Cinder & Ella

Cinder & Ella

by Kelly Oram

Paperback

$12.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Cinder & Ella 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
carpediem5366 More than 1 year ago
 5.0 out of 5 stars A book to be reread over and over again., October 26, 2014 By Jennifer Wedmore "Carpe Diem" This review is from: Cinder & Ella (Kindle Edition) I received this book in exchange for an honest review. This was a new to me author, but i was intrigued by the blurb. I started reading it at 8pm last night, I finally put it down at Midnight, completed. I couldnt stop reading! It was amazing! I cried so many times, Ella's anguish, torture and just ability to survive was heartwrenching. The author brought such depth of emotion that i am still amazed. I literally teared up or outright cried so many times. The story has an HEA but its so beautiful throughout. By far the best book I have read, not just this year though I think ever. I think i will be reading this one over and over again. I am a fan for life now and am very excited to see other works by the author I am not one to recap the blurb but just assume the blurb does not do this book justice!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down. Great characters & writing. Can't wait to read more from this author!
KelseyP More than 1 year ago
The Cinder Chronicles is a book series, and one of the best if you ask Ellamara Rodriguez, who was named after one of the main characters. Now the first book, The Druid Prince, is being turned into a movie. Ella is beyond excited. She writes a blog that reviews books and movies. One of her avid fans is a guy with the screen name Cinder458. He seems to be the Cinder to her Ellamara, the names of the star-crossed lovers in her favorite book series. Cinder is chatting with Ella about which actors have been cast for the movie when Ella and her mother are in a car accident. Ella is irreparably scarred both physically and emotionally and retreats from the world for more than six months. When her family convinces her to reach out and make friends again, Ella contacts Cinder, who thought Ella’d died. ' Death being the only explanation he could come up with for her abrupt and continued silence. As their relationship reignites, will their secrets bring them closer together or rip them apart? Can Cinder handle Ella’s scars or will they scare him away? It is a modern re-telling of the classic Cinderella geared toward older teens and adults with some foul language.
lenorewastaken More than 1 year ago
ORIGINAL REVIEW: 5 stars -- UNPUTDOWNABLE. Seriously. I started reading this b/c I was at the release party for it and there was a part where the author posted a video of her reading the prologue and first chapter of the book. Well, when I started bawling at the end of the prologue, I had to put aside the book I was currently reading and start reading it for myself even though it was after 10pm....ended up being up til 5am glued to my kindle. So does that tell you something? It tells me it was awesome. And then I proceeded to not write my review right away and thus this will not be up to my normal babbling standards....well, maybe. LOVED the characters. Loved the whole very loose retelling of Cinderella. There was actually more to that than I was expecting. Loved how broken and yet strong Ella was. Loved watching her struggle in her new life, and struggle to survive. LOVED the heartbreaking themes that the story touched on (bullying, grief, survival, depression...I have more but I can't think of them). Gosh, even Brian was so much more complicated than I was expecting. Ms. Oram's characters are always so well-developed and three dimensional. Even the side characters were amazing and believable (yes, even Anastasia....I actually had a harder time justifying some of Jennifer's (the stepmom) behavior from the beginning). And I kind of wanted The Druid Prince to be real. ASE is still probably my favourite of Ms. Oram's, but let me tell you -- this put in some amazing competition for top spot. ON REREAD: 5 OMG OMG OMG stars!  We reread this book as part of a read-a-long in the Kelly Oram Reader Squad in September in preparation for the new cover and 2 year publish-a-versary.  And it was MAGICAL!  Everything I remember this book being.  I then didn't write up my review YET AGAIN, so it will be lacking.  But I will say that I was reminded of one of my FAVOURITE scenes from a book of ALL TIME (for those who've read it, it's the FantasyCon moment where realizations occur).  I could read that scene OVER AND OVER AND OVER again, kind of like how I could watch the end of Never Been Kissed OVER AND OVER AND OVER again.  It's *that* good.  Seriously, "say car for me"...it shouldn't produce chills, but it does. And the pièce de résistance of the read-a-long?  Having conversations *with* the characters ABOUT the book they are in.  Seriously...made my whole day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the use of contemporary media to change things up, still a HEA.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent story. Loved Cinder and Ella. Smiled, laughed,and thoroughly enjoyed this book! Kudos to Kelley! Keep on writing great stories!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!
Boundlessbookreviews More than 1 year ago
Cinder and Ella is really is an amazing take on the Cinderella story. From the beginning I didn’t want to stop listening and as the story progresses, I was surprised how emotional this story was for me.  Ella is a girl whose been through this tragedy. Cinder is the boy that she had been talking to online. Through her blog, is where they met and the story of Cinder and Ella really began.  I think in a lot of ways I related to Ella. Never have I been through the struggles that she had to endure. But I connected with her. It really makes you realize how horrible people can be to those that are just different. Her self-esteem is pretty much at it’s all time low, which is understandable. But her true beauty I think shines through out this story. And it’s no wonder why Cinder would fall for her.  The narrator was perfectly chosen for this story. I loved the life she brought to the characters and how she portrayed the heartbreak, the connection that these two had. Even the other characters were portrayed perfectly. I think this is one of the best audiobooks I've listened to in a long time. I’ll have to see what else this narrator has done.  Kelly, really is an amazing writer, from the books I’ve read. There’s still so many of her books I need to read and I will get there in time.  Overall, I give this book Five (huge) Boundless Stars. It was an amazing YA, that I will forever remember....Lissa
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is for anyone who has ever felt insecure about themselves. Whether it's a physical scar or a emotional one. Don't even start this book without a box of kleenex. By reading that last sentence in a review I would normally pass on a book, but dont please read this one. All the characters were flawed and worked to get past their personal feelings - all justified- about how they were impacted by this tragedy. A truly great read...I will definitely look for more books from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From the very beginning I was pulled into the story. It's so beautifully told of a girl with emotional and physical scars trying to move in with her father who abandoned her when she was 8 after her mother died. Talking to her internet best friend Cinder is the only thing that really makes her happy. I can't give too much away but I loved it! I cried so much and got so much joy from this book I didn't want it to end
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story made me go through a whole range of emotions. I was angry and outraged. I cried sad tears and happy tears. This was a very moving story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story was amazing! It made me shocked in outrage, laugh, cry and truly believe in real friends and of course "soul mates". Here's to blogs, books and true internet friends!
chelleq More than 1 year ago
I have read a couple of other books by this author and so far I really like this one the best. I liked how this book dealt with bullying and the consequences of it. Parts of it really got to me because my heart would just break for Ella when she started finding out how her new family felt about her. Every time I thought things couldn't get worse for Ella, she would find out something new that would just devastate her all over again. Her silver lining was her online friendship with Cinder, a person that she was falling in love with even though she had never met him. Unknown to her, Cinder was feeling the same way about her, even though he was afraid that if she knew his real identity, then he would lose his best friend. When they accidentally meet, things don't go the way neither one of them ever thought. It leads to unforeseen consequences for both Cinder and Ella. I hope Ella and Cinder get another book because with the way the book ended, their story just left me hanging. Felt like there is a whole lot more to their story left to tell.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thus book is so great! I made me laugh out loud and cry my eyes out. I recoment that you read this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I literally finished the book in 2 hours. This book was so thrilling and captivating, it had me jumping and grinning all over the place. This book gave me the feels and had me squealing at 1 in the morning. Its definitely deserved a 5. ??
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters are real with their flaws and indering. You want them to get together but understand if they don't. The best thing is the author manages to make the supporting characters as real and full of depth as the main characters. It feels like a real live story that luckally ends well. I also loved that it slyly had moment so her other series the V is for Virgin series. It's the same world and she is afraid to let the reader notice. Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A new twist on a beloved fairy tale...the strength of love...beauty of the soul...and a book boyfriend who is more than swoon-worthy! I have already sent recommendations to my friends (young and old) to put Cinder and Elle at the top of their to be read lists.
2kasmom More than 1 year ago
Ella and Brian are pen pals who meet through her blog. They share a love of books. They do not share real names, however, as they know one another as just their favorite characters. They are best friends, even if they have never met. Ella is in a car accident on her birthday that puts her in the hospital for eight months. She loses her mother, most of her physicality, and all of her friends. She has to start over in a new state, with a father who does not know her and has a new family she has never met. Brian is a famous actor, who really wants to meet her. He is just afraid if he does she will find fault with his career, or something worse. He does not want to lose his best friend, so it is safer to keep her at a distance. She seems to agree. Ella and Brian meet unexpectedly at a conference for fans. Beyond their shock, they are both so grateful to finally meet. What happens next could turn into the next tragedy in Ella's life. Can Brian save the day? Such an amazing book! I was literally blown away by how much I enjoyed it! It made me laugh, cry, and get excited over my favorite fairy tale all over again. I recommend this one for every romance reader!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not because there aren't other books I love or a list of my favorite authors I could rave about. This is a must read for everyone. Not just the young but every age. When you finish this story you will have tears in you eyes and a hugh smile on you face! Young I am not, I have read a LOT of books and this is one that has not only touched my heart but has left it's mark on me. Have fun and I know you will enjoy and love this story too!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
FUN read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Someone needs to know gow to spell words right if they are going to rate and review any books because people can not read and understand what the people is trying to say about the book itself and people like me needs to understand i gave it all stars because i need to let people know how inportant this is to me
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Words can not describe what I felt reading this book. It was so relatable to today's generation. I have hope that no matter what I look like I'll have my happily ever after one day too. She did an outstanding job.
TheNotSoPublicLibrary More than 1 year ago
*Slow clapping* Congrats Kelly, you have stolen my heart again. As you might know from my past reviews of Kelly Oram's books (links below) I simply love her writing. I had high expectations with her newest novel Cinder and Ella, and she did not disappoint. I was adamantly reading this book from page one of the prologue. Mainly because it tells of a teenage girl reviewer, which I obviously connect with... being one. Then goes on to tell of a tragedy that I will not spoil that had me crying like a baby. Cinder and Ella is a very modern love story in so many ways, but mainly because Ella and Cinder fall in love email. Now, don't think wrong, this is not just some lame mushy story, this book if full of nerdy quirks and tragic sad moments. But to its core, it just made me so happy to read, and brightened my day so much. I recommend this to all the nerds and happily ever after moment fans, because this book would be right up your ally. I loved this book so much and was honored to be one of the first to read it. I give it a whopping FIVE STARS!!
Allyssa_Painter More than 1 year ago
Cinder & Ella by Kelly Oram is technically a contemporary Cinderella story. And it does have the main elements. However, if you don’t like Cinderella stories, don’t worry. This is not your typical one. The elements of Cinderella are woven so magically and subtlety you don’t even really notice. Instead, you read this wonderful book that is not quite like anything you’ve read before. To be honest, even with the title, I didn’t even really think of how it truly was a Cinderella story until I read a blog post/character interview where the supporting characters were talking about their roles in the story (fairy godmother, ‘ugly’ stepsister, etc.) Cinder & Ella is one of my favorite books, hands down. Then again, I do have a lot of favorites. However, this one really is spectacular. If it tells you anything, I purchased this in February and have already reread it at least a dozen times. I can think of at least 3 times this month! If I’m having a bad day and just need to relax, or I need something to do but don’t want to start something new, this is one of my very first picks of what to read. It has some really great quotes, but moreover, it has wonderful characters. This is a book that will make you laugh, and might make you cry (it didn’t me, but I don’t have a heart). Every time I reread it, no matter how many times I’ve read it before or what is going on in my life, I smile. This book makes me happy. It’s not one of those stories where everything goes right and there’s no tragedy. No. There’s tragedy. Plenty of it. But it’s realistic and it makes the story work. Plus, the main characters are both bookworms. How can you not love a book like that? This is a book that deals with loss, depression, suicide attempts, divorce and family issues, bullying, and more, but it does so in a way that doesn’t bog the story down or push anyone into a corner. Even with these various serious subjects, it’s a funny book that makes you smile. And it warms your heart. I don’t know what more I can say to recommend this book, other than that it is absolutely amazing and you won’t be disappointed. Oh, and if you read it, the author has several character interviews on her website in the extra sections, so those are added bonuses!