Dangerous

Dangerous

by Minerva Spencer

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dangerous 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good story
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Mia and Adam's story! Mia must marry and is trying to decide on the best of the bunch when her father introduces her to Adam. He is the first man that her father has pushed in front of her that she is even remotely attracted to. They share a mutual attraction that is read hot! Adam can't believe that Mia's father has asked him to meet his daughter. Most father are doing everything they can to keep him away from them since he has lost 2 wives under unusual circumstances, but Adam needs an heir so he goes to meet the daughter. When he meets Mia, she isn't anything that he expected. Can these two turn this marriage of conveniece into a marriage based on love? I can't wait to read the next book in the series, Barbarous, which comes out in October.
def618 More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful first book! It starts out slowly as you get introduced to the hero, Adam, and heroine Euphemia (aka Mia). As you get to know them you won’t want to put it down. As a young teen, Mia was sent to a school near the Mediterranean Sea. Her ship was taken by pirates and she was sold into a mid-eastern harem. Seventeen years later, she escaped and was returned to England. She finds her homeland cold and confusing. Her father wants her married and off his hands. At her age (32), she doesn’t expect much. Adam Exley is called the Murderous Marquess as he has been married twice and both women died. He is handsome, wealthy and would like to remarry as he has three daughters to raise. Mia accepts his proposal, but things do not go smoothly. Mia has secrets that she won’t share even though she is falling in love with him. In his anger, he pushes her away. When he discovers she is gone and in danger, he goes after her with help from some very interesting friends. There is so much more going on I’ve left a lot out of this review, so I don’t spoil the secrets. I couldn’t put it down and can’t wait for the next one in this series! Minerva Spencer may be a new author, but she’s an automatic buy for me now.
Noire More than 1 year ago
I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley to read in exchange for a fair review. Dangerous by Minerva Spencer is the first book in her series The Outcasts. Dangerous is not your typical regency romance Minerva Spencer has written an epic adventure, marriage of convenience that is seriously hot complete with pirates, danger, secrets, mystery and is dare I say it again very seriously hot. Lady Euphemia (Mia) Marlington daughter of the Duke of Carlisle was kidnaped by Corsairs while on her way to a convent school and spent the previous 17 years as a concubine in the harem of Baba Hassan. Her father is rather anxious to marry her off before the truth about where she has been is revealed. Adam de Courtney, Marquess of Exley, currently known as the Murdering Marquess because his first two wives died in mysterious circumstances is looking for a wife to give him an heir and he is however the best of the men Mia is given to chose a husband from and on the surface appears to be exactly what Mia is looking for in a husband ... absent. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and can’t wait for the next one. Publishing Date June 26, 2018 #Dangerous #NetGalley
clarkws More than 1 year ago
I feel like a have uncovered a treasure. I won this book in a contest on FB and I am so glad that I did. Dangerous is an exciting and thrilling read - very, very different from a typical Regency romance. Euphemia Marlington (Mia) is an amazing heroine. She is in her early 30’s which immediately sets her apart from other Regency heroines. But even more fascinating, she has spent most of her years living in a Harem. The hero in the story is Adam de Courtney, The Marquess of Exley has a horrifying reputation. He is murmured to be a murderer. Bringing the two together proves to be Dangerous. “Adam listened to her soft, rhythmic breathing and stared at the riot of hair spread across his body. It was like a living thing, like the strong, seeking tendrils of red seaweed, and it wove and wrapped itself around him. Its hold was inexorable and he was slipping beneath the waves, without even so much as a struggle.” Spencer spins an amazing tale that gets extremely steamy. There are quite a few sex scenes although the lovers are married. I loved the book and found it to be wonderfully unique. I can’t wait to read the next in the series Barbarous.
Suze-Lavender More than 1 year ago
While Mia was born a lady, she is an outcast in society now. She was abducted when she was a teenager and was sold to a sultan to be part of his harem. The sultan died and Mia managed to escape the palace. After many years she's finally back in London. Her father wants her to find a husband as quickly as possible, but there aren't many appealing matches. The only man Mia likes the sight of is Adam. However, he has a reputation and many members of the ton call him the Murderous Marquess. Will Mia take her chances and marry the handsome man she instantly feels attracted to or will she listen to the stories and go for a safer option? Adam was married twice, but still doesn't have an heir. He needs to marry again to secure the future of his estate. Because of his reputation it isn't easy to find a wife. He also isn't looking for a love match. His heart was broken and he isn't looking for a repeat experience. Mia seems to be the exact right candidate to become his wife. He knows she has a hidden agenda and this intrigues him. Their match would be mutually beneficial and he decides to give it a shot. While spending time with Mia he discovers the situation isn't as simple as he thought. When feelings become part of the equation they are facing plenty of trouble. Will Adam and Mia be able to make their arrangement work? Dangerous is a fantastic sexy romantic story. I was immediately intrigued by the enigmatic Mia. She's confident, bold and smart. Marriage means a solution to