Danger Next Door (Red Stone Security Series #2)

Danger Next Door (Red Stone Security Series #2)

by Katie Reus

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Danger Next Door (Romantic Suspense) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
TheJeepDiva More than 1 year ago
Grant notices his new neighbor the moment she moves into the house next door. He can’t help but notice her, she’s beautiful. He also believes that his burn scars will scare her. Belle is thankful that her neighbor is around when she is attacked in her new back yard. On her own for the first time in her life she finds having the former detective right next door a comfort. The fact that he is protective and handsome is just an added bonus. Grant and Belle are trying to figure out what is beginning between them. The mutual attraction is there. They enjoy the time together, but someone keeps attacking Belle. While this keeps Belle close to Grant he wants to find the person behind it. The violence of the attacks are rapidly escalating and her life is in constant danger. I loved Grant and Belle’s characters. Belle’s blunt, holds nothing back personality is exactly what Grant needed. Grant tried to hide away from the world after he was left scarred by an explosion. He still has his all of the instincts and protectiveness that the military and law enforcement work engrained in him. His issues stem from having recently had his view about his personal appearance changed. He is still physically and mentally healing. Belle works at a hospital and has been through some medical problems of her own. She knows how to handle many of the emotional problems Grant is struggling with. Having not read the first book in Katie’s Red Stone Security series I can easily say this book works as a stand-alone. The characters from the first book are mentioned, but they do not have an actual role in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
## I really enjoyed this book. My only complaint is that it was a tad short, ergo only 4 stars. I read it in 2 hours. I wish the author would've expanded the story a bit. It had all the right ingredients for a terrific romantic suspense. The heroine was great as was the hero and their chemistry was undeniable. Albeit short, I still recommend this book.
AMR0406 More than 1 year ago
Loved this book in the series! I really enjoyed Danger Next Door, the second in the Red Stone Security series by Katie Rues. This is Grant and Belle’s story. Belle, who is trying to get out from under her family’s protective nature, moves in next door to Grant who is struggling with depression over a sting operation that involved him tripping a bomb and left him scarred and on leave from work as a detective with the Miami Police Department. Belle is a target of a serial killer wanting to “play” with Grant (but he does not realize it at the time). Because of this, Grant, and Belle spend a lot of time together. As with her first book in the series, I like how Katie writes a story where the hero and heroine are together for most of the book. I enjoyed watching how the chemistry between Belle and Grant is tested and restrained as they got to know each other. Katie did a nice job developing the characters of Grant and Belle. I like how she writes in third person so you get to feel both characters’ emotions and feelings. She also did this well with the serial killer which was a little creepy! The few love scenes in the book were very well written and fit the story and characters. It was very hard to put this book down, which is why I was able to read it in a day. The suspense of the killer possibly capturing Belle as well as the relationship of Belle and Grant heating up keeps you reading to see what will right up until the end. I highly recommend this book!
practimom More than 1 year ago
This was the second in the Red Stone Security series and it was excellent! Grant is a super hunky hero who was wounded on a police sting in a drug house. Wounded while trying to save a 6 year old. He gets put on leave to heal, and while on leave he gets a new neighbor, in the form of the gorgeous Belle. Belle, who has her own scars, is very sweet and sees past the scars Grant try to hide. It was a great love story, with plenty of suspense, and I thought I had figured out who the "bad" guy was, but I was thrown for a loop. This was an excellent read that I highly recommend and I can't wait for the next installment.
SonyK 7 days ago
What a great story! This is the second book in the “Red Stone Security” series, I feel this could be read as a standalone. Grant is a great character, just loved him; he's so protective by nature and yet so vulnerable. Belle is a great character too, she's honest, sweet, absolutely adorable. I felt because the author did such a great job with writing these characters, that I knew them as close personal friends or friends of a friend. The story kept me reading well into the night . Belle's stalker was so unpredictable and in my opinion needed some major help. I felt the story had the prefect balance of suspense, mystery, and well written romance. Would I recommend this book to family and friends? Heck yeah! I loved everything about this couple and other characters in the story. I look forward to reading more from this series! ***I voluntarily reviewed this ARC for an honest review via NetGalley, this is my honest opinion and has not been influenced by the author, Publishers or NetGalley in anyway.*** Thank you!
FromTheSouth 16 days ago
All things considered, this heroine is one of the luckiest, unluckiest book characters I’ve come across in a long time. Despite the life threatening situations she keeps finding herself, at least she finds true love in the midst of all this seemingly senseless, unprovoked attacks. It’s like she’s got a target on her back. Fortunately for her, Grant isn’t going to let the bad guy get his death wish. Belle breezes into Grant’s life like a lifeline, folks. Physically and emotionally scarred after getting injured on the job, he’s been struggling to get back into the swing of things again. His instant attraction to Belle begins him on the path of healing and recovery. As usual, this author never seems to fail at giving me an alpha protective, possessive, good guy hero and a leading lady I can’t help but root for. If this storyline intrigues you, well, you are the lucky one now. Turns out this book is just one of a 15 book series. Each one is a standalone but connected to this group of macho, lovable, private security book heroes. Title: Danger Next Door, Series: Red Stone Security (Book 2), Author: Katie Reus, Pages: 176, stand-alone but part of a series, scarred alpha protective hero, damsel in distress heroine, very steamy scenes, romance safe. (I voluntarily read and reviewed a free copy of this book via NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own. I was not given any payment or compensation for this review, nor is there any affiliation or relationship between this reviewer and the author/publisher/NetGalley.)
belllla 18 days ago
Grant has rough 6month behind him and is seems that new neighbor will bring sun in his life. Belle is grateful because Grant helps her with her family friend, which cross the line. In the next few days, there are many unexplainable moments and someone wants to kill Belle. Grant and Belle spend a lot time together and feelings are developed. Grand is insecure because his scares but Belle is interested in him as whole. The quick enjoyable story with suspense action and romance. I volunteered to review an ARC of this book for Netgelly
Anonymous 3 months ago
I+volunteered+to+read+and+review+a+readers+copy+of+Danger+Next+door+thru+Netgallery+.+I+really+enjoyed+reading+this+story+.+It+takes+off+from+the+beginning+and+doesn%27t+slow+down+till+the+end+.+Grant+is+a+fantastic+character+due+to+an+injury+on+the+job+as+a+detective+for+Miami+PD+.%0AHe+stepped+down+and+is+not+sure+what+his+next+direction+is+yet+.+Belle+a+neonatal+nurse+finally+getting+Independence+from+her+over+protective+family+buys+a+house+of+her+own+next+door+to+Grant+.+Grant+comes+to+her+rescue+more+than+once+.+A+relationship+blooms+and+a+criminal+from+Grant%27s+past+reappears+%2C+and+goes+after+%0AWhat+he+holds+dear+.+This+is+a+pulse+pounding+%2C%0Aaction+packed+suspense+.+Has+alot+of+sexy+times+.+A+fantastic+story+.+The+characters+are+wonderful+a+great+second+story+to+the+series+.+I+highly+recommend+taking+the+time+to+read+.
Evampire9 4 months ago
Grant Caldwell is trying to hide from is well-meaning family while he heals until he finds himself drawn to his beautiful new neighbor with problems of her own. He can’t stay away even though he knows he’d never have a chance with a woman like her – not with his disfigurement. Belle grew sheltered and smothered and now that she’s finally out on her own she plans to wring everything she can out of her life. She sets her sights on Grant and nothing can stop her from getting him into her bed – until a madman fixates on her and Grant sees it as his duty to protect her at all costs. This romantic suspense is an emotionally gripping and highly suspenseful read that holds readers in its grip until the very end. Grant and Belle are two strong characters that both have pasts that they have to overcome, pasts that have reacting in different ways and readers can practically feel all of the emotions that flow from the pages of this engaging romance. The romance is sweet and quite delightful as Belle teaches Grant that she’s very willing to be his. The plot is faced paced and full thrilling excitement and suspense as a violent criminal stalks Belle with no intentions of stopping until he has destroyed her. An OMG twist has readers jaws dropping as the climax reels the readers in and has them holding their breath in suspense and the conclusion to the romance between Belle and Grant is a sigh worthy event for romance readers.
paytonpuppy 4 months ago
Detective Grant Caldwell is injured and scarred when a raid goes awry. He leaves Miami P.D. to complete his recovery, not sure of his future. He knows he has a job with Redstone Security with his brothers and father, as his father started Redstone. His new neighbor, Belle Manikas, has barely moved in, when he interrupts a man arguing with her. Later, when a different man breaks in to Belle’s home, Grant scares him away and arranges for the installation of a security system. Grant decides that he will do all that he can to keep her safe. He is attracted to Belle, but can she really ignore his scars? When Belle makes it clear the she has scars of her own and she only wants him to see himself as she does…a strong, protective amazing man. What an emotional addition to the Redstone series as they deal with the serial killer that has her in his sights. I received an advance review copy at no cost and without obligation for an honest review. (by paytonpuppy)
Joey442 More than 1 year ago
This is a terrific romantic suspense. I really liked Belle. She was strong enough to leave her over-protective family and live on her own. Yes, they had a reason to be protective of her. Her childhood health issues had them constantly worried about her. But they took things too far when they arranged her marriage. Anyway, I'm glad she stood up to them and moved out. Belle had the hots for her new neighbour and wanted nothing more than to get him in bed. But sadly he had been badly scarred when a drug bust went wrong while he was a detective. He thought the scars looked awful and nobody would be interested in him. But Belle didn't care about his scars and wanted him anyway. It was tense watching Belle being stalked and attacked. But I liked the way Red Stone Security protected her. I recommend this book to romantic suspense fans.
ytcruz More than 1 year ago
I have listened to a couple of the audiobooks in this series, and have come to love it. This one was no different. The main characters are Grant Caldwell and Belle Manikas. Grant, a former Miami PD detective, is still recovering from a drug bust gone wrong. He was left with not only external deforming scars, but also with internal ones. Belle, has just moved next to Grant , and the attraction between them is instant. Though she currently is a nurse, she knows all about scars and pain, since she too has them. It was heartwarming to see these two lower the walls around themselves. Thanks to Belle, Grant seems to start living. But evil has surrounded them, and someone wants to hurt Belle. Grant has come to her rescue a couple of times but will he be able to safe her once again? While the story was engaging, and filled with suspense, bag guys , hunky good guys, and romance, what I loved most was the author’s treatment of Grant and his scars as well as Belle’s tenderness towards him. Another must listen to from this talented author. I was gifted this audiobook . The opinions expressed are solely my own.
LindaTownsend More than 1 year ago
Classic Katie Reus with an ultra-protective alpha, suspense to keep you on edge and a steamy romance! Grant leaned forward, covering the short distance between them so that their lips were a fraction apart. His warm breath tickled her face, making heat pool between her legs. “I don’t want to take advantage of you,” he said so softly it took a moment for her to register his words. I am in the process of going back and catching up on the previous installments I'd missed in Katie’s awesome Red Stone Security series. Danger Next Door was one of them. It is the story of Grant Caldwell and Belle Manikas. Grant is an ex-Marine working as a detective with the Miami Police Department. As the story opens, Grant is preparing to storm a home functioning as a cocaine lab in Miami. He is injured in that raid and put on medical leave. While recuperating at home, he gets his first glimpse of Belle, his beautiful new neighbor. He later discovers that she is a neonatal nurse at the hospital. Grant and Belle appear throughout the series so I was thrilled to finally listen to their story. I was utterly riveted from the beginning to the end. This narrator, Pyper Down, was new to me. She provided a polished performance with a pleasant and clear voice. That said, I do prefer Sophie Eastlake, the narrator who I'm used to listening to as she finished narrating this series. Pyper's voices and delivery were different from what I was used to – but perfectly adequate. I honestly have no complaint whatsoever with Pyper's performance other than I thought her male voices could have been deeper - but I adapted to her portrayal of them very quickly. Even though Danger Next Door is the second book in the author’s Red Stone Security series, it works perfectly well as a stand-alone if that is your preference. Just know that there are interconnected characters and that, once you start reading the series, the odds are high that you will want to read them all! The series just wrapped up with the fifteenth installment and, never once, did the story-line pale. It’s a fantastic series from beginning all the way through to the end. Danger Next Door is classic Katie Reus with an ultra-protective alpha, suspense to keep you on edge and a steamy romance! It's a relatively quick read, but action-packed to the hilt! Now... on to Fatal Deception, the third book in the series and another installment I'd previously missed…. Story: 4 1/2 Narration: 4
rmcrms5 More than 1 year ago
Love this series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dlsully75 More than 1 year ago
Another great book by Katie Reus! This is the second book in the Red Stone Security Series. It is full of action, suspense, and romance. Grant is a former detective that quit the force after a drug bust went bad. He obtained some severe scarring from the incident and was afraid that no woman would want to be with him because of the way he looked. Grant is a tough, magnetic character and is very protective of those he cares about. Belle is Grant's new neighbor. Finally, Belle is moving out of her parents home and into her own place. Belle is a great heroine-she is very strong and brave and she tells you how she feels. I love it. A lot of times there is no filter where her mouth is concerned. When Belle is accosted at her home by an old family friend, Grant jumps in to protect her and that is the beginning of their relationship. Later when someone tries to break in her house to get to her, Grant will stop at nothing to protect her and make sure she stays safe. I really liked the characters in this book and I look forward to reading the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story and characters. Fast paced. Fun read.
SoniaF More than 1 year ago
The only problem with this story is it's short - less than 100 pages. However, it's got all the elements that make a good story up. The main couple is so passionate, I loved reading how they met, seeing them falling in love. Also, the plot of who and why someone is trying to kill Belle is an interesting and thrilling one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not finish it. Rediculously not believable. Stopped at page 128. Woman too weak, hero to controlling, too many incidents in just a couple of days, way too much heat with a complete stranger a in only a couple of days.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not wait to read the rest of the series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago