Crush the King (Crown of Shards Series #3)

Crush the King (Crown of Shards Series #3)

by Jennifer Estep

Paperback

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, April 1

Customer Reviews

Crush the King 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Red-HairedAsh 23 hours ago
Wow, I couldn’t get enough of this book! Everleigh Blair has survived a mass murder, became a gladiator, and became the new queen. Now she is playing the long game to defeat her enemies and the Realia games are the perfect time to strike. With her friends at her side, Evie goes on the attack and slowly takes her enemies down one by one. I love this series and I don’t want it to end. I actually started and finished other books while reading this to prolong the ending because I wasn't ready for it to end. Evie is such a kickass character and an amazing queen. I just can’t get enough of her. Actually, every character in this series was amazing, even the villains, which is another reason why this is such a good series. I loved how Evie played the long game to take down King Maximus. She used all her skills, not just her magic, to reach her end goal and protect the kingdoms. I so admire her for that. I don’t really want to say much more than that about this book because I don’t want to spoil anything inadvertently. Overall, this is an amazing fantasy series that I totally recommend. I really hope we see more of this world in the future because I am not ready to let this amazing world go. Maybe a Paloma story or Leonidas story? *ARC provided by Netgalley for an honest review.*
Sailon 5 days ago
Do you ever get so caught up in a tale that you find yourself holding your hand over your mouth, tension and excitement battling for dominance, but you just can’t put it down because it’s that good? Well, that is what it is like reading every single book in Jennifer Estep’s Crown of Shards series. Stunning, Riveting, and an Outstanding Epic Fantasy Read! I flat out loved this series! You couldn’t help but get behind Evie, what an amazing heroine, remarkably loyal and leader. Battles, romance, magic and mayhem with stunning and masterfully executed storytelling, Crush the King had it all. I received this ARC copy of Crush the King from Harper Collins - Harper Voyager. This is my honest and voluntary review.
Wendy Murdock 5 days ago
I loved this book, wow so much action..awesome
Denice_L 6 days ago
Jennifer Estep has written many series, all different in character type and back stories, yet all 5 star reads. She gives her characters a life built on hardships, yet they always build their worlds out of scraps and leftovers to become powerful communities of allies working to correct injustice and make life better for everyone. This book ends the trilogy. Let's hope she's already working on the next series!
Partfam 6 days ago
This review is not going to be long. I am not a huge fan of a review rehashing the entire plot and spoiling it for everyone. I love Jennifer Estep books. I was truly entertained by this book. The story was engaging and the charters awesome. The author does a wonderful job of my making her characters come to life. The story kept me on the edge of my seat. Her style of writing keeps evolving. I cannot wait to read more of her books. I received an ARC of this book to read through NetGalley in exchange for a fair review. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own
ReneeElizabeth 10 days ago
Amazing read! What a well-written, adventurous, totally action-packed story! I seriously love this series. The characters are amusing and enjoyable. I sure hope we have not seen the last of Queen Everleigh along with her friends and her foes.
Reader4102 10 days ago
Everleigh Blair, Queen of Bellona, is still avoiding being killed by other monarchs who want her kingdom, internal forces who don’t believe she’s capable of saving Bellona, and a new enemy whose land abuts Bellona. She’s fed up with her enemies and decides not to be nice any more. She wants to take the fight to her enemies, and she wants to do it during the Regalia Games, where all the kingdoms come together to compete in sporting events. What could possibly go wrong with that decision? This is the third book (and final book?) in the Crown of Shards series featuring the fierce gladiator Queen, but you need not have read the first two books in the series to thoroughly enjoy this one. This is another well-written, cleverly conceived fantasy with characters finely drawn, and a complex action-filled plot. The author’s world-building skills are once again on display as we visit the nearby kingdom where the Games are being held. If you like your fantasy books with a strong female main character who is a bad ass, are well-written, and with solid plots, then this is the book for you and should be at the top of your to-be-read list. My thanks to Harper Voyager and Edelweiss for an eARC.
AbbyRoad28 11 days ago
Enjoyed this and hope for more!
TheGenreMinxBookReviews 11 days ago
