Charlotte's Web: Full Color Edition

Charlotte's Web: Full Color Edition

Paperback(Full Color Edition)

$8.99 $9.99 Save 10% Current price is $8.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Charlotte's Web: Full Color Edition 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 58 reviews.
AnastasiaSS More than 1 year ago
Charlotte's Web is an amazing book. When I was younger, I never wanted to read it. I have watched the movie and loved it. Now I am homeschooling my daughter and this book popped up for a novel requirement. She was against it at first. But from the very first moment of us reading it together--we were both hooked. I woudl limit it to 2 chapters per day. And after reading those 2 chapters--we both wanted to read more. It was a very hard book to put down. We both loved every minute of it. And i enjoyed reading this book (at the age of 35)--more because I read it with my daughter. We laughed together, we cried together. Imagine me, a 35 year old mother cryong when Charlotte died. This book is truly a wonderful peiece of literature that everyone should read. A true classic. However--now my daughter is begging me for a baby pig. Someday--she will read this to her children and they will hopefully beg her for one also.
onlyminordetails More than 1 year ago
My Thoughts: I chose to reread Charlotte's Web for Banned Books Week this year mostly because I haven't read it in probably more than 15 years. I did read it numerous times growing up, so I remembered a lot of it. What I took away this time around was probably more than I ever took away back then though. Most of you already know the story, so I won't go into that. What I will talk about is how the book made me feel. One of those things was Fern. She was loving and caring and full of life. She knew what was going on with the animals and she talked about it all the time. There was something extra special about her. I think what got to me was how much she just enjoyed the simple pleasures in life. Sitting on the stool by Wilbur's pen, taking in the sights and sounds. How many of us get to do that anymore? How many of us wish we could do that right now? Of course, there was also Charlotte. Wonderful and amazing Charlotte. Her outlook on life and her wisdom are amazing. The way she and Wilbur interacted touched my heart. Wilbur learned a lot about life from Charlotte, and in the end he became the terrific pig she always knew he could be. The absolute best thing about their friendship can be summed up in this conversation between the two of them: "Why did you do all this for me?" he asked. "I don't deserve it. I've never done anything for you." "You have been my friend," replied Charlotte. "That in itself is a tremendous thing." That quote... typing it out is bringing the tears to my eyes. It's such a beautiful quote. Reading Charlotte's Web by E.B. White again brought back so many memories and caused me to have a brighter outlook on life. Friends are important, helping each other is important, enjoying the simple things in life is important. If you haven't read this one since you were a kid, I strongly recommend that you read it again sometime. It will warm your heart just as it did before. I am certainly glad I took the time to. My Rating: Exceptional
firhetrick on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Have you ever read a book called Charlotte's Web? Well it has a talking pig and a spider friend. If you want to have a talking pig and a spider then this it he right book for you. This book is only for people that like to read books and like talking animals. Recommended for grades 3 and up.
hokonow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Charlotte's Web is one of my all-time favorite stories. E. B. White's book is about a girl who saves a little pig named Wilber, and it follows the friendships that Wilber makes with the other animals in the farm, especially with a spider named Charlotte. This story covers deep and complex human emotions, from love to loss, and teaches children about the timelessness of friendship. It is a beautiful story that will continue to capture audiences forever!
soonergirlam on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary:A pig named Wilbur befriends a spider who lives above his pen, named Charlotte. When the farmer decides that it is time for Wilbur to leave the farm, Charlotte begins using her ability to spin webs to try to help Wilbur. Personal Reaction:One of my favorites of all time! I love how this book portrays a story of such friendship and a long lasting one at that.Classroom Extensions:#1: I would have the children journal about their best friend and how they would feel if their bestfriend had to move. #2: I would have them tell the story of Charlotte's web from another animal's point of view.
mannperkins on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As an educator with small children this is a perfect read aloud or lit set. One of my all time favorites.
janique on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Where 's papa going with that ax? said Fern to her mother as they were setting the table for breakfast Tears rab down her cheeks and she took hold of the ax and tried to pull it out of her father's hand and Fern said Mr. Arable, I know more about raising a litter of pigs than you do.One afternoon when Fern was sitting on her stool the oldest sheep walked into the barn and stopped to pay a call on Wilbur.Wilbur was lovingly raised by a girl named Fern. But now he's a barn pig.He's bored and lonely until he meet Charlotte the beautiful grey spider who also lives in the barn.This is a classic tale of friendship. Wilbur the smallest of the spring pigs is saved by Fern from being killed and goes to live at her uncle¿s place. There he befriends Charlotte a spider who the rest of the barn despises. Charlotte works to spin her magic to save Wilbur once again from death. Both learn about friendship, respect and giving your all for the people you care about.
KaleyHarper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary:A classic story about friendship. When Fern begs her father to let her keep the runt of the pigs, he allows her to, thus beginning a role of motherhood for Fern and baby Wilbur. Wilbur grows up on the farm and then becomes friends with a spider named Charlotte, who teaches him about life, love and friendships.Personal:I love this book, and movie because it is a classic that my mother read to me when I was a child. It really teaches the reader or viewer that friendship should mean the world to people and should be sacred.Classroom:1. After reading the book to the class, I would have them do a journal entry over what they learned from the book and what friendship means to them.2. As a class, I would have the students make webs to go around the room, and show them how much work and time it takes for a good web to be created.
DayehSensei on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved Charlotte's Web as a child because of the raw emotion-- tears, laughter, disbelief-- it inspired. It is a joy to see my students enjoy this story decades later. A timeless classic. My heart aches for Wilbur!
rizeandshine on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful tale of childhood, growing up, life, death and rebirth. The story is ingenious and comes to life through each unique character. I read the book when I was young and loved it. Unfortunately now I can't get past hearing the characters voices in my head from the cartoon movie version of the story. I wish I could read it fresh once again. At least the cartoon was well-done and followed the book closely. As an adult, I am more aware of Fern's part in the story and how she is noticeably absent when Wilbur receives his award. We see both Fern and Wilbur mature and grow in their own ways as we move from Spring to Summer to Winter. Ultimately, Charlotte saves Wilbur from certain death and he is around to witness the circle of life on the farm, as he says goodbye to old friends and continues to welcome new life like goslings and spider hatchlings. If you've never had the chance, read this book for yourself or read it to your children. It is a classic story that I'm sure you will enjoy.
ellenflorman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I remember this as one of my favorite books when I was a child.It was also the first book that ever made me cry. I found it just as beautiful reading it today. I have the hardcover editions that has Garth William's beautiful illustrations enhancced with a gentle watercolor.
momma2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ashlyn loved this book so much that Blake is now inspired to read it. She would stop reading and say "listen to this" and read a passage out loud to whoever was in the room to hear. Of course it was also one of my favorites as a kid.
Melfu on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of my favourite children books.
restock on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful story for read-aloud (the second-graders loved it). It is filled with immagination, friendhsip, and overcoming obstacles. Will read again and again.
ke141703 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary: THis book is about a girl named Fern who saves a baby pig. She loves this little runt pig so much that she takes care of him till he is to big to be in the house anymore. THen she takes him to her uncles farm to live in the barn. The pig is scared of being slautered if the fall so he befreinds a spider named Charlotte who helps discover a way to keep him safe.Personal Response: Well I really enjoyed reading this book. I loved the movie as a child so it was fun to read the story.Classroom Extension Ideas: I could let the students draw all the animals they think should live in the barn. Also this is a great story to start a liturature circle with.
kdhayes06 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary: This is a tale of farm life and friendship above all else. A harsh reality of animals on a farm is that they are there to be sold or worse. A pig in such a circumstance becomes friends with a spider who amazes everyone with her webs. Charlotte enlists the help of other animals and saves Wilber¿s life and wins the fair. Wilber in return watches after Charlotte¿s nest and sends her babies off on their own adventure. Personal: I can remember crying over this story as a young child. I hate spiders yet I was heartbroken over Charlotte¿s death. My father raised cattle and I can remember feeding some of the calves by hand and can still remember the first time I figured out where the meat on my dinner plate came from. Classroom Extensions: Literature: This is a familiar story that could be read as a class over a period of time and later tested over certain aspects of the book. Comprehension, Author, Illustrator, climax, or do a book report over. Science: A fun way to lighten up the study of spiders. Girls might be more inclined to learn how the spider spins their webs after hearing about Charlotte and hers.
haygirl7 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary:Charlotte's Web is the story of a pig named Wilbur, an eight year old farm girl named Fern, and a spider named Charlotte. Wilbur is a boisterous pig, the runt of his litter. Wilbur loves his life! He sometimes feels alone and anxious. One day Wilbur befriends a barn spider named Charlotte. Charlotte is a spider who at first seems barbarous due to her method of catching food. When the old sheep in the barn cellar tells Wilbur that he is going to be killed and eaten at Christmas, he turns to Charlotte for help. In the end Wilbur learns the true meaning of friendship from Charlotte the spider and his beloved Fern. Personal Reaction:I have loved this book since the day I learned how to read. I own at least three copies and can't wait to pass them down to my children!Classroom Extension Ideas:1. My class and I would read this novel and dedicate a few weeks to the study of it. The class would complete worksheets, take quizzes and tests, and interact in other activities relating to the book. 2. After reading this book to my class I would assign an art project. The students would illustrate their own versions of the story.
librarianlou on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Timeless story of friendship
timspalding on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
White's prose is pitch-perfect. If you can get it, listen to the audiobook version, read by the author.
m3student on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is really interesting. I have seen the movie and read the whole book. The movie is sad and of course so is the book. It is about a little girl and her uncle is going to shoot a baby pig and she wants to keep it and her uncle lets her. She calls it Wilbur and that is all i want to say so I don't spoil it!!!!
mj113469 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This story is about Charlotte the spider and Wilbur the pig. Charlotte is a spider that lives in the corner of a barn door and Wilbur is a pig that when he was born he was a runt and the farmer was going to kill Wilbur but the farmers¿ daughter said she would take care of him. Wilbur tried to make friends with the other animals in the barnyard but no other animals liked him. Charlotte and Wilbur became really good friends. Wilbur thinks that the farmer is going to slaughter him and he becomes very scared. Charlotte decides to try everything in her power to show everyone that Wilbur is a special pig and does not need to be slaughtered. I really enjoyed this book because I grew up on a farm and still live on a farm so I felt like I knew about the things that happened in this book. I don¿t normally like books where inanimate objects take on life but I really liked this book.One could use this in the classroom by having the students watch the movie and compare the movie to the book. One could also take the students to a petting zoo to view the different animals.
EmilyRB on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A knowledgeable spider named Charlotte forms an unusal bond with a simplistic pig named Wilbur. Wilbur, destined for slaughter, is saved from impending death by Charlotte who uses her vast intelligence to show the farmer Wilbur's value.
librarianista76 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If there is a book to represent children's literature in the 1950's, this is it! It is about sweet Fern who grows fond of a pig named Wilbur. Wilbur becomes friends with Charlotte the spider. Charlotte has a talent of weaving her web to words. Her cleverness by communicating with her web helps save Wilbur's life after he enters the fair. This book is about friendship.
bbohard on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is about the hurdles and obstacles overcome in order to save a runt pig from being sent to market. Fern, the daughter of the farmer, does not want Wilber, the runt pig, to be killed. Her father agrees to let her keep him for a while as her pet. Charlotte, the spider, spins a large web about how great Wilber is. He is then taken to the fair where he won first place. People traveled from all around to come see Wilber.This book is a wonderful book that describes the selflessness of love and friendships. Not only did Fern and Charlotte help save Wilber, but so did many of the animals on the farm. They made great sacrifices to save their friend, Wilber.After reading this book aloud to my class, I would then let the class watch the movie. After watching the movie, I would let the class compare and contrast the book and the movie, and discuss which one they liked more and why. I would also allow the class to discuss the importance of friendship, and the rewards great friendships bring.
btivis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Charlotte's Web is a heart-wrenching story of a girl's love for a pig and her determination to keep it alive. She is not the only one who loves this pig, though. A very wise spider, Charlotte, does her part to keep Wilbur alive as well. All of the farm animals are part of this plan. It is a story of love and friendship that all children should read.I don't think there are words to describe the love that is felt for this book. I can still remember where I was sitting in second grade when our teacher read it out loud to us. I have loved it ever since.The number of activities that can be used with this book are endless. There are hundreds of websites that are full of activities for every part of this book. I would like to have a contest of the words Charlotte could use to put in her web that describe Wilbur. The class could vote on the top five. Each day, I would attach a word to a spiderweb that leads into the classroom so the entire building could see it. You could also use the same process, but come up with phrases to describe the class.