On Loving

On Loving

by Lili Naghdi

Paperback

$17.86 $18.80 Save 5% Current price is $17.86, Original price is $18.8. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

On Loving 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
KristenH 1 days ago
Can you fall in love more than once? In Lili Naghdi's On Loving, this historical romance will take you to a faraway time in a turbulent period of our history. This story is about Dr. Rose Hemmings, who was adopted by an American family and born from an Iranian couple. It all starts as an older Rose talks to her granddaughter Amanda about her life and loves in her life as a vascular surgeon, a mother and wife, and how she had fallen in love with two people. In her story, she tells us about how she also wanted to know more about her birth parents and how she was adopted. Before she could make that trip to Iran in the mid-1970s, when she met Dean Taylor, the first true love of her life when he contemplated saving his life. For Rose and Dean, things change between them as they go to Iran and learn about her Iranian heritage and culture. Rose meets Morad Khan, her maternal grandfather, who was the king of Iran and dying from cancer. After she has gotten to know him better, he passes away. Then she meets her second cousin, Siyavash, who had been smitten with her at first glance. But this had put Rose into a complicated love triangle throughout the years when she was torn between two lovers. She’s dealt with life, love, mental health issues, and finding the courage to love again the second time around when it transcends through time. This novel takes place in the 1970s-1980s in Iran, Paris, and various states across the USA. I love how we learned a lot about the Iranian culture during those difficult times of years and their customs and their love of literature. I loved that the theme taught us so many things about living life and finding love. I did like how Rose finally gave Dean a second chance and lets him back into her heart with forgiveness. This is a fantastic book, but could benefit from more editing. I would’ve liked to have read more about Rose’s feelings as opposed to the usage of internal thoughts. This would develop the characters and create a stronger connection with the readers. Overall, this was a real good historical romance. I give it 4 stars out of five.
Anonymous 3 days ago
On Loving is a deeply intricate tale of love and the human psyche deftly penned by writer and doctor Lili Naghdi who uses her love of poetry and history to breath rich life into memorable characters and bring the reader on a thoughtful and fulfilling journey. Dr. Rose Hemmings is the central character of "On Loving" and the reader is smoothly and deeply drawn into her complex and all too human story. Rose finds herself in love with two men, either at different times or sometimes, simultaneously. Dean is an man she meets in a bar and she saves from a violent crime. Siyavash is actually related to the heroine-although, remotely but family, nonetheless. Rose fall for Dean automatically as Siyavash loves Rose on sight. Through many years, changes and tragedies, Rose's relationship with both men ebbs and flows. On Loving is so much more than a love story. Naghdi, layers in her love for poetry as well as history of Iran-Rose is part Iranian and travels with Dean to her homeland to find out more about her roots. The author does an excellent job at inserting these parts to add the narrative, mostly. There are times when the poetry seems to overwhelm the story and sometimes the reader gets the sense "On Loving" could be two different types of stories entirely. However, Naghdi's use of the characters culture heritage and deep feelings of family is always enriching. As is her ability to subtly explore the importance of family and ones deep seated need to belong. The only other time, the story loses it's flawless flow is when some of the details get lost or forgotten. For a writer who is so thorough, when descriptive settings and backgrounds become so general it feels jarring. Be prepared for no end of tragedy that follows the good doctor and her supposed toughness and sharpness as a physician is hardly ever written, but one can not help but to connect deeply with Rose and her interesting personality. The end of "On Loving" is told from a different narrative but it gives Rose the more roundness to her character that she deserves; it is really well done as is the seamless way the author weaves in the issue of depression. Dr. Lili Naghdi is a gifted and thoughtful voice for a thoughtful reader; who, hopefully, will continue to explore many more engaging and enriching stories.
