Crossroads of Twilight (Wheel of Time Series #10)

Crossroads of Twilight (Wheel of Time Series #10)

by Robert Jordan

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Crossroads of Twilight (Wheel of Time Series #10) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 869 reviews.
GeraldTarrant More than 1 year ago
The first time I read CROSSROADS OF TWILIGHT, shortly after it came out in paperback, I was monumentally confused. It seemed as though nothing was happening. Many of the characters were difficult to recall, and I found myself constantly referring to the glossary or previous books in the series in a desperate search for clues. Who is this Aes Sedai again? What is their relationship with Egwene – friend or foe? Who was this character? Why are they important? Are they important? It all proved too much for me, and I was beginning to suspect that Robert Jordan might not live to finish the series, so I quit. Ten books into the series, I decided I was out, and I wouldn’t buy another book until the end was nigh. So several months ago, with A MEMORY OF LIGHT (completed by Brandon Sanderson) on its way to bookshelves across the nation, I endeavored to start again from the beginning, and read every book in the series consecutively. The idea was that reading the books back to back (to back to back to back) would iron out the confusion So now that I’ve read the first 10 books in the series, I can positively tell the me from 2004 that it’s not his fault. Even reading the books consecutively, it’s difficult to remember all the characters and their relationships. The monster has grown too huge for Jordan to handle, and so inevitably we get books such as CROSSROADS OF TWILIGHT, in which all 822 mass-market paperback pages are setup. The book doesn’t end with a battle, there’s no climax in the final pages, all the steps to move the plot forward are incremental. It’s. All. Setup. I don’t want to include any plot spoilers, but if you’ve read the previous book in the series, WINTER’S HEART, I’d like you to think back to that book and consider what plot lines you’d like to see wrapped up. I can tell you right now, they don’t. The bad guys all seem to have disappeared, so that the most frightening foe in this book seems to be the town where people are seeing ghosts. That and, as others have pointed out, the weevils that get into the food. I wish Jordan could have managed his plots a little better so that some major development takes place in each book. Either Rand should have killed a Forsaken or the Aes Sedai struggle should have been resolved or Perrin’s search for his wife should have come to a conclusion. Heck, I’d have settled for something big in the Mat plotline. But none of those plots are resolved and as a result, we got 800 pages of filler. It’s no wonder I was so confused in 2004, and it’s no wonder I stopped reading. I’m about to start on KNIFE OF DREAMS, the last book Jordan published before his death. I hope it’s great. I hope Jordan’s final book is as strong as EYE OF THE WORLD was, and Brandon Sanderson brings the series home with a bang. I’m tired of the filler. I’m ready for Tarmon Gai’don.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading the positive reviews of this book, it's obvious they are either mistaking this book for another in the series, or rating the series as a whole. By the end of this pile of blindingly tedious crap, you'll want every female character in the story to meet a tragic end and be replaced by someone less boring (a role that could easily be filled by a slightly gifted garden slug). Perhaps the only testament to Robert Jordan's genius in this installment is that he managed to get published an entire novel in which absolutely nothing happens.
TechW More than 1 year ago
Save your money and read a 1 page summary of this book. It does not move the story forward. It is all filler. Possibly the worst book I have ever read. And I really like the first few books in the Wheel of Time Series! Very, very disappointing.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The world slowly moves on, but has reached a period of crossroads whether its is individuals, people, or nations. Decisions will prove pivotal, as the turning point in the Wheel of Time seems at hand. However, many have reached different crossroads and twilight is now for choices that must be made even when the options seem negative. Perrin considers obtaining help from those he does not trust to help liberate his incarcerated wife. Not sure what to do except flee from the Seanchan, Mat takes the abducted daughter of the Nine Moons, Tuon with him while she seductively toys with him. The sieges at Tar Valon and Caemlyn continue unabated leaving insiders to ponder an escape attempt. Egwene the Amyrlin tries to unite the rebel Aes Sedai against the Dark One and considers an alliance with the Asha'man. The Dragon Reborn has eradicated the Dark One from the True Source, but wonders if he should negotiate with the Seanchan or perhaps Perrin for the next trial. Everything is slowly changing with any one decision could prove the pivotal turning point in the Wheel of Time. Book ten of the Wheel of Time series adds depth and complexity to an already deeply textured landscape. However, as been the case of the last few books, the numerous involved subplots seem on a slow speed treadmill as no forward motion occurs and little action happens. Fans of Robert Jordan will cherish learning even more about the prime players as they struggle to decide what to do next as few writers can dig as insightfully deep as this author does. However, readers who relish action need to look elsewhere. Harriet Klausner
PainFrame More than 1 year ago
The Wheel of Time turns... ...but it turns slowly and with practiced care. Crossroads of Twilight is book 10 in the Wheel of Time series. I love these books, I read about one a year (usually on vacation) and I loved this one no less than the others. Much of the rage directed at this book seems to be in regards to its' pace, but if you're a patient reader, as I am, that isn't a problem. I find that the faster I read, the more I enjoy them; if I read too slowly I tend to drown in the details and get lost - but that's my problem, not the books'. These stories are about character, and while action happens, it's really the characters' relation to the events that's significant. So when a character gains something, or learns something, or loses something, that journey has import. It matters - and it affects that character forever. It makes these people real, and I love that. Because of this, these stories seem richer to me than the average fantasy adventure. If you would prefer more explosions and cliffhangers at the end of every chapter, this series might not be for you. If you're interested in the wheel of time, I recommend starting with the prequel book New Spring which will give you a nice feel of the world and also require a smaller time sink than the first book. If you've read all the way to book 10, you would have to be some kind of maniac to skip this one. Events are building to the finale and I wouldn't have missed it for the world. I have a feeling I will enjoy these even more the second time.
