Canary

Canary

by Rachele Alpine

Paperback

$9.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Canary 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
It’s hard to speak out when your told to be quite. When you are being bullied and manipulated left and right. Right before I started this book I prepared myself. But no matter how long I did that, my emotions soared with every turn of the page. Plot: This is about a girl who gets sexual assaulted and told to be quite by the person that is suppose to protect her. I can’t even begin to tell you the amount of fury that continuously built up inside of me while I read this. Let me just be clear that this book is so emotional yet very vivid. The build up of hurt, the backstabbing of friends puts the reader in a vulnerable position to be taken away. Angst: Usually, I talk about the love interest but I felt like he didn’t deserve any merit in my mind. So I’ll talk about the whirlwind of emotions instead. Prepare to have your heart ripped out. I got angry with friends and parents. I got angry with school officials and so called “boyfriend” who wanted nothing more for her to be quite so that the basketball team can go to the championships! WTH!! Yeah, I’m done here before my keyboard catches on fire… Strength: One thing that Kate possesses is strength. She did her time, keeping quite but when she saw she couldn’t do it anymore she sang like a beautiful canary. When she thought she was alone, others came forward, singing with her. She sparked a revolution for other students and girls like her to come out. I adored this part. Kate strength to say the truth, to admit loudly what was done makes her a hero. Fact: 54% of sexual abuse case go unreported. Why? Because people hush the girls/boys up. They don’t want it to look bad or cause problems. *rolls eyes* What Kate did is amazing! If your up for an amazing tale of a true heroine, Canary is your story. A bittersweet tale that transpires true, hurtful acts, Canary is a powerful piece of work. If you or someone you know is a victim of sexual abuse there is hope. Visit: RAINN or Call: 1-800-656-HOPE It’s FREE.SAFE. & CONFIDENTIAL
Teelovesgio More than 1 year ago
When you see the title Canary you think of the bird right away. I thought of a beautiful bird living free until it is needed. Some people love Canaries and have them caged and some let them fly free in their homes. This is such a compelling story that I laughed and I cried but in the end I was very proud of the main character for stepping outside the box and doing what needed to be done. I have read several stories that have this subject matter in it and it has made me very angry but this one struck a cord with me because it could happen at any high school and what is even more sadder than that is it has. Kate finally has some peace of mind because her father has found a great job at a private prep school. She is dating the star basketball player and she is in love. She has new friends and has begun to enjoy her new life. But things are not always what they seem because Kate and her new friends are at a party when she is assaulted. With no one to go to and no where to go to Kate has to decide whether or not she will report the crime or not. Then when her father finds out what he does is so dam despicable I screamed at the book because I was royally pissed off! In the end Kate has to decide if her family is more important than herself. She will have to dig deep and wide and finds herself and do what is right for her and not the school and not the ball players and not her family. This is such a gripping and compelling story for all to read!
nbookaholic More than 1 year ago
Canary was one of the book at the very top of my wish list and I was eagerly anticipating it's release. And Rachele Alphine does not disappoint.  Meet the Frankins-A father who's crippled by the loss of his wife to a point that he's no longer emotionally present with his family. His new job as a basketball coach at the prestigious Beacon Prep may be nudge they needed to finally move forward. Or maybe not. Brett, Kate's older brother is grieving in his own way and trying to come to terms with his mother's death and the fact that his family's only way of communication is through post-it notes. The father-son relationship is definitely suffering. Kate Franklin, the protagonist is looking forward to a fresh start. Kate is adjusting relatively better to the changes than her brother thanks to all her new friends, her boyfriend on the basketball team and her new found popularity.                                                                                                                                  “We're not his family, his team is.” Written in prose and verse and narrated by Kate Franklin, Canary tells you a story of love, loss, family, popularity and friendship. But most importantly, it's a story of a girl's battle against herself to become strong enough to make the right choice. The writing is simply compelling so the reader is left with no choice but to feel every emotion that Kate experiences. I absolutely loved the way Rachele incorporated blog posts along with first person narration because it gave so much insight into Kate's thoughts.                                                     “How loud do you have to yell until they hear you.” Kate, the protagonist wasn't particularly like-able but what makes Canary such a riveting read is that she was human-Completely and utterly human in her thoughts and actions. The 3-dimensional characters along with the realistic portrayal of Beacon Prep makes Canary a captivating read.                                                                             “At first, it’s as if I have two faces.                          One I wear to school, around Jack, my friends, Dad, and one I have when I go home and am alone.” One of my favorite aspects of the book was Kate's relationship with her brother-Brett was a little more wary of Beacon Prep so he was very protective of his sister. Their sibling relationship added some great value to the story. Rachele's ability to tackle a heavy subject such as sexual assault is truly commendable. Kate's struggles convey a strong message and thanks to the Rachele's captivating writing the reader gets a poignant tale that leaves a mark. This gut-wrenching story of one girl's story struggle to accept and tell the truth is an unique and thought-provoking read for fans of Ellen Hopkins, Sarah Dessen and Laurie Halse Anderson. I cannot recommend this amazing debut enough. **A huge thank you to Medallion Press for a review copy of Canary.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a hearting stopping jaw dropping book. This book had me in tears. Best book i have read. I recomend it to everyone. The strength and courage she has is insperational. Please read this book.
lovejenz More than 1 year ago
Canary tells a hard story exactly how it is. There is no build up to an event like assault, it creeps into your life unknowingly and steals a part of you. Kate Franklin's life is exactly how she wants it to be. She is going to a new school where her mother's death doesn't follow her around every corner, and she has great new friends and a boyfriend on the basketball team. From afar, it seems perfect, but up close she's breaking. Her dad cares more about the basketball team he coaches than her, and her brother is struggling on his own and there is no way for her to help him. To Kate, it's just hardships that come with high school. She would never expect someone to take advantage of her, and she could never expect what happens after.  What I think I loved most about this book is that I knew going into it that Kate is assaulted at a party, but there is no telling when that is going to happen in the book. Just as it is in real life, everything seemed perfect until it happened and suddenly nothing was the same. The assault is one of the main themes in the book, but it does not own this novel. Kate's life as she's trying to put the pieces back together after her mother's death fill the pages with hopes, fears, and open honesty. Kate writes for a blog which breaks up the scenes quietly yet dramatically, giving us a deeper look into her mind. She experiences many things for the first time, not all good, and I quickly fell in love with her voice and her pain. By the time the assault happened, I knew so much about Kate, yet I wasn't sure if she would be able to do what she had to do. Every character stood out to me. I disliked every character at least once in the book, making each of them feel real. People make mistakes, people take the wrong sides, and if that doesn't happen in a book than it doesn't feel right. Kate is by far not perfect, neither is her perfect coach of a dad or her star athlete boyfriend. What matters is how you fix what you've done or how you reacted that makes you a good person. Privilege is a key factor in this book. Most of the characters make the mistake of thinking they are entitled to what they do, including the assault. It's easy not to see what's happening or to ignore it just because athletes are involved. It's a telling tale of what happens when we put the popular kids on pedestals and allow them to do whatever they please. Canary shows the hard truth about popularity, high school, and most of all, privilege. I was rooting for Kate the whole time and I couldn't be happier with the ending if I tried. It was a nice change from what I'm used too in YA and I think it was needed. Subjects like this can be hard to master. There is a fine line between getting it right and going overboard. Alpine told what she needed to tell and left it at that. It was simple, clear, and heartbreaking. I have not been assaulted, nor have I known anyone who has been, but I know how I act when I read or watch it being portrayed. Canary captures the fear, guilt, and aftermath like a real victim, the weight of the act baring down on Kate. There are a lot of books about rape and assault, but this one stands on its own. Kate does not back down and I think that's an important lesson to teach girls, women, anyone. If you let someone get away with what they've done, than they've won. You need to fight back. You need to speak up.
kirstyviz More than 1 year ago
I think that there are many books on the Young Adult market now which deal with teenage grief in one form or another, and this is perhaps why I was unsurprised that Rachele Alpine chose to write a plot which used Kate's mum's death as its catalyst. Canary is a book which is beautifully written in a combination of forms; Kate's blog posts in prose and poetry and Kate's first person narration. Rachele Alpine challenges her reader with the subject matter, although at no point did I feel patronised by the emotions of Kate, however I may have wanted to hit a variety of her friends! Despite the events of the book Kate is truly a role model for readers who are her age; she is able to find her strength and individuality. Canary allows its readers to feel so many different emotions - grief, anger, disappointment- because this is a story we cannot help but care about! This is a must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very quick read. I finished it in just a few sittings. It is about sports but without going into too much detail about the games, which I liked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It will make you feel a bit uneasy reading this book because it does have some explicit parts. However, at the end of the day, it holds a fatastic message while being fully captivating, and true to the heart. The Canary will not dissapoint. Enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book with interesting characters and situations
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for this book to come out :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The huge orange pelted tom walked in. "I heard this is Moonclan? I am from Nightclan. I was a leader, until i was overthrown. In my absence they have disbanded, so I have come here." He mewed solemnley. He looked around.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A timid gray she cat pads in. "Ummm can I join?" She asks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She struggled through the grasses inches outside their territory, small, heavy paws sinking to the earth in exhaustion. She let out a pained mew of disstress.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She layed down on a high tree branch in an oak tree. Her jet black fur shimmered and her neon blue eyes gazed around
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She woke up and padded out of the den.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*Walks up to Leader* "May I Join?" He Meows
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(Here?)he looked around
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(K) yes she said to redkit licking her cried fur
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A sleek blue shecat pads in. "I am Rainfur. May I join?"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A loud outburst of several cats arguing overtook the camp. A pile of tussling and loudly quarreling cats basically rolled into the clan. Noticing they were surrounded by cats, they all froze, staring at the clan. In the blink of an eye they were seperated. "Um.. hello!" A light gray tom chirped, trying to break the awkward silence of the situation. In the middle, a beautiful silver she-cat with a blue tint to her fur rolled her equally blue eyes. Beside her, a cream tom with tan stripes on his tail looked miffed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He padded in. "Hello?"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pads in. "May i join?" She sits down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She padded in "may i join" she asked
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Your good at making the story flow. And