An Accidental Date with a Billionaire

An Accidental Date with a Billionaire

by Diane Alberts

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

An Accidental Date with a Billionaire 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Enjoyed+the+book.
Maria-Rose 3 months ago
I enjoyed this fun, sexy, romance that starts with a case of mistaken identity but turns into a real relationship! Sam think she's bidding on her best friend's brother at a bachelor auction, but it turns out she's gotten herself a date with hunky, hardworking and wealthy stranger, Taylor. They are both no commitment types but they hit it off on their 'date' and end up not wanting it to end, thus ensuring that they'll spend lots of time together before having to decide whether to change their stances on relationships. Sexy scenes ensue. Things are complicated by Sam's past, her feelings about money (which Taylor has lots of) and by her job, which is in direct opposition to Taylor's. She tries to save small businesses while he is in the world of corporate acquisitions. Despite some of their philosophical differences they find common ground and get their happy ending in this insta-love romance. It was nice to see the Habitat for Humanity charity featured, and the emphasis on Sam's other charitable works. I've enjoyed Diane Alberts' writing in the past and am happy to see this new release from her!
Lori-Gonzo 4 months ago
I loved the chemistry between Taylor and Samantha. They were so drawn to each other and I loved the deal they had as far as their date rules. That sounds like a whole lot of fun and makes getting to know one another a lot better. The way they kept surprising each other with their real personalities only added to their allure. And I loved how they would admit that they did indeed surprise each other and were not how they first believed each other to be. I only wish there was a little more digging into her backstory and/or conversing with her parents. But the epilogue was perfect and so sweet. I received this book in exchange for an honest review from the publisher through Netgalley.
Lorizen 4 months ago
Accidentally perfect! I didn't put this one down, I was too engaged with the story. Why can't these kinds of accidents happen to me? Right!? I fell in love with the snapping, barking dog that was Taylor when we first get a glimpse of him. Yowza he is a commanding, demanding, ain't nobody got time for his nonsense man. I really felt for Sam who was there just doing her bestie a favor by bidding on her brother at a charity auction. The bestie is off to Vegas to get marries and her brother hates these things as much as Sam does so she agrees to go. Little problem is there's a mix up in the line up and she bids on the wrong man and ends up with Taylor. Sam has zero patience for this man or his business and every word that comes out of his mouth makes her even more snarky! I loved her sass! Sam left that life a long time ago and her backstory fills in as you get into the book. Taylor buys foundering companies and takes them apart for a living, he's a very wealthy man, he didn't grow up that way but he certainly lives that way now and he's all about control. Right down to what he eats on what night of the week. Sam works for a small business that saves foundering companies and tries to make a business plan to help them succeed or in some cases navigate the waters of a buy out. She knows this business. She hates the sharks that eat small businesses and puts people out of work and destroys their lives. Sam has her own schedule too, she volunteers with Habitat then serves at the soup kitchen every Saturday along with helping out at the no kill shelter. All her time is spent giving back. When the two decide to have their "date" and Taylor has a one and done rule, he decides after spending time with Sam he wants to extend their date. First for the whole weekend, then the week and the longer they spend time together the more comfortable it gets. When their official first date which Sam plans is working on a house for Habitat and Taylor has his own toolbox Sam is a little confused. But as she gets to know Taylor the more comfortable she gets, still she keeps her past off limits and she guards that fiercely. I loved watching these two, it was like playing television, the interaction and dialogue. Taylor softens a great deal and makes concessions about not having chinese take out on Sunday because that's what his schedule says and while these two have outrageous chemistry it's a delicious slow burn and wow, what a burn it was! Things heat up between the two, I loved the way the story unfolded and when the rubber met the road for them I felt so deflated. Which for me is always a sign of good writing, I was engaged enough to be invested in these two and the outcome. I loved that Diane included an epilogue which for me is always a plus. This is a fun, engaging, easy read that you will love to read.
etoile1996 4 months ago
in an accidental date with a billionaire, samantha matthews has tried to leave all the trappings of wealth behind. hanging out with the high society types who rejected her when her parent's duplicitous behavior was revealed is not her idea of a good time. she's intent on not letting money change who she is, and since learning about all the hurt her family caused, she's been paying it back. one good deed at a time. when her best friend begs her to attend a charity gala and bid on her brother, sam agrees reluctantly. except to her horror, she's bid on the wrong guy. a rich jerk whose disinterest in the whole thing couldn't be more obvious. so she decides she's going to teach him a lesson. taylor jennings may play the role of mr. moneybags to perfection, and it's true that he's been more involved in playing that role than his real self of late, but the chance encounter with the woman who didn't want to buy his date throws him off. while he's not interested at first, her prickly demeanor quickly intrigues him. and when he realizes she's brought him to a habitat for humanity site he's happy to pitch in. he used to give back all the time, and he's gotten so wrapped up in himself that he has forgotten to pay attention to the small things. their charity date is over when he brings her home. but what if he just doesn't? he's not ready to stop exploring the connection they share. she makes him better in all these small ways, and he lets her focus on herself in a way that allows her to not feel selfish. but it's a challenge for them to stay out of their ingrained habits. at some point, this date has to end. they have to go back to their real lives, especially since on paper they are not at all compatible. but what if they find a way to make all those opposing ideas, complementary ones instead. because the truth is, they might just balance each other out. **an accidental date with a billionaire will publish on april 8, 2019. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (indulgence) in exchange for my honest review.
ScrapNSign 4 months ago
A delightful story of not judging a book by it's cover, learning to trust and when to put your heart on the line. This book physically gave me chest pains, but I wouldn't change a minute of it! When Samantha Matthews tries to do a favor for a friend, the life that she's tried so hard to leave behind, comes back to haunt her. Accidentally bidding on the wrong man, leads to a date she'll never forget.
SherriBabb 4 months ago
The first thing that came to mind while I was reading this book was a saying .... that saying is "Never judge a book by its cover". That saying is what this book was about to me. It is about two people that have had things happen in their past and they built their future around those things. Taylor was poor growing up and after his dad died his mom worked as many as three jobs to keep food on the table and the bills paid. Taylor strives to make something of himself so that him and is mother will not have to struggle ever again. Sam was very rich growing up. Anything she wanted she got. When she was a teenager that all got ripped away from her because of something her parents did. She strives to always give back to everyone else and she never takes for herself. When these two meet there is such a connection there but neither wants to admit it. They both look at what they see on the outside. As time goes on they begin to see beyond that and that is where the real story begins. This was such a cute, sweet, romantic read. I would highly recommend you give this book a try because you will not be disappointed at all. Thanks Net Galley. I voluntarily reviewed this book in exchange for an honest review.
Kindle_Loving_Mom 4 months ago
I loved the premise of this story, and it was fun and exciting seeing how it would all play out. Some things that happened were what I expected, and some were surprising, but overall I really enjoy the story. Samantha Matthews used to have a charmed life. At least she thought so. Turns out her parents were stealing their wealth from their own clients and employees, and when they were arrested, Sam's whole life fell apart. Since then, she's turned her life around, and does what she can to try to atone for her parents sins. She volunteers her time with Habitat for Humanity, and various other charitable causes. She also works to try to help people save their companies from closure and consolidation. She agrees to do a big favor for her best friend by bidding on Izzy's brother in a charity auction. But, she isn't paying attention, and ends up bidding on the wrong guy. She's disgusted by the man's behavior, and thinks she'll teach him a lesson by forcing him to volunteer with her building a house. Taylor Jennings is a very wealthy man, but he wasn't born as one. He's worked very hard to make his consolidation business a success, and he's lined his pockets in the mean time. He sees no issue with this and doesn't understand why anyone else would. When Sam is the winning bidder for him at the auction, he doesn't know what to make of her. Does she want a date? A business pitch meeting? Neither would surprise him. But he doesn't expect her to take him to a Habitat build, and try to make him feel bad about his choice of career. She's of course shocked when he's thrilled to be building, and thanks her for bringing him. She intrigues him like no other, and he wants to get to know her better, but they both admit that neither of them does second dates. Could they extend their first date for a while longer? Taylor and Sam had a great connection. Their banter was witty, and fun, and they had no problem trying to take each other down a peg. They work at opposite ends of the spectrum in business, and neither of them can see how anything real can happen between them. But that doesn't keep them from wanting to try. Taylor has a regimented schedule, which has helped him to overcome a childhood where everything was out of his control. But, he's let those stringent rules overtake his life without realizing it. Sam is too scared to tell anyone about her past for fear of them hating her, but she's let that fear turn into a wall between her and the rest of the world. They both had to realize their issues, and find a way to overcome them if they had any chance of being together in the long run. There weren't a ton of side characters here, as this was a shorter story so the focus stayed on the main story line. But, I'm definitely intrigued by Sam's best friend Izzy's story, as well as that of her brother, who got bought by someone else at the auction, and apparently wasn't upset about it at all. There were some setups here for some classic romance misunderstandings and overreactions, and those are not my favorite. While some of those things happened as I expected, others weren't so cliched. I was glad of that. There were some more intricate plotting decisions made that I appreciated, and it worked out better than I had hoped. Ultimately, Sam and Taylor had to decide what was the most important thing to them, and what they were willing to fight for. I enjoyed their story, and I hope we'll get more from this world.
MaryJoMI 4 months ago
Sam carries a lot of weight on her shoulders due to her parents’ negligent ways. She has worked hard in a new city to build a life she is proud of helping businesses rebuild to avoid being taken over. She ends up at a bachelor auction for her friend Izzy to rescue her brother from the auction block. When she wins her intended bachelor, well, she is shocked to learn she bid on the wrong man. Taylor hates these auctions but does believe in helping various charities. He is surprised by the woman that won him in the auction and the date she sets up surprises him even more. But he has the last laugh as he digs in and works which isn’t what Sam expects. Now, Taylor buys failing companies and sells the parts. Given that they are on opposite sides in the business world, do they have any chance at love? Sam doesn’t think she is worthy; can Taylor break down her walls? Sam and Taylor are a great match, they passion for what they do along with their philanthropic endeavors were a joy to experience. Sam is amazing so I was pushing for Taylor to break through and convince her love is possible. These two took me on a fabulous journey for love.
OpheliaOA 4 months ago
I really liked the story line but I found it kind of annoying and tiresome when Sam kept denying her feelings for Taylor. I know that she was traumatized by the actions of her parents and was afraid of rejection and what Taylor might think of her but the fact that she kept deflecting her true feelings was wrong. Overall this book was a fun read and I can’t wait to read more Diane Alberts books. ***Received this ARC by NetGalley as an exchange for an honest review.
Madm007 4 months ago
It's a mistake that turns out so right and I loved this story. I've never read Diane Alberts before, but the title, cover and synopsis had me requesting it from NetGalley. A delightful lighter read with enough heat to make you squirm. The dialogues were tinged with humor. These two were going down the same road in opposite directions and as you can imagine there were assumptions, misunderstandings and just plain cluelessness or stubbornness, a lot LOL. My character preference was for Taylor, quirky habits or not, he had a good heart and was just so lovable. Sam too, had a good heart. She also had a chip on her shoulder which, to me, made her a bit harder to like, but made for some really good reading. I did receive a copy from NetGalley / Entangled Publishing LLC. This is my voluntary and honest review
Tink4evr 4 months ago
Sam and Taylor go on a first date that last for over a week. They are both commitment phoebes. The author has given Taylor some qualities that make him unique and not the typical alpha male or billionaire. This makes him quite a lovable character. The story is funny, with Sam not missing the opportunity to pull Taylor’s leg every chance she gets. Taylor works extremely hard to win Sam and she has to open her heart and trust the new opportunity.
Llin 4 months ago
This story takes you through a range of emotions, some moments will make your heart melt for Taylor. Samantha Matthews is allowing her family past indiscretions to impact her future regarding money, love and marriage by working as a Social Worker. She refused to accept her feelings for Taylor to be overshadowed with what others would think of their relationship was laughable. She became annoying at times due to her stubbornness and it built walls around her. Taylor Jennings was initially introduced as a big jerk but redeemed the image with concerns and consideration to Samantha. He saw something special in her and wanted to see what was intriguing to him. Can Sam overcome her fear? Will her past come between their relationship? The storyline was a quick read and held my attention and I’m looking forward to reading another book by this author. I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advance Review Copy via Netgalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own
Linda__ 4 months ago
Another winner!!! This is a delightful quick read that romance fans will love - it's charming, sweet, and sexy. I loved the characters, from the complicated and damaged Samantha, to the unexpected Taylor . Taylor begins as the stereotypical alphahole and Samantha is not impressed., however, this author shows that first impressions are frequently wrong. The author drew me in to their story and made me feel invested in it. I also enjoyed the way it enfolded from both points of view. Fans of the genre will love this book. Put this one at the top of your TBR list.- you'll be glad you did. The author is on my must read authors' list.