Bulwark

Bulwark

by Brit Lunden

Paperback

$8.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bulwark 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
ScaroletEllis 13 days ago
Bulwark by Brit Lunden is an awesome story that I have read and fell in love with. This awesome story is writen by a brand new author for me , I never read anything from this author till this story. I highly recommend this story to everyone who loes reading about cozy mysteries and paranormal romances in their stories. I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Sharon_Arundel 13 days ago
This is a wonderfully written eerie paranormal story. It’s a fast-paced plot that takes the reader through one catastrophe after another in quick succession. The characters are well written and fit perfectly with this well thought out plot. I have found a new author for when I have a desire to read paranormal suspense thrillers! I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
MikiHope 4 months ago
This is the short novel that was the beginning of the anthology. Let's just say I would never want to live in Bulwark, Georgia! Yikes---a lot of really strange occurrences--children missing--a green pool of water but there is nowhere it came from! And a Gingerbread house deep in the woods on the other side of that green, slimy pool. And the town has kept all this secret for years. Will the Sheriff be able to figure this all out--vampires, werewolves and witches all conspiring against him?
ReadersFavorite3 4 months ago
Reviewed by Kris Moger for Readers' Favorite Bulwark by Brit Lunden is a paranormal mystery about a town with a secret and a police officer with a missing child. Clay Finnes is the sheriff of what he thinks is a normal small town. Though his days are usually fairly quiet, he is called out to a car accident involving a couple of tourists. As he goes through his duties, he is plagued by the disappearance of his baby girl, and the separation from his wife. Then his day gets more and more twisted as unexpected connections are made. Will Clay be able to solve this mess or will he lose everything and become part of it? I enjoyed Bulwark by Brit Lunden. It is a wonderful mix of old tales and new situations. Though it may seem like the story is going along a predicable path, Lunden throws in a refreshing twist that kept me reading. The book runs along at a good pace, building up to a terrific ending that made me want to read more tales with these characters. The writing is vivid and the dialogue is realistic. As well, there is romance, betrayal, monsters, magic, interesting characters and more, creating a satisfying paranormal story for the shadow side of me that likes a little creepy and a lot of mystery. My only major frustration was how short the story was. As it is part of an anthology, it would be wonderful to have the collection all in one book. An enjoyable read.
ReadersFavorite2 4 months ago
Reviewed by K.C. Finn for Readers' Favorite Bulwark is a short and fast-paced work of thriller fiction penned by author Brit Lunden. The small town of Bulwark, Georgia plays host to a collection of events in this novel, which focuses on the already tragic life of its hero, Sheriff Clay Finnes. Clay is only hanging on by a thread after the abduction of his daughter, which led to the breakdown of his marriage, and now things are about to get a whole lot weirder and worse for him. The mysteries of Bulwark keep appearing, as if from nowhere, taking Clay on a bizarre journey through hauntingly familiar fables until the truth of the mystery and his own heart are truly laid bare. If you’re looking for dark, mysterious fiction that touches on the world of fairy tales, then this short, sharp read is sure to please you. Brit Lunden writes with great atmosphere, making a highly readable experience that continued throughout. Clay was a well-developed and likable hero, one whose befuddlement at the strange goings-on gives you, as a reader, a kind of superior feeling, enabling you to figure out the mystery one step ahead of him sometimes. I loved the connection to fairy tales from the likes of the Brothers Grimm, retaining their dark qualities and translating them into modern day incidents with some new twists that surprised me. Overall, Bulwark is a collection of excellent thrilling mysteries which build to an overall story based around their central hero, and it was a highly enjoyable read.
ReadersFavorite1 4 months ago
Reviewed by Joel R. Dennstedt for Readers' Favorite Bulwark by Brit Lunden is described as A Paranormal Thriller … and it is … sort of. One might be tempted to think of it as things you’ve read before. However, the concise readability of Ms. Lunden’s supersonic prose means this book is not merely derivative of its precursors in the horror genre. For a start, there is that compelling pace, punchy prose, and accelerating plot that so easily hooks a reader and keeps him going. After all, who would not be sucked in, so to speak, by this: '“Something sucked the blood from that man.” Swenson pointed to the corpse in the next room. “I’m talking vampires and werewolves.”' The effectiveness of Brit Lunden’s contribution to the horror genre, Bulwark, comes from its suggestive but basically grounded start: a couple passing through a small town is bogged down in a soon to be evolving mid-road puddle, telling tales of supernatural things like witches. With the burgeoning of wolf howls and inexplicable attacks, you’ve got the ingredients for a paranormal thriller. Except, the town sheriff isn’t having it. Not right away. And it is his grounded nature coming to terms with increasingly unnatural stuff that lends interest to this story. We know he’ll soon have to reach an understanding about inexplicable terrors in this world. Too bad he also has to deal with his own gone-missing child, a disenchanted wife, and really badly timed interactions with a lustful stalker. Yes, the kitchen sink is here – namely, a water-challenged witch. Still, have fun. It’s over all too soon.
FeatheredQuillBookReviews 11 months ago
A sleepy little town in Georgia is the perfect setting for a paranormal thriller that amps up the "creepy" factor in a story with more twists and turns than an old country road. Clay Finnes is the sheriff of Bulwark, Georgia, a small town where nothing much happens. He's got a slightly annoying deputy, Owen Bishop, who means well but just isn't the brightest light bulb in the pack. As the story opens, Clay and Owen are at the scene of an accident where an out-of-town couple got their car stuck in a big green pond of muck. The accident happened at the outskirts of town, a place where there are remnants of an old road, but nothing else. Where were they coming from and where did that pond of bad smelling water come from? After finishing the investigation at the scene of the accident, Clay goes to interview the couple. They're staying nearby at a hunter's cabin, with the owner there to keep an eye on them, while they wait for the ambulance. The husband is motionless on the couch, and the wife isn't much better, babbling about a witch in the woods. When she spots a picture on the mantle of the hunter's dead wife and claims, "...she's the witch that took my children," the hunter is understandably upset. That's when Dayna Dalton, an annoying local reporter, shows up at the door. Fortunately, Clay is right behind her and he forces her out of the way as he goes in the house. Clay doesn't have much luck interviewing the couple who are soon hustled off to the hospital. At the hospital, Clay runs into his wife Jenna. Unfortunately, they are separated...things fell apart shortly after their young daughter Claire went missing the previous year. Clay still loves Jenna and hopes she feels the same, but with a hot doctor making the moves on her, things don't look too promising. Meanwhile, the wife from the accident is still babbling, telling anyone who will listen that they need to find the gingerbread house, which is where her children were taken. When wolves are mentioned too, Clay has had just about enough. What is going on? Bulwark is one of those fun stories that grabs you quickly and doesn't let go until the very end. At just 109 pages, it won't take long to read and with short chapters that keep tempting you to read just one more, you'll likely finish the book in one sitting. The story has witches, werewolves, a town with a long-hidden history, and a very determined sheriff, who not only is intent on solving the mystery but also getting his wife back. Don't think you've figured this one out as you read, and don't assume you know who is good, or bad...you'll likely be wrong, which is what makes this story so enjoyable. The only thing the book needs is a careful review by an editor as there are numerous editorial errors - not enough to ruin the story but they do get annoying. Beyond that, however, this is a very good story that will leave you quite satisfied. Quill says: If you like your thrillers with lots of twists, plenty of "creepy," some paranormal events, and a fast-moving plot, check out Bulwark. You might just be afraid to turn off the lights after reading the last page.
JBronder More than 1 year ago
Clay Finnes is the sheriff in the small town of Bulwark. But Clay’s life is not going well. His daughter has disappeared and his wife has left him because of this. One night he finds a car stalled in a puddle with a couple inside talking about their kids has disappeared. On the way to the hospital, the wife keeps talking about the kids disappearing, the gingerbread house, and Linden Street. Clay decides to get to the bottom of this since there is no Lindon Street that he knows of. Clay is going to discover the paranormal. It seems witches, vampires, and wolves are not just stories. This is a great, quick read. You have a down sheriff that is having a hard time with the loss of his daughter and his wife. But then a great mystery with a paranormal twist. I love how this book is a clean, easy read. It was easy to get into the story, hard to put down, and although short, a book that is well worth the read. Carole P. Roman is a children’s author and Bulwark is her first venture into adult fiction. I do hope this is not her last. I would love to see what she comes up with next. I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.
Holly More than 1 year ago
You would have never imagined this book coming from a children's Author but I'm sure glad that Carole P. Roman wrote this book just to showcase her many talents! With the book starting out with what it seems to be a normal day in Clay's life as a Sheriff but you soon find out that nothing is normal in this town. As you get more and more drawn in to what is going on, there will come a time that your heart will stop beating for what is happening within the pages and how it will all end. This book had me so wrapped up in it that I completely lost track of time and it kept me in this book hangover for a couple of days after. I thought it was just perfect having those two endings that just gave it that even better ending of thinking of what if! I have loved every book that Carole P. Roman has come out with so far and I wasn't sure about her making this leap into adult horror books but I'm sure glad she did!! Thank You to Brit Lunden aka Carole P. Roman for this first heart-stopping book from you that I can't wait to see what is next!! I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book from the Aut
MargieS1 More than 1 year ago
Bulwark by Brit Lunden is one that you need to make sure that you are sitting with a seatbelt on and it is tightly on. This book will take you on an adventure that you won't even see coming. It might be a short read but it'll keep you reading from page one to the last page and you'll read it all over again. It is truly a "what did I just read" right now? Unbelievable and fantastic. I have read Carole Roaman's children's books and loved every one of them and this YA book is one you must read if you already love her writing. I don't want to tell you anything at all about what's in the book. All I want to say is that it has it all. You won't go wrong reading it. I very highly recommend this book to everyone. It would make a great gift to give to anyone who loves paranormal/thriller reading. I give this book 5 stars but wish I could give this book more. Brit Lunden I look forward to more great books coming out in the future.
PJtheEMT4 More than 1 year ago
Bulwark by Brit Lunden is a modern day fairytale with a plot twist that horror fans will love. Ironically, in the midst of the action and the eerie horror, there is a prevailing message of hope and inspiration that may be learned from this paranormal tale, as one of the main characters, Dolly reveals "grace.. comes from maturity, the elegance of a lifetime is experience. Growing old is not about age, it's learning to look at life and love with the eye of knowing the difference between right and wrong..." Lunden,B. ( 2018). Bulwark: Columbia S.C. These timeless words of comfort and wisdom which will reach out directly to the reader, are found in the most unlikely of places in the most eerie of settings. Brit Lunden, is the pseudo-name for the beloved modern writer of both children's fiction and history, Carole P. Roman. Once again the author proves her versatility and talent in delivering a suspenseful horror tale reminiscent of a creepy old fairytale involving monsters and witches and an old gingerbread house. For those readers who enjoy scie-fi and paranormal television shows like Grimm and Supernatural, this action packed novel is fast paced, and eerily spooky. From page one, I could not put the book down, wanting to find the mystery behind the enigmatic old house and the connection with the towns missing children. People and places are not what they appear to be as an evil lurks beyond a façade of innocence and fantasy. Fans of modern day horror will not be disappointed in this story which will keep the reader engaged until the end. An unexpected treat is the second alternative ending that the author includes after the completion of the story. Bulwark is Roman's first work of fiction for adult readers. I look forward to seeing more works published by the author. As a blogger I received a copy of this book for the purpose of writing this review. I definitely recommend this book to all fans of horror and supernatural fiction.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Jack Magnus for Readers' Favorite Bulwark is a paranormal fantasy novella written by Brit Lunden. No one had the foggiest idea what had caused the greenish, slimy puddle that was rapidly turning into a pond covering an extensive part of the roadway. Bulwark Sheriff Clay Finnes thought it looked like some sort of primordial soup, something ancient. Whatever it was, the Ford Fusion stuck in the middle of it wasn’t going anywhere, and its occupants, an older man and woman, were currently at a neighboring house, one belonging to a retired football great. They were not, reportedly, in very good condition, and indeed when Sheriff Finnes went to JB’s cabin, he was stunned to see how traumatized the couple was. This wasn’t the only emergency on the Sheriff’s mind that evening, however; for one thing, there was a domestic dispute that ended with a stabbing. Some said it was the full moon acting up, but Finnes had a feeling it was much more than that. Brit Lunden’s paranormal fantasy novella, Bulwark, is genuinely eerie and spooky, filled with the kinds of scary effects that true lovers of the dark crave and rarely find. There are no gushes of blood or other cheap special effects, just a consistently good pulse-pounding story about an ancient evil and the one man who stands up against it. Readers who grew up with the likes of Barker, King and Lovecraft will have a field day reading this classy, dark fantasy novella. And, yes, it’s that good. Lunden’s plot is first-rate and her writing is smooth, assured and polished to a high sheen. Bulwark is most highly recommended.
LiteraryLitter More than 1 year ago
At first glance, this is a middle reader book. It's page count is at 104 and most of the wording is set for 'newer' readers. However, adult themes such as sex and violence are prevalent. This book is perfect for an adult who has difficulty reading or is newer to the world of reading. In my world, everyone is a voracious reader. That isn't true for everyone. This book definitely satisfies the need for paranormal-thriller fiction that isn't too intimidating. And let's be honest, sometimes you really want a quick, adventurous read. Lunden is also published under Carole P. Roman and I found her adult writing to be every bit as satisfying as her childrens and nonfiction books. It's fast-paced, full of action and adventure. The characters are easy to figure out and identify with. The book isn't cluttered, so it's a quick and smooth read. Fans of paranormal and folklore will get a kick out of this book. Admittedly, I read the entire thing in 30 minutes, but it was 30 minutes where I didn't want to be interrupted and pulled out of my world. Despite the length, I felt content upon finishing.
ReadersFavorite4 4 months ago
Reviewed by Caitlin Lyle Farley for Readers' Favorite Clay Finnes, sheriff of the small town of Bulwark in Georgia, USA, struggles to cope with the loss of his daughter and the breakdown of his marriage when strange incidents begin occurring around town. It begins with the sudden appearance of a green and smelly pond, and the strangers whose car became stuck inside it. The couple rambles on about a witch and a gingerbread house, where their children are now being held captive. Then there’s the reports about wolves roaming through town and the assault victim who was stabbed in the neck with a fork and bled dry. All the peculiar crimes and occurrences in Bulwark appear to be linked to a similar spate of bizarre crimes that were wiped from the town’s official records, and nobody who remembers that period wants to talk about it. Bulwark’s American South setting and author Brit Lunden’s chilling take on fairy tales and paranormal creatures make for entertaining reading. Sheriff Clay’s forceful, even bullying attitude towards female characters makes it difficult to relate to him or see him as a hero, despite Lunden’s efforts to depict him as one. However, the gripping mystery of the missing children and the gingerbread house adequately distracts from the main character’s flawed personality as intriguing clues unfold. Lunden’s pacing is excellent, as are the eerie, yet understated descriptions throughout. A nice plot twist at the end brings Bulwark to an interesting close, made more so by Lunden’s inclusion of an alternate ending that will make readers' jaws drop. Bulwark is a quick and entertaining supernatural mystery read.