Coco Chanel: An Intimate Life

Coco Chanel: An Intimate Life

by Lisa Chaney

Hardcover

$18.81 $27.95 Save 33% Current price is $18.81, Original price is $27.95. You Save 33%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Coco Chanel 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you love Gabrielle Chanel or a biography about any interesting person, you will love this book. It is detailed and factual, but also emotional. It really goes deep into her life and all that she went through. I am a huge Chanel fan, and this just made me love the woman behind the brand even more. She was a truly remarkable person.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It really was enlightening as to Chanel's life and talent
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not well written and quite boring. Too much about kept women this and that. It just rattles on. Where's the substance? Cant finish reading it. Read mademosille channel by Gortner if you want a good read about Coco.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Here
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Coco Chanel is a fantastic book if you want to have a deeper understanding of the famous Gabrielle Chanel’s life. From Chanel’s tragic childhood to her rise to fame, author Lisa Chaney does an impeccable job. One of the reasons this book helped capture me so much was all of the quotes Chaney used and how she told exactly where they were form in Chanel’s life. Not only were the quotes helpful with understanding how Chanel’s life was formed but also how the quotes were written into the story, it made you feel like you lived right alongside Chanel as she overcame so many battles.  Coco Chanel lived a very mysterious life and although many books and biographies have been written about her it is still very interesting to get every authors take on Chanel’s life. From the very beginning Chaney follows Chanel’s life from her birth in 1883 giving all the background needed about her ancestors to her mother and father to set an ideal scene for baby Gabrielle Chanel to be born. Chaney went on to write about how Chanel’s mother died and then her life in the orphanage until she moved out at the age of 18 to become a seamstress apprentice. Until one day she met a handsome solider which she eventually became his mistress, where in his mansion she found her love of fashion, which started with making her own hats.  This affair lasted three years until she met the love of her life Author Edward ‘Boy’ Capel. Boy helped her acquire her very own boutique, which lead to many more down the road. When he died in 1919, Chanel invented the little black dress, which some say is her greatest success.  Chanel worked right up to her death at the age of 88 in 1971. Her brand Chanel is still one of the most famous fashion brands in the world today due to its simplicity.  I choose this novel because it tied into my ethnography on personal styling. Although Coco Chanel never described herself as a person stylist, it was safe to say she styled the modern women of her time.  Overall I thought this book was very informational and helpful. I would personally give it five stars and I also would not mind reading it again. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lace1cat More than 1 year ago
Coco Chanel was full of herself, literally and figuratively! I'm amazed that a person of her impoverished background could be such a fashion snob.sly and cunning woman who used every person she ever met to her advantage. When she grew old she could always snuggle up to her millions each night!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My auntie works at saks and sells the chanel¿5
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got locked out on som resuts
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Boring!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I pick this vook because its great if you want a biography about coco chanel which i need for my biography due march
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello! We all who want to see what other people said about the book are very annoyed at all this cat stuff! Thanks for wasting my time! :/
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes its are foverite
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GO TO HOMESCHOOLER RESULT TWO
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
F-hcb v cttldvzwr