The China Study: The Most Comprehensive Study of Nutrition Ever Conducted and the Startling Implications for Diet, Weight Loss and Long-Term Health

The China Study: The Most Comprehensive Study of Nutrition Ever Conducted and the Startling Implications for Diet, Weight Loss and Long-Term Health

by Thomas M. Campbell II

Hardcover

$24.95
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

China Study: The Most Comprehensive Study of Nutrition Ever Conducted and the Startling Implications for Diet, Weight Loss and Long-Term Health 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
NanW More than 1 year ago
After fighting colon cancer for three years, my husband bought me this book. I am an "open skeptic" when it comes to non-traditional cancer cures, meaning I will investigate just about anything, but I want to see real science behind any claims, not just anecdotal evidence. When my husband bought the book, I'd just received news that my CEA levels (a blood test that can indicate the activity of a colon cancer tumor) had risen again. I was devastated. We were one day away from leaving on a one week vacation to Mexico.

I took the book with me and went right to chapter 3 on cancer. After reading that chapter, I was convinced that Dr. Campbell was not just some crack pot with a wild idea. I knew this was serious science. At first I was totally overwhelmed with the idea of eating the plant based diet he recommends. I thought eliminating milk would be the most difficult part of it. And I figured I'd never be able to eat out in a restaurant again. (Not true.) But a few days after returning home, I made the switch, based upon as much information about vegan eating as I could glean off the Internet. That was mid April 2008. Now, six months later, my CEA levels (taken every 4-6 weeks) have decreased four times in a row. My last CT scan in August was basically unchanged from my previous scan in June--something I had not seen, or expected to see ever again since the tumors, even with chemo, had continued to grow slowly.

There is no way to know for sure if the diet is causing these changes since I have been on a low dose chemo for over a year. But I am certain of one thing--my energy level, which has been very compromised due to chemo, was about 30-40% improved within a week or two of starting the diet.

I am not on a crusade to convince everyone to eat like this, but I have been very pleased with the results I have had.

This book is an eye opener and worth reading
Guest More than 1 year ago
I do recommend reading this book however, doing so must be done with a critical eye. I found Dr. Campbell to have many good points about the health care system, the need for acquiring nutrients from food, and his criticism of excessive reductionism in nutritional science. But his bias against animal products permeates every page. The conclusions of his laboratory research are thoroughly unjustified. He uses evidence from the effects of isolated casein (that was probably high-temperature spray-dried, which creates carcinogens), which is a milk protein that is very unique among animal proteins and problematic for many people, to indict 'animal nutrients' as an entire group. Campbell never extended his lab experiments to see if a generalization from powdered casein could really be made to all animal proteins or all animal nutrients. Campbell's presentation of the China Study itself, which is actually only about a tenth of the book, should be carefully compared to the data of the study itself. In _The China Study_, Campbell claims that this study showed an association between animal protein and all forms of cancer. But the original monograph of the study shows carbohydrates to be most highly correlated with cancer, plant protein to have a greater correlation with cancer than animal protein, and the only protective macronutrient to be fat, the latter of which was the only statistically significant correlation between cancer and any macronutrient. His presentation of others research is interesting, but highly selective. He ignores the plethora of non-modernized groups that have been studied and affirmed to have vibrant health on a diet rich in animal products. He minimizes any discussion of the harms of modern plant-based foods (like white flour, white sugar, high fructose corn syrup, etc), and likewise leaves out discussion of modern research uncovering benefits of animal-based foods and nutrients. The book's title implies that the book is a general guide to health based on information from the massive epidemiological study after which the book is named, but in actuality it is a general argument for vegetarianism, crafted without regard to balance and truth. I reviewed this book in much more detail with 48 footnotes in a review that appeared in Wise Traditions, the quarterly journal of the Weston A Price Foundation. If anyone is interested in reading this review an internet search should turn it up. Again, I don't necessarily recommend *against* reading this book-- but, as with any book, critical reviews and refutations should also be read. I believe a balanced look at the arguments of Dr. Campbell and the contrary arguments would leave Dr. Campbell's arguments uncompelling.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this book because of the excellent reviews it kept getting and because of how much I enjoyed hearing Dr. Campbell speak about the China Study (the actual study, not the book) in Sept 2001. I was comfortably certain that I would enjoy the book, but what I didn't realize was how much I would learn from it. After listening to several lectures, asking numerous questions, and reading many books and articles by a variety of highly credible authors about the benefits of a plant-based diet and the harmful consequences (to humans, animals and planet) of an animal-based one, as well as experiencing first-hand what a positive difference switching to a vegan diet makes, I didn't think there could be much left on this topic to learn. But I gleaned new, interesting and important information from every chapter in this book, whether it was about nutrition, the mechanics of disease, or the disturbing details about what goes on behind the scenes as industry, medicine, science, government and business collude to spew out self-serving, deceptive and destructive 'nutrition guidelines' for us hoi polloi. 'The China Study' has inspired us to fine-tune our diet (already plant-based for 5 years) by switching to mostly whole (minimally or unprocessed) foods, and has me looking at things like pharmaceutical ads and medical study headlines (such as 'Diabetics At Higher Liver Cancer Risk') with better informed, wider open eyes. While I already knew *that* a plant-based diet is far healthier, this book explains in superb detail why and how that is the case... and despite the frequent complexity of the science, his explanations are clear and understandable - thanks in part to his excellent use of analogies. Condensed and designed to make a large volume of scientific study results accessible to and understandable by the lay public, 'The China Study' is well written, interesting and informative, engaging, sincere and forthright, and peppered throughout with a wonderful wry and self-effacing humor. I applaud Dr. Campbell's courage in speaking out against the status quo because he cares about the well-being of people and the planet, and am grateful to him (and his son) for sharing his hard-earned knowledge, behind-the scenes experience, and impressive expertise through this important book. Sometimes, when I read books like this one that credibly and responsibly confront what we've been taught and think we know, challenging us to open our minds, think anew and experience a paradigm shift, I am reminded of my high school history teacher's pet saying. When my class would do poorly on a pop quiz, he'd shake his head and mutter, 'Buy 'em books and buy 'em books, and all they do is eat the covers.' I hope The China Study is widely read and influential, and that all anyone eats after being handed this book...is plants! :-)
Guest More than 1 year ago
As an oncologist, it is heartbreaking to see so many cancer patients with cancer that could be prevented if people took advantage of the scientific research presented in this book. The book is scientifically sound and very readable. If someone is serious about their health or the health of their family, this is a must read.
Guest More than 1 year ago

The China Study is a courageous survey of the best science has to offer about your health and what you eat. In addition, the China Study reveals a system of nutrition misinformation that has created public confusion equal to that which surrounded the health implications of smoking. Remember the days when ¿no one knew¿ that smoking was bad for you? That all ended when a few morally courageous individuals spoke out and demanded examination of the topic. We now know that the tobacco industry not only knew the health risks, they added ingredients to make their products more addictive. The current state of nutrition information is just as convoluted ¿ and the food industry is just as interested in keeping you confused and addicted to its products. Dr. Campbell (writing with his son, Thomas) is the morally courageous voice in this field and he speaks the truth about what he has found, above the clamor of the objecting voices in ¿the establishment¿.

The book is organized into four parts. The first part follows the compelling life story / research career of Dr. Campbell. Campbell grew up on a dairy farm in Virginia and began his professional life trying to discover more efficient ways of raising cattle to deliver protein to our diets. Through an accidental series of discoveries, he became interested in the relationship between high levels of protein consumption and cancer development. He ended up with astonishing research that showed high levels of protein consumption to be a more potent promoter of cancer than high level exposures to Aflotoxin. This startling evidence led him to organize ¿The China Study¿ (namesake for the book) ¿ a uniquely comprehensive study of the relationship between diet and disease in 65 counties of rural China. The study examined approximately 6,500 adults and looked at blood samples, urine samples, and food intake records (researchers went into homes to observe and collect this data), to document over 367 variables related to health status and diet. This data was systematically compared with disease rates for 48 different diseases.

The second part of the book is a survey of professional scientific research from around the world, regarding the relationship between diet and a whole host of diseases. Campbell focuses on a class of diseases ¿ referred to as ¿diseases of affluence¿ ¿ that are experienced at higher rates in developed countries than in developing countries. This part of the book meticulously documents the relationship between various diets and the following diseases: heart disease, obesity, diabetes, common cancers (breast, prostate, large bowel), auto-immune diseases (including type I diabetes, MS), osteoporosis, kidney stones, macular degeneration, dementia and Alzheimer¿s. This survey reveals that across this broad range of diseases, there is one diet that consistently prevents these diseases, and one diet that consistently promotes these diseases.

The third part of the book is a brief nutritional guide. It discusses eight principles of food and health, and gives advice on how to eat. In essence, these eight principles present Campbell¿s theory of nutrition ¿ what is important to health and what is not. Principle six, for example, says ¿the same nutrition that prevents disease in its early stages (before diagnosis) can also halt or reverse disease in its later stages (after diagnosis).¿ The principles create a well-founded summary derived from the evidence presented earlier in the book.

The fourth and final part of the book answers the question ¿so why haven¿t I heard all this before?¿ Campbell sits in a unique position to answer this question. He has been involved in the relationship between nutritional scientific research and public health information at all levels. As a university

Guest More than 1 year ago
I tell friends and acquaintances about 'The China Study' frequently however I give them a friendly warning. Please read this book but only if you are willing to change your diet. I also tell them the one liner a teacher of mine gave me years ago. ' Ignorance rapidly progresses to stupidity once knowledge is acquired' When we read this book we just quit eating animal & dairy products and so will unless you a willing to admit that you are just plain suicidal. BEST VEGAN PROMOTION EVER!
RobinKaye on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Nutrition, Nutritionally induced Deseases, and Diet and Health.
Scrabblenut on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Interesting but the science is not all that convincing. Eat more plant material for better health - advice we should all know and follow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jkirschner More than 1 year ago
Very informative, well written and believable. I have made changes to my diet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gettinghealthyinOrlando More than 1 year ago
This book was absolutely life changing to me. So many diseases and terrible medical conditions can be avoided, removed, recovered from just by following the directions in this book. The China Study was given to me by a friend diagnosed with a cancerous lump in her breast. She did not want surgery and, in her searching, found this book. After only four months of following exactly what this book taught, she went back and the lump could not even be found with a needle biopsey. It is inhumane that this information has not been available to the general public before now. Dr. Campbell has put it all together and, once you read it, you have it all. You don't have to continue checking the book. This book is truely a jewel. The book covers it all. For instance, 70 to 80 percent of all hip replacements and 88 percent of all malcular degeneration can be avoided entirely. You owe it to yourself and those you love, especially children, to read this book!
smithlpoole More than 1 year ago
I would recommend any mother, father, grandparent, teacher, cafateria manager, dietician, pastor, biship, etc. read this book. You will not see food the same. This author is probably the best person who could have written this book. Also know that this study is still going on. Blew my mind!
webapplications More than 1 year ago
This controversial book is guaranteed to make you think twice about what you eat, and for a few, it will make you feel better about your diet. Be forewarned, however, reading this book could change your life: it took just 40 pages of this book to convince 247 lb Kansas City Chiefs tight-end Tony Gonzalez that he would change his diet (see http://tonygonzalez88.com/nutritionarticles.htm)
RogerFL More than 1 year ago
This book is extremely factual, thorough, and non-commercial. It has caused me to change my diet and within 30 days, it resulted in a 30 point drop in cholesterol and 20 point drop in blood pressure. I told my doctor to forget the pills! RogerFL
DesertRich More than 1 year ago
This is truly a monumental book which upsets all the normal diet and nutrition concepts. This is a not-to-be-missed book for everyone interested in improving their health through nutrition. The scientific evidence of this incredible study is irrefutable. The information in this book will compel you to make changes in your life away from the rich, western diet to a more sensible approach to nutrition that is plant-based. While the concept is challenging for many to adopt, it is truly the inconvenient truth that will save your life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading the China Study. The authors explains in detail the cause and effect of the plant base diet vs the introduction of meat.The research shows clearly the cause and effect ofa clean diet vs an over stimulating gastrial challenge like the SAD(Standard American Diet) that most people eat in United States. The reafer can take the studies and use the principle methods to change thier diets and health by following the authors suggestions based on thier research. Highly recommend to anyone trying to improve thier eating habits and general over all Health. Remember exercise and diet improve your over all health and helps reduce your risk factors such as heart disease, secondary diabetes , cancer and obesity.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you have a genuine interest in improving your health through diet, this is a must read. It will challenge many held beliefs about food and their effects on health. If you have a concern about heart disease or cancer this is well worth the time. It will also put into perspective the forces that drive the information the public hears. This a mind expanding book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you love your children and grandchildren then this is a book you should read! The information provided in The China Study about nutrition as the leading factor to preventing degenerative disease is compeling and based in fact, with references from over 750 papers and studies. The explosion of childhood obeasity, diabetes and other preventable afflictions, are beyond crisis! Dr. T. Colin Campbell provides conclusive evidence on how to stop them today! A must read for any parent concerned about their childs future health!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This writing appeared, in whole and part, as biased and prejudicial. As a reader interested in vegetarianism (and/or veganism), I was very troubled to read this literature. The information component of this was quite technical and difficult to read and the conclusions were not drawn on scientific fact. The conclusions were deduced by very few factors. I would not recommend this book for beginners. As for advanced readers with a solid foundation in a vegetarian lifestyle, this book may prove useful and informative. Overall 3 stars!
songcatchers More than 1 year ago
The China Study is a significant and impelling look at animal-based diets compared to plant-based diets. T. Colin Campbell, PhD covers a lot of nutritional information, backed by research, and how it effects our bodies and disease. This book is an inspiration to those of us who want all the accurate information we can get to keep ourselves healthy and disease free.