Bound by Guilt

Bound by Guilt

by C. J. Darlington

Paperback

$8.83 $12.99 Save 32% Current price is $8.83, Original price is $12.99. You Save 32%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bound by Guilt 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
Bluerosesheart More than 1 year ago
This is one emotional read!! Please don't read Bound By Guilt until you've read Thicker Than Blood. You will be greatly depriving yourself of emotions that I think should be felt when reading Bound By Guilt. CJ's writing has shocked me more than any fiction I think I've ever read. In both books, I've been so shocked at something, I had to walk away from the story just to digest what happened or what was revealed. I found myself wanting to cry just thinking about it later! While this book has several of the same characters from Thicker Than Blood, there are a several new characters brought into the mix. The story mostly centers around Roxi. My heart just completely went out to Roxi. It's so heartbreaking that her story is true for so many teens out there! It really makes you think about all the foster kids out there. My favorite new character was Jan, though! Jan and her husband, Keith own a ranch close to May(a character from Thicker Than Blood). They've lost their only son, and this excerpt is one of my favorite lines ever! ""It was the quickest of flashes, but it made me realize my grief wasn't doing me or Keith-or anyone-one lick of good. Trae was in heaven. Even if he could come back, he wouldn't. In fact, if anything, I should've been envious he'd gotten there before me. I realized Trae isn't in my past. He's in my future."" Truly amazing !! While I don't read a whole lot of the hard, emotional reads, I will definitely reserve a spot in my reading for any of CJ's future novels. And I do hope there are many more!
tarenn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
BOUND BY GUILT by C.J. Darlington is an amazing contemporary christian fiction set in modern day America.It is this author's second book.Her first book "Thicker Than Blood".While this a sequel,this second book has no connection to the first book,and is a stand alone. This story has multiple intertwining stories with Roxie and Abbey the primary characters. Roxie,is a runaway,she thinks a throwaway,abandoned by her mother as a child,moved from foster home to foster home,and finds a friend in Diego and his mother.Who are actually book thieves of rare books.She joined them and when disaster occurs,she is on the run again,and she has lost faith in God and her fellow man until she meets a family who takes her in not only for shelter but also for love.Abbey,a police officer,a mother,whose ex-husband has been given custody of their daughter,her brother is murdered,and she has also lost faith in humanity and God.This is a story that will capture your heart and keep you on the edge of your seat while you watch each character in this multiple facet story come to life and some find their way. You will see how forgiveness can not only give you freedom but also remove the bound of guilt. Bound by Guilt is an amazing, positive story of not only God's love but of love,forgiveness,guilt,healing and inspiration with powerful characters and a powerful plot. Darlington is really an author to keep a watch out for,as I have read both of her amazing,powerful stories of love,faith and inspiration.This is a MUST READ and a keeper.I enjoy how she weaves faith and God's love into her stories without preaching and has intrigue,suspense,mystery in a powerful story.This book was received for the purpose of review from On Trakk and the publisher and details can be found at Tyndale Fiction and My Book Addiction and More.
HisChild on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Bound by Guilt is an outstanding book. It is the story of Roxi, a young girl who has never known the love that most of us take for granted. She was deserted and rejected by her mother and bounced around from foster home to foster home, always seeking a love that continued to elude her. In a misguided effort to earn that love, she is taken in by a relative and made to be an accomplice in a monetarily profitable rare book stealing trio. When theft turns to something far more serious, Roxi flees. She is taken in by a husband and his wife who own a ranch. It is there that she finally learns the true meaning of love - unconditional love that loves no matter what the circumstances may be. She learns too about Christ's love, a love that is granted not, as the saying goes, because of who we are, but in spite of who we are. The Biblical principles of love and forgiveness are prevalent throughout the pages of this book. From its beautiful cover to the final page, this book will draw you in and keep you captivated. I highly recommend Bound by Guilt and I will definitely be watching for future books from C.J. Darlington.
