Cicada

Cicada

by Belle Whittington

Paperback

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 28

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Cicada 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quick read! I couldnt put the book down. Excellant! You will not regret yur purchase!
BooksforCompany on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In Short- Cicada had a new and unique paranormal creature- I enjoyed Belle's writing- The main characters were well developed- I felt the romance wasn't necessary- This is an imaginative storyIn LongCicada has one of those blurbs which doesn¿t really give much away so you find yourself starting a book which you don¿t really know much about and have no idea where the story might go. I didn¿t even really know what paranormal creatures were involved in this.I did expect some kind of paranormal story but not necessarily the one I got. When I realised what the book was about I was worried I wouldn¿t be able to get into it so was relieved when Belle quickly thrown us into the story. Although you were thrown into the story Belle still created some great characters that were both brave and interesting characters, although I felt like I could have done with more descriptions on how they looked. I did also feel this with the `creature¿ in this book and felt it spoiled the book in some places because I wasn¿t able to build up a picture in my head. The relationships between the characters were something I also struggled with. I felt like the romance was just put in so that there was a romance in the book but I felt it didn¿t add much to the storyline and wasn¿t necessary. I really liked how imaginative this story was. It took you to places other books haven¿t ever taken me and although I sometimes struggled with using my imagination I really loved being challenged by Belle. At times I did feel that I needed a more in depth description on what this creature was but throughout the story more detail was added and I was able to get a picture in my mind.-Final ThoughtsBelle is a great writer with an amazing imagination. I would definitely recommend giving this book a go and would also suggest reading any other books she may bring out. Although I didn¿t LOVE Cicada I can see I would love another book by her because Belle¿s writing is great! That is shown with how Belle¿s writing enabled me to enjoy Cicada, a sort of book I probably wouldn¿t usually enjoy!
read_ivana on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Some books just feel like they were written for you only. That's how Cicada felt for me. When I was 13, I was obsessed with the TV show Roswell. The dormant UFO-freak in me rejoiced when I learned that Cicada featured a different kind of paranormal, my kind of paranormal (that sounds weird...) Cicada is a wonderfully constructed story about changes and the end of childhood. After summer ends, four out of five characters are going to college, but a different kind of "change" will send them on different paths. Cicada is quite a short read, but by the end, it feels like you're reading a completely different book. Everything and everyone has changed. As summer moves on, secrets and mysteries come up one after another, and the tone grows darker and heavy with the looming danger and unanswered questions. Characters unfold and grow until you barely recognize them anymore. The superstar of Cicada is Everett, the "bug-boy". Going into details would spoil most of the book, but in short, he's the hottest nerdy ever!As for reasons why it's not a shiny five stars...The beginning of the story seemed a bit forced, I couldn't "feel" it and the first encounter with the characters was not impressionable. It takes a few chapters, some build-up and action to start seeing them as individuals and the purpose each of them fulfills. I loved how the romance between Everett and Blair developed. It grows out of true, lifelong friendship. It shows in face of adversity and grows stronger in hard times. That's true love. I all but exploded with joy when I saw the songs Belle mentions in Cicada. Muse and Fireflies by Owl City. My music. My book. My precious! Anyway. I hereby pledge my undying love for Belle for not only contacting me and letting me read the book, but also for having written it in first place. I'm really fed up with vampires and werewolves, and I can't even tell you how happy I am that I've come across a few YA novels about the extraterrestrial lately. Hooray for new horizons, new ideas, new worlds, new creatures, new books to pine for.
sedelia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One thing that Cicada definitely has going for it is its originality. I don't think I've ever read a book even slightly similar to this one. One of my favorite parts is how she combines a mythological story with her imagination to make up fairly believable creatures with an interesting history. When the action is there, it's very good, though I did find this book to be a bit slow. I think some of the romance and Blair's internal rationalization of things could have been cut out so there could have been room more action and strange stuff to happen.I didn't like how the most exciting part of the book took place slightly over halfway through the novel. I think a lot of the revelations about Blair's dad and the thing they encountered in the woods should have taken place before the climax of the novel. It would have made the climax more exciting (and I probably would have known better what was going on), and there wouldn't be such a lag between the climax and the ending.Overall, this was a fairly good read. The mystery and the action sustains the novel throughout, and Whittington is so good at making things mysterious, that my curiosity got me through some of the slower parts. If you like reading about aliens and weird stuff in general, then you'll like this imaginative young adult novel.
Bex_n_Books More than 1 year ago
Reviewer: John Rating: 5 out of 5 Fairies On the surface of it, I am the wrong demographic for this book; an Englishman approaching retirement age. I don’t know much about small town America or graduation, or how the world looks to a modern teenage girl. I don’t want to spoil the plot by revealing too much, but the essence is that aliens are amongst us & have been for some time. Blair, the narrator & her friends become involved in the rescue & saving of one of the aliens, only to find there is more than one kind and they’re not all friendly. Blair is troubled by the loss of her father & brother & struggling with coming to terms with the imminent loss of her remaining brother & slightly older friends to college, as well as with the fight to save the alien. There are discoveries made about her family history as well as about herself & her friends. That’s all I’m going to tell you regarding the plot. I said in the introduction, I didn’t think the book would be for me, but I absolutely enjoyed it from the outset; the book gave me a sense of all the things I mentioned: small town America; coming of age; and while I’ll never pretend to understand women of course, I got a real feel for who Blair was. I’m looking forward to reading Firefly, the next book in the series. Disclosure: This book was provided by the author in exchange for a HONEST and not necessarily positive review.
Novelsontherun More than 1 year ago
The title is awesome! I LOVED!! The whole significance of the Cicada title in Belle’s writing. This is a wonderfully original aspect of her story. It is going to be hard to write this review without giving away the story, so I will talk about characters . Blair was a character I did have trouble connecting with, her character felt like more of a story narrator, even though not the whole time. I would have loved to have gotten to know her more. Blair’s brother Andrew, has some physic ability about him. I really liked Andrew and his character had a form of growth from start of the book to the end of the book. Something that wasn’t quite as apparent with Blair. Andrew intrigued me, he was a bit mysterious in his behaviour as the pages kept turning. David is Andrew’s mate, and as far as mates, best buds go, he is a good one. He rolls his sleeves up and dives in. He also has a soft spot for Natalie. Mum is a funny one. She talks in rhymes when she speaks to Blair and she has her own bakery , Sprinkles. Blair’s mum has lost her other son, Aaron , Andrew’s twin and her husband , they were both murdered. So things have been tough on her. A great mystery lies in their murders. Blair is apprenticing with her Grandpa who is a vet. These skills will come in handy in this story. Grandpa is a great peer for Blair and Andrew. Everett to me is the star of this story. The nerdy , bug boy, who is quite brave, intelligent and really surprised me by the end of the book. I loved him before I knew him better, I adored him by the end, but also , there lies a mystery. I was quite fascinated where Belle took me in her storytelling. I would have liked to have seen it a longer story, only because I felt that the characters needed more fleshing out. Blair has dreams/nightmares that weave their way into the storyline quite nicely. There is a lot of mystery that keeps the reader turning the pages. I personally would love a good editor to give this book a cuddle as there is something special in Belle’s writing but I think it needs a little cuddle. Sometimes I think things moved too quickly, without a bit of fleshing out, but there is a great story here. The mystery is intriguing and right until the end , we are left with the right amount of mystery for ‘Fireflies’, book 2. I loved the villains as they were quite creepy and they kept me guessing. I loved another character who I would have liked to have gotten to know more, I think it would have given the reader more emotion. Dang, it’s hard not saying what I want to say. The book blurb has given nothing away, I just checked, so I shall keep it all a secret too. The book trailer gives more away. Visually , I saw the scenes very well, and enjoyed this band of friends sticking together, and not letting fear stop them from helping a stranger that was so different from themselves, who learned quickly to blend. And that is all I will hint at. Belle does have a wonderful idea here , I am looking forward to reading Fireflies, I am left incredibly intrigued and I am looking forward to more Everett...... oh I want to say, but I can’t. Everett is on my Team T-Shirt, I would just liked to have had some more fleshing out of other characters. On my digital reader this book was only 114 pages long, so I am not being picky, I don’t think??
BookAngelRV More than 1 year ago
Let me tell you that this book took me by surprise. I did not know what it was about as the summary doesn’t give a whole lot away. I have not read any alien books (that I remember) but if this is how they are I definitely would like to read more books like this. I give this book 5 stars because that is as high as I can go. Plot – I loved the storyline. It was unique and really drew me in and kept me reading. The first part of the book was a little slower compared to the rest of it because it is introducing you to Blair, her friends and family. From the time they first see something strange until the end of the book there is always something new or another mystery to figure out. They are always going and checking things out when they should just run. This book packs a lot in to a shorter story. I did not want it to end. I also liked how the pieces of the puzzle are slowly put together but then there are more questions to keep you wanting to read to figure it all out. Characters – The characters in this story are three dimensional with everyday problems. I love that Everett wanted to be an entomologist and had his own bug room. My son was in Entomology in 4-H and I wish we had a storage unit we could have put all of that in also. I feel bad for Blair as she is the youngest in the group and is getting left behind when everyone else goes to college. She is very smart and stubborn and wants to be a veterinarian when she grows up. Blair’s older brother Andrew also struggles in this story. I liked this that he was going to go to seminary after high school but then ends up rethinking his life’s path. Ending – The ending left it open for the next installment which I like but now I wish I hadn’t found this book until they were all already out because I am dying to read the next in the series. The next book sounds like it will have even more action, mystery and suspense. All in all I absolutely loved this book. I can’t wait to read the next in the series Firefly. I would like to know why Blair’s mother and grandparents think they need to hide everything from her instead of just telling her. It makes for a more interesting part of the book but if I was living her life I would be frustrated beyond belief with my brother and Everett as well as my mother and grandparents. The only complaint I can find on this book is that it wasn’t longer. *I received this book for free for an honest review.
Literary_VixenAP More than 1 year ago
I loved this story! It is not your usual paranormal fantasy story, Through in some intriguing sci-fi and it blows you away! It is told from the point of view of Blair Reynolds as she hangs out with her older friends and they enjoy their carefree youthful lives. In the summer, things start happening around them that can't be explained. Together they must fight for eachother's lives, accept changes to come and ultimately find each of their fates. It was refreshing not to read about werewolves, vampires and the like. This introduces a more scifi element with aliens. Or is it? Belle throws a spin on the legends of crop circles, lights in the sky and even the tale of twins. I loved the suspense, the realism and the smooth writing that kept me engrossed and turning each page. The story fuses reality and the unknown easily but leaves you with enough mystery that you are attached to the characters and story until the very end. I look forward to the next installment, the end was definitely left wide open for another one. I can't wait! 5 out of 5 stars! I received this book from the author for an honest review for her blog tour.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book cicada was a heart wrenching science fiction leaving readers begging for more but when is her next book coming out i can not wait!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
twimom101 More than 1 year ago
Blair is spending one last summer with her older brother and his friends before they all run off to college and their future, leaving her behind to finish senior year all by herself. But the day after graduation changes everything. After inspecting a crop circle on her grandfather's land, a mysterious flying object comes up and injects a creature from it. The series of events that happen next will forever change the lives of this one group of friends. No longer a carefree summer, but a summer spent figuring out who they are and how to keep each other alive. Loved this book!! It was so suspenseful that I had gripped my nook so hard I thought I would break it. I always enjoy a good romance and this one really delivered at the end. I liked how the relationship grew from a strong friendship into something real. I saw it coming, but was pleasantly surprised with how it all went down. With too many books now days the romance is 'BAM! You¿re in love' without laying eyes on someone. Cicada is a fast paced read that will keep you at the edge of your seat. With so many questions in need of answers, you will eagerly be waiting for the next book Firefly.
tiffie_101 More than 1 year ago
Cicada was a book I didn't know much about from the synopsis. But the dark secret waiting it the woods wasn't quiet what I was expecting either. But a little mystery never hurt anyone. Cicada had me drowning in suspense and falling in love with its characters. Belle writes her scenes with just enough suspense, mystery, and just the right amount of romance to balance it all out. But I do wish I could have had a hint or two in the beginning with Blair and Everett. Everett is Blair's "bug boy", together there child like antics where amusing. I fell for the nerdy, sweet, and caring Everett. He had traits that weren't typical for a character like him. Everyone expects him to be quiet, and timid. But not Everett hes loud, brave, and not afraid to get his opinion across. Looks can be very misleading. In the end Cicada had my eyes glued to its pages and my fingers numb from page turning. It was a well balanced story with lots of twists and turns. But I did wish it was more developed in the sense of more detail and not jump to the next thing. Its been a while since I read a book where I didn't know what would happen next, that made it all the more fun. Just as it was developing and I was starting to get answers to my long appointed questions...It makes an abrupt ending! But I got to read a sneak peek of Firefly, and it made me crave the sequel all the more! Belle writes an alluring tale filled with secrets, waiting to be discovered.
Twilightsdance More than 1 year ago
As soon as I started to read this book, it had its hooks in me. When you read the blurb for this book it doesnt give you much information. You just know Blair and her friends are going to have something big happen in thier lives and there will be a big secret to keep. At first I was creeped out with the way things started, but I couldnt but help continue to read, and as the book delved deeper into the secret, I just got progressively more into the book. I finished this in one day within maybe a 6 hour time span. It was just one of those books that keeps you totally engrossed in the story line, and you just NEED to continue to read what is on the next page. There was a point where you say to yourself, "Ah, I should take a break and finish reading this later." Nope. Out of all the characters in the book I loved Everett the most and just wished everything worked out for him, also Andrew was pretty high up there. I liked Blairs tenacity in taking things in her own hands. Definitely read this book, also make sure you have a chunk of time all in one sitting to finish this! 5 trees to this lovely book by Belle Whittingon. Next book in the series, can I have you now?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
Cicada's synopsis was very intriguing. I love books that are about uncovering a secret and also about a group of friends banding together for a cause or goal, so I was pretty excited for Cicada. However while the beginning was enjoyable, I have to say the book dragged a lot. Also the ending was out of the blue and I felt it was a bit too rushed. However, Cicada was enjoyable, it had the potential to be more but in the end it was an enjoyable read. The beginning of the book felt like it was going to be a summer fun read, especially with the group of friends graduating, the happy, summery feel you get when you are having the time of your life. However then a UFO sighting turns their life upside down and they try to find out what they just saw. The chase to finding the truth began. I personally thought this part took way too long. Almost half of the book was of them trying to find out WHAT they just witnessed, and even till the end, there were so many unanswered questions. I just didn't really enjoy how there was so much build up to what is out there but then we get a simplified explanation and a sad farewell to the graduates and a very confused me. I just hoped the complication was resolved in a better way and in a more interesting and just gave justice to all the chase and anticipation that have been building up through the book. Also, lately I've started having issues with protagonists finding out they are in love with their best friend in the last couple of chapters, and unfortunately this happened in Cicada. I had a feeling it was going in that direction, but I prayed that it wouldn't. So I really did not enjoy the romance. All in all, while Cicada had a lot of pacing and plot issues, the actual story is intriguing and I really want to know WHAT happens next and who these creatures and people are. I hope the next book in the series has more plot and character development to make it more enjoyable.