I loved that Crush the King included the Regalia Games because what a way to circle back to the gladiator days that all fans of this series enjoyed! There was no better place to bring out the truth of what had been taking place for queen Everleigh Saffira Winter Blair of Bellona because it was a great platform for a confrontation! There was plenty of action and machinations taking place leading up the games but my love for this book increased once Everleigh and the crew made it to Fortuna Island, where the event was taking place. With all the kingdoms gathered for the competition it was finally time for the readers to meet Everleigh’s nemesis, Maximus Mercer Moreland Morricone, the king of Morta. What a truly despicable villain! He was the kind of character that I love to loathe. What a perfect enemy! I know that I was rooting for Everleigh to finally have her chance for a face to face confrontation with the king of Morta and, wow, did this story deliver. Everleigh thought she was ready for anything but Maximus was more cunning than she could have anticipated and the Bellonan’s were going to have the fight of their lives to survive what he and his cohorts had to dish out. There were many exciting and nail-biting moments in Crush the King! I enjoyed that I was kept in suspense as Everleigh and her friends tackled one battle after another. Her character had grown so much over the course of this series and it was wonderful to see her finally starting to have the confidence that she needed to be queen. I will say there were some parts of this book that did drive me a little batty, like Everleigh’s constant referencing in regards to emotional scents and the long game she was playing, I could have done with less of those comments. What I missed the most was Sullivan. He was a great supporting character but I really expected more with him in this book. Overall though, Crush the King was a captivating page turner that was a satisfying series ending book but one that left room for spin off books, let’s hope for that. This review is based on a complimentary book I received from NetGalley. It is an honest and voluntary review. The complimentary receipt of it in no way affected my review or rating.
Sandy-thereadingcafe 11 days ago
4.5 stars-- CRUSH THE KING is the third instalment in Jennifer Estep’s CROWN OF SHARD’S epic fantasy series focusing on the newly crowned Queen of Bellona, Queen Everleigh (Evie) Saffira Winter Blair, a young woman whose ascension to the throne is predicated on a murderous coup against our heroine’s family. CROWN THE KING should not be read as a stand alone. There is a continuous theme throughout the series as Everleigh sets her sights on avenging the deaths of everyone she loved. SOME BACKGROUND: The Crown of Shards series is the focus of elemental magic, magic of which our heroine is believed to have not been blessed, but Everleigh’s ‘mutt magic’ is much more than anyone could have imagined. As the series progresses, Everleigh’s strengths and powers make her the target of a group of assassins hoping to destroy whomever wears the crown. With the power to ‘scent’ out emotions, as well as her ability to manipulate magic, Everleigh is a powerful Queen, indeed. With her own band of ‘gladiators’ and Lucas Sullivan, the man that she loves, Everleigh is a force unto herself, a force that is constantly tested by would-be assassins, and spurned kings and queens. Told from first person perspective (Everleigh) CRUSH THE KING focuses on the preparations for the Regalia Games, a competition between kingdoms wherein Everleigh, as the new queen of Bellona, will prove she is worthy to wear the crown. Months earlier, the murder of her entire family, ordered by the Mortan King Maximus, left Everleigh the sole surviving member of the Winter bloodline, and as such our heroine is the ongoing target of numerous assassination attempts, all of which Everleigh has defended using her powerful magic but when the murderous plots continue to unfold at the Regalia Games, Everleigh knows that to stop the attempts on her life, she is going to have to take down and crush the king. Like Estep’s Elemental Assassin series, the Crown of Shards series focuses on elemental magic. From weather mages, elementals, gem and metal workers, ogres, shifters and gladiators, the similarities are numerous and familiar. Jennifer Estep pulls the reader into an enchanting, detailed, complex, intriguing, and intense story of family, power, greed, and magic
Michele-G 11 days ago
"Long live the Winter Queen." Queen Everleigh Blair (aka Evie) and her crew are back again, busy defending themselves and Bellona against Morta and King Maximus. However, this time, it seems that Evie may have decided that the best defense may be a good offense. Let's just say that things get very interesting at the Regalia Games. Everleigh has finally determined what her abilities and gifts are - but she learns that her ability to spontaneously think on her feet and let herself feel compassion for others are important as well. Evie's biggest challenge is her fear of placing her friend's in harm's way. For this reason, she is always trying to run interference and protect them. A large portion of this book deals with Evie and Maximus' ongoing attempts to assassinate one another. Maximus definitely is the perfect villain you love to hate. This storyline keeps the book quite interesting. However, one thing I definitely wanted more of was the secondary characters, in particular Sullivan. His relationship with Evie was still very much alive and well but their connection just didn't feel as intense to me in this book as it had before. Maybe it was because they are settled now with him as her consort. I'm not sure, but I wanted more from it. Overall, I found Crush the King to be a satisfying end to the Crown of Shards trilogy. I believe there could easily be a spinoff series at some point if Ms. Estep chooses to write one. There are so many characters that she could spin-off into a new series. Even though I'm sad to see this one end, I feel like Crush the King gave it a fitting conclusion. "I had killed a queen, protected a prince, and crushed a king. But most of all, I had survived." Thank you to NetGalley, Harper Voyager and Ms. Estep for this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
yaratrv 11 days ago
4.5 stars. I really liked b this installment! It was nonstop action and twisty plots, which make me appreciate Evie’s talent to play “the long game” so well. I just wish there would’ve more of Evie and Sullivan on the page together. I’m looking forward to see how the author further develops Maeven’s son’s character. He has so much potential. Some of the descriptions went on for too long for my liking, but overall this was a fun book and I can’t wait to read the next one :)
sufue 11 days ago
Although I am not a huge reader of fantasy, the first book in this series was highly recommended on a blog I follow, so I gave it a try. To my surprise, I practically inhaled that one, and then powered through the second book in the series almost as fast. So I was really happy to get an ARC of the third book, Crush the King, to read in exchange for my honest review. There’s not much point in trying to maintain any suspense – I really loved this book too. Although it feels a little different, not quite as much of a wild ride as the first two books, it still grabbed me and I read it in only a couple of sessions. I think part of the difference in pace is that in this book we get to start to see hints of some long-term plans that Evie has been nudging along. (This is not a spoiler – we are reminded right up front, in an epigraph, that Bellonans are very good at playing the long game.) There’s still a lot of adventure too though, as Evie tries to last long enough for her plans to mature. At some point I even sort of lost count of the number of assassination attempts she survives. So if adventure’s your thing, you’ll still be happy. Although I think you could probably enjoy this book without reading the first two, I do think you’d enjoy it a lot more if you had read them. Finally, although this story arc winds up quite tidily, there are a few hints dropped that indicate that there may be further books coming in the series, and I really really hope there are. Again, my thanks to the publisher and Edelweiss for the review copy.
BarbTRC 11 days ago
Crush the King by Jennifer Estep is the 3rd book in her wonderful A Crown of Shards fantasy series. I am a big fan of Jennifer Estep’s books, having read all her series. In A Crown of Shards, I loved the first two books and I thought Crush the King was equally as good as the first two. Fantastic series. Evie, our heroine and Queen of Bellona, having survived a terrible tragedy when the King of Morta murdered everyone in her royal family, with Evie having escaped. In Crush the King, Evie and her magnificent team of gladiators travel to the Regalia Games, where all the nobles of each kingdom converge annually to have their best representative play in various games. Evie is determined to make new allies to help her defeat the powerful King Maximus of Morta, as well as possibly assassinate him. Evie was a fabulous heroine, who over time and training from her amazing warrior friends, became a fierce, strong, brave, cunning, savvy and loyal Queen. She will have to use all of her power and smarts to be able to defeat the evil King. I loved seeing all her friends (Serilda, Paloma, Sullivan, Xenia, Cho) from the earlier books, who have all stood by her and help protect her To say too much more would be spoilers. What follows is an exciting, intense, non-stop action that has us on the edge of our seats. Estep has done it again with wonderful fantastic worldbuilding that kept our attention from start to finish. This was an exciting and enthralling fantasy, with fantastic characters (even the villains); surrounded by magic, violence, death, war, and intrigue that has us holding our breaths throughout. Crush the King was an intriguing exciting enthralling epic fantasy that was so well written by Jennifer Estep. She has created a wonderful heroine, and great cast of secondary characters. I strongly suggest you read this series.
Caroles_Random_Life 11 days ago
I devoured this book! I always have a long list of books that I need to be reading and I try to work through those books in order but every once in awhile a book comes along and all of my plans are thrown out. I just had to get started with this book as soon as I had a copy in my hands and once I started, I couldn't put it down. It is just that good! Evie and her group are on the defensive once again. It seems like the assassins just are not going to stop trying to get to Evie so she wants to turn things around and go on the offensive. It is time for the Regalia Games and Evie is gathering her times to match up against the other nearby kingdoms. There is a lot at stake and all eyes will be on Evie for the duration of the event. I think that I grow to love Evie more and more with each book in this series. She is smart and seems to be able to think several steps ahead at all times. She is incredibly brave and will put herself on the line when necessary. She never planned to be queen and hasn't trained for it like most have the opportunity to do but she is a natural. She wants what is best for her kingdom and really does care about others. This book was incredibly exciting. From the early assassination attempt until the final scene, I couldn't look away. I had no idea how things would go and I was pretty worried about the characters several times during the story. There was a lot of action but there was also a lot of political maneuvering which was a lot of fun to watch as well. I loved that the book was able to keep me guessing until the very end. I would highly recommend this series to others. I would recommend reading the series in order since each book builds on the events from the previous installment. I will say that this book felt very final to me which was a bit of a surprise. I hope that we see more books in the series and the finality that I felt was just the conclusion of a larger story arc. I definitely plan to read more from this very talented author. I received a digital review copy of this book from Harper Voyager via Edelweiss.