skstiles612 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
There were so many connections to make with this book. My first connection was with Abby Dawson. She was a cop who felt she had failed at her marriage and then felt like she was a failure as a cop. Her ex-husband, a lawyer and fought for custody of their daughter and won. I admired Abby for not putting her daughter in the middle of their divorce and problems. I know there were times she wanted to shout and explain the truth to her daughter. I know when I went through my divorce it took every ounce of strength I had not to let my children know how I felt when they would tell me what new thing their father had purchased for them. Our problems were not theirs and so I kept my mouth shut. Abby did the same thing. I understood her strained relationship with her father. When her brother is killed some of her old problems and feelings resurface.Roxie Gold reminded me of so many students who have passed through my classroom. One kid in particular stands out. He would misbehave daily. At the end of the year he came to thank me for being his teacher. He told me I was his favorite. I told him that I was surprised because I had griped at him almost daily. With a grin on his face he said, "Yes I know. At least I know you loved me." How sad that kids will do anything, even if it is wrong for an ounce of love. Roxie was like that. Since she'd been passed from foster home to foster home. She felt lucky to be with her aunt Irene and her son Diego. She didn't like that to win her aunts approval she had to help steal rare books. It was obvious from the outsider's point of view, meaning the reader, that Irene was a user. She exploited Roxie and her own son for personal gain. That is not love. Greedy they change their plans and go back to the Book Barne to steal some valuable first editions. The manager, whose apartment is connected to the book store, hears the break in and confronts them. That is when a gun is produced and he ends up dead. Roxie can't live with this so she runs away from Irene. She is picked up by Jan and taken home to stay with Jan and her husband Keith. It is here she finds out what unconditional love is. This book is full of hope, love and forgiveness. The Christian theme throughout is wonderfully done. It is not an "in your face" preaching. God's truths are presented in real life lessons that we se examples of around us all the time. This was a wonderful book. I had not read her first book Thicker Than Blood but I will. I also look forward to her next book. This is an author we need to watch closely. Her writing is fresh and touching. Her characters are so real you can't help but identify with them.
MichelleSutton on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Bound by Guilt is the perfect title for this book. It's hard to post a review without giving away spoilers, but I'll try. There were some things at the end of the first book in this series that had me wanting more. Well, in this story I got to see what I wanted, then wham! My heart ached and the tension just kept building from there. I could picture the traumatic event because it was so well done. Every time the situation was remembered I had a flashback myself. The description of the horrible event was superb. The author did a great job showing a variety of situations that tugged on this reader's heart strings. I love how the author showed rifts in families and relationships in both books and showed how important it is to always keep a clean slate. What a great lesson.The thing that intrigued me about this book the most was the foster care situation. I've worked with foster children for years as a child protective services worker and this author did a great job showing the inner turmoil that foster children go through. I loved how the author paired Roxi with a dog who needed someone and who had no one just like she did. Wonderful analogy and critical to her healing. The rest of the book continued in a similar manner until God hooked Roxi up with someone who truly cared. I was inspired by the themes in this book and loved the ending. I also love how the author isn't afraid to hurt her characters--a lot-- but that always makes for a better story. Great sequel!
jenniferbogart on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Roxi Gold is a troubled teenager; taken from a negligent mother, shuffled between group homes and foster families, she eventually finds herself living with her mother¿s cousin and her teenaged son. Longing more than anything else to be loved and to belong to a family, she is swept into the criminal schemes of her caregiver and enters the world of antiquarian book theft.I always enjoy reading C.J. Darlington¿s book-centered Christian suspense titles. I particularly enjoy how she weaves real-life rare book details into the fabric of each of her stories. Bound by Guilt is the follow-up novel to Thicker Than Blood, Darlington¿s debut. While we are introduced to a new cast of main characters, it was exciting to see how familiar faces from the first novel were interwoven into the plot of this second novel in surprising ways.Deeply engaging, Bound by Guilt is crafted with a wealth of emotional tension. I found myself reaching for the tissues several times as I read through its pages. That being said, I did find the emotional responses of one of the key characters of Thicker Than Blood to be rather muted for the circumstances she found herself in. She is no longer a main player on the ongoing storyline, but I would have liked to see more depth there.I¿m excited to see what Darlington has for us in the future! She has a way of crafting true-to-life stories of faith and forgiveness that ring with authenticity.Reviewed at quiverfullfamily.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent story line, have to get the next books.
I_like_clean_reads More than 1 year ago
I was very happy that Darlington included Roxi Gold and her foster parents in this book, and would love to see more about Jan and Keith. I have to admit, though, that I was a little tired of the first edition books being so great a part of the books in this series: I mean, I love to read, but I could care less about first editions. More on ranching for me, and especially about horses! Anyway, it was a good read,. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Deep. Real. Very good.
Laurabo More than 1 year ago
Roxi is a victim of the Child Protective Services and her circumstances who is seeking to be loved and accepted. Because of this she allows herself to be manipulated and used. Her guardian/cousin uses her and her cousin to steal rare books. When the plan goes wrong they break in at night which results in a tragedy. Roxi goes on the run from her cousin and the story gets interesting. It is a good book however I fell the end was wrapped up a little too easily and possibly less plausible. I do recommend BOUND BY GUILT, it is still a good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book really shows you what God's love can do if you open your heart to it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For a free book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put the book down .I loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so good. It had a great story line and was almost impossible to put down!!!
infuse More than 1 year ago
facing off with tough issues of foster care, injustice and child custody when relationships disintegrate, Bound by Guilt takes the reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. tight reader/character connxns that exude responses and reactions - set against a unique backdrop of antiquarian bookselling, this is one story you won't put down til done...
AlaskanTebowFan More than 1 year ago
I'm not normally a fan of contemporary fiction, but the back cover synopsis of this book intrigued me. Having a far-less-than-perfect protagonist ~ a teenage foster child named Roxi Gold who has turned to a life of crime ~ being one of the most intriguing aspects of this book. As I started reading "Bound By Guilt," I fully expected to not only dislike the main character, but I figured I'd dislike the book as a whole as well. However, before I even finished the first chapter I realized I was quite wrong. The author, C.J. Darlington, weaves a wonderful story, one that is heart-wrenching at times and heart-warming at others. Darlington not only is able to get you to sympathize with the juvenile delinquent that Roxi has become, but as you learn her back story and witness the hard life she is now essentially forced to lead, that sympathy grows to true empathy as your heart breaks for and with her. Sadly enough, as you read the book, you realize there's probably more truth than fiction in it, and I believe it will open people's eyes to the plight that so many children in our foster care system face day in and day out. Consequently, I believe this takes "Bound By Guilt" from being merely a good read to a great experience, as its not only entertaining, but educational as well. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking for either one of those categories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bound by Guilt is a story filled with lots of suspense. It has you on your toes through the whole thing. Thanks to C. J. Darlington the book was written in a great way. The plot was amazing and so were the characters! I highly recommend this book to all readers that enjoy suspense! Roxy a girl with no home lives with her Aunt and her Aunt's son. Her Aunt's career is that she steals used books and sells them. Roxy is tied into this career and helps her Aunt. But one night turns into a disaster when the store owner catches the robbery.
KitKatDoe More than 1 year ago
Before even cracking the book open, the praises of notable authors on the back cover make the reader want to find a comfy recliner, and soon! Ms. Darlington has a superb story of the ins and outs of forgiveness. She artfully weaves a tale of a young woman's life on the run, stealing rare books with 'family' just to survive, with the story of another woman, grieving the loss of her brother, searching for Truth. Both woman carry loads of guilt from past and present experiences, but learn after 'coincidentally meeting', that God is One of love and forgiveness, and He removes our burdens of guilt just for the asking. This is definitely a must read novel. This was a book I reviewed for Tyndale House Publishers.
Prolificreader More than 1 year ago
CJ Darlington has a unique voice and style that I have enjoyed reading these two times now. First with her debut novel and now with her second book, "Bound by Guilt". I enjoyed the cast of characters put together in this novel. You have a range of ages from 16 to late 40's, but each character completely works and shines with conviction in their actions. The plot is well laid out and a couple of times I was stopped in my tracks by an unexpected turn of events. I would have liked a little more follow through with Abby and her daughter--though it was a minor situation, I would have liked a teensy bit more closure there. Overall, the author has a unique way of putting words on paper that I'm attracted to. Her novels are quick reads, but they have a good plot, great characters and takeaway value. I enjoyed my journey through "Bound by Guilt".
KJI More than 1 year ago
I was hooked on the very first page of C.J. Darlington's "Bound by Guilt!" A new author to me and one that I am sure to read books by again! Roxi is living with her aunt and cousin and trying to make her aunt Irene happy, Roxi participates in stealing rare and antique books from bookshops. This is not something Roxi feels right about doing, but Irene took Roxi in when her own mother could not care for her and she is better than living in foster homes. One night, Irene's plan does not go as planned and Roxi cannot live like this any longer, a man is dead and she cannot get the image of him dying out of her mind. Abby is suspended from her job as a police officer when she receives the call from her dad that her brother has been shot, presumably a result of a robbery gone bad. Abby and Roxi's lives will intersect and neither one will be the same as they forgive, find forgiveness, and find unconditional love. Darlington has created a wonderful story! I have found her first novel, "Thicker Than Blood" and cannot wait to go back and read it and learn more about Christy. The characters are all so wonderfully created and ones that the reader will empathize with throughout the tears, joy and growth. Unfortunately, there are many hurting teenagers in the world just like Roxi, and also not enough adults like Keith and Jan. I would love to read another book that picks up where this novel left off as there are so much more that could be shared about Diego, Roxi, Abby and Christy as there lives were all at crossroads at the end of this book. I highly recommend this novel and author!
cllane2 More than 1 year ago
Guilt can eat you alive! In Bound by Guilt, two of the characters have to deal with guilt in their life. Roxi is traveling the country with her aunt and cousin, the only family she has left. Starved for approval from adults, she will do anything, even if it is illegal. Roxi, her aunt, and cousin travel around the country stealing rare books from various bookstore and try to sell them. Entering one bookstore, they see several rare books and decided to go back after hours to rob the store. In doing so, they kill the manager who hears them in the store. Abby, the manager's sister, a police office, along with the manager's fiance seek out the killers by trying to hunt down the missing books. Both Abby and Roxi have the choice to be destroyed by guilt or set free by forgiveness. This book has been one of my favorite reads so far this summer! I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good read.
Blooming-with-Books More than 1 year ago
BOUND BY GUILT By C.J. Darlington What would you do for love and something to call your own? This is the question that haunts 16 year old Roxi Gold. Forgotten by her mother, passed through the foster care system, and scarred by her life Roxi may finally have found a place to call home. But life with her aunt and cousin goes wrong, so wrong that Roxi is Bound by Guilt. Will she ever find the life she seek? Meanwhile Abby Dawson and Christy Williams are reeling from the murder of Hunter Dawson. Abby is determined to find her brother's killer, but at what cost? When Roxi, Abby, and Christy are brought together what will happen? Will they forever be Bound by Guilty or will they be set free? A thought provoking story that will cause the reader to look beneath the surface. What truths lie behind the faces that you see each day? Dig deeper and show that you care, it may save a life!
kattrox More than 1 year ago
Irene and Diego were as close to a family as Roxi has ever known, trouble was they are not the typical kind of family. Traveling in an RV scouting out bookstores stealing rare copies of books to earn a living. Roxi is starting to have second thoughts about their little business. Christy store clerk discovers a collection missing then something goes terribly wrong. Abby a police officer puts her life in jeopardy everyday. When she is notified of a shooting she vowed she would find the perpetrator wherever they were. But what she finds is not what she sought after. A suspenseful invigorating read that I highly recommend a perfect book to spend the afternoon with. A book that kept me plowing through the pages and on the edge of my seat guessing to the end. Took me less than 8 hrs to read it. I was able to follow the story quite well because of the excellent character development. Definately 5 stars well done!