Carbs & Cadavers

Carbs & Cadavers

by Ellery Adams

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Carbs & Cadavers 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
This book was originally published under the pen name J.B. Stanley in 2008. This is a brand-new, fully revised edition published under the author's real name, Ellery Adams. In this first book of the series we are introduced to James Henry, The Professor, who isn't satisfied with his life. He is recently divorces and has moved back to his small hometown to take care of his aging father after the death of his mother. He tends to eat his worries away and looks for happiness in the foods that he eats, especially cheese puffs. He is working in the local library and does seem to enjoy that part of his life. When a high school teacher comes in and asks to put up a flier for a "Supper Club" for those who want to lose weight, he decides to join not only to lose some weight, but to meet some people. They call themselves "The Flab Five". The mystery in this story is who killed local, washed up, football star, Brinkley Meyers. A young woman, who has a strong dislike for Brinkley, is arrested for the crime, but the group is sure she is innocent and set out to prove it. Using their brains, their great questioning techniques and likability, the club works their way through facts, clues, and gossip. Will they be able to come up with the answer to who killed Meyers? There are some side stories going on as well that add interest and flesh out the characters and the town. I enjoyed this story with realistic characters, a friendly setting. This was a fun cozy with a surprising ending that made me smile. Being a full figured gal myself, I appreciated the way the author handled the subject of weight loss, making it a normal part of the story. I am looking forward to reading more in this series. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book via Netgalley.
Reeceeangel More than 1 year ago
James Henry moved back to Quincy's Gap to become the librarian when his mom passed away and left his dad with no one to take care of him. He befriends the local high school are teacher and she convinces him to join her diet club she has started with a group of friends. He is excited as maybe this will be a way to make some friends in his hometown. At their first meeting they name the club the Supper Club and get hooked into solving the murder of the local playboy at he town's best pastry shop. Can James and his friends solve the murder and lose weight or will the murder derail their weight loss plans before they start? How can you resist a main character that loves cheese doodles? I was craving them by the end of the book and wanted them as much as James did. I felt for James at every turn of the page. I understood how he felt and want he wanted out of life. Ellery Adams writes her characters with such feeling that you feel like you personally know them. You want to hop inside the pages of the book and be James' and his Supper Club friends friend. You want them to know you understand their feelings but at the same time you want to let them now they are perfect they way they are and real friends see past the chubbiness. I am excited to read a book about a librarian as the main character as I'm always looking for new things to add to be extensive TBR pile. I get excited thinking "oh, my favorite character has read this". I cannot wait to read the second book "Fit to Die" and revisit my new friends. No matter what your type of cozy mystery you like, Ellery Adams has a series you will enjoy. Thank you to NetGalley and Beyond the Page for a copy to read and review based on my own honest words and opinion.
Cozyfan75 More than 1 year ago
Loved the camaraderie and caring these new friends have! I really liked the switch from usual cozies to a male protagonist. James is so sweet and I was really happy he and Lucy hit it off. All of these weight loss friends were awesome and were just depicted as people anyone would be happy to have as friends. The mystery was well told and I had no idea who the killer was. The ending had me wondering how the friends were going to get the better of the perp but it worked out great. I really can't wait to read the next in the series! Having read Ms. Adams' the Secret, Book and Scone Society, this reminds me so much of that particular group of friends. This group wasn't quite as broken but the same type of friendship is there, the support and love they developed for each of their fellow diet buddies.
ArizonaJo More than 1 year ago
Carbs and Cadavers by Ellery Adams is the first book in her Supper Club series. It was a good beginning to this cozy series. Ms. Adams has written a richly detailed story that includes characters that I could relate to on many levels. James, Lucy, Lindy, Bennett and Gillian all want to lose weight but haven't been successful on their own. They band together to provide recipes, encouragement and support as they strive to achieve their goals. Although strangers they soon begin to bond over future goals and dieting woes. In the process they become involved in a murder investigation. There were plenty of twists and red herrings to keep me confused until the reveal. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book from Beyond the Page via NetGalley. All of the above opinions are my own.
Peggy Hyndman More than 1 year ago
Fun and Engaging Story Carbs & Cadavers is the first book in Ellery Adams’ Supper Club Mysteries series and is an enjoyable read. The storyline is well thought out and the well-developed characters are likeable. The main characters are relatable, as they have hopes, aspirations, regrets, and flaws, and they develop an enviable camaraderie as they get to know each other, support each other in their quest to lose weight, and work together to solve a mystery. There isn’t any gratuitous adult situations or graphic violence, but there is some adult language. I’m looking forward to reading the next installment in this series. James Henry is an unhappy, overweight, thirty-five year old man, whose wife recently divorced him, and after the passing of his beloved mother gave up his job as an English literature professor at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg so he could move back to Quincy’s Gap, Virginia to care for his grumpy, reclusive father, Jackson. It had been almost two months since James moved back into his childhood room and he took over the position of head librarian at Shenandoah County’s main library, the King Street Branch, one month ago. He’s also shy, insecure, and somewhat socially challenged but is caring a, has a huge heart, and is a great listener. When Rosalind “Lindy” Perez, an art teacher and student advisor at Blue Ridge High, stopped by the library with a flyer she’d like to post on the bulletin board in the lobby and asked him to join a supper club, he agreed. The other members are Lucy Hanover, who works as an assistant at the sheriff’s department, Bennett Marshall, a USPS mailman, and Gillian O’Malley, who owns Yuppie Puppy, and he becomes the fifth member of a supper club for dieters who decide to call themselves the Flab Five. When Brinkley Myers, a former high school football star, who was worshipped by men, which he savored, and loathed by women because of his disparaging remarks and behavior when he had an audience, mysteriously dropped dead in Sweet Tooth, a local bakery owned by Megan Flowers, her daughter, Amelia, tried to help him. Sheriff Huckabee and Deputy Keith Donovan suspect Whitney Livingstone, a young waitress at Dolly’s Diner and part time student at James Madison University put Coumadin in Brinkley’s meal at Dolly’s Diner. Unfortunately, Beau Livingstone is the only person in their small community with a prescription for the blood thinning medication. Convinced she’s innocent, the Flab Five team up to investigate. Whitney admits she hated Brinkley, but denies killing him and says Dolly served him his meal on Saturday, not her, and because it was homecoming day, everyone ate Dolly’s traditional Victory Loaf before going to the football game between the Blue Ridge Red-Tailed Hawks and the Jefferson High Cougars. I received an Advance Reader Copy of this book from NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed it.
Shelly9677 More than 1 year ago
This is the first book in the Supper Club mystery series. I have read books by Ellery Adams before, so I jumped at the opportunity to read this new series. The premise of the series is novel and amusing. The story revolves around a supper club of dieters called the Flab Five. They are all trying to watch what they eat and whittle their waistline, but they soon find murder on the menu. Divorced professor James Henry finds himself back in Quincy Gap when his mother dies. He returns to help out his dad. The death of his mother has made him look at his life a little closer and he doesn’t like what he sees around his waistline. He has taken a substantial paycut when moving back to the small town, taking a job at the local library. He has no real friends in town. Just as he was beginning to feel a bit down, Lindy comes to the library asking permission to hang a flyer for a Sunday night dinner club for dieters. James decides to give the club a go himself and the Flab Five is born! The characters are very real. They have hopes, aspirations, regrets and flaws. You will find yourself rooting for them. There is friendship, camaraderie and more than a few quandaries in this amusing book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series was a bit tougher to appreciate but was, by the end, enjoyable enough that I bought the next in the series. Did not like as well as the Hope series but it is well done and I believe I will continue the series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hated this but have loved her other series