mohi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Robert Jordan has truly lost grip on his story. Nothing, and I mean nothing, gets accomplished in this tome of a book. People talk endlessly and conspire, armies move in glacial fashion, and very little else.
cousin_gipthorn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Worst book of the series. Fortunately Jordan redeems himself with the two following books.
jpsnow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Nothing happened. It was approximately 684 pages too long. Rather than resolve any previous cliff hanger, he just created more. We're trapped between all of the previous books and the finish line in sight.
BombaySensei on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very skip-able book in the series for the most part. Read the last chapter and you're fine.
whiskerkid on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Climax. Well? It was small, but gave me the chills, and set the series up for number 11. A good read. Mat's story gets thicker than stew and gives the book flavor. Mat seems to do this to the whole series.
DWWilkin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After the disappointments of the several books preceding this one, it came as a surprise to see that Jordan was returning to his A Game. There are still many problems even though this book was better then many of the last few in the series. Rereading them, especially when you can not get to the conclusion gives you a pause to really evaluate what each book is.Again because we do not get to the end of the story, more can be found to fault the telling of the story. (You would know we had because some way 'THE END' would appear.) New details in the travelogue that is the The Wheel of Time occurs. Alton Brown cruising around the US on Asphalt, or Mark Twain in Roughing It. We have Jordan having created a map with a great many lands, so why not ensure we as the audience know how diverse it is.The problem therein is that we don't care. The Map has never had the detail it needed to find a great many of the places mentioned. Battles can not be followed because they are impractical and are just literary voyeurisms. The battles could have been summed even more quickly, Good guys show up, have smaller force, use power to win. If you try to look at it in military context, it will do you no good, as will understanding logistics which Jordan tries to give a nod to. Big armies need big food. Even the many thousands of Shaido need food, but they don't, and again with the contradictions when the Forsaken sent the septs all over to be destroyed, now they seem to be getting back together? Oh, Jordan smacks his head wanting a V-8, in revisionist writing, this is even better five or ten years after I originally wrote the other scenes that I'll just change things.Another exploration of Tell, don't show is revisited in ever bigger details which as the writing started to be denser again, or the fonts tighter, showed that the travelogue needed to be expanded.Screen time is also getting shorter and shorter for characters as each is fighting for time on camera. Including Rand. The Protagonist, but the series is so large, that he is not as important as he was before. We have to remember as early as book three we were already pushing off the center stage. But as Rand points out, he is the one who has to show up at the final climax chapter to fight, everyone else we have grown fond of, does not really need to be there. Thus we get into the exploration of why they are on screen so much. They need to be ready.In the early books of the Travelogue we saw how big the world was, and as the characters criss-crossed it, they were learning. But now they are as wise as I in the space of 3 years of book time and twenty years of reading time.These last books Jordan accelerates the time scale and he should not have. For what our leaders want to accomplish, they do need more time and seasoning. One William Pitt the Younger in a generation please. Not six, seven, eight... Who can keep track.But is there anything else to read as good with as much depth. No. On to the next.
rbtwinky on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Nothing happened in this book! Mat starts running and wondering about Tuon; he ends running and wondering about Tuon. Perrin starts chasing after Faile; he ends chasing after Faile. Egwene starts worrying about how to enter Tar Valon; she ends worrying about how to enter Tar Valon. Elaine starts trying to secure the throne; she ends trying to secure the throne. NOTHING HAPPENED. Supposedly the book presented various characters facing a decision where they choose either the light or the dark, but it was apparent. If the next book doesn¿t get pretty exciting, I¿m going to be pretty upset with Mr. Jordan. I don¿t understand how someone can write a 900-page book wherein NOTHING HAPPENS.
nesum on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
By far the worst of the Wheel of Time novels, the plot slows to a snail's crawl in this one. All the events we were waiting on from the last novel have simply been postponed in this. However, this speed bump should be crossed to get to the much better Knife of Dreams.
slaveofOne on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Jordan is back in the running! This book ends the Wheel of Time plotline and character slump.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not bad
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great series everyone should read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite part is the world building the books go through. Seems like an alternate world of this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't know if he signed up for a 13 book series and had to meet that but I've never read a series that the author repeats the same thing over and over and over, this could have easily been written in five books and would have been enjoyable. I'm now on book ten and it's become miserable hearing the same crap repeated. I'm now scanning over pages til it gets back to the story. I don't believe I've ever read books that has so much, I don't even know what to call it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My all time favorite series If you love fantasy this is for you
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The last review was meant for #9 winter's heart! Don't know how I screwed that up. Winter's Heart was the best one I read so far. Also, Fires of Heaven, my former favorite, was #5, not #6. Anyways, this book, #10 Crossroads of Twilight, was not bad at all. I did read it fast however, because there was a lot of tedious stuff that needed to get done, but I still give it 4 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago