The Bride (Lairds' Brides Series #1)

The Bride (Lairds' Brides Series #1)

by Julie Garwood

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$5.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Bride 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 594 reviews.
SandyX More than 1 year ago
My favorite of all Julie Garwood books. Her other books are works of art but THE BRIDE is the work of an artistic genius. Can you tell I love this story? I've read this book at least 10 times since it was written and have just downloaded to my Nook so I can read it again. Julie Garwood, thank you for writing books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There seems to be no other way to describe this book but Perfect. Garwood is a great author and this book really shows her talent. If you have not purchased any of her books this is a great one to start with.
Alec is a wonderful hero. Strong, Caring, Sexy, yeah, I could go on and on but I won't. And Jamie is just sweet, innocent, beautiful and cares about every one around her. But she's also a little spitfire.
I loved the scene around there small ceremony with her sister. Their love scene in the woods was Perfect. Alec is so yummy! One of my favorite scenes is when they're in bed and he's talking to her in Galic but she has to act like she doesn't understand him even though she does. But Alec knows she understands so it makes it a total kick. And the scene with the claymore outside when she tries to attack Justin. What a hoot!
These two share great chemistry. They fit so well together that there love story just seeps of the pages. Go out and purchase this one, if you have not already you will not be disappointed.
Vvixen More than 1 year ago
This is the best romance book I have read in ages. I have never laughed so much at such wonderful characters. It was funny, touching, and romantic all in one book. This is a sure read.
MoriartyCat More than 1 year ago
I have loved JG's modern romance/suspence novels for quite some time, but I have never been a big fan of historical romances....unitl now!!!! I bought The Bride on a whim and read it in a day. It was one of the best books I've ever read. I finished out the Laird's Bride series and immediately started in on the Highland Laird's series. They are all extraordinary!!! I have recently ordered another of her historical romance series (The Crown Spies) and hope they are just as magical. I wonder if I will care for the English romances, since I love the Highland Lairds so much...their attitueds on the English appears to have rubbed off on me =) Do yourself a favor and BUY THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!
MariaLiza More than 1 year ago
How can you not like a story where the Bride wears black to the wedding? And she did on purpose to protest it. Love it! Love it years ago when I first read it; loved it now as I re-read. Any Julie Garwood is a wonderful read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Never read a book by Judy but I really fell in love with the characters and story line, very original from what ive read in the genre.
Reid20 More than 1 year ago
This was a delightful story. I really enjoyed the characters. Alec Kincaid is such a kind-hearted man. He is very sexy. Jamie is a hoot. She is always making me laugh. The softening of their hearts towards each other is wonderful.
mycheek More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, i never laughed so hard, it is so refreshing to be able to go back in time and forget these hard times we have now. I loved Garwoods humor
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was my first romance novel and it was more than i ever could have expected. You fall in love with the characters immediately! The story wasn't cheesy and it was very steamy!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a good book! It was romantic, funny, scary, and sexy all in one! The charecters are amazing. You will easily fall in love with both Alec and Jamie. Their chemistry is mesmerizing. It is easily the best book I have read in years!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the story , loved the laughter and banter between the two main characters! Looking forward to reading more of her stories. ?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great characters
Momof4IN More than 1 year ago
LOVE IT! Julie Garwood is Ahhhhmazing! Alec is an alph-male Highland Laird, Jamie is a beautiful, willful English lady...together the sparks fly and create a magnificent love story to be savored time and time again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once i staryed reading this book i just couldnt put it down it is my favorite julie garwood book i
Seamless More than 1 year ago
Am I missing something? With so many positive reviews and a love for scottish themed romance novels, I enthusiastically set out to read The Bride. I will not lie and say that it wasn't entertaining, it kept me reading but the author failed to write much depth for the heroin or many of the other characters for that matter. The heroin often came of like a childish brat and was so adored by everyone around her that it became too unrealistic and cheesy (even for a romance novel). Any ways, for some shallow entertainment it works but I didn't become too attached to the story or characters. I would recommend the Highland Guard Series by Monica McCarthy instead. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good read
Randy Brought More than 1 year ago
It was just too similar to The Secret. I LOVED the secret and read first. Iain/ Judith were pretty much the same characters as Alec/Jamie. The writing seemed to repeat in this book too ( not sure which was written first) I swear some sentences were reused or the description of something. Overall I would recommend this book. I do like Julie Garwoods writing style, but just felt the two books were to much alike. Especially since I read them back to back.
Anonymous 23 days ago
I+laughed+so+much%2C+such+a+refreshing+and+wonderful+story.++Would+recommend+it.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Wonderful and exciting read.
Anonymous 6 months ago
I have read and re-read book after book written by Julie Garwood. This one has to be one of my very favorites. Maybe it’s because it was the first one I read written by her. I love this story and could read it a million times and still enjoy it like it was the first time reading it. This book began all my adventures with this author and I am so glad I randomly stumbled upon it.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Great book
Anonymous 11 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
blingtastic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
garwood at her best. funny, tender and strong hero. perfect. this will be a keeper on the shelf
Megan.Arney on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
read again later, very feel good romance