Coming Up for Air (Hundred Oaks Series #8)

Coming Up for Air (Hundred Oaks Series #8)

by Miranda Kenneally

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.99 $9.99 Save 10% Current price is $8.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Coming Up for Air (Hundred Oaks Series #8) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great addition to her series! I completed this book in one day, and I cannot wait for her next one. She is a talented writer, and does a great job mixing in the old characters in her new stories. D.N.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy this book series. I love reading when characters from previous books interact with the current protagonists too. Miranda is a few years out of high school like me, but i work with teenagers as a school counselor and her tone is very genuine to what i see daily.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing!! I loved it so much! I really wish she would write a book about a field hockey player!! There are hardly any novels about field hockey
bookbruin More than 1 year ago
This is exactly what I was looking for and hoping it would be - a sweet and funny YA contemporary romance. The characters were relatable and I enjoyed the main characters, Levi and Maggie, as much as the secondary. This is part of the Hundred Oaks series, but can be read as a stand alone. I think the best part about this book was Maggie. I loved that through it all she stayed true to herself and was very mature for her age. Of course, there is some drama (she is a teenager after all), but overall, she didn't let her dreams and wishes waver even though it was hard emotionally. She had enough faith in herself, friends, and loved ones to know that she could make any decision and know that she was supported. I was impressed at how well the author understood and portrayed the teenage mind - both male and female. Each character was so relatable and even if I didn't agree with their choices, I completely understood why they acted the way that they did. I loved the Friday night dinners that Maggie, Levi, Hunter, and Georgia had and how they all rallied around and supported each other. #squadgoals for sure. Swimming obviously makes up a huge part of this book and I can see that some readers may find the details a bit much, but honestly, I was completely fascinated by the amount of time, drive, and sacrifice it takes to compete at such an elite level. I felt it was vital to know this information to fully understand Maggie and Levi and the world as they know it. Yes, they're teenagers, but my days and weekends looked nothing like theirs when I was a teen and it helped me understand them better and how their adolescence and high school experience was unique. This is the first book I have read by the author, but I will definitely be reading the others in this series. I thought the epilogue was nice, but I probably would have gotten more from it had I read the previous books. The author's acknowledgements at the end were heartfelt and truthful, and I hope all her readers will take a moment to read them. Coming Up for Air was a wonderfully sweet romance that left me with a smile on my face and a happy heart. *I voluntarily read an advance reader copy of this book*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It’s such a good book! Would recommend to a friend if I had any
xokristim More than 1 year ago
I’ve pretty much read all of the books in the Hundred Oaks series, so I was extremely glad to get to review a copy of this one. These books are absolutely adorable summer reads, and this one was no exception. I could picture taking this to the beach and just enjoy it. I thought the story line was cute, but maybe had a bit too much emphasis on sexual experience for my taste. The characters were enjoyable and quite predictable, which was OK by me. Maggie seemed to think like a typical high school girl who had FOMO (fear of missing out). Levi was a typical high school boy, but did so many things that just made me smile. I really enjoy her writing style since it makes the books so quick and easy to read and just enjoy. I must say I’m sad to hear this is the last Hundred Oaks book.
Suze-Lavender More than 1 year ago
Maggie's dream is being an Olympic swimming champion and she's willing to do anything for it. That also means she's giving up most of her regular teenage experiences. Maggie has never has a boyfriend and she also never hooked up with someone, something her friends have all done. She's interested in boys, but it doesn't seem to happen. That's why she has a plan, she'll ask her best friend Levi to give her some lessons, so she'll have experience next time she's with a guy. Is this a wise thing to do and will their friendship survive this idea? When Maggie starts to develop feelings for Levi she knows she's in over her head. Levi is also on the swimming team and has the same goals when it comes to his career. Maggie isn't good at shutting out her feelings when she's at a swimming match, so her moods influence her results. Will being with Levi have a positive or a negative effect on her swimming? Will she be able to swim fast enough to be able to go to the Olympics and will her heart remain in one piece in the process? Coming Up for Air is a great story about love, lust and swimming. Maggie can swim really fast and reaching her goals is incredibly important to her. When she realizes she's missed a lot of experiences others her age do have because of chasing this dream she asks her best friend Levi for help. They're really sweet together and their friendship is deep and meaningful, so this is quite a risk. I was anxious to discover what would happen between them and couldn't turn the pages quickly enough to find out. Miranda Kenneally has written a fantastic honest story. I love the open way she writes about feelings, sex and not wanting to be the only one without any experience. It makes her story refreshing and interesting. She combines romance with sports, which is a wonderful combination. I love how she describes the thrill of being in the pool and fight for that desired time while true love is blossoming. Coming Up for Air is a dynamic and fascinating story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing story and I love it!
BoundlessBookaholic More than 1 year ago
A great conclusion to a great series. I devoured all of the Hundred Oaks books this year, and loved them all. Maggie and Levi were some of my favorite characters from the series. Their friendship, and then more, was a joy to read about. I found myself smiling and laughing quite a bit as I read. I can't recommend these books enough. I might try the audiobooks when it's time for a re-read. 5 stars. Oh and the epilogue was super cute!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down.
AnnaBastos More than 1 year ago
My first story by the author but not my last. A fast read with the thrill I didn't know I was missing in my latest YA books. Maggie has always focused on he swimming and she hadn't regretted until lately when she has a trauma of a hook-up. But the only one she can think of to teach her how to do it the proper way is her best friend Levi. In fact, she can't stop thinking of him in too many unspeakable ways. This book comes with a funny story, I've been after it for months and months but I never noticed I had been approved to read the ARC. And even though I was dying to read it, I just learned this was part of a series (and a long-running one with 8+ books in it) by the end when we get a glimpse of the future from a character in the first book. Sorry I had to write this down to say I literally screamed of joy when I received this copy and wish I could have read it ASAP because this was great. Being honest, it's not a complete 4-star experience for I have the feeling I'll soon forget most of the plot. But it deserved the round-up because it was a pleasure to devour this. Even though, for me, Maggie is incredibly successful, and this has become a problem for me to relate to main characters in books before, she also felt very real. With the way Kenneally described her relationship with becoming a professional swimmer, it was almost automatic for me to understand her swimming as anything I have really wanted and for which I had to give up others almost as pleasing. I don't know how she did it but she did and Maggie become a character I could identify myself in.Except for her guts to propose that deal to Levi. Oh my, I couldn't believe I was "hearing" that. This book is obviously for young readers but not too young. This deals with more mature themes and in a more open way than most YA I've been reading. That said, I loved that it managed to be hot without being too graphic—although it was quite close sometimes. This is a frank book. As for Levi, I wish I had liked him more. He's a great friend and apparently he's really sexy, lol. The way he flirts with Maggie is both cute and exciting, and you can feel his dilemma when she asks him to be more than a friend. So I can't point out what was missing in him for me. Nevertheless, I'm sure he's the right book boyfriend to most of the readers. The story also brings up key themes for teenagers—and why not grown-ups as well—such as competition, hard work, feeling self-conscious and selling oneself too short. In my opinion, a lot of food for thought not only for a group reading but also for self-growth. Still, the story was, in general, what one would expect so I don't think it'll be that memorable. I also think the first third or quarter lost steam, which is unfortunate. What really got this rounded up to four stars was the good feeling, the great fun the writer managed to give me. I'm surely curious about the rest of the series—I have no idea which characters here were in the previous books!—and books written by Kenneally. I'm perhaps on my to becoming a fan. Honest review based on an ARC provided by Edelweiss. Many thanks to the publisher for this opportunity.
SammiiTX More than 1 year ago
KivoxEnder More than 1 year ago
This book definitely fits my category for a cute, contemporary romance. Going into this book, I thought it was about a girl that spent so much of her life dedicated to swimming that she missed out on a lot of high school experiences and was determined to experience everything with whatever small amount of time she had left before college. Which I believe is still relevant except that instead of her experiencing a lot of things, she pretty much just wants to experience being with a guy. It was a cute story and I enjoyed it but I think it left me wanting due to expecting more based on the synopsis. If I had gone into it knowing that she just wanted to experience dating and being with guys I would have felt better about it. Even still, I definitely liked the characters and felt they didn’t make terrible decisions as far as romances go. It looks as though there are other books in this little book universe the author created and I really like when authors do that…when they continue the story through other character’s eyes…but they’re characters you already know. I honestly don’t know if I’ll pick up the other books but it’s only because they seem to be sports themed too and I’m just not that into sports romance. It has nothing to do with the writer…just my not-love of sports.
Cali-Jewel More than 1 year ago
Sweetly engaging, heartwarming, emotionally charged friends to more romance that kept me reading late into the early morning. This journey took me back to my own high school years trying to figure out balancing friendship and budding love. Maggie is so sweet and real super easy to relate to. Levi is her best friend and emotional rock, so sweet and funny just adored him. Both super intense focused athletes and extremely talented swimmers with bright futures. Their struggle to balance home, swimming, friends, family and an attempt at a social life is beautifully written. Looking forward to more from this author.
nelriv More than 1 year ago
I received an ARC for voluntary for netgalley. It was a nice coming to age story as well as a friends to more story. I always enjoy when there are a group of good friends that stand by each other and are there when you need them. I wanted to slap Luke upside the head when he got scared of his relationship with Maggie progressing and acted stupid. However, I had to remember that he was just a young teenager and acted idiotic before he realized he was to commit a dumb act before he did it. I was happy that Maggie told him about his stupidity, and stuck up for herself, and then pushed him back to just friend only spot. He did realize his mistake as soon as it was done and to read how he was emotional was heartwarming. Was a sweet story.
book_junkee More than 1 year ago
I've always been a fan of Miranda's books and BFF to more is one of my favorites, so I might have squealed when I got approved for this. Love love loved Maggie and Levi. They're both so focused and honestly good people. I enjoyed their banter and inside jokes and I'm ready to play Overboard with them. I also loved their little group of friends. As always, some of the best scenes had Jordan in them. The plot was exactly what I was expecting and when the inevitable conflict happens, I was rooting for Maggie 100%. I was thrilled to see that she stuck to her decisions, no matter what. Of course there's a HEA and an epilogue that couldn't have been better if it tried. This has set the bar high for other contemps and is definitely my new favorite Miranda book. **Huge thanks to Sourcebooks Fire and NetGalley for providing the arc free of charge**
onemused More than 1 year ago
"Coming Up for Air" is a really fantastic YA romance. Maggie and Levi have been BFFs since they were 2 years old. They are both competition swimmers and gearing up for the Olympics- on top of that, it's senior year and they are both prepping to go to colleges across the country. Maggie has always been too busy to have a relationship- with swim practice before and after school plus competitions on the weekend, there's really no time. When she goes to visit her upcoming college, she learns that the expectations for experience are way different than what she has. She comes up with the idea to hook up with Levi so she can learn how, without being distracted by a relationship. Levi eventually agrees, but their hooking up can't stay casual- they both start to develop feelings. With the Olympic qualifiers coming up, can they afford a relationship? I was a little worried about the sports aspects of this book, as I'm not big into reading about sports- but this blend was perfect! It's mostly romance with a little bit of sports talk on the side. And all of it was easy to understand for the non-swimmer. We get the story from Maggie's point-of-view, and this is really perfect. There are all the jitters and nerves of a new relationship/adventure. I think this book would be more appropriate for older teens as there are quite a few sexual situations (as this is the main focus). Regardless, it's a wonderful friends-turned-more book, and I really enjoyed reading it! The author is quite talented, and the flow is perfect! I wouldn't change a thing! I will definitely need to check out more from Kenneally! Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
Take_Me_AwayPH More than 1 year ago
Y'all know I have a phobia of reading the last books in series, so when I heard this was the last Hundred Oaks book, I almost put it on the back of my TBR. But this one was about swimmers and I needed to see what the gang was up to one last time. Maggie's life has been the same for as long as she can remember: Swim, Eat, Sleep, Repeat. And she wouldn't have it any other way. She's shared this life with her best friend Levi and they make the perfect team. It isn't until Maggie visits a college camus that she realizes how much she's really missing out on her life. As per usual after reading a Miranda Kenneally book I have ANOTHER new book boyfriend. Levi has a super hot swimmer's body AND he reads and just OMG can I have three please? lol He's also really sweet and I love how he treated Maggie. He did mess up, but really, who doesn't? As for Maggie, I loved her too, but I thought she overanalized things too much like her coach. I was glad that someone in the book recognized it. But otherwise I thought she was a perfectly normal teen with anxiety, so I could definitely relate. Then there was the sbuject of swimming. In the acknowledgements, Kenneally mentions that she knew nothing about swimming which surprised me. I assumed she used to be a swimmer by how much she knew. I have a family member who used to swim, but was a lot like Jason. They only did it in high school because they "needed something to do over the summer" and as it turned out, they were really good. They were just like the characters and ate all the time and got some of the same advice from their coaches, and spent all their time in the pool. It was such an accurate description I had to call the family member and tell them to pick it up! Lastly, as usual, I loved her writing style. It swet me to the high school and the pool. And it was SO FUNNY. I spit my water TWICE while reading this. (At Superman undies and at the Quick Pick!) Normally when reading I only crack a small smile. But with this one I flat out laughed out loud. It is absolutely hilarious and exactly what I was in the mood for. Although I hated to see this beloved series of mine end, I was so happy to have been on this journey with Kenneally and her books.