Damage Control (Dirty Money Series #2)

Damage Control (Dirty Money Series #2)

by Lisa Renee Jones

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 1

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Damage Control 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book,I'm biting my nails..Ready for book 3
gaele More than 1 year ago
Lisa Renee Jones jumps right back in to our story of Shane and Emily, who we first met in Hard Money. Be sure you have a comfy chair, because you will be glued to it as you whip through the pages desperately seeking the answers right with them. Emily has secrets, we already know that, and while some were hinted at, the depth and destructive potential of these secrets is powerful, and serves to fuel much of the action and tension in this book. More importantly, Shane, the only member of his family with a moral compass, learned the lessons of single-minded determination and ruthless judgments to reach that goal from this family, and he is unafraid to take charge and act to both unearth the dangers and protect Emily, even as she hasn’t been entirely honest or open with him. Oh what a fun ride this story was! More than once I found myself holding my breath as the action and danger hit a fever pitch, only to have a moment to breathe where Shane and Emily take time to explore the connection that draws them together. The moments build on one another, as the relationship strengthens when secrets are revealed, and their chemistry sings. Shane is a wonderfully strong hero: alpha, driven, protective and concerned with both protecting Emily and discovering the danger that will allow her to live in peace. For Emily, she’s coming into her own and showing more of who she is, without struggling between keeping the ‘persona’ she ran with and her own self, allowing her heart and true personality to shine through. Following much the same arc as the Inside Out series, fans of that series are certain to love this one, but be warned: you can’t read Damage Control without reading Hard Money: you will be hopelessly lost and confused. Trust me, it’s no hardship: both of these books are read in one sitting, demanding your attention and emotions from beginning to end. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a great read.
13835877 More than 1 year ago
Damage Control is the second book in Lisa Renee Jones's Dirty Money Series and it was another great read. Jones flawlessly combines suspense, mystery, and romance in this book. Dots were connected and questions answered as we learned details about Emily's past. I don't want to spoil any of the surprises for any of you, but it now makes a lot of sense why Shane and Emily connect the way they do. A character who surprised me in this book was Brandon Sr. We really got to see his softer side in this book and I like his softer side, so I am really hoping he leaves the dark side in the next two books. Damage Control would have been a five star read for me, but I felt like there should have been more that happened. There were a lot of questions answered during this book, but not a lot that happened. With all of this build-up, I think Bad Deeds is going to be a very exciting book.
LEH0644 More than 1 year ago
Shane Brandon has found that his brother Derek is partnering with a Mexican cartel by shipping a performance enhancing drug under the label of a low-selling drug produced by Brandon Pharmaceuticals. Shane bought the pharmaceutical company since it was profitable and would counteract the dirty money earned by ventures that were risky or illegal. Now the wife of a pro baseballer is screaming illegal drugs and Shane has gone to his father about paying her off. He wants the cartel to get out of Brandon Enterprises but once they have a foot in the door, it’s hard to get rid of them and they want total control. If this were not enough, Shane has his doubts about his new love Emily Stevens. Her background story has bee checked out and there are a lot of holes. Who is she and what does she want? He told her no more lies and he will have the truth from her. Thank you, Lisa, for providing a recap of Hard Rules at the first of this book. This helps when there have been a few months between books of a series. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and look forward to reading Bad Deeds.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it
sm0120 More than 1 year ago
45.* Now things are starting to get really good! When I finished Hard Rules, the first book in the Dirty Money series, I was a little concerned with where the story was going. It felt a little all over the place to me, and I had a bit of trouble connecting all the dots. But with Damage Control, I'm so happy to say that finally the dots all started connecting and things were coming together for me! I have to say, I love how Ms. Jones summarized Hard Rules at the beginning of Damage Control- that was so helpful! With the summarization there was no need to go back and skim through HR to get a refresher before diving into DC. And dive right back into it we do- DC picks up right where HR left off, with secrets and lies and mystery and intrigue, and more Brandon family drama than you'd ever find in Dallas! Finally we're learning what Emily's big secret is, and why she's in hiding. Even with everything Shane has going on with his family and their company, he can't let Emily go and makes it his mission to protect her and do whatever he can to keep her safe. As things start to really heat up between Shane and Emily, so do they with the his brother and the Cartel. Damage Control is a great, fast-paced read that had me hanging on the edge of my seat.
gigiluvsbooks More than 1 year ago
Wall Street meets the Sons of Anarchy in Damage Control, the smoldering, scorching next novel in the explosively sexy Dirty Money series. The only thing more dangerous than a dark secret is a damaged heart… Shane Brandon has been pushed to the brink, torn between his corrupt family and his explosive, all-consuming desire for Emily Stevens, who he now knows is not who, and what, she seems. Has he trusted the wrong person? Will she, not his brother Derek, be the ultimate destruction of his family Empire? Emily tries to run from Shane, but he will stop her, confront her, force her to reveal all — one hot touch and kiss at a time, under every intimate detail of who this woman is, and what she wants, is exposed. But as he tears away the dangers of the unknowns with the woman in his bed, and in his heart, The Martina Cartel has set their sights on his company, his family, and the one piece of leverage they believe he won’t gamble with: Emily. Review: This is the second book in the series by Ms. Jones and like the first is full of backstabbing and intrigue all centered around Shane Brandon's family business empire. This second book picks up exactly where the first book leaves off. This book ends with a open ending so if that bothers you, luckily the third book came out this week so you can read two in a row. Now that the truth behind Emily has come out, she and Shane must work together to protect her and save his family's company. Full of intrigue, you never know who to trust as you read the story. The excellent drama continues in this installment and kept me enraptured throughout. Shane's and Emily's united front makes them a couple that you keep rooting for. Their chemistry is super hot and there are lots of sexy scenes to keep the blood pumping. Again, this story is not wrapped up at the end of this book and continues in the next book in the series. 4Stars *I voluntarily read an advance reader copy of this book provided by the publisher.*
CeeCeeHouston More than 1 year ago
The story picks up where Hard Deeds ended, things just keep getting harder and harder for Shane and Emily. Emily’s past is catching up with her and she tries to escape it the only way she knows how. By running. It doesn’t work the way she wants and soon she’s right back in Shane’s arms. He says he’ll protect her, not just from her demons but his. His family and their corrupt dealings have just gotten worse though and Shane is fighting hard just to keep his feet on steady ground. This is a fantastic 2nd part to a suspenseful, thrilling rollercoaster of a story, you need to keep your wits about you to keep up.
MBurton More than 1 year ago
This is turning out to be such an awesome series! There is so much going on that no one can claim to be bored. You've got two crazy families, the mob, FBI and a million secrets that are coming to light. You will want to start with book 1, Hard Rules. Just a small recap, Emily and Shane hook up for a one night stand only to find out Emily's new job is at Shane's company. As these two kept getting drawn together, Emily realizes Shane is in the middle of a tug of war with the family business. Shane realizes Emily is not who she says she is and he's determined to find out what she's hiding. Damage Control picks up right where Hard Rules left off. Shane is determined to get the truth out of Emily and vows to protect her, all the while he is battling his father, brother and even his mom to keep their company clean and gain control. His brother is mixed up with the mob and is willing to do anything to get the control of the business. Shane is cleaning up one disaster after another. He's willing to do almost anything to keep Emily safe and Emily is trying to help Shane by spying on his father and brother. This book kept me guessing the whole way through and I loved it! It does continue onto book 3. ARC provided NetGalley.
KristyJewel More than 1 year ago
I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. I'm really toggling between 4 & 4 1/2 stars so I figure I will round up to 5 because that is what I do for a 4 1/2 star rating. Damage Control is the second in the Dirty Money series and I really enjoyed it. The characters are wonderful and complex. I loved all of the dimensions that each character has. Shane and Emily are quick witted and it was a lot of fun to see the chemistry between the characters. I'm completely intrigued by the plot line of this series. I have been wanting to get to the end the second I started reading this book. I'm glad that this book grabbed my attention more than "Hard Rules" it was a quick read (when I didn't have to stop due to a week long migraine). All in all, I really like this series and I cannot wait to read the ending.
PennieM More than 1 year ago
Oh, what a tangled web of lies this family weaves... This book picks up right where Hard Rules left off so if you did not read that one you don't want to start this one or you will be totally lost (I had to go back and re-read it because I was a year out from reading it). In this one we learn Emily's secret and more of Shane's family's absolutely dysfunctional ways. I have to say I am really enjoying this series and really glad I get to delve into the next book immediately! I highly recommend this series and will not give anything away other than to say take a deep breath because there is a lot going on! **Received this ARC for review from the publisher via NetGalley**
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
Most important part of this review - if you haven't read Hard Rules stop and do that first. This is a series that must be read in order. This book picks up right were Hard Rules left us hanging. In this one Emily and Shane's relationship is put to the test when Emily's secrets are uncovered and poor Shane is not only dealing with that but with his completely power and money hungry dysfunctional family. All this while trying to save the family business. No stress though. I was slightly let down with Emily's secret. I would have liked it to be a bit more dramatic but maybe there is more to come about this. Overall the book and series is fantastic so far. The entire series is very well done and definitely not to be missed. If your not a fan of cliffhangers you may want to wait until book 3 Bad Deeds releases to start but DO start. You won't be disappointed. I highly recommend it.
tsmb02 More than 1 year ago
This book picks up right where Hard Rules left off. Shane has confronted Emily about who she really is. Emily is afraid that whoever is looking for her is going to find Shane and hurt him and since she has fallen in love with him, she knows she must leave him so he doesn't get harmed. Too bad Shane is not going to let her go. After a mad search, Shane finally finds Emily and convinces her that they belong together and he is not letting her go. After some poking and prodding, Emily finally lets Shane know all her secrets....and compared to his, they are not so bad! LOL The Brandon family is still up to all the games they keep playing with each other. It is crazy how people in the same family treat each other! While Shane is trying to get the family business to be 100% legit, his brother Derek is too busy trying to bring in the Martina Cartel. Throw in both of Shane's parents games and this is one crazy ride. Shane is starting to realize that he needs to start playing the game a little dirtier and I can't wait to see where this will lead!
BookReview4you More than 1 year ago
'Damage Control' by Lias Renee Jones is book Two in the "Dirty Money" series. This continues the story of Emily Stevens and Shane Brandon. I would recommend reading the previous book "Hard Rules" since that book starts their story. But, Ms. Jones did set this book up so that you could catch up to their story if you choose not to read the first book. Damage Control picks up right where Hard Rules ended. As we know Emily hasn't be honest with Shane about herself and her past. But Shane is now confronting her and wanting her to have no more lies between them. Since his brother Derek did a background check on Emily, Shane wants answers. But Emily is arguing that her secrets are her secrets and upset that a background check was done on her. Emily saw something that could get her killed and possible him if she is found out. Shane is still dealing with his family and trying to bring things to a honest dealing but his family is pretty messed up I think. I just cannot get enough of this series and their story does get continued to another book. I wish this story could be made into a movie...I love it that much! Dirty Money Series in Order: Book 1: Hard Rules Book 2: Damage Control Book 3: Bad Deeds Book 4: End Game "My honest review is for a special copy I voluntarily read."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love anything Lisa writes. Can't wait for the final book to be released.
TerryL56 More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the Dirty Money series and Brandon empire continues. Shane is still trying to keep Brandon enterprises on the straight and narrow but Derek is making it harder every day. The Martina Cartel will stop at nothing to get into bed with Brandon Enterprises. The twists and turns in the story keep Shane and his men on their toes. Finally Shane gets his way and Emily tells him her secrets. I was a little disappointed by her secret and then nothing happened with it, but hopefully it will come more into play in the next book. I received a copy courtesy of St. Martin's Press through NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.
Chelon More than 1 year ago
Plots, schemes, lies, truths, it all made me tired, but I loved it. Everyone has an agenda and no one really trust anyone else completely. I feel so sad for Shane, even though he doesn’t trust he still has enough love to try and save everything for everyone. I don’t know how I feel about Emily, although I understand her initial motives but I common sense. It’s like girl he thinks he’s superman what do you think is going to happen?
nelriv More than 1 year ago
Received an ARC for my fair review for netgalley. What can I say about this book, but Shane's family is crazy. This books, picks up from the cliffhanger it lefts us with, thank god. While Shane knew that Emily was lied to him, and was did not know everything, he wants to protect her. We find out Emily's secret, and how she is scared of telling Shane, that is could put him in danger, so she rather leave. So many crazy things happen, and yet again, we have a cliffhanger, so I guess we wait for the next one.
CrystalsBookWorld More than 1 year ago
Hail the Queen! Lisa Renee Jones is just an amazing writer! Every book that I come across from this lady has become another all time favorite for me. Damage Control is book two in the Dirty Money series. This book had me hating that there was only 24 hours in a day. I could not keep my hands off this book and I had to start reading it during the week. That is the only reason why it took a couple of days to finish. Life just had to get in the way lol. Now enough of my rambling and on to the book. Damage Control lived up to the hype that it had received on its release day. Shane is still so good at playing bad. Emily's secrets come out and I never saw it coming. I had my own speculations and I was so wrong. To prevent spoilers in my review I really can't get into detail what I thought was going to be exposed. Let's say you will want to know the hows, whens, and whys. The Brandon's are playing a very dangerous game and the intensity heats up 100 times in book two. Emily and Shane are stronger together than apart. Damage Control was thrilling, controlling, and has you biting your nails down! Shane and his all alpha sexiness with Emily is scorching! Damage Control is the book you need! Caution...you will become overheated ;) Bad Deeds is out soon and I can not wait to start on that book! The Dirty Money series is so much more than I could have ever expected!
MusicInPrint More than 1 year ago
This is the 2nd book in the Dirty Money series by Lisa Renee Jones. This is not a stand alone novel and the confusion would be stressful without reading these in order. Met Shane and Emily in the first book with both dealing with secrets that could lead to death and or destruction. Emily is running from her past and Shane is relentless to make her stay. Chemistry is explosive between this couple if only events around them would settle down. Mafia, back stabbing family, and unfaithful friends make this a page turner to enjoy. "A copy of this book was provided by St. Martin's Press via NetGalley with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read and my comments here are my honest opinion."
dshutters More than 1 year ago
Another great book from Lisa! This has suspense, mystery, intrigue, drama,romance and sex. This book is the second in the series. If you read the first book Hard Rules you know how it begins and this adds more information about what is happening with Shane and Emily. As you read you are drawn into it and you want to keep reading to find out what happens. I will quote from it that stood out to me. " Secrets, Lies. Trust, Love, Hate, Family, Sex. " That quote is what this story is about and I look forward to the next book Bad Deeds!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can not wait for book 3. I could not but the books down. Love that Emily is a strong woman.
Lost-N-Love-N-Hopeless More than 1 year ago
Sin. Scandal. Seduction. Secrets. Salacious. Could the day get any worse? Shane just did not know what the hell was going on. I must admit that this was a bit more than I was expecting but that was the good thing about it all. I was full of assumption when I went in to this book. I am so happy that I picked it up and continued reading. Shane was oooooh my. Shane got me. The one thing that took away from the book was by the end I still was not sure the deal with Emily. I was not completely sure that I liked her enough to care what was in her past. But at the same time Shane. Whatever she was hiding would affect Shane. Shane’s family provided enough edge on, in your face drama to keep the book going all on its own. Until you remember this was supposed to be a romance also. That was when you had to accept Emily as the other half of this couple.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Second book in this series and things are really heating up. There's so many loose ends to be tied up in the next book, Will Derek live? Will Shane save the company? Will Emily find out the truth about her parents' deaths ? Will her brother come clean? What happened to her step-father? And most importantly will Shane and Emily find their HEA?