Call Me by Your Name (Movie Tie-In)

Call Me by Your Name (Movie Tie-In)

by André Aciman

Paperback(Movie Tie-In)

$15.30 $17.00 Save 10% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $17. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Call Me By Your Name 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 130 reviews.
Casperthghost13816 More than 1 year ago
Not in a long time has a book affected me in such a way. When I stared this book, I loved the writing style and the description of Elio's world. But then I suddenly became attached to Elio. I felt what he felt. His fascination, his desires, his admiration, and after a while his love for Oliver. You feel as though you are there, sitting in the thick, warm atmosphere of an Italian Riviera, seeing every step of the blossoming relationship between Oliver and Elio. Yet always wondering what will happen when this guest finally has to leave?
The biggest surprise of this book is that Aciman describes the one thing that everyone in this world looks for and many do not find, total intimacy. Where two people become one unit, not just physically but emotionally. Where both people become each other. Even though I have finished the book, I still am looking at it, re-reading whole chapters just because this book has affected me in such a way.
Try this book, not only will it touch your heart but it will make you wonder and feel things that you haven't felt in a very, very long time.
Maria_of_amor More than 1 year ago
If only we all could express who we were at 17 with such grace, honesty and lucidity.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What an amazing piece of work by such a masterful writer. As a gay man, it truly makes me appreciate the gay men that came before me and what they went through to get us where we are today. Tears were streaming down my face the entire last part of the book and if you get a chance to listen to the audio book it is even better. 5 stars and more if I could
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I saw the movie before I read the book and I so enjoyed remembering the scenes while reading these beautiful words. I was so moved by the movie and felt the same about the book. I am not sure if I shed more tears reading or watching the movie. Such a heartbreaking beautiful love story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was beautiful and enticing, it held me close and refused to let me go. Elio may not be the most reliable narrator but he's real and raw and he's full of flaws but also charming perfections. Spoilers Below I'm over here sobbing my eyes out, feeling what must be the pain Elio never truly expressed. I fell in love with this story and these characters and right now my heart truly aches. Love is so mysterious and people are so afraid of the truth. I wish more than anything that they could have lived and loved for their whole lives together as they deserved. I honestly don't understand how two people fully made to fit each other so perfectly could turn from it. It hurts that they found each other only to never have more than a month together. A life time of regret and longing and for what? I don't know. If you ever find someone you love this much do not let them leave so carelessly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book! Oh, this book! If you have ever fallen instantly, with every cell in your body, for someone, then you will read your own story in this book. There is no character named Elio; you are Elio and Oliver is your lover. Beware - you will re-live every detail of your affair - from the anxiety ridden beginning to the lust-fueled middle to the heart-wrenching end. You will find yourself staying up too late at night to read this book, and then staying up later still re-living the insanity that was your own romance. You will find yourself seeking out your current partner, just so you can close your eyes and pretend that your Oliver is once again touching you. And you will wish, you will wish, that you had thought to ask your lover to "Call Me By Your Name."
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is, plainly and simply, an exquisitely-written love story that has haunted me long after I finished reading it. The story and characters touched my heart, and I found myself rereading excerpts and passages that were particularly beautiful. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lovely. heartbreaking. I feel like I didn’t know love until I read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Aciman is a genius, and a master of conveying what it is almost impossible with words. Magical and simply "boulversant" . The movie is also just or equally profound and so beautifully moving. Everyone deserve to receive this memorable gift.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
well i thought the book was written very differently than any other book i've read, so it pulled me in right away. but i'm not sure how i feel about it. elio's obsession sometimes creeped me out, but sometimes i related so well, because i've had the same emotions. it's one of those books where it feels like you're the only one who's read it and it's such an engrossing book that it feels like your life. it will also definitely stay with me for a long time.
Etoile More than 1 year ago
The best book I've ever read, Aciman writes in a touching beautiful way, I felt what Eliot felt, I could listen to the cicadas, I could feel the warm Italian breeze over my skin. Now that I've finished the book, I miss Eliot, Oliver, Italy, and the beautiful words in Call me by your name. I found out that it is possible to call other person by your name, because you share a deep connection, and I realized that love goes beyond what I had thought. I would never forget this book, written in a really realistic way, describing carefully each feeling, each action, seducing you in each page, leaving you totally gasped with your heart beating tenderly. I have the fondest love for this unforgettable book, that will not rest on my mind, on the contrary my mind, my heart , myself will rest in the book, in the middle of that Italian summer for ever.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I do not think I have ever read such a beautiful masterpiece. This book leaves you aching for what must exist, and yet can only exist within the pages of fiction. There are innumerable quotes and passages that will touch your heart and leave you breathless.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing! I suggest it to anyone who loves a good love story. If Oliver and Elio's characters were writen any differently it would'nt be as good as it was. It will definitely go on the bookshelf with my favorites!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A truly amazing novel. The author does a great job of building Oliver and Elio's relationship. Taking them slowly, and sometimes painfully, from friends to lovers. Aciman also does a magnificent job describing the sights sounds feelings emotions and everything you could possibly want to know. Brilliant! I was hooked from the beginning when we first meet Oliver, and couldn't put it down. Even when I started crying in the 4th and final part. A real tearjerker! Overall it's too good to be summed up in a review, it's definitely a must read!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This novel has universal appeal. Both young and old, gays and straight people, and especially people who admire lovely prose, will find it irresistible. A novel as magnificent and gripping as this gets published only once in a blue moon. This novel will grip your mind at the very beginning, and the witty, charming voice of its narrator, seventeen years old Elio, will lead you through the wondrous tunnel of human emotions such as desire, passion and lust, in search of the elusive and slippery love. The story is about young Elio¿s intense infatuation with the handsome American, twenty-four years old Oliver, a post-doctoral scholar and author, who comes as a house-guest to stay for six weeks at Elio¿s villa in the Italian Riviera. Elio is well-read and talented. He can sing, and play guitar and piano, too. Both men like to jog and play tennis. They love to swim and they flirt on the beach and indulge in witty dialogue. The author, Andre Acimen, succeeds in creating an illusion that the two young men make a perfect pair - a match made in heaven. But nothing in this world is perfect, of course, and nothing lasts for ever. And there lies the tension and the aches and pains a reader feels, and the torment one suffers while reading this novel. If you ever had crush on someone when you were a teenager, reading this novel will bring out the long dormant memories to the surface, and you will feel the sweet aches and experience the torments again, like new. Perhaps you will also feel an overwhelming desire to read some passages again, only to marvel at the glittering prose, at sentences of extraordinary beauty and elegance. Here is Elio¿s reflection on his jogging with Oliver on the beach: ¿I liked it when our feet were aligned, left with left, and struck the ground at the same time, leaving footprints on the shore that I wished to return to and, in secret, place my foot where his had left its mark.¿ If you are young at heart, you will easily empathize with Elio and feel all his emotions, and if you are very old at heart, and thought your heart petrified so long ago that it was incapable of feeling desire, passion, lust and love, you will be utterly astonished to hear your heart begin to sing a few notes again. And you most certainly will witness the alchemy of Andre Aciman¿s poetic prose slowly transmuting the baser human emotions of passion and lust into precious and divine love. Reading this novel will touch and warm your heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is AMAZING!!!! If you haven't seen the movie, read this book first because it gives you a lot more insight into their emotions than the movie does (though both are beautiful). I would recommend this book to anyone I know. Seriously my favorite book to date. BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is such a wonderful book. Although it rips your heart out, it is so well written and so evocative of it's setting, Italy, that although I've never been there, I could see and smell it. By the end of the book, I felt as if I knew these characters, and exactly what they looked like. This book is absolutely worth your time.
Anonymous 7 days ago
Anyone who has ever loved will find themselves in this book.
Anonymous 3 months ago
I+absolutely+love+this+book...+you+will+too+%3A%29
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 5 months ago
I loved it, is really good
Anonymous 5 months ago
!
Anonymous 6 months ago
Love the movie and the book
Anonymous 7 months ago
Amazing work. A meditation on love found lost and rememebered
Anonymous 8 months ago
A story about humans, about hearts, written as beautifully as poetry.