Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #1)

Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #1)

by Joanne Fluke

Paperback

$11.66 $12.95 Save 10% Current price is $11.66, Original price is $12.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 638 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a good weekend read. If you're just starting with mysteries (like I was when I read it), then its a nice place to start. Its nothing too out there and it has a more down to earth feeling to it. Its got a good start. And the recipes are entertaining. The lead character is also someone easy to identify with, and it'll have you wishing you lived in a small time like hers (well, one without all the murders). I think its a nice combination of chick-lit and mystery and highly recommend it if you're looking for a quick read or something to get your mind off of work. Joanne Fluke definitely has a lot of talent.
BookaholicTracy More than 1 year ago
Joanne Fluke does a wonderful job at creating an amazing plot. I stayed up late to read it and enjoyed every minute. will buy more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Hannah Swenson is able to keep the towns folk in delicious cookies while solving a murder mystery. She does all this without finding the need to use foul language or sex to do it. I tried several of the cookie recipes she includes throughout the book and found them to be very good. My family and friends enjoyed them. A very good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great series. I have read all of them that are out. They are like chocolate. One is never enough.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Thirty-year old Hannah Swensen lives in Lake Eden, Minnesota, a town with a winter population of about three thousand residents. Though her mother lives near her, Hannah likes living in her own condo shared with a one-eyed cat, Moishe. Hannah enjoys being single and resents her mother¿s efforts to fix her up with seemingly every bachelor in the state. Hannah owns and operates the Cookie Jar, a combination coffeehouse and catering service. Her business is thriving but dramatically increases when Hannah discovers the murdered body of dairy delivery person Ron La Salle in the parking space behind her shop.

Hannah¿s brother-in-law Winnekta County Deputy Sheriff Bill Todd asks her to help him solve the case. He knows she is a good sleuth and he feels he will get a promotion if they succeed. The enthusiastic Hannah dives into the investigation to uncover the identity of a killer. However, unlike a cat, Hannah does not have nine lives and if she gets too close she might lose the one she has.

Readers will need to make a quantum leap of faith to believe that law enforcement official will ask a civilian to help on a homicide case. That flaw permeates a well-written novel as Bill continuously encourages his sister-in-law Hannah to make inquiries that place her in danger. The story line is fast-paced and the fully developed characters except for Bill (who places career ahead of loved ones) are all likable. Throughout the tale are recipes for cookies as expected from a ¿culinary¿ mystery. Joanne Fluke shows she is no fluke as an author of amateur sleuth tales as the novel is quite interesting. It does needs a different plot device for Hannah to enter the investigation realistically.

Harriet Klausner

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great mystery book. It is for all ages because it a good clean story. It is hard to find a mystery book that has "NO" sex or "NO vulgar language. I plan on reading the rest of the series. I love the recipes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder book. It is the only one I have read. I just started reading it the other day. I thought that it was neat to have the recipes written out in the book. I also thought that the characters were really cool and believable. Hope to get the second one soon. Trying to read them in order.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good quick read and the recipies were actually great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
fun reading and great receipes
Piano502 More than 1 year ago
The plot was great. I am now going to read the whole series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great blend of mystery, romance and humor. I also love having the recipes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy reading and enjoyable. I especially liked the recipes along the way. Have made two of the cookies and both were delicious. Didn't realize they were a series that should be read in order, but since this was #1, I guess it's not a big deal at this point.
smilingturtle More than 1 year ago
This book is an easy read... I like her writing style. Love that she includes the recipes for the cookies she talks about in the story. I also like the fact that the main character is trying to be an detective making references to the many csi type shows and movies. Fun read... Definitely recommend.
nancydrew123 More than 1 year ago
This is a delightful series set in Lake Eden, Minnesota. I love the quirky small town setting and the bakery theme. In this first book in the series I thought the author did a great job of introducing the main characters. I wanted to light the fireplace, curl up and grab a cookie when I read this book. Hannah is a likeable character with a humorous relationship with her family... especially her mother. The mystery kept me guessing. This book doesn't have a deep sub plot with lots of twists and turns but it's a fun, quick read that draws you into the small MN town and makes you want to come back for more.
boadiccea More than 1 year ago
I went into this book expecting a bit of fluff. I have to say, the mystery was actually quite good, and I found myself LOVING the characters! A very fun read. I immediately bought the 2nd book in the series. I also look forward to trying some of the cookie recipes found between chapters!
MissMarie5 More than 1 year ago
I wanted to read a light hearted book. Even though this was a murder mystery, the characters were all great. The recipes are fantastic!!! I can not wait to read the next one I downloaded!!
Anonymous 1 days ago
The blonde on the cover doesn't look anything like Hannah. I bought this book in a 3 pack just to avoid this cover.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quirky little feel good romance/mystery with intriguing little recipes sprinkled throughout. I get it read alot faster if I didn't feel the need to try out a recipe or two along the way
lovejoy_rat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very cute cozy mystery from a prolific author - one of the first in the cozy mystery genre to include her recipes in with her corpses. This was read as part of a genre study for work, and I have to say I enjoyed it. Hannah makes for a canny amateur sleuth, and she's fun to read about to boot. There were a few crazy loose ends in this first in the series, but I'm thinking they get resolved in future books. I'm thinkin the Strawberry Shortcake Murder is going to have to go on the TBR. Pick this one up if you like culinary cozy mysteries with just enough fluff around the bodies to make these gentle reads.
punxsygal on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The first in a series of cozy cookie related murder mysteries. Hannah Swenson, of Lake Eden, Minnesota is the owner of The Cookie Jar. While fending off her mother's attempts to match her with every single man in town, Hannah finds Ron LaSalle murdered in his truck behind her bakery with one of her famous Chocolate Chip Crunches in his hand. Hannah begins snooping and as she does more suspects turn up.
koalamom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was fun ala Annie Darling and Harry Haristeen in that they all have other successful careers/lives and end up almost needing to solve murder mysteries.Hannah Swenson owns a very successful cookie shop. One morning her milk deliver man is late and then she finds out why when she discovers his body in an alley right next to her shop. This leads her to aid the detective on the case, who also happens to be her brother-in-law, in solving the mystery to the point (as usual) of nearly getting killed herself.As an added bit of fun, she gives the recipes for seven of the cookies that she mentions in the book. What could be better than that!
moraavon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The first in this cozy mystery series. I found the characters real and funny. The setting is a small Minnesota town and while I have never lived in Minnesota, small towns share many of the same characteristics regardless of where they are. As with most cozy mysteries, the murder and who dun it are secondary to the character development. If you are looking for a hard hitting, graphic sex and gore book, this is not for you. If you want a bit of light reading with great recipes grab this book. The only problem you will have is should it go with the mysteries or cookbooks? Maybe you need 2 copies?
Ravenclaw79 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A very readable mystery with likable characters and a plot that's twisty enough not to be predictable. Plus, you get recipes, too! :)
cozy-reader on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've been reading lots of first-in-a-series this year. There are so many new-to-me mystery series that I haven't read, and I'm enjoying checking them all out. One series I've heard a lot about was the Hannah Swensen series by Joanne Fluke. Hannah Swensen has returned to her hometown and is all settled in running The Cookie Jar, and trying to dodge her mother's matchmaking, when a murder lands in her lap. Who killed the much-loved delivery boy, Ron LaSalle, and will she able to solve the mystery before the murderer strikes again? I really enjoyed this first book in the series. It nicely sets up the peaceful town of Lake Eden, and a host of interesting characters. I really enjoyed Hannah as the sleuth. She wasn't ditzy or silly (which really turns me away from a female sleuth that is) and she managed to solve the murder before I did! The end of CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE MURDER shows promise for Hannah's love life in the future (either with the new detective Mike, or the sweet dentist Norman) and I'm looking forward to reading more of her adventures. Overall this was a good mystery, and I'm glad that I have the second book sitting in my tbr waiting to be read. If you like your cozies will a good dose of culinary style, then check this series out. The cookie and slice recipes throughout the book are worth the cost of the book alone! I can't wait to try some of them.
miyurose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I wasn¿t sure I was going to like this. I¿d just finished listening to Before I Wake and lamenting about how nice everyone was, and now I¿m going to listen to a cozy mystery? Instead of boring me, this book charmed me. I liked Hannah a lot. Even her amateur sleuthing is believable, because she never really does anything to find her information that I couldn¿t have done (except maybe the breaking and entering!). She mostly just asks the right questions of the right people. The fact that she¿s helping the cops is something that is only believable in this small town atmosphere. My only regret is that I was listening to this rather than reading it, because now I¿m going to have to track down a hard copy of the book so I can get some of the recipes! I¿ll definitely be continuing with this series.