Breeder

Breeder

by Cara Bristol

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Breeder 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have bought a lot of books from the Nook Store, enough that I don't always remember the title. Since it showed that this book was published recently with nothing about past publishing (which is almost always listed), I thought it was new and bought it. I started reading it and found it was a book I read at least 6 years ago! I didn't like the book much then, and I like it even less now that I've paid for it twice. I'm out $5 for a book I've already read because the Nook Store said it was new. Be careful what you buy!
Anonymous 23 days ago
at+first+the+misogynistic+of+the+Parseon+society+aggravated+me.+But+once+we+see+Dak+loosen+up%2C+which+doesn%27t+take+long%2C+the+love+the+main+characters+develop+nd+the+struggle+of+Dak+readjusting+his+worldview+makes+a+good+and+interesting+read.+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Different
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved how the story showed same sex involvement is correct but male and female enjoyment is wrong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting plot, quick easy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I very much enjoyed this book. Very detailed and kept me interested throughout. Would recommend for others to read :)
MBurton More than 1 year ago
This had parts of the book that appealed to me and parts that didn't. It has a dark side to it that will have triggers for some readers, but it also has a gentler side as well. Parseon males do not value females. They have no rights and must do as bidded by all males. They are seen as inferior and simple minded. The females are basically slaves to the Alpha and Beta males. The females are raped, beaten and this is considered the normal. As you can probably guess, this was the part I struggled with. The fact that these males truly believed the females were so simple minded that they couldn't learn just made these men sound like they were the simple minded ones. What I liked was the dominant Alpha in Dak that embraced his planets protocols until he met Omra. Dak is The Alpha of all Alphas. He isn't a mean guy. He believes in the protocol but does not wish to inflict harm just for pleasure. When he picks Omra to be his breeder, he starts to care for her very quickly and struggles with sticking to protocol. For being The Alpha, Dak showed a lot of care and concern, not only for Omra but for others as well. The author did a good job of showing Dak's struggle with doing what is known and taking a step towards his people's change in protocol. This didn't end on a cliffhanger but it does seem like book two will continue with the changes to the Parseon people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was a good story
kJenn More than 1 year ago
**Received ARC for a fair and honest review** Breeder is book 1 in the breeder series. A note- for sensitive readers, this book is a dark read with some dark themes. This was an interesting space opera/sci fi story. I take what I read at face value and don't try to discern all the possibilities the author may be thinking behind the story. I enjoyed the story, and it was a fast easy read for me. Alpha Commander Dak/Alpha needs a breeder, one that can assist both himself and his beta, Corren. On Parseon women are likened to the beasts and are treated no better, if not worse. Their only use is breeding, slave labor and an outlet for their needs if they arise. Omra is sold to Commander Dak and is expecting the worst after what she's been through while at the breeder containment facility. What she soon realizes is that with Alpha, he's not as he appears. He's not brutal, vicious or anything like that. However, Corren is not so enthused with arrival of Omra. Though being with a breeder is for procreation only and not for enjoyment, Dak breaks protocol to be with her, while fighting his feelings because it is considered so wrong. In a male dominated society, where woman/breeders are treated worse than beasts, and to feel for a breeder is heresy they have a lot of hurdles to overcome to be together. So dark stuff aside, I enjoyed Dak and Omra. They have a lot of adversity and treachery to overcome, and even with his position and the regards for women/breeders on Parseon, Dak falls for Omra and vice versa. Though it's said women aren't able to enjoy copulating, Omra does and it along with other things he learns from/about Omra make him rethink what he's been taught. The premise of this is different from other space opera's I've read which I always enjoy. Note--In Parseon society an Alpha uses his beta for enjoyment and the breeders are for procreation, so there are MM themes to the books, I know some people are bothered by that. I feel like this book set up well the premise for the upcoming books in the series and am really looking forward to reading the next book, Terran. Happy Reading!!
TammyS32 More than 1 year ago
This was a good read for me, there is plenty of drama and suspense. I would not recommend this read for everyone as it does contain triggers, rape and physical abuse. Dak is the Alpha and Omra a slave only good for breeding, however Dak discovers so much more. Interesting read.
MusicInPrint More than 1 year ago
Dak is a Commander, a ruling Alpha on the Parseon planet. This world is dominated by males governed only strict laws where females are property and disposable. Omra is purchased by Dak to produce a male offspring. No fondness is allowed in this society and is deemed a weakness. The heart is what leads Dak to seek equality for Omra and the land he oversees. No cliffhangers and a HEA ensues. "A copy of this book was provided to me by author via Netgalley with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read and my comments here are my honest opinion."
Books6565 More than 1 year ago
Wow....I wasn't sure I would like this book but I enjoyed it very much! I don't read a lot of science fiction but there was a depth to this book I didn't expect. I read it in one sitting! The story is about a patriarchal society where women are basically no better than beasts of burden. In fact there "horse" type of animals were treated much better. Omra is a breeder and even though she came from a good family, she is still treated like a slave. Dak is an Alpha( kind of like a governor) of his region. He purchases Omra and basically falls in love. During this time, Omra comes out of her shell and her personality shines through. We also learn more about the society and the rebellion brewing. We also are told of the political machinations of the other Alphas and their high court. It wasn't all about just sex but the sex scenes were pretty hot. I can't wait for the next book in the series.
Boundlessbookreviews More than 1 year ago
I am not a huge fan of books with dubious consent, however in this world, women are 3rd class citizens at best and treated poorer than livestock.  Keep in mind there aren’t any scenes that actual rape happens, there is a close call, and it is just all implied and talked about in past tense.  But in this world the women don’t know any other way of living, it is the norm to be abused.  What Bristol describes is the modern feminist worst nightmare.  Frankly, it gave me the chills. The world of Parsons is one that is in desperate need of change and Dak and Omra are the start of that change.  I loved that Dak was completely overwhelmed by his feeling towards Omra and even though he disciplined her when she messed up (spanked) he never hurt her.  He was tender and loving in a society that has been taught that women don’t have the mental fortitude to do anything other than breed and do the menial task.  Omra showed Dak how wrong his teaching on women are.  He is forced to realize that maybe the Parson’s way isn’t the correct way where women are concerned.   I have read several of Bristol’s novels and this is the darkest I have seen her go.  But like always the writing, character and world building were superb.   I am not sure enjoyed is the correct word because I was feeling more outraged by the treatment of the women, however, Breeder was really good and I am giving it 4 Boundless Stars.
Rainn2978 More than 1 year ago
I started this book on the fence. I do like some books that are considered "dark" but on a whole I don't really like books that have punishments for women not being submissive or forced to be a slave. With that being said, I really enjoyed this book. There were a few things I didn't quite understand at the beginning, such as the whole Alpha and Beta thing and the fact that women are literally only used for being a Breeder. I wasn't sure how that quite came to be a fact of life for them all. I am hopeful this will be explained in the next books in the series as I do love back story. Dak is an Alpha but not just any Alpha, he is a Commander. He has gone to procure a Breeder and ends up choosing Omra. He finds it horrid the conditions that she has lived in and decides that there must be a change to those conditions. Omra has been abused since she was placed to become a Breeder and doesn't realize that her life is about to change in a major way. Dak and Omra are attracted to each other but it's not just physical. Especially once Dak realizes that things that he has been taught about women are not necessarily true. I really loved how they interacted with each other, especially once they both realize they have feelings for each other! There were so many different twists and turns, and then throw in betrayals? This was a great book! I am really looking forward to the next one! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I wish there had been some sort of back story to explain how their society came to be the way it is. As I said, I'm hopeful it will be explained in one of the next ones! Great read!
herleyberley More than 1 year ago
Totally unexpected find and grateful I did! Cara Bristol’s books were recommended to me for a book challenge and now I have to completely rearrange my TBR list! First of all, it was well written. It made the story that much easier to get lost in, so kudos to the editing staff! Whenever you find yourself thinking about the characters when you are not reading – you know that’s a good sign. Dak and Omra had great chemistry right from the start. You had a heroine who had brains (yeah!), a hero who had balls, a villainous cast that was devious and determined…..everything just felt right with their interactions and dialogue. I also appreciated that things didn’t drag on unnecessarily. Sometimes a shorter read is better when the action calls for it. I absolutely loved the exploration that Dak and Omra allowed themselves physically. It was wonderfully erotic without being mechanical, or trashy. I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the Breeder books, and many others by this author!
Melissa-777 More than 1 year ago
Breeder take you on a journey in a women who is nothing more then a incubator for an alpha to put his essence into so that she can  pop out his baby but can the man overcome what he was brought up to believe will protocol continue to stop him from showing his love to a breeder  Omra is a breeder she is nothing but what protocol dictates her to be and that is a baby machine she is in a cell where the man who  runs the BCF sival he wishes to keep so he can sell her to a alien emperor but she sneezes and an alpha named Dak hear her and  insist on seeing  her when he finds her filthy and in poor living conditions he feels pity for her and asks to buy her Alpha Dak is one of five leaders on the planet Parseon he wants a breeder to make his kids and to keep his beta company while he  is running his portion of Parseon but what he docent know is that his beta is a cruel man who is continuously cheating on him with a man he introduces as his brother at a function he shows his true colors and hits Omra finally seeing the man his beta is he instructs  him to wait in their room but his beta sees this as his time to leave and go to the enclave where anyone can have a breeder and live  a normal life beyond protocol Will Dak see the precious gift he has been given by omra or will protocol dictate his actions forever?  will her love be strong enough to survive all odds or will she end up heart broken?  to find out the answers to the questions and more i strongly suggest you read this book its worth it 5 gold stars for a great book i couldn't put it down cant wait to read more
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
179 pages great read. You have love, hate, and advature. Must read
Love2readNJ More than 1 year ago
I am not a big fan of spankings however this author did it in such a way that it seems somewhat natural. She made it part of the infrastructure of her fictionalized society. The world she created was in direct contrast to modern day earth. In this alien world homosexuality is the norm and women are kept as breeders / cattle. Their main purpose is to be kept and breed…that is all. Defying normal convention Dak “The Alpha” is drawn to a female breeder and sees more in her than her capabilities to reproduce. It was definitely different and it held my interest. The characters and the world they resided in were very well rounded. I would love to read more by this author on this world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SJMaylee More than 1 year ago
Breeder is a powerful and gripping read. It's a page turner for sure. Cara Bristol has created an interesting and well developed world with a lopsided society. The love and emotion she creates in her characters pushes at their very beliefs and naturally not everyone is eager for change. This story has some great suspense and I had no idea how it was going to end. It's a page turner till the very end. I love that. Cara wasted no time in getting me to care for her characters, Omra and Dak. In fact, there were a few points in the story where I got really nervous for them. Rarely can an author get me to care that much about characters. It's pretty impressive. Dak is Alpha, yes he is. When he falls for Omra, he falls with every fiber in his being. Yum! Omra is a breeder. Even though she's been told that's all she is, she's so much more and watching her grow was captivating. She was a joy to root for.  I love this book for many reasons. It has one of the most beautiful love scenes I've read. If you're a fan of the author's domestic discipline story lines, you won't be disappointed. It has a natural place in the story. I'm so glad Cara is giving us more books in this world. I can't wait for the next. Note from SJ: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest and fair review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pads in. Slices his side. Pads away.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Welcome ladies. One at a time, please. Oh, and put up what you look like.