Darcy's Voyage: A Tale of Uncharted Love on the Open Seas

Darcy's Voyage: A Tale of Uncharted Love on the Open Seas

by Kara Louise

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.49 $14.99 Save 23% Current price is $11.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 23%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Darcy's Voyage 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 124 reviews.
LHedgpeth More than 1 year ago
I am an Austen snob and as addicted as I am to Austen sequels and inspired books, I can be very demanding with them. Taking on established and very beloved characters is a risky business for an author - - readers will inevitably ask "Would Jane Austen have allowed Lizzy to do that? Would Mr. Darcy have said such a thing?" Kara Louise's Darcy's Voyage (previously published as Pemberley's Promise) is nothing short of a virtual love letter to not only Jane Austen but Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy. I absolutely loved each and every page and was enthralled with the story and with how Ms. Louise painted Elizabeth and Darcy. I found the concept itself of Elizabeth and Darcy meeting on a carriage and then on board a ship headed to America rather than at a town dance fascinating and novel (no pun intended). While changing their initial meeting caused other aspects of the original story to be slightly altered, there were other features that remained true to Austen's original masterpiece and I had fun picking up on them. I enjoyed the variations that Darcy's Voyage set forth and believe them to be an inspired alternative to Pride and Prejudice. Ms. Louise's writing style was engaging and yet still remained true to the Regency period. She was faithful to the characteristics Austen firstly penned for Elizabeth and Darcy while giving new insight into their actions and behaviors. So closely did she mirror Austen's vision that Darcy's Voyage could have been a colloboration between the two. Original Pride and Prejudice characters, including the Bennet family, Aunt and Uncle Gardiner, Georgiana Darcy, Colonel Fitzwilliam, Lady Catherine de Bourgh and Wickham, provide solid support in Darcy's Voyage. I would not hesitate to highly recommend Darcy's Voyage to any devoted reader of Jane Austen and historical fiction and romance readers. Out of the many Austen sequels and Austen inspired novels I have read, Darcy's Voyage easily ranks in the top few, based on writing style, story and interpretation. This was my first novel by Kara Louise but I am so in love with Darcy's Voyage that I will eagerly snap up her five other Pride and Prejudice inspired variations.
lizziebeth More than 1 year ago
I thought this was going to be an awful P&P spin off. How surprised I was to be drawn in by the characters and story line. An enjoyable read.
WillowPark More than 1 year ago
This is one of those novels where you grow to love the characters and really hate it when the book is over. I could go on and on and on reading about the Darcys and this time period. Loved it!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like Pride and Prejudice you will certainly love this book. I read this book straight through in 2 days because i could not put it down. :) I will definitely be reading more books written by Kara Louise in the future.
Kimberly_Book_Addict More than 1 year ago
Darcy's Voyage, a Pride and Prejudice variation, was originally published as Pemberley's Promise and is Kara Louise's debut novel. The main variation of Darcy's Voyage is that Elizabeth and Darcy don't meet in Meryton, they meet briefly in a carriage ride, and then again two years later on a boat headed towards America. It was during that carriage ride where the two unknown passengers left lasting impressions on each other. Two years later Elizabeth and Darcy again meet while on board Darcy's ship Pemberley's Promise which is set to make berth in America. Darcy is going to pick-up Georgiana while Lizzie is going to meet her Aunt and Uncle Gardiner. (Neither recognized the other as the passenger from that carriage ride)While on board Elizabeth fascinates Darcy with what living below decks is like, never knowing he is the ship's owner. A sickness soon begins to overtake those living below decks and Darcy becomes frightened for Elizabeth's health. Darcy finds out that Elizabeth is sick, and that his stately room has the only spare bed on-board the ship. He proposes to Elizabeth that they marry strictly for propriety so that she can take the extra bed in his room and get well. Elizabeth agrees to the plan and the two are married. Darcy promises that upon his return to England that he will have the marriage annulled. A week or so later she is completely well again, and starting to have feelings for Darcy. Unbeknownst to her Darcy has also fallen in love. The two believe that the other is play acting the role of doting spouse for appearances sake. On the final night aboard ship Darcy kisses Elizabeth. Elizabeth quietly scolds herself for allowing herself to want to be kissed by Darcy, knowing that he doesn't love her. Embarrassed by her actions she hides from Darcy for the final night on board, awaking early to leave the boat and