Borders of Infinity

Borders of Infinity

by Lois McMaster Bujold

Paperback

$14.40 $16.00 Save 10% Current price is $14.4, Original price is $16. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Borders of Infinity 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Burky More than 1 year ago
This is the story that started me reading Lois McMaster Bujold's Vorkosigan series. Miles, with stunted growth and weak bones, is nevertheless a highly capable officer - commanding a small fleet of kinda-sorta-mercenaries. He has taken on the job of rescuing someone critical from an enemy prisoner of war camp - so, he sends in his most adaptable and inventive agent - himself. The camp is escape proof and miserable. The guards, by policy, make life as bad as possible for the POWs, within the letter of the interstellar treaty. Everything Miles does for his mission can be seen by the enemy guards. This is a story of cleverness opposed to brutality, apathy AND cleverness. As always, Lois writes very engaging, original plots drawn with deep characterization. This may be kinda-sort-of-a military science fiction story but it sure isn't typical and will be a great read for anyone. Try this, cheap. If you like it, I'd recommend either of the good series starting points: "Cordelia's Honor" or "Warrior's Apprentice." There's a LOT of variety in the series - it's never the same-old-same-old. And, did I mention, Lois McMaster Bujold has been my favorite author for the last 20 or so years.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Part of the Vorkosigan saga, the story drops you into the action as Miles becomes a Cetagandan prisoner of war. Clever plot development, combining intelligence, humor, and military tactics. The events that unfold are pivotal in understanding Miles' character and values in later novels, but this story stands strongly on its own for its exploration of primal needs, morality, and heroism. I've reread the story several times, and appreciate it every time.
LisaMaria_C on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
There are two works by Bujold to be found under this title and both are part of her Vorkosigan Saga featuring Miles Vorkosigan. One is a grouping of three novellas with a framing story that includes the short story "Borders of Infinity" as well as "Mountains of Mourning" and "Labyrinth." The story is also included in the omnibus edition of Miles Errant along with Brothers in Arms and Mirror Dance. This review and rating is for the short story alone, which epitomizes so much I love in Miles. Brain over brawn. Strip Miles down to nothing, naked, and he can still talk and think his way out of anything.
laughingwoman6 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The very first Vorkosigan story I ever read was The Mountains of Mourning in an anthology edited by Connie Willis. I loved it, found Miles' character to be hugely compelling and wanted to read more. Even years later I remember the story, Miles as a young man just out of military training is approached by a young woman desperately searching for the murderer of her baby. Miles travels into the back country to investigate the murder. He is a deformed man living in a society in which for some people it is okay to murder babies if the are "muties" ( the murdered child had a cleft palate) so the story touches on some of his own feelings about that. What enriches the story from my point of view is the essential decentness and humanity that makes up Miles' character (qualities he no doubt received form his Betan mother). This strong sense of duty and his wonderfully compassionate nature really enrich these books which brings it a step above much of the sub-genre of space opera.
fyrefly98 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
General Summary: Borders of Infinity is not a novel proper, but rather a collection of Miles Vorkosigan novellas. All three deal with Miles (who is deformed from a prenatal gas attack on his mother) as he must use his considerable intellect get out of ¿ and occasionally in to ¿ trouble.The three shorter works are linked into a novel by a framing story that involves Barrayaran Security Chief Illyan visiting Miles in the hospital, and demanding an accounting for some of the more unusual expenses that Miles¿s Dendarii mercenary fleet has accrued. It¿s a pretty weak pretense, especially given that it¿s only clear in one of the three stories where the expenses come into play at all. Fortunately, though, the framing bits are kept quite short, mostly letting the stories speak for themselves.¿The Mountains of Mourning¿ takes place immediately following Miles¿s graduation from the Barrayaran military academy. He¿s returned home to his family home with plans for a little bit of relaxation¿ plans that are swiftly cut short. A woman from a remote mountain village has arrived at Vorkosigan Surleau, demanding Count Vorkosigan¿s Justice for the murder of her infant. Miles¿s father decides to send Miles to investigate and arbitrate in his stead, and so Miles must face head-on the rural prejudice against mutations if he is to get to the truth of the matter. This was my favorite story of the three, and not only because it featured a cameo appearance by Miles¿s parents. (Aside: Hi Cordelia! I still think you¿re awesome!) While Miles¿s disability comes up quite often in the series, it doesn¿t actually inconvenience him that much ¿ his personality and intelligence usually more than compensate for his physical shortcomings. Therefore, it was really interesting to see him in a situation that puts his appearance into such stark relief, and to watch him struggle with a deeply-ingrained problem that can¿t be readily solved by being clever and charming.¿Labyrinth¿ starts with Miles and the Dendarii fleet making a pick-up from Jackson¿s Whole, a planet that specializes in ethics-free genetic engineering. However, the doctor they¿re supposed to be transporting refuses to leave without some of his genetic samples ¿ samples that are being incubated inside a prototype engineered super-soldier. To complicate matters, this soldier is being held prisoner inside the compound of one of the two leading rival genetic companies, so Miles must stage a rescue op¿ but what he finds isn¿t exactly human. I enjoyed the bulk of this story quite a bit. It¿s an interesting set-up, there are plenty of possibilities for Bujold¿s blend of dry humor and ethical dilemmas, the action clicks along at a good pace, and we get to see some more of the infamous Jackson¿s Whole. However, the whole thing was soured by one detail that is surely reflective of my own innate prejudices. I¿d like to think I¿m fairly open-minded, but the idea of Miles ¿ tiny, brittle-boned Miles ¿ getting physical with an eight-foot-tall fanged quasi-werewolf? Not sexy, and the ¿¿really? Her?¿ factor majorly distracted me from the rest of the story. I did appreciate the return of the Quaddies (from Falling Free), though.¿Borders of Infinity¿ is without question the darkest of the bunch. It starts with Miles being thrown into a Cetagandan prison ¿ not a normal prison, but a wide flat expanse covered by an impenetrable dome. He is immediately set upon by a gang of toughs, and relieved of his sleeping roll and clothing¿ and things go downhill from there. Now Miles has to escape, with only the help of a seemingly crazed religious zealot. Miles has gotten out of impossible situations before, but this one might be a little more impossible than most.I was simultaneously impressed and disturbed by this story. It turns out that Bujold¿s talent at world-building doesn¿t only cover the nicer intricacies of her created univers
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have to admit to being a complete Miles fangirl. This is a set of three stories scattered through the series. The first The Mountains of Mourning is set on Barryar, shortly after Miles finishes his military training, and you have some flashbacks to his training. Miles has to investigate the murder of a child with a minor defect. He has to face up to the discrimination of the people about defects and specifically his own defects.The Second is Labyrinth, where we find out how Taura and Miles meet. Taura is such a cool character and it brings up issues with genetic research and what happens to the subjects of this research and humanity. Of course Taura isn't the purpose of the adventure, but many times it's the fact that Miles achieves his objectives and some of his own wishlists as well. I enjoyed this the most of the set. The Borders of Infinity is the last of the set, while I remember reading the other two of this series this one is a blank. It wasn't as satisfying as the other two, Miles plotting a way out of a prison camp, is pure Miles but somehow lacking in ways, it's quite a short story, and some of it is quite obvious, but I think it's more the proximity to the other two that spoil it.Overall this is a good read, I'd recommend it to anyone who would like to see if they would like to try Miles out, it's also made me want to hunt down the rest of the series and revisit.
JudithProctor on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Three great short stories about Miles Vorkosigan, spoiled only by the useless linking narrative. Skip the conversations with Simon Illyan and just read the stories.
DNWilliams on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A collection of three stories that appear in different anthologies, each short story addresses a turning point in Miles' life.In 'Mountains of Mourning' The Count sends a young Miles into the mountains to solve a murder. Miles' own appearance as a 'muty' and his future as leader of the district make him the perfect mediator in the death of the infant.'Labyrinth' sets the stage for events in a later novel. Miles and Bel are on a covert mission for Illyan, though, as usual with any of Miles' missions, things don't go exactly as planned. 'Borders of Infinity' is my favorite short story in this collection. Miles on a deep undercover mission alone is a recipe for disaster. But this story, more than any other Miles story, serves to prove that Miles' manic personality solves more problems than it causes. While none of the stories are necessary to know for events in the full-length novels, they provide fascinating filler and are as compelling as any Vorkosigan novels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Boarders of Infinity is not the book to begin your 'Bujold following', but when you do get to it, this one is a kicker! The three short stories that cover close to four years of Miles Vorkosigans's life will leave any reader breathless. This was another Bujold book I read twice.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Even though all the books in the Vorkosigan Saga pretty much stand alone, this compilation of novellas originally found in magazines such as 'Analog' serves as a good introduction to the series. It's a great read. Chock full of humor, drama, and thrills.
chocofan More than 1 year ago
I have loved all but one of the Vorkosigan novels and will add to my nook library whenever they are for sell. I love the humor and the story line