Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat Books

Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat Books

by Francesca Lia Block

Paperback

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat Books 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 98 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didnt just read this book....I tasted it, touched it, smelled it, saw it, and heard it. Poetry that is oddly sensory- every be-bop and slinkster word delectable. In other words.....I adored every magical word of it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ever since I discovered Weetzie Bat when I was 10 I have cherished Fracesca Lia Block's work, and reread all of her books until they fell apart. Her writing is so poetic and beautiful, you can easily lose youself in her world. She also shows Los Angeles in a very uinique unique light. It's a pleasure to have a complete book of all the Weetzie Bat tales.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This falls squarely into the magical realism type of story. I would probably have enjoyed it a bit more if I was younger, but this story of a complicated family, who have complicated relationships and around whom things that are possibly magical happen. They have their own language and thinking and it's about acceptance and knowing yourself.The five stories are Weezie Bat - a short story that introduces the main characters in the story and their relationships with each other. Witch Baby which explores one of the children; Cherokee Bat and the Goat guys is about what happens when the parents go to make a film and the kids get involved in a band with some magical items. Missing Angel Juan is about Witch baby following her love Angel Juan to New York and finding that maybe letting go is true love. And Baby Be Bop is about Dirks' past.Overall, it is interesting and I could see where it would influence me if I was younger but I think I was a little spoilt by the hype.
krau0098 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the collection of the Weezie Bat Books all into one book. I picked this up because it sounded like an interesting urban fantasy; that wasn't really what it was.This book follows Weezie Bat's family. Each book is done from a different character's point of view. More than anything the books are about facing the difficulties of growing up and how a person's personality can affect that. For the most part the book takes place in LA. There are odd bits of magic thrown in at rare points; a genie shows up to grant wishes, Baby Witch tours New York city with her dead grandfather. These fantastical happenings are rarities in the stories though; they are written in a way that leaves you wondering if the character really did run into something magical or are they just hallucinating?What makes this book different and special is the way it is written. Block throws in so many crazy ways of describing things that it will leave your mind reeling. She tries to explain the taste of a picture, the sound of a smell, the texture of a sight. The novels are decadent purely because of the descriptions...there is so much glitter, so many feathers, petals falling, raindrops touching. With her descriptions Block turns LA into a fantasy world where one doesn't really exist. She uses this over-describing to give her characters personality. Weezie Bat is full of sunshine and everything she touches seems to turn to gold. Baby Witch is dark and chaotic and when she tells the story it is in shades of grey.Overall I thought these were unique and interesting stories. They weren't what I expected. The characters didn't have a goal or a plot to follow, outside of obtaining their own happiness. Unfortunately like a really rich dessert, the decadent descriptions and frivolous characters started to be too much. By the end of the book, I just wanted to be done with it. The lack of a plot, the characters inability to make anything other than rash emotional decisions, and the amount of time it takes for Block to describe anything started to bug me. I know that these characters are supposed to be teaching life lessons, but they just seemed very immature. And though I enjoyed the novelty of Block's writing in the beginning, by the last story I was sick of it. I would imagine Block's books are something best taken in small doses.Will I read another book by Block? Probably not, unless I am in the mood for something over the top, decadent, and wandering.
callmecayce on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Block's book was one of the oddest I'd ever read. It was engrossing and I tore through it, but I'm not really sure I liked it. The writing style was sometimes extremely hard to get through and not all the characters were likable. I don't regret reading it, but I'm in no hurry to read any of her other books.
kougogo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The breadth of experience and wisdom and beauty here is astounding. I liked some of the novels better than others, but they all were written with panache and filled with spontaneity.
chapters on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I started reading these books in high school and was totally enraptured. Picking them up more than a decade later I found all the joy in reading these fantastical tales still there. Francesca Lia Block amazes me with her ability to mix gritty urban reality and the incredible. She's still one of my favorite authors all these years later.
WildCelticRose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of my all-time favorites! Dangerous Angels tells the story of Weetzie Bat and her crazy, magical family in the City of Angels. Beautifully written. I can read this over and over and it never gets old. The pages are just saturated with poetry and magical imagery.
francescadefreitas on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love-love-loved this. It made me feel all hoppity and happy. I am sorry I didn't read these stories when they first came out, and I'm almost sorry that I'll never be able tore ad them again for the first time.Block takes stories and distils them down to their essence, slight images and words that build something magical. There is no filler here, just story.These fairy tales don't end with happily ever after, they end with life - life that will be happy and sad, easy and difficult, but life that has to be lived. Again and again we see love, between families, friends, lovers, and the risks we have to take to experience love, and the joys and pain it can bring.Just splendid.
sonyagreen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I first read Weetzie Bat during my YA Lit class. This is all of the books in one tome.There's an air of era to this book, but in a mixed-up all-eras way. There are so many references to different eras and cultures, it smooths over the fact that these books were written a while ago.The stories illustrate ways you can look for love, look at love, and deal with the love you have for others. That's not easy. Without hitting you over the head, I think you end up feeling like you know more about how to view yourself, and those who are around you. They're written in a way that appeals to teens, but their funky era-ness (I can't think of a better way to describe it) transcends even age.
anyanwubutler on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This novel is actually five young adult novellas bound into one volume. The first Weetzie Bat is about the title character and her family and friends. The second is Witch Baby about one of her daughters. After reading these I wasn¿t sure I wanted to go on, so I talked to an English teacher who had just finished reading these books. She recommended I read the last one Baby Be-Bop about Weetzie¿s best friends, housemates and the fathers of her other daughter Cherokee. Dirk and Duck are both lonely very young gay boys without stories to tell, or so they believe, until they tell their stories and get together. Baby Be-Bop was very special, but this quote comes from Weetzie Bat and gives a feeling for how oddly this book is written. Sometimes it feels like poetry, sometimes like fantasy, sometimes hyper-realism, sometimes magic realism."He kissed her.A kiss about apple pie a la mode with the vanilla creaminess melting in the pier heat. A kiss about chocolate when you haven¿t eaten chocolate in a year. A kiss about palm trees speeding by, trailing pink clouds when you drive down the Strip sizzling with champagne. A kiss about spotlights fanning the sky and the swollen sea spilling like tears all over your legs."
threebeans on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I wish I had read this as a teenager. I might have found myself and my sense of "home" much earlier. These stories are beautiful and magical.
hoosgracie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dangerous Angels is a compilation of the five, excellent, Weetzie Bat stories. The stories are quite simply magical and lovely. Read them, you¿ll thank yourself.
feminist_prof on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Block tackles difficult issues, such as sexuality, eating disorders, anger, relationships, etc. through the entire Weetzie series (all of the books are contained in this one volume). Her use of language not only delves us deeply into these issues, but into the lives of the characters.I highly recommend anything by her.
Crowyhead on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of those magnificent-life-saving-books. I read Weetzie Bat in ninth grade, and I really think it changed my life.
orangejulia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a book which you will either love to pieces or find intensely aggravating. I adored it. It's a compendium of books that deal with Weetzie Bat, her boyfriend Secret Agent Man, and their extended kooky family. I love the quirkiness of the characters and the lush language Block uses to describe their surroundings. I read this as an adult, but I would have been utterly thrilled if I had received this as a teen ager.
BooksCatsEtc More than 1 year ago
I really wanted to like this, because my niece gave it to me and told me how meaningful it was to her as a teenager. But I couldn't. What with the magical realism, the stream of consciousness writing and the cutsie-poo names, I couldn't get thru a page without either rolling my eyes or grinding my teeth. I can understand the message of "it's OK to be different" being a big selling point, but this just was not my book.
MrDoodlemeir More than 1 year ago
Just one of my favorite books in all the world. The magic is so naturally incorporated and, really, unremarkable. The love story between Dirk and Duck is so sweet and real. A book for all ages.
miztrebor More than 1 year ago
I first discovered Francesca Lia Block years ago through her book Weetzie Bat. I had randomly found a copy at my bookstore and figured it'd be a fast, fun read. I ended up being right. I also grabbed Girl Goddess #9 soon after, but that was my only experience with Block's work for many years. Luckily, at some time last year I was reintroduced to this author and discovered that there were more books in the Weetzie Bat series. Most of those are collected in Dangerous Angels. Overall I enjoyed these five books (of seven total in the series). I enjoyed a few more than others, but there weren't any that I didn't like here. I think the fact that they were all collected into one book made the experience with these characters even better. It kept reminding me that these characters are part of something bigger. Block created a very diverse, eccentric cast of characters for this series. Their names alone can make the reader smile. I also found the way the setting, the cities and houses, becomes a character in itself. These books wouldn't be what they are if the settings weren't incorporated so well. I'd have a hard time reviewing the individual books in this collection without jumping into spoiler territory, so I won't go into that. The only thing I'll mention is that my reread of Weetzie Bat was surprising. I think I got more out of it for the second read and wasn't bored at all (which is a fear I have for rereading anything). The magic was still there. Another thing to note was Missing Angel Juan, the fourth book. I wasn't sure how to feel about it at first because it's the only book that's written in the 1st person point of view. It threw me off for a bit, but I ended up realizing that it was the only way that book would work. 3rd person POV wasn't suited for Missing Angel Juan, or Witch Baby's character for that journey. There are two more books in the Weetzie Bat series, Necklace of Kisses and the prequel Pink Smog. They're both on my TBR and will be read soon. I have a feeling that once I'm done with those, I'll be missing Weetzie and her friends. These are stories and characters that'll stay with me for a long time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The weezie bat has had one of the best impacts on my life(besides harry potter). Ms. Block has the writing style to have you hooked til the very end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have loved this series since I first read it as a teenager and it is just as wonderful now as then. It was the style of the writing that first drew me to this author's books, and keeps me coming back for more now. This is a long-time favorte of mine and a collection Ihighly recommend. Magical, lovely, and filled with fun and unique characters, this is a great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago