Christmas Joy: A Novel

Christmas Joy: A Novel

by Nancy Naigle

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Christmas Joy 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for a sweet Christmas romance that has a happy ending then this book might be one you will enjoy. Joy Holbrook has put her job and success ahead of everything so when a phone call comes through saying her aunt has broken her ankle it is a bit surprising she puts everything on hold to go take care of her Aunt Ruby’s farm. She finds herself being swept into the holiday spirit of the town and in charge of more than she thought she expected but meets interesting people and spends time reassessing her wants and needs as the pages fly by. Ben Andrews is the small town accountant who loves his life in Crystal Falls and small town living. He also is into Christmas and helping others. This is a fun quick rather predictable story but relaxing and enjoyable, too. Thank you to Net Galley and St. Martin’s Press for the ARC. This is my honest review.
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
I'm a sucker for small town romances and Nancy Naigle writes some of the best around. Christmas Joy is no exception! Hilarious quirky characters make this a fun and memorable read. You would think someone named Joy would be full of holiday cheer. That's not the case for Joy Holbrook. She's all work, all the time. This year though she finds herself back in Crystal Falls helping out her aunt Ruby after Ruby takes a fall and ends up in a rehab center. She's worried about her job and the promotion she wanted but she can't say no to the aunt who was there for her when she needed her. Ben Andrews may be an accountant by day but he is the towns golden boy and definitely a favorite of aunt Ruby's. Ben has been helping decorate for the holiday contest for years and he's not about to let her down this year. That means spending a lot of time around Joy. Could be fun if he could get her to relax a little! Joy and Ben are quite a pair add in the adorable little girl Molly and the feeling of family has Joy rethinking some of her life choices. This was a great read and one that will get you into the holiday mood. I highly recommend it.
Lashea677 More than 1 year ago
Nancy Naigle is not an author I read on a regular basis. So when I get the chance to do so, I consider it a treat. With lives moving at a fast pace, it's always nice to find that moment to unwind. For me reading is my relaxation. I received a copy of Christmas Joy in exchange for an honest review. Reminiscent of a simpler time, the citizens of Crystal Falls welcomed me with open arms and shared abundantly the fruits of their knowledge. Small town stories are a weakness for me because I feel like a part of the family. Love is the driving force behind every smile and outsiders may be wary at first but tend to stay a while. Christmas Joy is about appreciating the people you love and experiencing the surprises life throws your way. Ms. Naigle proves that less is more. A novel can still enrich the mind and stir the senses with less sex and more TLC.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Got me thinking of Christmas cookies and good memories !
Bookaholic_Cindy More than 1 year ago
Christmas Joy is a sweet book to read at the holidays. Of course, it's a bit predictable, after all, we can't have a sad Christmas book. So you know it will have a happily ever after ending. Which for me, felt like the last few pages were kind of a quick ending. I did like the Christmas spirit throughout the book. Enjoyed imagining what the decorations in the house and throughout the town looked like! There were a few times when I felt as if we had rerun the cookie baking too much and I lost interest. But then the author would perk up things and my interest returned. Overall, it's an enjoyable romance set at Christmas. * I was provided an ARC from the publisher and NetGalley.
Karen-M More than 1 year ago
Happy Holidays! Merry Christmas! This is the book for this time of year. I love reading a Christmas themed book with a little romance, a little holiday magic and a good solid story line. You have Joy, the independent city girl returning to the small town due to an unexpected and worrisome family emergency who literally runs into the local guy. Ben, the local guy with a bad first marriage behind him who is really not looking for a girl anything like his ex or this independent female from DC but then again she’s only here for a few weeks, what could happen? I loved all the characters but especially Aunt Ruby and little Molly. You have to love the feisty aunt who tries to play match maker from a hospital bed and the little girl who reminds us Christmas can be magical. If you’re in a Christmas kind of mood or would like to be, read this book.
DebDiem More than 1 year ago
Christmas Joy by Nancy Naigle is a great holiday read. Ms Naigle has gifted us with a clean and sweet Christmas story that is well written and peppered with awesome, lovable characters. This book can be read by any age group. Joy and Ben's story is a fun read seeing Joy turn from an almost scrooge to finding joy in the holiday. There is plenty of drama and humor to hold a reader's attention. I enjoyed reading Christmas Joy and look forward to reading more from Nancy Naigle in the future. This is a complete book, not a cliff-hanger. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book that I received from NetGalley. I also won a copy of this from Goodreads.
AMR0406 More than 1 year ago
Christmas Joy by Nancy Naigle is a heartwarming contemporary romance story that helps all of us remember what is truly important in life. Many of us get so caught up in our jobs and busy lives that we forget to take the time to spend time with family and friends. Some of us are also guilty of thinking we can handle everything on our own, when in fact sometimes we can't and other times when we can, we don't have to. Joy is a single woman focusing on her career when she is called down by her aunt Ruby's best friend after Ruby falls and breaks her ankle. During the time that Joy is visiting and helping her aunt out while she is in rehab, she meets Ben and Molly. These are two people that change her life. Naigle does a very good job at writing stories involving some sort of tragedy that the main character has to overcome or learn how to live with in some manner. In this story, Joy had some unresolved feelings about Christmas and Crystal Falls based on losing her mother years earlier. I enjoyed the way those around her helped her see things differently and to finally live the life she wanted. If you are looking for a Christmas story filled with love, family, friends and one that just makes you all warm and fuzzy when it's over, give Christmas Joy a read.
heathercm2001 More than 1 year ago
Nancy Naigle is an expert when it comes to making me feel right at home in one of her novels. Add in some Christmas spirit, and I was in heaven. For me, Christmas Joy was like the extra warm fuzzy blankets that I bring out and curl up under when it gets cold outside. It was comforting and cozy. I loved getting lost in Ben and Joy's story and the beautiful town of Crystal Falls. I laughed with them, cried with them, and was moved by all the heart-melting moments. I can't even begin to tell you how sweet and perfect Ben was. I don't think I've ever had anything make me crave Christmas more than this book did, and that includes Hallmark movies. I will probably have my tree up by the end of the week, and maybe I'll just leave it up all year long. I received a complimentary copy of this book.
SourPussReviews More than 1 year ago
4 out of 5 Stars! Would definitely recommend! NetGALLEY describes Nancy Naigle’s Christmas story of love like this: A heartwarming Christmas story about family, friendship and finding love in unexpected places. Joy, this lovely story’s protagonist, is, at first, a great role-model for women everywhere. She has focused intently on her career, and is on the brink of an important promotion. This is where the story takes off. I might have appreciated Joy’s determination at first, but then she got down-right on my nerves. Rude, obnoxious, rude, stubborn, rude. Taking a pig-headed stance that she could accomplish on her own what normally took a small herd of people, I came to truly dislike this character. Having said that, the other characters are delightful, and I really enjoyed their stories. And to be honest, after outright hating Joy, I turned around and let Christmas Joy back into my heart. Though I had a little bit of trouble with the timelines, I forgave Nancy Naigle, and let myself just go with the story. As a holiday read, this was a lovely story of forgiveness, priorities in life, and the importance of family. I would purchase this for myself, and certainly gift it to others, especially those close to me, for the Christmas season.
sbart84 More than 1 year ago
The must read for the Christmas season. Small town romance at it's best. Joy has everything in her life, at least she thinks she does, in the up and coming corporate world until her aunt falls and needs her help back home. Joy returns home to Crystal Falls and helps with the Christmas preparation , when she meets Ben. Ben is very contented in the small town of Crystal Falls with it's quirkiness. Is it fate or destiny that brought Joy and Ben together. Add in the little girl, Molly and this makes the perfect read. I loved this book , you would think the name Joy would be all about Christmas, not so until she returns to Crystal Falls. Decorating, making cookies and spending time with Ben changes her views. This would be the perfect Hallmark movie. I received a copy of this book from netgally for an honest review.
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
A great Christmas Romance! Joy works in marketing in Washington, D.C.. She is on her way up the corporate ladder, but does not have much of a life outside of work. When she gets a call telling her that her Aunt Ruby has fallen and broken her leg, she drops everything, and heads off to Crystal Falls. She assumes that she will take the weekend, get Aunt Ruby settled and be back to work by Tuesday. Unfortunately, nothing goes according to plan. Aunt Ruby's broken leg required pins to put it back together again and she needs a long rehabilitation period in a rehab centre. Joy settles into her aunt’s farmhouse, where she discovers she is now responsible for Molly, a sweet neighbour girl who Aunt Ruby helps take care of, feeding a menagerie as well as having to bake and decorate the house for the Christmas Cookie Tour. Ruby tells her not be concerned, "Handy Andy" will be able to help her with the decorations. Joy decides to get in the spirit. She can put up a few Christmas decorations, bake some cookies, serve some beverages and entertain the townsfolk, how hard could it be? Well, Ben (Handy Andy) seems to think Joy needs a little help because this contest is much more than hanging up a few Christmas lights. This is a BIG deal to her Aunt Ruby and Ben is very serious about making sure things are done right, for Ruby’s sake. It is also his grandmother's (Ruby's best friend's) event so he has to keep her happy as well. Unfortunately, Joy and Ben don’t get off on the right foot and Ben doesn’t seem too impressed with Joy, and her big city attitude. Joy thinks Ben is a small town accountant who does not know anything, especially her. As we learn more about Joy and why her Christmas attitude has not been the best, you can't help but love her. As she spends more time with Molly and Ben, experiencing the love and the sense of community she has found in Crystal Falls, the more unsure she feels about the priorities she has set for herself. I loved the way the characters were portrayed. Both Joy and Ben have been hurt in the past and we come to know their stories. They both grow emotionally in this story and it is wonderful to see. Ruby is a great character. She is strong, opinionated, has a great sense of humour, is loving and loyal and holds the story together. Molly is an adorable six year old who has already had a rough life and needs lots of TLC. This is a Christmas romance so of course, there will be a happy ending, but how they get there is well crafted and interesting. There is just the right amount of small town charm, romance, holiday cheer, and humour. The message is simple, but one many of us need to hear. Balance in our lives is always important, but we tend to think more about it at holidays. After reading this story, you may start your Christmas baking and shopping earlier than you thought and your Christmas decorations may be put up with carols playing in the background, but remember to do it with someone you love. Merry Christmas Everyone!! The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book via Netgalley.