a problem for her and that is why she likes the idea of becoming Adam's wife, which is a fabulous idea for a riveting story. I couldn't wait to find out what would happen when the gruff, but sweet and alluring, Adam would discover her secrets. They are evenly matched and their strong personalities either clash or attract like a magnet. Their relationship is a real challenge from the start and I loved how well suited they are. I liked that they have a hidden agenda and are both keeping secrets, finding out what they were kept me on the edge of my seat. Mia and Adam are brilliant main characters with many mysterious personality traits that mesmerized me from beginning to end. Minerva Spencer has a wonderful warm writing style. She makes her story come to life in a terrific dynamic way. There's plenty of action, there are many surprising twists and turns and the story is filled with unexpected adventures. She combines this with amazing sparkling chemistry that works really well. It's easy to see why Mia and Adam can't stay away from each other. I loved their original backgrounds and their fascinating pasts are giving them a nice layer of depth. Dangerous is a delightful enchanting story that put a big smile on my face.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I look forward to more from this author.
candy-b More than 1 year ago
I loved the story in this book. The Ottoman Empire used to be very strong. They dealt with slavery, pirates, and murder. They were very scary. Euphemia Marlington was English but had been snatched from a ship and sold to a sultan... She lived in a harem for 17 years before she escaped and managed to return to England. But her son was left behind She needed a husband so she could search out her son. She chose Adam de Courtney, Marquess of Exley, as her choice. He was shunned because he had been accused of murdering two wives. He had become a hard and cold man. He did not go to the ton functions. The plot was really good and had all kinds of intrigue, excitement, and ships in the night. It was twisted and we were lucky enough to have an author who wrote a great story that moved smoothly and kept our interest. I can't wait to read her next book. I received this ARC from Net Galley and voluntarily reviewed.
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Dangerous by Minerva Spencer The Outcasts #1 What fun this book was! I love reading new-to-me authors that create wonderful stories and make me want to read more books of theirs when I finish. This was just such a book :) Euphemia “Mia” Marlington is a woman with a past…a past not many of us would have survived. I admired her not only for her ability to survive but also because she is a splendid person who is warm and generous and knows more about life and what she wants than most. I loved her openness and wisdom and her ability to be forthright without being forward…well…perhaps a bit forward. Adam de Courtney, Marquess of Exley was complex and intriguing and a brilliant match for Mia. He was closed off in many ways due to his past and yet that past was, when revealed, not one that should have wreaked the havoc on his life that it did. I liked him and I liked him with Mia even more than I liked either of them alone. This story has wonderful supporting characters that I would love to see in stories of their own. I found the hero and heroine to be people I would love to meet and get to know. I thoroughly enjoyed this book from the ballroom to the bedroom and whether on land or sea. What a delight this book was to read as it took me back in time to reading one of my father’s books, The Sea Hawk by Rafael Sabatini, even though that book had a male who became a slave instead of a female. Thank you to NetGalley and Kensington Publishing – Zebra Press – This is my honest review. 4-5 Stars
georgia1 More than 1 year ago
First I will say I enjoyed everything about this book!! What a heroine, Lady Euphemia (Mia) is with all that she gone through that is a story in itself!) and being forced by her father to marry or live out her life alone. She is such a fun character with her outspoken manner and not your run of the mill debutante. The man her father has picked for her, Adam de Courtney has lost two wives and being under suspicion of their murder, he is almost shunned by the Ton. Given the moniker the Murderous Marquess, he would rather be anywhere but in society. When Adam and Mia meet, there is a spark between them, but they have so much to get through. This story was so enjoyable. Full of humor, surprises, secrets and emotion that slowly come together and you will not believe the outcome! A wonderful cast of characters that hopefully have their own stories written, I cannot wait to read more by this author. Do miss miss this book!! Definitely on my keeper shelf! Lori Dykes
georgia1 More than 1 year ago
First I will say I enjoyed everything about this book!! What a heroine, Lady Euphemia (Mia) is with all that she gone through that is a story in itself!) and being forced by her father to marry or live out her life alone. She is such a fun character with her outspoken manner and not your run of the mill debutante. The man her father has picked for her, Adam de Courtney has lost two wives and being under suspicion of their murder, he is almost shunned by the Ton. Given the moniker the Murderous Marquess, he would rather be anywhere but in society. When Adam and Mia meet, there is a spark between them, but they have so much to get through. This story was so enjoyable. Full of humor, surprises, secrets and emotion that slowly come together and you will not believe the outcome! A wonderful cast of characters that hopefully have their own stories written, I cannot wait to read more by this author. Do miss miss this book!! Definitely on my keeper shelf! Lori Dykes
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Minerva+Spencer+could+easily+become+one+of+my+favorite+authors%2C+along+with+Katharine+Ashe+and+Elizabeth+Hoyt.++The+characters+were+engaging+and+the+story+line+original.+Even+the+secondary+characters+were+developed+enough+to+have+their+own+story...+and+I%27m+sure+that+was+the+plan.+%0A