Anonymous 7 days ago
The book is a classic love story taking place in both America and Iran, two completely different places and cultures. The main character is Rose, an Iranian surgeon from the US, coming back to Iran to discover her roots and find the family she didn’t know. She decides to find the truth about her parents and get to know as much of Iranian culture and language as possible. She goes through various romantic adventures on the way, when she faces a choice between an Iranian and American partner. It reflects the choice the author may have done herself in her life, a choice between Iranian heritage and culture and the West. The author is an Iranian doctor living in Canada herself, so the book seems to tell us stories from her own life, including her medical career and complicated question of her roots and identity. She uses a lot of medical terminology in the book, what I personally liked, especially when she discusses the influence of love on a human brain. The love story, taking part in Iran and America, is marked with many beautiful bits about Iranian history and culture, which makes it interesting to read. It will tell you a lot about what to visit in Iran, the recent history of the country, its customs and traditions, sometimes beautiful, sometimes quite problematic or even oppressive, like refusing a marriage to two people not being equal in social status. I especially liked the bits about the Bakhtiari tribes and their influence on the politics of the country. The love story itself is rather cliché at many points, but it might be okay to read during summertime. Also, the author likes to quote as many famous people as possible to make the book sound rich in content, but the outcome is rather cheesy. However, including the poetry of Rumi was a very good idea. I didn’t know much about this famous Iranian poet, even though I have heard his name before. In overall, it will not be a demanding book but it may help you relax at the beach. The plot is quite simplified, but it depends on what you want at the time. I personally really feel like going to Iran right now or maybe reading some Iranian poetry!
Aphrael 12 days ago
Rosie is an accomplished surgeon fresh out of her residency and quickly making a name for herself in the medical world. When her adoptive father dies, she is struck by a need to discover her roots, to find her heritage and history back in Iran. Right before she is set to leave on this trip to find out about her past, a man rushes into the bar she is sitting in with her friend Jen. The man is Dean, a troubled soul that has no will to live but instantly draws Rosie in. Having never felt herself in love before, Rosie struggles to understand the instant connection she feels towards Dean. She is determined to help him heal and brings him along with her on her trip to Iran. Once in Iran she not only finds her family but finds out she is an heiress. However, her grandfather was very ill, and she was there in his final days. Her Grandfather’s left her everything with the stipulation she marry Siyavash. Rosie is thrown into a situation of loving Dean but him unable to return her love due to do his past, and Siyavash loving her, but her not returning his love for her love of Dean. On Loving by Lili Naghdi is an interesting look into Rosie’s life. She states from early on she never felt or understood true love. The closest she had was her love for her adopted parents, but she had never been “in love” till the day she met Dean in the bar. Suddenly everything she believed in life changed. Her story is filled with history talking about Iran in the years before the wars took over the country. Learning about the Bakhtiari people was fascinating, hearing about the culture and traditions. These are areas I don’t often come across in my readings, so it was a nice change to see the cultural in such a personal manner. There are lots of quotes to Persian writings that are magical and captivating in and of themselves. The way that Lili Naghdi is able to show her cultural and the beauty of Iran is unique. Rosie is an American but discovering her rich past and falling in love with it while trying to hold onto her modern beliefs. She is drawn to the cultural and wants to enjoy it but refuses to be beholden to the traditions or arranged marriages after seeing it make so many people miserable. The only issue is she feels something for Siyavash. There is a love triangle story in here, but it is not really the focus of the novel. Instead the focus is on coming to terms to what love is. How you can love someone and not every love is romantic. Rosie learns that love comes in many forms and manifests in manners she never imagined from back in her old English class when asked to describe what it feels like to be in love. Without giving away too much of the book I can say that this novel shows how Rosie goes from being a non-believer in true love to understanding all too well the value and cost of unconditional love. She finds love in more ways than many others ever find. Not your typical romance story, but compelling and engaging.
JA_Wright 19 days ago
"On Loving" is set in the 1970s and follows the life of Rose Hemmings. Rose experiences a lot of pain throughout her life, but she is lucky enough to experience love with not just one man, but two. Rose has never known what love really was aside from the love of her adoptive parent’s so it was sweet to watch her find romantic love as well as love from her biological family in Iran once she finally locates them. I thought that it was neat to travel alongside Rose as she uncovered the mystery of her family and discovered who she truly is. I always love reading about women who get knocked down yet continue to stand up and move on with their life and Rose does just that. Tragedy strikes on numerous occasions, yet Rose finds it within herself to keep pushing through. I admire that about her character. The way at Lili Naghdi descripts things is great. I know next to nothing about Iran, but Lili has a beautiful way of describing and expressing emotions with the written word which made me feel like I was there with Rose feeling what she felt and seeing what she saw. The buildings and landscape sound magnificent. On Loving is a novel based on exactly that; loving. It showed all aspects on love such as what it feels like to be in love and have a connection with someone, the trials and errors of love, and how to be loved and it also showed that love isn’t always pretty which is something that I think a lot of people forget. It’s not all sunshine and roses, there are occasionally dark storms and what seem like endless nights. Rose’s story clearly shows that. I found it to be a good read overall.
WhovianMOM 21 days ago
“On Loving” by Lili Naghdi, follows the story of Dr. Rose Hemmings beginning in the early ‘70’s after just finishing her residency in surgery. At this point in her life, big changes were already afoot as she prepared to travel to her homeland of Iran and dig into her past. But things immediately become even more tumultuous when she is abruptly introduced to Dean Taylor, a handsome but depressed and near suicidal man that she meets in a bar (as he’s being shot by an unknown gunman, no less). Rose is very apprehensive about her plans to journey to Iran and delve into her family history (she is adopted and looking to learn more about her birth family) and through a very fast turn of events ends up taking this injured and unstable stranger along with her halfway across the country. Whew! I have to say that the first few chapters of this book come across as pretty unbelievable. Now, unbelievable things happen in novels all the time and to me is part of the joy of reading, but somehow the way that Naghdi writes this story makes the whole thing seem rushed and awkward. I don’t know if it’s just her style of writing or the fact that she seems to leave out a lot of (albeit largely inconsequential) details, but this was the aspect of the book that I didn’t particularly enjoy (I’m a stickler for the details!). I don’t know how to describe it well, because I actually love the idea of the spontaneity and romance behind Rose’s decision to travel with Dean and help him with his emotional issues (which in turn helps her as well). I think that somehow the imagery and feeling is just lacking due to the seemingly rushed nature of her writing style. However, these criticisms aside, I still enjoyed the book and would recommend the book to anyone else who enjoys a romance novel. I personally appreciated reading a romance novel (I don’t see how this could be classified any other way) that wasn’t largely comprised of sex scenes. It’s like a real novel of real love, hence the title. I very much enjoyed the way the author incorporated poetry and tidbits of other literary works into the novel. As a real bookworm and poetry fanatic this alone would have kept me turning pages. “Never be afraid to raise your voice for honesty and truth and compassion against injustice, lying, and greed…” If that Falkner quote is in your book I’m pretty much guaranteed to keep reading. But in all seriousness, I do think Naghdi is a great story teller and I thoroughly enjoyed reading Rose’s tale. My only real qualms with the book were due to my own particular tastes for writing style and flow of a story. I would certainly not hesitate to pick up another book from this author.
Shaili 22 days ago
On Loving is an engaging, informative, and an overall un-put-downable read. We follow Dr. Rose Hemmings around the world as she meets people and faces challenges that change her life forever. She is introduced as an adopted child of loving and ambitious parents that have sheltered her from a past full of trife.We meet Dean Taylor- a James Marden-esque fellow with troubled eyes and an even more troubled soul. We accompany them on a trip to Iran, where a host of rich and endearing people, traditions, and places are presented to us. The most important of all being Siyavash- a royal and charming man who is immediately captivated by Rose. In Iran, Rose learns about her troubling past and faces a society that is dependent on her. From Iran, we head to Paris and back to Manhattan where further trials, tribulations, and gorgeous poetry follow. There is so much ground covered in this book- literally and metaphorically. The author incorporates the work of globally renowned poets such as Rumi and Sylvia Plath and simultaneously quotes research papers published on neurology. It is easy to glean the author’s deep fascination with poetry, literature, science, love, mortality, and even the nature of a fleeting existence. Even if you don’t necessarily consider yourself a philosopher or existentialist, this book will certainly get the fire going for you. Lyrical and informative accounts are provided for all of the places- you can sense there is true love burning behind the narration. Rich historic descriptions and fun facts provide color and realism to the multitude of places this book explores. It’s almost like being part of a family field trip where your grandparents tell you about the loving memories attached to the places rushing by. Obviously, it makes for a more fulfilling and emotional experience than simply announcing New York, 1972. To me, the characters and their transformations are the most striking and beautiful part of the book. Despite having undergone the most cruel and horrific events life has thrown their way, they have shaken off the cynicism and bitterness. It was wonderfully refreshing to see Rose, Dean, Siyavash, and even Morad Khan turning their heads towards the light even in the worst of times. A good set of characters can do wonders- and this set was human, relatable, and inspiring. On the surface, it is an engaging and adventurous story full of twists, turns and trauma, but ultimately it is chock full of sincerity and reverence for the good in life.
Anonymous 3 months ago
On Loving is written by Lili Naghdi. This book is a romance novel that follows the life of Dr. Rose Hemmings, and those who are closely intertwined to her in her life. Throughout the course of this novel, we see the life of Rose through her eyes. However, we also get her hidden family history, as she is adopted. While the topic is on love, we learn through Rose’s eyes that love is not just happiness and butterflies. It is often full of confusion and even darkness. This book honestly depicts love, showing all sides of love and being loved. The description of the book describes how it is a Pandora’s Box of secrets within her family, and it did not lie. The beginning of On Loving, we learn a bit about Rose and who she is as a person. But then, one night in a bar leads to a plethora of family secrets. After she learns her secrets, it seems as if one tragedy after another unfolds within her life. She suffers many losses throughout the course of her life. From these losses, we see all the different facets of love and all of the different emotions that can come from different experiences. Most of the time, when someone thinks of a romance novel, they think it is something with two people falling in love, maybe a love triangle, with some grand romantic gestures and sometimes detailed sex. On Loving was not that kind of romance novel. It was a more realistic depiction of love and how sometimes we do not so nice things to those we love, but it also depicts the sacrifices and the many hardships. On Loving was not to my exact tastes when it comes to this kind of book. Naghdi used many exclamation marks that changed the tone, making it seem as if everyone was excited all of the time. Additionally, there seemed to be a lot of repeating instances within the book. Without spoiling anything, certain events happened more than once either to the same person or to someone else. While it is certainly possible this could happen in real life and did not make it unrealistic, to me personally, it made it seem a bit repetitive. I liked the book overall. It started slow but quickly picked up. There were many times when it was difficult for me to put the book down. I think the format in which the book was written was more unique compared to other books I have read. It felt like a real memoir of a real person, but also a story she was telling her granddaughter. I think this feature gave the book a nice, familial touch. There is obviously a heavy influence of literature. This spoke to me because I love literature, and the quotes used were relevant and resonated with me at times. Naghdi’s writing was also thought-provoking and you feel what Rose felt. I would recommend this book to lovers of realistic literature.
MegThomas 4 months ago
Lili Naghdi’s romance novel, On Loving, is a recipe for success. Set in the 1970s in new York, it is not only the steaming romantic love triangle that it is, but also a lamentation on the greater power of love and being loved, involving love in a deeper, familial form as well as a romantic one. This is not just a story but an intercontinental saga of a young woman’s life and love, as the boundaries it pushes. Dr Rose Hemmings is a doctor. Though maybe a master of the heart as a pumping vessel in human anatomy, she is certainly no master of love. Still, she goes through life trying to understand it and unfold it. It’s not until she goes back home to Iran after the death of her adoptive father in America that she truly starts to realise the lengths of love and the world she could have been a part of. In America, she’s an immigrant and she’s alone – though not a reflection on her standing as a respected doctor, she still feels like something is missing. So she heads back home to help discover herself, and what she finds there is world-changing. Not only is she an heiress, but her biological family are thrilled to meet her. She also meets someone who promises to love her unconditionally… But she has someone back home whose love will forever be an entangled part of her life. The choices become harder and harder to make the more she thinks about it. The place descriptions are lovely – having never been to Iran, I felt a deep sense of understanding of the terrain and the places the characters visit. You can tell from the descriptions that the author has a real understanding of the place, not only physically but emotionally and sensually. This romance novel isn’t simply the kind that sets up all the issues and resolves them swiftly. Rose must make difficult decisions and accept that she can’t live both lives. She must grapple with the knowledge that she was sent to America for a reason, and that she is helplessly besotted with someone there, but also accept that the life she left in Iran is one that she feels a tethering to deep down. Does she want to be passionately in love, as she thinks she might be, or does she want structure, and a guaranteed love for life?
Diana Levit 4 months ago
“On Loving” is a book that touches on different aspects of love. The main character - Dr. Rose Hemmings, is a young, independent woman who is trying to cope with the loss of a man she loved the most – her adopted dad. The woman decides to go to Iran and learn about her biological parents, hoping that such act will help her find peace with herself. Rose is offered to take Dean – a young man she met a couple of weeks prior - as her travel companion, for the man should help the young doctor to battle her insecurities as well as heal his own wounds. As the journey takes place, the woman is constantly faced with people who experienced different types of love – from a passionate crush to abusive and controlling relationships, leaving the reader to wonder what real love is. Lili Naghdi did a great job supplying the reader with facts on Irani and French cultures. This helps dive into the outlined atmosphere and makes one believe one is actually in a country described, siting next to the locals and watching the main characters from aside. Yet, at times, it feels like the author is overloading the book with cultural or political facts, that have absolutely no impact on the events described, turning romantic fiction novel into an academic paper, that is converted back into the romantic novel in the fallowing chapter. While the information overload bothered me a bit, I could not shake the feeling that the characters should have been explored deeper. Throughout the book there are plenty of occasions when a character does something, that. according to one’s previously described characteristics, one should not do, without giving any deep explanation on what have made one to act in a certain way. Moreover, although the author is trying very hard to persuade the reader that the characters have different backgrounds, values and mindsets, they somehow end up looking all the same, making the book less interesting and believable. Still, in my opinion, this book will be a great catch for all the teenage / young adult romance lovers out there. This story might be not the most realistic one, but we all want to run away from reality and have a simple and quick read. And this book does the trick. I’ve read the 600 pages in 5 days. And though I would not reread it, I certainly don’t regret of reading it.
Missmolly3011 4 months ago
On Loving is an epic novel by Lili Naghdi. The author clearly draws much inspiration from her own life and experiences growing up in pre- and post-revolutionary Iran as well as her work as a doctor. Writing what she knows serves her well in this beautiful and often painful life story saga. This story is a first-person narrative that spans over decades. Rose Hemmings-Bakhtiari is the adoptive daughter of Dr. William Hemmings. She is a doctor as well as a gifted writer and lover of literature. Her love of literature is painted throughout the novel in beautiful quotes from many literary geniuses. Throughout her life, Rose experiences much pain but also so much love! Dean is her first big love and the two have a deep connection. They experience much throughout the course of their often “undefinable relationship.” They have children, lose children, experience brushes with death, end their relationship, and come together again only to separate in tragedy. Siyavash is another man who play a very important role in Rose’s life story. She meets him while still involved heavily with Dean, but he throws her for a loop, and she doesn’t immediately understand her draw to him. Their love is intense and real and raw, and she can’t continue with Dean while her feelings for this man continue to burn. The author builds in an intense connection with all three of these people including a shared kidney! The irony and tragedy of how it plays out really had me thinking! Near the end of her life Rose looks back and assesses things and seems to feel that mostly her life was filled with satisfying love and joy. She acknowledges the pain but that is not her focus at all. I so appreciated this outlook from her, especially considering everything that she experienced and all the people she lost! She continues writing until the very end. It seems that the author’s own love for literature is given to this lead character. This book has so much passion, pain, love, and all the complications that come along with all of those things. It is so interesting to experience Rose grappling with her love for both of these men. Because the entire story is a memoir written for the author’s children it gives the reader the feeling of an intimate inside look into a family. Although this is a lengthy read it truly flowed through my brain. I absorbed her words and her phrasing like delicious cotton candy on my tongue! I really felt that she wove poetry throughout this novel, and it made it a pleasure to read. I highly recommend this heartfelt piece of literature that was clearly a labor of love by this author.
AnonyMouse81 11 months ago
On Loving is a novel by Lili Naghdi that is everything its title insinuates. The book, in its entirety, is “on loving.” The book follows the story of Dr. Rose Hemmings, an adopted immigrant from Iran, as she navigates international borders, the meaning of family, and the discovery of love. All three seem to crash together at the same time for Rose. Fate has a way of smacking you upside the head when least expected, and Rose’s fight with fate is no exception. The story begins with a pretty interesting twist. Rose meets one of her love interests, Dean in the most inconvenient of ways. Rose and her friend were patronizing her friend’s uncle’s bar when Dean found his way in and quickly found his way to the floor after being struck by a bullet. Mysterious Dean is stubborn about hospital talk, but agrees to let Rose care for him. This begins a pretty amazing journey for the two. The mystery surrounding Dean will draw readers in. There are hints given along the way about his past, but will only unfold further after he spends more time with Rose. Readers and Rose, alike, will just have to wait. Rose’s story is one that many will be able to empathize with. She was orphaned as an infant and adopted by a family residing in America. She loves her adoptive family, but is hungry to know about who and where she came from. On her adoptive father’s deathbed, he gives her a few details that will help her get to know her birth family and their history. We all have something. We all have a skeleton in our family closet or some vague reference about our past that we never quite got to delve into. Everyone will know and appreciate the kind of hunger and curiosity that Rose has about her roots. The real twist comes in when Rose refers Dean to a friend of hers who works in psychology. Much to everyone’s surprise, their “homework assignment” includes the two of them joining one another in their journeys to Iran and Paris for closure for them both. This book was set in the 1970s and it shows in this aspect. I doubt anyone in the psychological field would send these two out on this kind of trip in modern times. Twists and turns are never far from their path as they travel and discover themselves, each other, and others who may soon be cast as lead characters in their own stories. These intertwining stories make for a very interesting, attention-grabbing kind of read. It is a story based on romance and love without being inundated with sex scenes. The story itself and the plot take a front seat to physicality. That was extremely refreshing to me, as someone who doesn’t frequently read romance novels. The heart of the story revolves much more about relationships. I especially enjoyed the descriptions of Iran in the book. The architecture, the paintings and colors are portrayed very well. I can “see” the Persian elements that Naghdi weaves in. She does a brilliant job of weaving in the beautiful and exotic background as she takes her characters through that world. I’m giving On Loving by Lili Naghdi 5 out of 5 stars. The grammar, spelling, and sentence structure are on point. The plot flows well. The pace is great. The book will keep the reader interested in the story throughout. I’d love to read more work by Naghdi.
Anonymous 11 months ago
At age 29, Rose Hemmings lives a good life. Living in New York city, she has an established career as a surgeon and is every bit the picture of strength and logic as far as her personal life goes. But life can’t be completely planned and a chance meeting in a bar, right on the heels of her adopted father’s death, begins her on a path that she could never have possibly imagined. From traveling to Iran in search of her birth family, to the last moments of her life, Rose tells her story of life and love, and how transformative it all has been. “On Loving”, by Lili Naghdi is the story of Rose’s life, written as a memoir to her family once she realized she was dying. She is an independent and confident woman when we meet her at the beginning of the book, but starts to change almost immediately, a fact that is heavily implied by her own words. Throughout the rest of the book she never really regains her sense of self, helping to cement the idea that once you’re in love, you are truly a different person. Naghdi has a way with words and paints a beautiful picture of pre-revolutionary Iran, the place where she grew up, vividly describing the countryside, the people there, and a few of their customs. She also uses poetry masterfully throughout the text, not only for the romance of it but as a unifying thread between Rose, her family, and her loves. The story itself, though, is mostly mediocre. Despite the strengths and talent of Naghdi’s writing, much of the book is repetitive, comprised of saccharinly sweet cliches about how it feels to be in love. Some of the more passionate conversations actually happen multiple times, almost verbatim. Although the book is about love, loss plays a disproportionately big role. For the first few years after the story begins, Rose deals not only with unexpectedly falling in love, but is buffeted by the loss of seemingly everyone she has ever been close to in her life. Certainly some adversity makes a book more riveting, but the constant parade of death felt unnecessary and distracting. Love, naturally, is the overall theme of “On Loving.” Very specifically, the book kept coming back to the ways love can sustain and change a person, sometimes to the point that they don’t even recognize themselves. There are a few very poignant passages about the power of love versus the power of hate, and using love to create strength in the face of loss. Rose tells her story so her family can understand why love is the most powerful and valuable force in the world. I’d give “On Loving” 3 out of 5 stars. Although the story was not the strongest, I still found that I cared about the characters and wanted to know what happened next. Much of Rose’s turmoil could have been prevented if she had kept any of the rationality she possessed in the beginning, but as the story teaches- a person in love doesn’t always have that choice or control.
Rae Capri 11 months ago
To experience love and being loved by someone isn’t as common as you think, why do you think that is? Unfortunately, many people won’t ever get the chance to experience two loves, let alone one. The feeling of giving your all to another person who isn’t an immediate extension of yourself is such a rare blessing, you can only appreciate the ability to strongly feel. Can it affect you any less if you never had an opportunity to experience the power of love? If you happen to be amongst the “lucky ones,” sharing it with the world makes it even more beautiful. In “On Loving,” author Lili Naghdi grants her readers a true and raw perspective of the life of Dr. Rose Hemmings-Bakhtiarti, a phenomenal medical surgeon that has yet to experience true love. After losing her father Dr. William Hemmings, she learned that she was adopted and felt more than ready to learn about her roots. Through her encounters and always providing love and guidance to those in need, she had no idea just how much love and loss she would experience along the way. Losing the lives of everyone she loved along her journey, it was a gift to learn that her birth parents were an Iranian version of Romeo and Juliet. The love she had for both men at different times of her life opened the doors to be truly loved and appreciated out of being vulnerable and accepting. Dean Taylor, an architect and Siyavash Bakhtiari, Rose’s grandfather’s right hand, both showed how to love in their own special way. This book demonstrates that love comes in many forms and not everyone would get the opportunity to witness it in their lifetime. There’s so much one can learn from reading this book, including the literary and poetry aspects involved, that conveyed emotions in an expressive way. Reading the life story of Dr. Rose Hemmings-Bakhtiarti, gave me a sense of hope that one day I might get to embrace a proper love from a gentleman in my future, as she was around my age and haven’t a clue what love was, in the beginning. I felt a connection to her in a way that made her seem like an older mentor, expressing how she lived her life and took everything as a lessoned learned. There was a handful of loss in her lifetime and I truly felt for her but commended her for all the times she wanted to give up, she always had someone to bring her back to having faith that everything will work out. I highly recommend anyone who needs an idea of how loving and being loved by the same person can truly change you for the better.
KerrieIrish 11 months ago
ou are in for a whirlwind of a good time with this book. Dr. Rose Hemmings discovers an entirely different life and history when she travels back to Iran, where she was born, after the death of her adoptive father. There, she finds out that she is an heiress, which is leaps and bounds ahead of where she was in America. Even though she just finished school, and is now a doctor, she is alone. All she wants is a family to love her. Luckily, in Iran, she finds just that. Her family in Iran is loving, caring, everything that she ever hoped for. She also falls in love, but when she returns to the United States, she realizes that she can’t have the best of both worlds, she needs to decide if she wants to stay in the US and keep her life here or find a new life in Iran. There are positive and negatives to each choice, and Rose has to determine what is most important to her. Watching Rose discover herself and her background was really sweet. She is just like everyone else, searching for love and her place in the world. As an adopted person, Rose wants to belong somewhere, but it seems like wherever she is, it just isn’t fully the right place. You can tell that the author truly felt the emotions of this story, she put her heart and soul into every word. I thought that the writing was perfect, she was able to tell the story and make me feel as if I was there. However, I would have liked to read something a little more original. This seemed like a book that I’ve read before, but we all have our own stories to tell, so maybe the author just wanted to share her life. Either way, I thoroughly enjoyed this book, the story was superb, and the writing was wonderful. I fell into this story like an old friend who I hadn’t seen in forever, and wanted to catch up on all of the good gossip. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
EmersonRoseCraig 11 months ago
On Loving is the epic adventure story of Dr. Rose Hemming. Written by author Lili Naghdi, the book follows Rose, who recently finished her general surgery residency, is setting out to discover more about herself and her family in prerevolutionary Iran. During her travels, she uncovers mysteries, discovers more about herself, and finds herself torn between two men. The story is exciting, full of secrets, and above all, a love story. The key strength of this book for me was the way that Naghdi wrote Rose as a character. She is a highly successful and self-driven person but is also dealing with hardships. Her relationship with her adoptive father is very sweet, and you really feel the tragedy of his death, which occurs shortly before the events of the book begin. You really feel her loss and the emotions are strong and organic. I also really loved watching her try and discover her family. The way the adoption was handled was really interesting to me because she had this curiosity about finding out more about herself but also deeply loved her adoptive father and saw him as her father. The amount of time that Naghdi spent building up Rose and her emotional development really paid off when it came to the love story portion of the book. Caring so much about Rose and understanding her emotions, the two possible love characters and the choice between them became more intriguing and deeply felt. Love triangles do not always work, but Naghdi did a wonderful job of building hers up and making it feel natural in the story. A unique and interesting feature of this book is the choice of setting. Getting to travel with Rose to pre-revolutionary Iran was an exciting and fascinating adventure. This is not a common setting in western fiction, and I do not have a lot of knowledge of Iran, so I was excited to get to see a little into the culture, albeit through the fictional story lens. Naghdi does a wonderful job of building up the world with her descriptions and really brought it to life for me. From beginning to end, I found this story to be an exciting adventure, and a charming and thrilling love story. I was engaged throughout the book and loved all the mysteries and twists that Naghdi through at me. I would give this book four stars. If you love a good romance story, then I would definitely recommend you check this book out.
aaron washington 11 months ago
This book follows the story of Dr. Rose Hemming; a successful medic who has accomplished a lot in her career. Her character is lovable as one can see how well she does her work. I personally admired the life Dr. Rose lived, seeing that she was a career woman who focused on what was important in life. One day in 1972 as Dr. Rose Hemming was done with her general surgery residency, something eccentric happened. A stranger who appeared haunted got shot right in front of the good doctor. Reading this made a chill run down my spine because I tried imagining what I could have done had that happened in front of me. I love that the author fully captured my imagination and made the story intriguing for me. This is when I realized that ‘On Loving’ was a good read. The shooting happened in a bar in New York, an open place which had other people present. It’s not the shooting that mesmerized me, it’s the events that happened later. Dr. Rose and this stranger’s lives got interlinked in the most bizarre way ever. I must admit I did not see that coming. I have to give it to the author for one thing; she is a creative genius. There is no part of the book that had a bland story. Everything the author wrote about was interesting. Lili Naghdi knows how to curve her words and bring out the best in storytelling. I enjoy how she told the story, sometimes making the reader visualize what was happening by describing things vividly. Her writing style is excellent. I absolutely loved reading about Dr. Rose’ journey to Iran. I wanted to virtually accompany her because the experience she had in prerevolutionary Iran was one of a kind. Though her trip to Iran may have been exciting, whatever she found there was nothing close to what I was expecting. By visiting the country, Dr. Rose got to know about her family’s deep secrets. It was like opening Pandora's Box. During her trip back to the US, I took her personality and tried to make some decisions on her behalf as she seemed to be in a dilemma. I love that the author added this bit in a story, as it made us see that one can love someone, only for the person loved to care for someone else. This was Dr. Rose and the two men. Her last interaction with her ailing father was emotional. I also loved her dad because he would often recite beautiful poems to her. This book is about love. In one chapter, the author recalls how in high school her literature teacher asked them to define love by how they had encountered it in their lives. Even as other students chuckled at the topic, the author had a rather interesting answer when it was her turn to speak. She said that she had been thinking about it but never experienced love. I applaud her honesty. It is true that everyone’s idea of love differs from others. Later in the book I fully got to understand why Dr. Rose gave that particular answer. She was also unlucky because at some point she had mental health issues and challenges with her physical health. I admired her character regardless. This is a great read for people who have been loved before and want to share the love they have.