Paperback(First Edition)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Borrowers 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 217 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a child in the 1950's, I read the original Borrowers in 4th grade. I read and re-read the one in the school library, til school closed for the summer. As luck would have it, I found the book and it's subsequent additions that summer in a book store. They were the only thing I ever BEGGED my mother to buy me. I took home The Borrowers, The Borrowers Afield, and The Borrowers Afloat, and I still know parts of them by heart. When I was 18, the Borrowers Aloft came out, and my mother sent it to me at college. I was 36 when the Avenged came out, and I RAN to the bookstore. The stories are as fresh today as the first time I read them. I'm now in my 50's, and I can't imagine a life without Homily, Pod and Arriety Clock. Homily who is courageous, even though she'd really rather not be. Pod, who is a simple man, taking care of his family. And Arriety, 13, ready for life, ready for adventure, a young Victorian Feminist, if there ever was one. She wanted to learn to Borrow, which was only for men. She needed to learn to Borrow, because her family was the last one left in the house, and what would happen to her if her parents died? She taught me that a girl could be anything she wanted to be. They bravely faced a daunting world, and they're only 6 inches tall. I now own well over a thousand books, and really believe that it was this small family that led me to my love of reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
all the books in THE BORROWERS series are TOPNOTCH!!! reading these books makes being a borrower a reality! yep, it's THAT GOOD!
bookholiday More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was one of my favorites as a child. When I saw that it was the 50th anniversary (and only $1.99), I had to have it! Still an enchanting tale. I highly recommend it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a mother of 2 boys, almost 27yrs old myself. I remember reading Mary Norton The Borrowers series as a YOUNG Child and it was and still is one of my favorite childrens authors. I am now buying all of the books so that I may share Mary's adventures with my children. I loved these books so much that I told myself as a child to always remember Mary's name so that I could grow up and buy them myself. Guess what I am now doing it and they are at reasonable prices as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its so good i do not blame disney for makeing a movie on it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a good bookeveryone loves it!!!!! <_>&hellip;
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very amusing light to read book that just peaks your imagination. The book is very detailed that you can easily picture the imagery, and the illustrations help slightly. It makes you want to look at life from a different perspective.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a great story full of rich detail and is perfect for tween readers
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Itwas good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome... this is great!! :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I got on my new nook. My mom read it the entire series as a kid and recommended it to me. I really liked this book and highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It was such a fun read! When i was in a small book shop i saw the borrowers and seeing the movie (i highly reccomend it) i thought i would like to read it so my dad got it for me on the nook. I think the borrowers is a fun creative tale, in which a story is told about tiny people who live in old houses and 'borrow' things that we mostly wouldn't notice that are gone. The borrowers were about maybe one and a half to two inches tall. They only borrowed things that they needed, like sugar lumps and crumbs of bread. They did have a few luxeries though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is cool
CaliGirl5 More than 1 year ago
I read The Borrowers in elementary school and loved it! Its adorable and keeps you reading. I read it again now as an adult and loved it just as much. A great read for your kids or yourself if you are feeling nostalgic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cant believe they are making a movie for this book but i can imagine they would because of how amazing the book is
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My mom and I read it and it's awesome. It's sad how the boy never sees them again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this book is so cool cant wait to watch the movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best BookEver
badrobot98 More than 1 year ago
these are better than the movies
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My daughter 9 years requested the purchase of this book; she said that the content made her interested because it was at her school and it peeked her curiosity.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was alright not the average person kind of reading. It was slow and only had 1 or 2 dramatic and suspensful views. I recommend this book to young teens. Adults i dont think you'll enjoy this one.If you like Little house on the prairie and Anne of green gables maybe you'll enjoy this book.
tadashi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"BORROWERS" are very small people living in the human being's house.They borrow many kind of things like ice-cream in the house in a second.So, human being can't see them.Oneday, they were discoverd from a little boy.They talked each others and he (a little boy) talked about the problem in this house.From that, they try to solve it.I think it is easy for me to read fantasy stories than other kind of stories.It is because we can imagine the scene freely.So, I choose kind of stories many times when reading graded readers.