ISBN-10:
0817304800
ISBN-13:
9780817304805
Pub. Date:
10/24/1989
Publisher:
University of Alabama Press
Company K

Company K

by William March, Philip D. Beidler
Current price is , Original price is $22.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Company K 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great novel seeing the war through the eyes of fictional soldiers. The author was a Veteran of the great War.
davedavenport More than 1 year ago
One of March's Company K chapters depicts a story of two young privates, Jacob Geller and Harry Waddell, coming across a dead German soldier with a fist-sized hole in his chest from shrapnel. After looting the body for any souvenirs, the pair found his knapsack and took out a loaf of bread half-soaked in the dead soldier's blood. Instead of throwing it away, the two cut it in half and "eat every last crumb" even though some of it is still soggy with blood (March 56). March's depiction of the privates' non-chalant attitude towards the closest thing one could get to outright cannibalism is appalling and very disturbing. Each chapter shows a different scenario of how there is no definition for normalcy and that war robs soldiers of their moral sense of duty and compassion then transforms them into pawns in a game with no rules and no order.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book in the afternoon and had finished it by late that same night. It's a book that I found impossible to put down. Anyone that has ever wondered what life was like on the Western Front should pick up this book, and it can also give more perspective and appreciation for other literary giants you experienced much of the same experiences (Tolkien, Lewis, etc.). I found myself still thinking about it the day after finishing it. It's a haunting and resonating account of life in a d after World War I. The use of vignettes makes it an easy and quick read, while also only adding to the depth of the work. Truly this is a book that will make you stop, think, and reexamine your own values and priorities.
RhydTybyans on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I first read this book in about 1960 when I was about 17 years old and still at school.

It was just another paperback amongst many, but the book made a profound impression on me which has remained to this day. It occurred to me late last year, 2008, to search for it on the internet. Lo and behold, I find that it is now rated as a minor classic and that a new edition was published in 2006 by the University of Alabama Press.Well, I ordered the book and it is this edition that now stands on my bookshelf waiting to be read again, some 49 years later.

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Every citizen of the USA should read this to understand what we are sending our soldiers into when we send them into war or allow them to be used as world police.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Like the other reviewer, I read this book in a single sitting. I was similarly moved by the varying perspectives (March tells the story in 113 separate brief passages). My only disappointment in the book is that many of the vignettes begin to sound like the same soldier is speaking; March doesn't makes much effort to differentiate vocabulary or allow for slang.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Co. K is beautifuly written; in the sense that it is truthful about the humanistic aspect of war. So moving this was, that I could not put it down and when it ended I was brought to tears. Although I read this book a few months ago, I just can't seem to forget the images that were painted; this book will stay with you for a long time. Reading this book will bring you one step closer in finding the universal truth that man shares with man.