The Covenant

The Covenant

by James A. Michener

Hardcover

$37.54 $39.95 Save 6% Current price is $37.54, Original price is $39.95. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Covenant 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A wonderful account of the settling of South Africa by the Dutch and their future conflicts with the British, native African tribes, and Zulu nation. Michener makes the characters come alive! You feel as if you are part of them as they cope with life's dissapointments and revel in their accomplishments. 873 pages of action packed adventure that is difficult to stop reading!As an avid Michener reader, I consider this novel as one of his finest works.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After finishing a Michener book I'm always emotionally drained. The isidious social scheme known as apartheid is now justly piled on the scrap heap of history. I think reading this book some 25 years after it was written gives one a perspective on South Africa that the author wasn't privy to. Thankfully the outcome of the political struggles there didn't end in the bloodbath that Mr. Michener feared in the closing chapter of this epic work. I found this book to be somewhat more disjointed than some of his others but a great read none the less.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book before a summer trip to South Africa. It prepared me well for that country's fascinating culture and history. Michener's ability to weave together fictional characters with real life events is incredible.
santhony on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Pretty decent, but not up to the standard of some of Michener's best.
jwhenderson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In 1978 I spent six weeks in South Africa living in Johannesburg for business. So I was intrigued when two years later Michener's historical fiction about South Africa was published and I read it. I enjoyed the book and learned more about the history of the land I had visited but was not impressed enough to become a Michener fan.
johnthefireman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A good introduction to the history of South Africa, at least since colonial times, through a work of fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I never fully understood the struggles of both white man and black in South Africa until I read Michner's excellet version. Without the characters interwoven with history, this would not have been such a enjoyable learning experience.
Still_Likes_Paper More than 1 year ago
I think by now most people realize how cruel, and inhumane apartheid was, This novel ends before that South African institution was overturned and the Colored peoples were given rights. It would have been interesting to see how Michener could have weaved that into his story. I think the importance of this novel has more to do with how and why apartheid became the "law of the land" in South Africa. The historical aspects of this story are incredible, and the saga of how South Africa became the melting pot that it is, is almost unbelievable. I can not recommend this novel nearly enough. As historical fiction, it is brilliant. Allowing the reader to look at the sweeping history of South Africa and see how it evolved over 500 years doesn't make the injustices any less real, but we walk away with a better understanding of how and why the very diverse peoples of South Africa impacted that nation prior to desegregation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this in the late 80's. My copies were destroyed in a flood. I have reread it from the library twice. Now I own it once again. I love this story. It captivates and explains so much. I used it as a reference for a paper in college (a novel!!!) and my professor agreed it was a good choice. Masterful!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I suggest if you read this very long,long, (to the tune of 1144 pages long) book, you understand what you are getting into. The story started out okay, and somewhere after page 200, it became pure misery for me to finish. It reads like a text book. The history is long and drawn out. The names of the characters were hard to pronounce, and oh so, so historical. It was like being in a very boring history class, not that I don't enjoy history, I do immensely. I just felt there was not enough depth to any character in this book for me to sink my teeth into. Also, the religion amongst these people were insane. Kill!!!...kill some more, and than refer to the bible that it was okay to kill some more. I am proud I stuck with this book for past 500 pages. I tried my best. ,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book takes you on quite a journey, makes you want to go and visit South Africa and experience the cultures laid out in the book.