Cursed by Ice (Immortal Brothers Series #2)

Cursed by Ice (Immortal Brothers Series #2)

by Jacquelyn Frank

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Cursed by Ice (Immortal Brothers Series #2) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
**I received an ARC of this story in exchange for an honest review Garreth is the youngest of four brothers who went seeking a fountain to gain immortality. The Gods found out and each brother was cursed. Garreth tried talking his brothers out of it, but in the end still went along with it. Garreth's curse was to freeze over and over again, never able to die because of his immortality. Dethn, one of Garreth's older brothers, was able to break his curse of fire by conquering cities for his Goddess. The Goddess brought Garreth back to be her full time warrior in Dethn's place, even though he still goes through part of his curse every night. While conquering a city, Garreth meets a slave named Sariell, who is a wrenna. Through the story, Sariell and Garreth fall in love, giving the book a good ending. Garreth is a very likable character. You can really understand his reasoning for everything he does. You really sympathize with Sariell and understand what she is going through. I found that the plot flowed well. It was interesting and had some twists and turns. A thoroughly enjoyable read. I look forward to reading about the rest of the brothers.
bouncyberthaCR More than 1 year ago
3 - ”A comfortable cage is still a cage.” Stars. Cursed by Ice is the second book in Jacquelyn Frank’s Immortal Brothers series, I liked the characters a little more in this one, but I am still not blown away by it all, and I am not really sure why to be honest. The writing, pacing and plot are all pretty good, there is just something not quite hitting the spot for me in the overall scheme of things. Things have moved on a bit since the first book, Dethan (book 1) has now found his place back in the world, and in exchange for his own immortality has managed to persuade the Goddess, to partially release his youngest brother Garreth. Where Dethans curse was fire, Garreth’s is ice. The world in which these characters reside in is vividly described and easy to imagine, Garreth and Dethan find themselves at the walls of the City of Kith at the beginning of this book, and the action and adventure takes off from there. More mythical creatures and unique characters become involved in things as the story progresses. I really took a shine to Garreth, he came across as an honorable and noble guy who gives his all for those he cares about and the causes he believes in. Sarielle was a little easier to like than the heroine in the first book in the series in that she wasn’t looking to others to get her out of the situations she was in. I liked her spark and the fact that she kept fighting throughout the book for herself and her family, a little naïve and unsure in some areas, but together with Garreth they made a great pairing. This series is growing on me, two brothers left, and I wonder what adventures the author has in store for them, and the women that will inevitably tame them. ARC generously provided via Netgalley, in exchange for the above honest review.
Queenbethanny More than 1 year ago
Second in the Immortal Brothers Series. Good continuance of the series. I liked this book. I kept turning the pages wanting to make sure these two got their happily every after. I loved the heroine with her dragon. This book was told more from the hero's point of view. You could easily feel their emotions and growing love for one another. I would definitely recommend this unique series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TammyS32 More than 1 year ago
Cursed and destine to feel the pain of being frozen every night Garreth does the bidding of the gods by day. He meets a slave girl named Sarielle, both have secrets and an attraction for one another. Can they break their chains and finally be together? The story is fast paced and entertaining, I loved it!
