London Calling

London Calling

by Veronica Forand

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

London Calling 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous 3 months ago
A big thank you to NetGalley and Entangled Publishing for the ARC. I am voluntarily reviewing this book. Emma is On a SWAT team in the US and gets kidnapped by MI6 to protect her. Crazy espionage stuff...is her dad a double agent??? Lots of action, a little confusing. Emma is a super strong character!! I really liked her. Convoluted but still romance. 4 stars
Merryj 3 months ago
If you love a little espionage with your romance you are going to love this book. Emma has no idea what her father is into and is caught in the middle of his drama. When she is kidnapped by MI6, she is determined to find out just what is going on. Liam has tried everything to keep her safe and has no choice but to work with her. But things heat up when he is given the directive to kill her father to protect the identity of other agents. How will this play out in the end? I voluntarily agreed to receive an ARC of this book for an honest review.
Kate_Delaney 4 months ago
Slow start but loved in the end. It took me a while to get into this book. Most books I can ready in a day or 2 but this one took me almost a week. I think I was expecting to get into the relationship and romance of the 2 main characters sooner. They had interaction but you were not sure it would lead to romance right away. Once I did get into the story, it was a great story. I liked the action and suspense of it all. I liked that I thought I knew what was going on and who was who, but then there would be a twist and someone you thought was a good guy was actually working for the bad guys. I also liked that it was written from the perspective of both the main characters. I do wish it would have maybe told you at the start of each chapter who's pov you were reading. Once I realized it was changing every chapter or so, it was not difficult to follow. Overall It was a great read and I would recommend if you like action, drama, suspense, and/or romance books.
MJHughes12 4 months ago
This book starts with a bang and never lets up in intensity until the end. With lots of action and not much romance, London Calling was one of those books that kept my heart rate up and had me wondering what new torture the author was going to put her characters through. Emma was my kind of heroine. She’s got some mad skills with a gun and can definitely hold her own with Macknight and his crew of spies. She’s also got a gentleness about her that makes her likable and I loved her fierce love of her father, the only family she has. McKnight was definitely broken in so many ways. He’s loyal almost to a fault and is really a very black and white kind of person – which is typically what works for him since he’s always in a position that he needs to keep himself and his team alive and having “grey area” tends to get people killed. I did have a hard time connecting these two romantically though. There seemed to be a lack of chemistry between the characters, something I would have liked to have seen more of. They did have some great banter and worked well together, it was just that little spark that seemed to be missing between them that I missed. I really enjoyed all the action and loved how this book was plotted out. The story has a bit of a dark edge to it and that is really noticeable in Mcknight’s character. I think I would have liked a bit more building to the relationship between Liam and Emma – her bringing some light to his dark – to satisfy my romance loving heart. Overall, this book was flawless from a technical perspective but fell just a little bit flat for me on the romance side. I’ve read several other books by this author and, while this one isn’t my most favorite, I will definitely be looking to see what she puts out next!
grandmareads102 5 months ago
Emma’s life is in turmoil. Her father, Edward Ross, has disappeared. Next she’s placed in protective custody by MI6. Emma can’t believe what she’s being told. Her father turned assets for the British government. Now her life is in jeopardy. The Russians want to use her to make her father reveal classified information. Macknight is the team leader assigned to protect her. He feels responsible for the death of one of his team. He needs to know if Ross was to blame. Did he betray them? Emma is a brave woman with a fierce determination to find her father. She hates being isolated and kept under guard. She’s a Police Officer who’s used to facing danger. I was impressed how aware she was of her surroundings. Her interaction with Macknight had its ups and downs. There was attraction and at times distrust. I wished that they would learn to rely on each other. The story kept me reading. I was pulled in by the non-stop action. I couldn’t believe the double dealing and the traitorous actions. I thought the setting added to the suspense as did the dialogue. As the story progressed I felt that I understood the characters and their motives. Nevertheless I was shocked by what happened. I’m looking forward to reading more of Veronica Forand’s stories. I received a copy of this book which I voluntarily read and reviewed. My comments are my honest opinion.
FizzaYounis 5 months ago
It is a very thrilling reading and I enjoyed reading a lot. The story is great and all the characters are very well-developed. There are undertones of romance but mostly it is a spy thriller. The story begins with a tragedy when Liam Macknight loses his teammate and he is now willing to do anything to find and kill the people responsible. His life is complicated and his missions are never easy. He is the leader whose job is to keep his team alive. But sometimes things go wrong. He is a brooding man who doesn't really know how to have fun. And now, the situation demands that he keeps his mind focused on the job. In this situation, Emma Ross is a complication he doesn't need. Unfortunately, he has no choice. Emma's father is missing. He is either a traitor or he has been kidnapped for some other reason. In either case, Emma is now in danger and MI6 decided to force their protection whether she wants it or not. Emma's life is turned upside down when her father goes missing. She learns that he wasn't whom he said he was. She had no idea that he was lying to her about his job. Now she knows but there is not much she could do as long as MI6 decides to keep her away from the action. She can't believe that she must stay in hiding while her father might be dead. It's not like she is a completely helpless woman. But no worries, she does not plan to be a bystander in her own life. She is one badass heroine who can very well take care of herself. All in all, a very well-written story that all readers can enjoy. I loved both Emma and Macknight. They are such a perfect couple and even though it is not exactly a romance novel still I enjoyed that side of the story quite a lot.
CathyGeha 5 months ago
London Calling by Veronica Forand Oooohhhh...LOVED this book! I can definitely see it as the beginning of a series and do hope it will be! I was hooked from the start and could not put this book down. I loved the characters, the way they interacted, the story and...just about everything. Sure, there were a few times I wanted to pop McKnight up side of the head to wake him up but at the same time did get why he was acting the way he was. Twists and turns and action and romance and...everything a good romantic suspense should have! This is a first book by this author for me BUT it won’t be the last. She has created characters I could see, hear, understand, empathize with and care about. I can definitely see some of the rest of the team finding partners in future books...hint hint...future books would be a wonderful thing! I could tell you what the story is about BUT the blurb pretty much tells what will happen...just not in depth or detail and you DO want to read to find those things out! What I liked: * Everything but...more specifically… * Emma Ross was a powerhouse, strong, dedicated, capable and smart...wished I could be her! * Liam McKnight is a great leader and though he might seem to have lost his soul...he really has not...I would love to be with him. * Edward Ross – Emma’s father was intriguing and what a great part he played in this book * Owen...really want to know more about him! * The potential for more books in this series and getting to know the players of the MI6 team a whole lot better. What I didn’t like” * The bad guys...but we are not supposed to like them are we? * That the story ended and I have to wait to see if there will be more and if this will be a series. Thank you to NetGalley and Entangled Publishing for the ARC – This is my honest review. 5 Stars
Linda__ 5 months ago
Loved this book! Emma, a small town cop in the states, rushes to England to tend to her dad after a call luring her there. Once she arrives, against her will, she is placed in the custody of MI6. Macknight is the team leader and he doesn't trust her and isn't answering her questions. Each time she tries to get away, something else even more dangerous occurs. Macknight isn't above using a bit of romance to keep Emma contained and cooperative, but what happens when he falls a bit for his own act? I thoroughly enjoyed the fast paced action in this novel and loved the push/pull between Emma and Macknight. I felt invested in the characters, especially Emma's, as the small town girl suddenly pulled into something she didn't understand. When paired with Macknight, an engaging "alphahole", the sparks fly. If you enjoy the genre, you will love this book. I couldn't put this one down and it should be at the top of your TBR list. The author is on my must read authors' list.