out titles from time to time because I have found a few gems for sure. I've seen Penny Reid's name around quite a bit lately so I thought I would check out one of her books. The first installment in her Elements of Chemistry series: Attraction was available via audio at my library so it was perfect timing! This short novel was pretty cute, with a storyline that kept my interest. It does end on a cliffhanger though...a very predictable cliffhanger in my opinion, but I thought it was worth mentioning. Overall, I liked Attraction but I didn't feel invested enough to continue the series. Nothing against the book, it's a "new adult" thing...we're just not compatible anymore. But, if you enjoy the new adult genre, then I would encourage you to give this series a chance. It's definitely got some originality. Check it out! My favorite quote: "“If I let another person’s opinion matter then I was giving him control over me; I alone had complete control over my self-image.”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. I don't usually like new adult books, but this one is very well written. If you're looking for a light, easy read this book is for you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Honolulubelle More than 1 year ago
Witty, clever, and highly entertaining Favorite Quotes: “More precisely, since I had grossly limited experience in the kissing department, he was what I imagined a good kisser would kiss like.  The kind girls fantasize about.  The guy who just takes what he wants, like he’s hungry and you’re on the menu, but somehow makes it epic for both parties involved.” “My first and only boyfriend had been gay.  I just didn’t know it while we were dating through all of high school.” “Sam wasn’t a frat party kind of girl either.  Yes, she liked to get dressed up, but she called sorority girls ‘sorostitutes’ and fraternity buys ‘fratilos’.  She labeled them ‘group thinkers’ and claimed they suffered from a herd mentality.  She was kind of judgey that way.” “It was a dream.  I was sure of it.  It was a dream within a dream or one of those dreams that felt eerily real.  Maybe, if I was lucky, I’d be able to control the action of the dream and spend some naked time with Martin Sandeke’s superior physique without the danger of his personality ruining things.” “But his laugh was a radioactive seduction and had a half-life of infinity.  I wanted him to stop laughing never.  It made his eyes crinkle and his mouth curve in a sinful smile, showcasing his excellent dental hygiene regimen.” My Review: I am so in love with Penny Reid right now, I mean full-on, head-over-heels, giddy, giggly, contented sighing…fan-girling, in love!  Her stellar writing is crisp and sparkling bright.  There is witty banter, snark a-plenty, self-depreciating humor, and clever wit.  Despite my usual avoidance of anything YA, I am hooked, enthralled, and can’t stop reading.  Told from the perspective of an intelligent yet romantically inexperienced, nerdy, book-worm, and virginal lamb, who is totally out of her depth when her college chemistry lab partner of two semesters makes his move.  The lab partner, is a rich playboy, party-boy, jock, and her secret crush.  He is used to getting what he wants and decides to woo her.  Dating and relationships are new to both of them, and they find it exciting, scaring, thrilling, petrifying, agonizing, irritating, and heart pounding… and so did I as I read along.  But arg – a wicked cliffhanger at the end – and scream!  I want to junk punch rich boy, as he just broke our hearts…um, I mean her heart.  Thankfully, I already have the next two installments, and I cannot wait to dive in!
Under_The_Covers_BookBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Suzanne and posted at Under The Covers Book Blog Whoever decided that serials were a fantastic idea needs to be hung, drawn and quartered. I am not enjoying this trend that means I get fully absorbed into the book, something ground breaking, interesting, earth shattering happens and then BAM it’s the end and I have to wait an ungodly amount of time so I can read the next few chapters and repeat the experience. Frankly, I am getting sick of being BAMmed. I, of course say this with love. If I didn’t like the book so much I wouldn’t care that I had to wait. But, if Penny Reid is going to con me into liking the New Adult genre, something with which I have had a rocky relationship with in the past, I feel I should at least get the whole darn book.  *hint hint, please send me all the installments immediately* So, now that my little whine is over, let’s talk about the actual book (or at least, the tiny proportion of the book I had- ha you thought the moaning was over!). It’s safe to say I loved it; couldn’t drag my eyes away from it; snorted with laughter as I was reading it on the train. Once again, Penny Reid’s mixture of quirky humour and kooky characters has created a book that left me in love with her characters and very much invested in their future. If you have read her Knitting in the City series, it made me think that this would have been Janie and Quinn if they had met each other in college. We, again, have the quirky, socially inept heroine and the broody alpha male who gets his socks knocked off by her. Maybe this isn’t the most original story line ever invented, but that doesn’t make it any less fun and any less romantic. I will be waiting with baited breath for the next installment in this serial, I am a Penny Reid addict and I need more, more, more! *ARC provided by author
MirandaRcr More than 1 year ago
“Then he kisses me, And – damn, damn, damn – he was a good kisser.” Phenomenal. Exceptional. Fantastic. Remarkable. Marvelous. Since the heroine, Kaitlyn, in Elements of Chemistry: Attraction, has a thing for reciting synonyms when nervous I thought it was only fitting to start this review off with some synonyms for Extraordinary since that is what this book is. I have long know that Penny Reid can write a great contemporary book but watching her dip her toes into the New Adult pool has been both exciting and fun (see also titillating and jocular.) “You’ll make me cry.” “I wouldn’t.” “You would. I’ve seen it, I see how you treat girls.” “I wouldn’t do that to you. You’re not- I know you’re not like that. We wouldn’t be that.” “I don’t trust you.” “I know. But you will.” Kaitlyn is happy leading her somewhat boring wall flower life, not being noticed and just trying to find what it is that will make her remarkable like her family. Martin is everything she doesn’t want, a playboy, a jock and cruel to many but she cannot help her sexual desire for him. What she can help is letting it affect her. That is until he kisses her . . .then all bets are off. Since not breaking promises is one of Kaitlyn’s life rules she finds herself on a tropical island with her best friend Sam, Martin and his rowing team mates. While their chemistry is clear Kaitlyn will not just give in to desire. She is a smart girl who will listen to her head. But who will win out the smart voice in her head or the desperate voice in her head. “My body places you in a state of duress?” “Of course. Of course it does. What a ridiculous question. Your body causes distress, disquiet, desolation, and puts me in a state of duress.” Martin Sandeke is a ladies man and I for one can say I have fully fallen for his charms. I adore him and his quick wit and sexual aggression. While at times he comes on to strong for Kaitlyn’s wishes even she cannot walk away from someone who oozes so much sex appeal. While to the outside world he appears to be a bit of an a** to Kaitlyn he is anything but. She is not his typical type but she is everything he wants. “Martin, this is nuts. You don’t need or want a girlfriend.” “I want you.” While I read a lot of Contemporary and Erotic fiction, New Adult has always been my chosen genre so when I read the Elements Of Chemistry short story in the Breathless Anthology I knew that this was something I wanted more of. Of course then, when Penny announced that she planned on turning it into a full length book I was ecstatic. And then when she announced that it was so long it would have to be released in three parts I was jumping for joy! Attraction, the first of three) did not let me down. While it does end in a cliffhanger it is not so bad that waiting a few weeks for the next to come out would kill you. Attraction was EVERYTHING! EVERYTHING! A strong heroine, a panty melting man and wit like only Penny can write. I can already tell you that this series will be one I read over and over again and we are only on the first part! ~miranda