Cheating Lessons: A Novel

Cheating Lessons: A Novel

by Nan Willard Cappo

Paperback

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Cheating Lessons 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is about a girl named Bernadette that goes to Wickham High School, and her class got accepted to be in the Classics Bowl (a contest like Jeopardy) after taking a test and averging a 92%. She is wondering how they got such a high score and suspects someone cheated. After a lot of investigating and interviewing, she found out that the 'cheater' was someone she truly loves and hate to admit he was the one that cheated. Who is that person? Will she tell her teammates or talk to the 'cheater'? Well, you would have to read this GREAT book to find out! This book is very well-written with a lot of details and descriptions. This is totally recommended if you have nothing to read or do. So go to your local bookstore or library and get this book now! You will not regret it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is mainly about a girl named Bernadette who is on the debate team. She goes to school at Wickham High School. Their enemy is Pinehurst, a private school. When Wickham scores higher on a test then Pinehurst they are invited to a Classics Bowl. It's a contest between the top two schools about literature. Pinehurst always wins so Bernadette gets suspicious. She thinks someone might have cheated to get them into the Classics Bowl, but has no idea who. She and four others are made onto the team and they study hard for it. While all of this is going on they are also not the most popular kids in school so they are having peer pressure put on them all the time. I liked this book a lot because of how it really relates to lots of peoples life. It's possible to do whatever you want is one of the best things I got out of it. This book was really easy read because it gets you thinking. The best part of the book was when Bernadette goes into her favorite teacher's house and spies on him.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i loved this book even though it was a little easy for me. i liked that it had a lot of literary references and the quotes at the beginning of the chapters. i thought that it was interesting how nan willard cappo showed the social scene and the relationship with bernadettes parents.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am in an advanced freshman English class at my high school and our teacher recently assigned us this novel. I usually enjoy the books that my teachers assign as I am an active reader, but Cheating Lessons was a book that i found dull and boring. Not only is there a lack of a good plot, who wants to read about a girl who studies for a Classics Bowl, which is what the majority of the book is spent on. I do admit there are some good parts in the book, like , for example, when Bernadette is hiding in Mr. Malory's closet, and when Lori throws the bricks at Mr. Malory's car, it takes forever to get to these good parts of the book. I do not reccomend this book for anyone, especially a high school student.
Guest More than 1 year ago
CHEATING LESSONS combines humor, suspense, and an intriguing moral conundrum into an engaging stew that kept me reading into the wee hours of the night. This story has the power to make even 'grown-up' readers think about growing up, learning about human nature, and the importance of figuring out and acting upon one's own sense of morality. Bernadette Terrell is a well-crafted character, one that teens could identify with, but also one who has her own contradictions and is grappling with the challenge of how to become the person she knows she should be. If you're doubtful that a suspenseful story of the 'can't-put-it-down' variety can be created from controversies surrounding a high school Classics Bowl match, read CHEATING LESSONS and see just how it can be done.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up because the book jacket was attractive, but I kept reading it (and finally bought the book) because I had to see what happened to Bernadette. The author packs an amazing amount of suspense into a high school story where one girl's personal honor is at stake. Plus, it's funny. I was rooting for Bernadette the whole time.
BooksforKatie More than 1 year ago
What would you do if you thought someone had cheated, especially on an important test? This book is about sixteen year old, Bernadette and her struggles when she things that someone has cheated on the test to let them go to the state level trivia challenge. She loves her mystery novels and uses what she has learned from some of them to find out what is going on. Was it one of her fellow students, the teacher, or even the principal that cheated on the test? She has to find out and figure out what to do with the information that she acquires. I personally feel that with all the academic pressures on students today, this book is very relevant to the middle school and high school age group. Bernadette has to figure out what to do with the information that is figures out, which is an every day issue growing up. Who do you tell, or not tell, and how do you deal with the emotions associated with what you find out. I received a free copy of this book from Tadmar Press and NetGalley to give an honest review.
Beth_Rodgers_Author More than 1 year ago
'Cheating Lessons' by Nan Willard Cappo was a cute read that invested me in the outcome from early on in the storytelling. Bernadette, the main character, finds out that her school, Wickham High, has made it into the ultimate quiz bowl, and she and some of her fellow classmates had some of the highest scores on the test that got them there. However, those high scores came at the downfall of their biggest competitor – Pinehurst – a school that beats Wickham more often than not, and which all the students of Wickham want to beat at any cost. The issue is that the cost becomes too evident when Bernadette begins to suspect foul play – cheating on the part of someone at Wickham. The average score of the students who made the Classics quiz bowl contest seems too high to Bernadette, and she finds herself searching for answers, unsure of what she'll find. Between the principal, librarian, and English teacher – Mr. Malory – the answer is not becoming apparent. She doesn't want to say too much, lest she find herself digging a deeper hole for Wickham. Talking to her best friend, Nadine, doesn't too much to allay her fears, as Nadine just wants to go and win and be done with it. As answers begin to unfold and events transpire at the competition, Bernadette realizes that sometimes finding the right answers can be the courageous thing to do, while other times it casts you in a bad light in the eyes of those around you. When she comes to terms with what really happened and who was responsible, she begins to see everything and everyone in a new light, and struggles to do the right thing despite the ramifications to which it might lead. I appreciated the symbolism of the novel's title – 'Cheating Lessons' – as it could be construed as being about lessons regarding why cheating is bad, or it could be about teaching how to cheat, which the book did touch on at times. I love the ability to see double meanings, and therefore this compelled me into reading more. I also really enjoyed the fact that, unbeknownst to me when I picked up the book originally, the novel took place in Michigan. It was fun to read about cities, streets, and other locations around me, as I live in southeast Michigan myself. Even though the name of the main schools and city they lived in were fictional (as far as I know based on my knowledge of this area after living in Michigan for 30+ years), it was nice to read about where I'm from and feel a stronger connection with the novel as a result. This was especially true of the novel having the final quiz bowl competition take place in Southfield, which is the city I grew up in. I recommend 'Cheating Lessons' to anyone who wants to read about the struggle to do the right thing even when others are focusing on what can be gained by avoiding the truth. Beth Rodgers, Author of 'Freshman Fourteen,' A Young Adult Novel
Guest More than 1 year ago
The cover of Cheating Lessons is what caught my attention and made me want to read it. I couldn't put this book down, because I kept wandering what was going to happen next with Bernadette and her quiz bowl team. There wasn't a dull moment in the book, because Bernadette's witty and determined character kept the book interesting. Even though she has a lot of pride about her academic accomplishments in high school, she doesn¿t let that get in her way of finding out the truth.