her fake marriage behind. Darcy on the other hand cannot wait to tell Elizabeth that he loves her and wants to keep their marriage intact. Darcy returns to their room only to find it empty. Distraught he drinks himself to sleep only to wake up and realize that Elizabeth has left the ship and possibly his life forever. Darcy vows to himself that he will not annul their marriage until he has found Elizabeth and told her how he truly feels about her. It is through this path that we see more of Austen's original storyline. (i.e. Meryton assembly, Jane getting sick and staying at Netherfield, Lady Catherine's explosion) Darcy's Voyage is probably my favorite Pride and Prejudice variation that I've read so far. Louise created an original storyline that was able to incorporate all of Austen's original characters and conflicts. She chose different outcomes for some, most notably the Wickham/Lydia storyline, which made me exceedingly happy. Mr. Benett, the Gardiners, and Colonel Fitzwilliam were also given larger roles, much to this reader's pleasure. The interactions between Elizabeth and Darcy are some of my favorite that I've ever read. Louise got both characters really well. She lets the reader into both of their heads for the whole story, which gave a lot of insight into the characters inner thoughts and workings. I highly recommend this for anyone who is a fan of Pride and Prejudice and would like to see what might have happened had Elizabeth and Darcy been thrust into each other's company and forced to get to know each other. Kimberly (Reflections of A Book Addict)
Lekster More than 1 year ago
Pride and Prejudice is my favorite book, therefore, I can never get enough of Lizzy and Darcy. However, I am very picky about which sequels and variations on Austen's original meet the mark of excellence. Darcy's Voyage, originally published as Pemberley's Promise, is one of the best variations I have read. The story is highly original, the characters all that is charming, and the events fascinating. While most of my copies of Austen variations bear the marks of my red pen throughout, this one remains unblemished. Miss Louise has a talent of creating extremely interesting stories from Austen's brilliant classic, maintaining the romance while remaining true to the characters. I really enjoy all of her variations, and this one is a favorite.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this story. I have read most P & P sequels, and this is one of my favorites. There's plenty of emotion and romance without any explicit scenes. I have never read anything by Kara Louise before, but now I can't wait to read more!
Chutzpuh More than 1 year ago
Great Story absolutely loved it!! After Returning to England Darcy and Elizabeth's story follow the same time line of Jane Austen. You still have misunderstanding verbal sword play and Lady Catherine de Burough. I have read some of Kara Louise other books and this is just as imaginative as Something Like Regret definitely a keeper for your bookshelf!
Nancy_Muck More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book when it was originally published under the title of "Pemberley's Promise." It was actually recommended by my surgeon when she noticed that I was reading a Jane Austen book. I LOVE Jane Austen! Kara Louise's version of what might have happened if Darcy and Elizabeth had met while on a voyage to America is delightful. She stays true to the characters created by Jane Austen. Elizabeth may come across and being a little more easy-going but this can be attributed to the fact that she is away from everyone and everything she knows and loves. However, her independent streak shines through when she insists on helping others even when she is not feeling well herself. I read this book a year ago and then reread it this summer while following my husband around the hay field and enjoyed it just as much as I did the first time. I am truly looking forward to reading many more of Kara's books!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing book
SusanM-M More than 1 year ago
I read this book a few years ago when it was published as "Pemberley's Promise." As an Austen fan, I have read many, many Pride and Prejudice alternate stories, sequels, prequels, modernizations, etc. and this is one of my favorites. Darcy and Elizabeth meet on board a ship on their way to visit the United States. As in the original, the course of their relationship is anything but smooth sailing. Eventually, of course, they admit to their true feelings and just as in all Jane Austen's books, there's a wedding and a happy ending. One of the errors that many fan fiction writers make is having the male characters say and do things that no sensible gentleman would have done in Austen's time -in other words, talk too much about their feelings. I think this author understands that what makes the original great is more about what's not said than about what is said. As a result, I think you'll recognize the essence of Darcy and Elizabeth in this book. Overall, I found this to be a well-written and delightful diversion, and I recommend it to anyone who can't get enough of Darcy and Elizabeth and the other P&P characters.
knittingmomof3 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
From my book review blog Rundpinne.In Darcy¿s Voyage, Kara Louise retells the timeless classic Pride & Prejudice in her own manner, begging the questions of what if fate and time were added to the relationship of Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth. While Darcy and Elizabeth meet in England, they do not truly become acquainted until they ride the same ship bound for New York. Darcy is headed to New York to escort his sister Georgiana back to England while Elizabeth is off to stay with relatives for a holiday. Louise keeps the characters relatively true to form, but alters the settings so very much that she does indeed rewrite Pride & Prejudice in an entirely new setting. True it begins and ends in England, however a vast amount of pride and indeed prejudices occur on the journey to New York. While I am not usually enthusiastic towards remakes of any novel, Darcy¿s Voyage makes for an extremely delightful day of reading. I would recommend Darcy¿s Voyage to anyone who enjoys remakes of Pride & Prejudice or who enjoys period novels.
celticlady53 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This Jane Austen sequel is yet another variation of Pride and Prejudice with the original storyline being followed to a certain degree with a lot of the same characters. There is a difference though as the author takes the story to the open sea's. Elizabeth is traveling alone to New York to her Aunt and Uncle who are residing there while Elizabeth's uncle does some business. On the ship is Fitzwilliam Darcy, who is traveling to America to bring back his sister Georgiana. Two years, Elizabeth and Darcy met and shared a carriage but did not know each others names. Elizabeth is traveling on Pemberly's Promise, the ship owned by Darcy, and is staying below decks. As in all travel on ships at that time, people get sick from sea sickness and other ailments contracted in the close quarters of a ship. While Elizabeth cares for some of the people that are sick, she becomes ill herself. Elizabeth and Mr.Darcy meet on deck and after a time they take the air on deck in the form of a daily walk. When Darcy realizes that Elizabeth is ill he has her share his cabin, which has the only other available bed. Of course such a thing is frowned upon in polite society, so the only way that they can get by with this is to have the ship's captain marry them. This is what they do with the stipulation that the marriage be annulled once they dock.So Darcy nurses Elizabeth back to health and as they dock in New York, Elizabeth leaves the ship before Darcy. As they do not know alot about each other Darcy is unable to find her. So Elizabeth goes onto her family and Darcy goes to fetch Georgiana. I will say no more about what happens at the end of course and just say, I enjoyed this book because it was just a bit different than the original and some of the other sequels. I am sure if you are a Jane Austen fan you will love this book.
WisteriaLeigh on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
DARCY¿S VOYAGEby Kara LouiseSourcebooks Landmark9781402241024Historical FictionSeptember 2010$14.99/$17.99/£7.99 UK505 pagesSummaryElizabeth Bennet is off to America to visit her aunt and uncle. Her father, is loathe for her to go, but after placing her in the care of the competent captain, he acquiesces and waves goodbye from the docks. Elizabeth is sailing in steerage on Pemberley¿s Promise, and soon discovers that the dark and close quarters are undesirable. She walks on deck in the early morning to breathe the clean air. She gives up her bed to a woman with sick children, leaving her only place left to sleep on the floor. The handsome and aloof Mr. Darcy, sailing in one of the most elegant cabins, has taken notice of the unconventional and attractive Elizabeth. In true Pride and Prejudice style the characters of Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet banter back and forth as they stroll the boards of the ship. They met once before several years ago in a carriage ride. It was clear then as now their social circles were completely opposite, yet drawn to each other. This is the story of the marriage, between Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy that occurred while on board the ship. A marriage on paper only, for propriety¿s sake, as they both agree to a future annulment upon Darcy¿s return to London. ReviewWith the countless retells of Pride and Prejudice on the shelves these days, I was not sure I wanted to sit down for another version. With welcomed delight, this one is full of life, honors the memory of the original and offers a scenario of happenstance that works. I did notice that this Elizabeth is a little more agreeable, with a little less of an edge to her colorful conversations. Her personality is softer in the beginning, than the original Elizabeth, but perhaps she is characterized this way on purpose. Traveling alone without the security of family surrounding her, she is more vulnerable. I fell in love with Mr. Darcy all over again and it is painful to read his despair upon losing Elizabeth in America. In fact their separation caused me frequent anxiety reading the story, hastening my pace to find out how it all works out. The love between the two is prideful and the prejudice still remains. As they once again appear to be star-crossed, these memorable lovers from historical literature are presented by Kara Louise with endearment. Darcy¿s Voyage takes you beyond the continent and back, and with her responsible portrayal, you still feel the depth of their passion, their desire and their need for one another. Loved it!
LoriHedgpeth on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I am an Austen snob and as addicted as I am to Austen sequels and inspired books, I can be very demanding with them. Taking on established and very beloved characters is a risky business for an author - - readers will inevitably ask "Would Jane Austen have allowed Lizzy to do that? Would Mr. Darcy have said such a thing?"Kara Louise's Darcy's Voyage (previously published as Pemberley's Promise) is nothing short of a virtual love letter to not only Jane Austen but Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy. I absolutely loved each and every page and was enthralled with the story and with how Ms. Louise painted Elizabeth and Darcy. I found the concept itself of Elizabeth and Darcy meeting on a carriage and then on board a ship headed to America rather than at a town dance fascinating and novel (no pun intended). While changing their initial meeting caused other aspects of the original story to be slightly altered, there were other features that remained true to Austen's original masterpiece and I had fun picking up on them. I enjoyed the variations that Darcy's Voyage set forth and believe them to be an inspired alternative to Pride and Prejudice. Ms. Louise's writing style was engaging and yet still remained true to the Regency period. She was faithful to the characteristics Austen firstly penned for Elizabeth and Darcy while giving new insight into their actions and behaviors. So closely did she mirror Austen's vision that Darcy's Voyage could have been a colloboration between the two. Original Pride and Prejudice characters, including the Bennet family, Aunt and Uncle Gardiner, Georgiana Darcy, Colonel Fitzwilliam, Lady Catherine de Bourgh and Wickham, provide solid support in Darcy's Voyage. I would not hesitate to highly recommend Darcy's Voyage to any devoted reader of Jane Austen and historical fiction and romance readers. Out of the many Austen sequels and Austen inspired novels I have read, Darcy's Voyage easily ranks in the top few, based on writing style, story and interpretation. This was my first novel by Kara Louise but I am so in love with Darcy's Voyage that I will eagerly snap up her five other Pride and Prejudice inspired variations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a true Jane Austen fan and have read everything she's ever written...Pride and Prejudice is my favorite of them all! I just could not get enough of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy...I've read a lot of other retelling of the story. None of them have been able to stand side by side with the original until I read this one. Kara Louise did a wonderful job of telling the same story in a fresh new way but keeping to the Regency style. When I finished it the first time I turned back to the first page and read it again! I highly recommend this book to anyone who want a "Jane Austen" experience
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too easy to skip pages and lose absolutely nothing. Boring drivel in many sections and tedious in others. Why bother. I love reading variation stories. This less so.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago