The Border Lord and the Lady (Border Chronicles Series #4)

The Border Lord and the Lady (Border Chronicles Series #4)

by Bertrice Small

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Border Lord and the Lady 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The Earl of Leighton worries his brilliant teenage second wife Luciana Maria Pietro, whom he married for her money and for giving him sons, will harm his beloved young daughter, Lady Cicely Bowen. To keep her safe he sends her away from her stepmother. Cicely and Lady Joan Beaufort become friends. When Joan and King James I of Scotland marry, Cicely is selected as a lady-in- waiting to the new queen. At the Scottish court, two lairds with opposite demeanors pursue Cicely. Andrew Gordon is a suave aristocrat while Ian Douglas is a border lord. Although she plans to marry Andrew, Ian abducts her. She finds border life complex and harsh while her other suitor declares clan war and the queen demands the return of her lady in waiting. This is an entertaining fifteenth century romance starring strong lead characters and real historical figures especially Joan who was married to James I. The story line provides a deep look at the era when intrigue and clan disputes and hostilities were the norm. Vivid with the real persona enhancing the triangular relationship, Bertrice Small provides a wonderful romance with Stockholm syndrome implications. Harriet Klausner
buckles_squared More than 1 year ago
I have certain expectations of the romances I read and this one absolutely did not meet them. I couldn't even read the whole book and that is highly unusual for me.
fan215 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this episode in The Border Chronicles. It has unexpected twists and plots. I laughed and cried. I can't wait to read the next one!
Ezzie More than 1 year ago
This book had me crying for all the wrong reasons. I've had my fair share of reading and have read great books by several authors. This one, however, was poorly written to a point where I couldn't even finish the book. Ms. Small's writing style is choppy and her characters not at all developed. She had very lame dialogue that made me want to slap the characters around. Even if this story took place in the 1400s, the dialogue could have been more striking. Also, her repetitive use of "wickedly" and "mischievously" made me wonder if she knew any other type of reaction these characters could possibly possess. Oh and please don't get me started on the death of Cicely's husband, Ian Douglas, and her quick marriage to Kier Douglas. I thought the whole story was going to revolve around how Ian shows her he honestly loves her. I guess the author knew herself that this book was too predictable so she threw in that last bit to have a story. Very disappointed. Not worth the money.
rhonna on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Lady Cicely has traveled to Scotland as a companion her dear friend the newly wed queen of Scotland. The suitors quickly line up, appreciating her beauty and her rather large dowery. Ian Douglas thwarts them all by stealing her away to his remote property on the borders. She's determined that she will not be forced into a marriage. He's determined that she's the only one for him. Much arguing and lust ensues.This is a great story and I really enjoyed the details of the time period. It's a bit more spicy than I think was called for, but otherwise I really liked it.
sds6565 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I like the book. I read it quick. The reading was pleasant. There wasn't any complicated plots, no loose threads to tie up or complicated plots to untangle. The book dealt with the life and times of Cecily, the daughter of an English Earl. She was fostered out to royalty. Her lifetime companion, Joan was married off to Jamie Stewart, King of Scotland and Cecily accompanied her as one of her ladies in waiting.Cecily was abducted by a border lord and forced into married. When her laird died she was married off to another.You will enjoy the book, I did. That is if you do not want a complicated book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book regardless of some of the reviews!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Don't think this book is quite up to her great standards. A little too long and not quite as interesting as all her other books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very nice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago