Ciao, America!: An Italian Discovers the U.S.

Ciao, America!: An Italian Discovers the U.S.

Paperback(Reprint)

$13.45 $14.00 Save 4% Current price is $13.45, Original price is $14. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 27

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ciao, America!: An Italian Discovers the U.S. 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I didn't like this book that much, because it portrayed Americans in a bad light. Although most of it is true, I don't think he spent enough time here to get to know us. I guess if i went to Italy I would think the same thing about them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you're not a psycho nationalist freak and you're up to a little cultural criticism, then this is the book for you. Despite the constant belittlement, as an American, I thoroughly enjoyed this book because it allowed me to analyze my lifestyles through the eyes of an outsider. Although after each paragraph I was left with a mildly bruised ego and the longing for a rebuttal to each of Severgnini's statements, in the long run I was left with a greater sense of national pride than before. After all, what's good writing without a bit of controversy? So, I'd consider this a 'hot' book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The first two chapters of this 'experience the American way' are a riot, wonderfully funny, you want to roll on the floor - Severgnini definitely has gained a good impression of the American lifestyle, and as a European who has by now survived, lived, and adapted to her life here, I love his humorous insights. But the much promising start renders into a less entertaining month-to-month description of his experiences and observations during his year in DC, which, well, are not at all that interesting to read. The hope for more witty scenes kept me going, and here and there, Severgnini is able to spike his descriptions, yet - all in all it was not a book I'd pass on to my friends. But might want to read one or the other passage from...
Guest More than 1 year ago
A similar book, but by an American who goes to Italy, should complement this one. BOTTICELLI BLUE SKIES: An American in Florence by Merrill Joan Gerber takes a warm-hearted look at how Italy looks to Americans who encounter it for the first time.
BudaBaby on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've read so many accounts of Americans and Brits living abroad,it was great fun to read the impressions of an Italian living in the Georgetown neighborhood in Washington DC.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes.. lets. And ya. You did, crane.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lets go back.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
A good easy read. A look at americans from an Italian's point of view. It is obvious that he really likes americans and america, including some of our idiosyncracies. I visited Italy and I can really see some of the strange differences that he observed in our differnet cultures.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ciao, America was a truly enjoyable book and it made you look at yourself and realize all of the stereotypical American things to do. For example staying close to the air conditioner and always putting ice in our drinks. Things that we as Americans don't think twice about but from the point of view of someone that is not from around here, it seems very foreign.I thought that it was a truly delightful book and an easy read. Reading the book was really fun and not in the least bit tedious.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very interesting book because it showed what the Italian population thought about us, our laziness with the lounge chair, air conditioning, and ice in our drink. Beppe has to understand and except our culture because we except theirs. But it is a good book
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book seems interesting to read the views of another man, from another nation, critizing our social and industrial world in America. He goes in dept with examples on how different our lifestyles are between the U.S. and Italy, but he should watch what he writes. I feel America has many good as well as bad varieties of characteristics, but no one should judge the way we live. If we were to live in Italy for a year just like Severgnini visited the U.S., we can too write many different critizisms about their country if we wanted to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Questo libri e molto interesante. Io vista America in occhi di Severginni e divertente perche lui e italiano e lui ha un opinione forte circa Stati Uniti e altre paese. Mi piace il libro molto e io suggerisco molto!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i personally could not went for the end. i am an italian student in the eleventh grade. Good writing but i disagree with many of his stereotypes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ciao, America makes you think about all of the crazy things Americans do every day. A funny and easy read, it really makes you laugh. An ideal book to take with you on travel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was pleasantly suprised at how much I enjoyed this book. I borrowed it from my friend who NEVER lends books.It was funny and poignant,and quite enjoyable. If you want to read something unexpected,read this. I am so happy to be an American!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Severgnini is an author who has the gift of humor and sarcasm, who can point out normal American things (like our dependency on air conditioning) in a way that is entertaining and original. It's an amusing way to look in on ourselves (Americans) while getting the fresh perspective a foreigner brings. A great read for any American or anyone interested in the different life in Italy or the Italian mindset.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book shows an italian perspective of life in america. Its interesting to see the conflicting views that he has. The story begins with his explaination of how american homes are unfit because they are not furnished. There is a long list of events that occured after this.
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK WAS SOOO GOOD, I CRYED 3 TIMES.. JUST READING THE TITLE. SEVY PORTRAYS AMERICANS AS SMELLY PEOPLE AND UNWORTHY OF THEIR A.C. AND THEIR HOMES. I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH THAT I AM GOING TO PUT IT UNDER MY PILLOW WHEN I GO TO BED. I COULD READ IT OVER AND OVER AGAIN. MRS. LAMBERT, MY 11TH GRADE ITALIAN TEACHER IS A GENIUS FOR HAVING US READ THIS BOOK. THIS BOOK BELONGS ON THE OPRAH BOOK LIST.