aprilrenee1976 More than 1 year ago
fantasy meets history with a paranormal twist with a twisty bang of some erotica thrown in. What a great start to this new series.  ***A gifted copy was provided by Net Galley for an honest review*** This is book two in the Cursed series. Garreth been cursed by the gods to freeze over and over again till the end of time. BUT As a reprieve, a goddess offers him a possble boon; serve her by fighting for her in the war between the gods and she will only freeze him at night. Then we meet Sarielle, who is a slave in the city Garreth and his brother Dethan are trying to over throw for their goddess. Sarielle has a special connection with a wyren and due to her having the wyren, she is forced by the city rulers to use her wyren to protect the city. When Garreth finally takes the city, Sarielle now refuses to be a slave any longer. It’s a battle of the wills with a strong dose of sexual chemistry. They fall for each other with high passion. However the betrayal of others will tear them apart. Do they get back together or will the other keep them apart? I liked that Garreth and Sariella were both slaves to somebody elses’ agenda, so they knew what each other was going through. Garreth and Sarielle's journey too was fantastic and their love story gives the book a very lovely ending. I am glad that I didn’t allow myself to stop reading when it looked like their love story was over mid-way thru the book. Another great story by Ms. Frank –I cant wait to see what book 3 will be like. My rating: 4.2 stars ****
WildAboutBones More than 1 year ago
I read this book very quickly; I was unable to put it down. It kept me entertained, and I stayed up all night reading it. When I requested this title from NetGalley, I didn’t realize this was book 2 in the series. But being a Jacquelyn Frank title, I wasn’t worried because her stories can usually be read out of sequence without feeling lost. But I rushed and read book 1 Cursed by Fire anyway. And am really glad I did. Because we meet Garreth, our hero, only in his older brother’s, Dethan, memories in book 1, we only get to see him in his role as youngest brother from an older brother’s point of view. But here in his story, Garreth, is a warrior male in his own right. I’m glad I saw the earlier side of him in book 1 because I almost didn’t like him in the beginning of his story, but he quickly grew on me. I really like the heroine Sarielle. She’s a feisty wench if a little prone to drama. Being soul bound to a dragon, excuse me wyvern, is a very cool idea. Older brother Dethan has a large part in this story. While I loved him in book 1, here in Garreth’s story, he irritates me to no end. He’s so stuck in older brother protective mode, he doesn’t seem to be able to see Garreth as a man who can take care of himself. Secondary character Davine is such a good conniving villain. I like her as well even though I still don’t trust her. I also must thank Jacquelyn for the pronunciation guide for the characters in the front of the story. Wish more authors would provide this. I adore this author’s world building talent and the way the characters and worlds grow with each book in each of her series. I highly recommend reading her series in order not because you’ll be lost, but because you’ll miss the details and the characters’ and relationships’ histories and how they all intertwine. You’ll have a more well-rounded, enjoyable experience. If you haven’t read Jacquelyn Frank, you are missing out on some really good characters and worlds. She is on my “must read” authors list.
DiiMI More than 1 year ago
As the youngest of the brothers who dared to defy the gods and seek out the secret to immortality, Garreth’s punishment was to feel eternally cold, to be frozen and thawed out repeatedly, until the end of time. A deal made by one of his brothers sets him partially free, providing he does the bidding of the gods until his penance is complete. Until then, every night he would experience the torture of being frozen again. On a mission to conquer over realms, he comes upon a beautiful woman, who has the gift of communicating with a wyvern. Her master holds her heart hostage to do his bidding by keeping her twin sisters captive. Both of their worlds are lived as slaves to another, but the fierceness of Sarielle has Garreth longing for a life that includes more than being a warrior, but she cannot know his secret, of what he suffers every night. As Garreth brings out the independent spirit lying within this slave girl, he risks his own heart and his very life as they fall in love. As they learn to trust, they slowly open up about the secrets they carry, except for one, which may cost Garreth the woman of his dreams. Is love worth the risk of eternal torment or even death? Jacquelyn Frank’s Cursed by Ice brings out more of the story of the brothers who dared to go against the gods as she has created a world of magic, myth and fantasy is straddles the line between darkness and light. The tension of a new love grows slowly between two well-matched characters, and it feels right, good and sigh-worthy as this tale goes on. I received this ARC edition from Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine in exchange for my honest review.
celticmaggie More than 1 year ago
This is the 2nd book of the Immortal Brothers series. I was held on pins and needles with the 1st book and this was just as much the same. It is a bit different from her other books and it will really hold your attention. Let me just say that she has a very vivid imagination that she infuses all over her story. Dethan from the first book was cursed to burn all night-every night until he was released. This one is Garreth' s turn at cursed and freezing solid at night-all night. He meets Sarielle when they take her city for the Goddess Weysa. There are so many twists of good and bad in this story. Sarielle is bonded to a Wyvern. They are the same soul. There are lots of Adult reading moments that readers under 18 should not read this one. There are misunderstood female arguments and the brothers aren't much better. I hope you like this book. It reads pretty quickly as it is hard to put down. I hope you like these characters as much as I did. Enjoy your read. P.S. there is a short plug for the next book at the end! I have this book for an honest review for NetGalley.
Sandy-thereadingcafe More than 1 year ago
3.75 stars--CURSED BY ICE is the second installment in Jacquelyn Frank’s adult Immortal Brothers fantasy series focusing on four brothers cursed, by the gods and goddesses, in their search for immortality. This is Garreth and Sarielle’s storyline. Although CURSED BY ICE is the second in the series, it can be read as a stand alone but I suggest reading the series in order as background information and world building continues to develop throughout each successive storyline. Two hundred years earlier, four brothers went in search of the waters of Immortality and upon the discovery drank from the forbidden streams. The gods and goddesses were angered and cursed each brother to suffer eternal damnation and pain. Garreth’s punishment was to suffer the endless cycle of freezing and defrosting, and the accompanying pain that follows. When Garreth’s brother Dethan found love and was forgiven, Garreth was released from bondage to take over the command of the army of the gods. Although free during the daylight hours, Garreth would return to the same suffering each sundown only to be granted the same freedom several hours later. Weysa, the goddess of conflict, continues to demand obedience from Dethan and Garreth, and as such the brothers are commanded to continue their battle against an enemy of the gods. Conquering the city of Kith, the brothers discover a town dependent upon slavery and a woman who controls a dangerous beast. Enter Sarielle, a young woman who is soul-bonded to a wyvern and the woman who will melt Garreth’s frozen heart. The slow building storyline is similar in context to Jacquelyn’s CURSED BY FIRE. Weysa, the goddess of conflict, has commanded Garreth to enter into battle and secure the outlying cities, towns and villages in her name. As it pertains to Garreth's never ending curse, it was not as large of a plot point as was Dethan's fiery burn in CURSED BY FIRE. Garreth's nightly pain and suffering was almost an afterthought in the storyline. Sarielle, a former slave, will become Garreth’s captive; her soul-bond with the wyvern reveals an intimate connection at a physical and visceral level. Garreth is ever the protector; his attraction and need for Sarielle continues to build throughout the story. He is a cursed man, who has fallen in love, but knows that he will not claim Sarielle when he is tied to the gods for all time. The $ex scenes are intimate and revealing. The secondary characters include Davine, a young house maiden who will both befriend and betray Garreth and Sarielle. Dethan, Garreth’s eldest brother, returns as Garreth’s companion in battle but also becomes Garreth’s greatest threat to his relationship with Sarielle. I had a difficult time liking Dethan in his own storyline CURSED BY FIRE because of his attitude and cold demeanor, and with Garreth’s tale my animosity towards Dethan increases with his ill-conceived notions about Sarielle and his brother. Dethan is a threat to his brother’s happiness and is determined to destroy Garreth’s relationship with Sarielle, hurting his own brother in the process. Jacquelyn Frank’s mythological world building continues as the all powerful and all knowing gods and goddesses battle for the rights to control the humans, and in doing so, punish those responsible for defying the gods. As Garreth honors his debt to the goddess of conflict, yet another brother, will be freed from perpetual bondage only to return each evening to suffer the same fate as his brothers’ before. CURSED BY ICE introduces a series of mythological creatures including mages, wyverns, were-dragons and the Fae. CURSED BY ICE is an interesting and detailed storyline of fantasy and myth, the supernatural, and a happily ever after-for now. As each brother is granted a temporary freedom to serve and protect, he will come face to face with his future in yet another battle to prove allegiance to the gods.
HeatherjK More than 1 year ago
Second title in Jacquelyn Franks new Immortal Brothers series, it's paranormal fantasy meets historical romance with a twist. I liked the second book better than the first, Frank got into her groove and pacing with the writing much faster than she did in Cursed by Fire, and the plot of Cursed by Ice kept me engaged the entire book. While the writing is a little different than Frank's usual style if you have read and enjoyed her books before the series still contains her memorable, creative characters and plots lines. I loved that the Heroine Sarielle had lavender skin. Cursed by Ice is definitely worth the read, the relationship between Garreth and Sarielle is romantic, steamy, and contains just the right amount of tension and humor.  I received a free copy of this title from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Sailon More than 1 year ago
Garreth been cursed by the gods to freeze over and over again till the end of time. As a reprieve, a goddess offers him a boon; serve me by fighting for me in the war between the gods and I will only freeze you at night. Sarielle was a slave in the city Garreth and his brother Dethan are trying to over throw for their goddess. Sarielle has a special bond with a wyren and is forced by the city rulers to use her wyren to protect the city.  When Garreth finally takes the city, Sarielle refuses to be a slave any longer. Its a battle of wills with a heavy dose of undeniable chemistry.  Secrets, betrayals and heartache keeps you dedicated to this plot. Garreth is a great characters, extremely relatable...besides the freezing every night and being immortal and all.  Sarielle was wonderfully protective and showed an incredible amount of devotion to those she loves.  Ok, I wasn't a big fan of Dethan, his action made him a total asshat.  I was entertained, loved the wyren twist and completely pulled in by Sarielle's devotion to her sisters. Delightfully enchanting, Cursed by Ice is sure to be a hit with paranormal romance fans. I received this ARC copy of Cursed by Ice from Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine in exchange for a honest review.