Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals after Dark Series #6)

Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals after Dark Series #6)

by Kresley Cole

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$8.99 $9.99 Save 10% Current price is $8.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dark Desires After Dusk (Immortals after Dark Series #5) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 700 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cadeon Wode is a demon, a good guy though, who happens to have promised a few things he can't deliver to a few people he absolutely can't let down. It was through his own unfortunate actions that his brothers throne was lost a few centuries ago and their people, not to mention his brother, have been suffering ever since. So his very last chance for redemption is to simply deliver a woman, the magical female who has been prophesied to be the mother of a warrior that could change the course of the entire supernatural world to a crazy evil mage in exchange for a sword guaranteed to slay his enemy.
The problem is she's the one woman fate and destiny have been waiting for him not to be able to resist. In fact, she's the only mate he could ever possibly have. Betraying her would basically destroy both their lives.
Since he's been stalking her for months it's relatively easy to get to her. Besides that dozen cult guys he has to take out. But protecting her and making her see that she loves him will be the hard parts. Especially when he's trying not to hurt her or his brother and he can't have it all...or can he?
This was another great installment of a near perfect series. I wasn't quite as thrilled with the ending on this one since it seemed a tad rushed but it's a very memorable book I highly recommend.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book was very funny, too drawn out where Holly was concerned, but Cadeon more then made up for it. The love scenes were fantastic, the ending setting up Rydstrom's book lovely (which looks to me amazing). I read Furie and Kristoff will end up together as well and that will be one hell of a book given her disdain for vampires, who imprisoned her in the ocean.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Cadeon Woede is a rage demon who holds the occupation of mercenary. He is desperate to help put his brother back on the throne that rightfully belongs to him, and it's because of Cadeon that his brother doesn't have the throne to begin with. It has been 900 years of struggles for Cade to try and defeat Omort and return the throne to his brother. A year ago Cade ran across Holly Ashwin which he realizes is his female, the one he is supposed to spend forever with, yet she is a mortal, and an immortal like himself cannot claim a mortal as their own, the initial claiming would undoubtably kill the mortal. Holly is a professor at a local college near her home. She is obsessive with order and perfection. She is highly dependent on her medications perscribed to her for being OCD. She was adopted and all in all has led a very boring life until she is kidnapped one night in her college classroom. Her life soon becomes very complicated but none the less an excitement she never expected, and she definitely did not expect to find herself attracted to the very unusual rage demon. Cade and Holly's story is definitely unique and different. I found it to be quite different from A Hunger Like No Other, which is Book 1 in the Immortals After Dark series, and I have to admit that I was kind of dissapointed in Dark Desires After Dusk. It is a good story but it definitely isn't one that I love or would ever consider reading again. I have not read any of the other books in the series, but in comparison to A Hunger Like No Other I found myself somewhat dissapointed. This book lacked the passion that the first in the series did not.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Kresley Cole has done it again! Another great book, which is quite a page turner. There is not one of her books I don¿t like. The thing I love most about this book, and all her others is how she makes the storyline steamy, emotional, funny, and heartwarming all at the same time. Not an easy thing to do I would think with a story full of vampires, demons, and werewolves...My only complaint are the stories are so good I read them too fast, and Kresley cant get another book out so enough for me. If you haven¿t read Kersley¿s other works like her historicals and the Scottish trilogy, make sure you do. You wont be disappointed. Some other authors you might enjoy: Judith McNaught 'especially Kingdom of Dreams my most fav book of ALL time' but really any of her works you cant go wrong with. New author I am liking is Gena Showalter her series Lords of the Underworld are VERY good, very similar to Kresley Cole. Elizabeth Lowell 'A trilogy...Enchanted, Forbidden, and Untamed' if looking for an EMOTIONAL read those last three are it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Take one love-sick rage demon, add an obsessive compulsive repressed Valkyrie ¿ only one thing to do: ROAD TRIP! And it¿s one wild, fun ride. Cade, the love-sick rage demon, has been obsessed with Holly for a year. Holly is a book-smart, naïve teacher. When Holly¿s change to immortal Valkyrie happens Cade is there to save her. And oh, Holly just happens to the ¿Vessel¿, the female who will birth the warrior of ultimate evil or ultimate good. Cade just wants Holly to be his fated female. But his betrayal of his brother, Rydstrom, cost the family their kingdom centuries ago and Cade has felt guilty ever since. So in order to repay Rydstrom Cade must sacrifice Holly to get the sword that will enable them to kill the sorcerer who took their kingdom from them. Holly just wants to undo the whole immortal Valkyrie thing and go back to her former life. But in order to achieve that she believes Cade¿s lies that he¿s taking her to a sorcerer who will return her to her former self. Hence, the road trip that is amusing, suspenseful and FUN! Can Holly forgive Cade¿s betrayal (oh and by the way, watching him kiss a beautiful sorceress)? What a joy Kresley Cole¿s books are. Full of humor, poignancy, excitement and you can¿t put it down. And the cherry on top is that we get to visit our favorite Lore characters, especially Nix and Regin. And oh boy, does she leave us hungry for Rydstrom¿s, Cade¿s brother, book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
High recommended
NiinaCs_Blog More than 1 year ago
Cadeon has promised his brother Rydstrom to get him his crown back no matter what it takes, ridden with guilt for causing him to lose it. Finally a sword is made that can kill the sorcerer who usurped Rydstrom - the price The Vessel a woman of the Lore who will birth an ultimate warrior for either good or bad, depending on the father. - It all goes down the hill when Cadeon notices that The Vessel is the human woman who he knows to be his Mate, the one he cannot touch, but as Holly's Valkyrie genes kick in when she's kidnapped, there is suddenly a chance that Cadeon could have her. Cadeon convinces her to come with him to keep her safe from people wanting The Vessel either killed or bred, and to get her Valkyrie genes revoked by Groot the Metallurgist, the maker of the sword. - The thing is Holly doesn't want the crude, cursing, eternal bachelor Cadeon, she wants her platonic boyfriend, her math, her codes and her ODD habits. Finally she begins to give in, but then with her trust in his hands can he still exchange her for the sword and saves his brother's kingdom, or have her for himself? - I love Immortals After Dark novels, they are never boring! The Valkyries are the funniest group of frat boys/girls in the history of Paranormal Romance, the Lykae sexy as hell massive werewolves, The Vampires both evil and wonderfully sexy and the Demons rugged and medieval and one cannot help but love visit them all book after book. There is so much going on in Dark Desire After Dusk the plot that one never tires of reading these - this one is fine example, there are enough plot twist that you can't help reading on and on until you are finished. It's bloody entertaining! - I loved Cadeon, he curses, is bit of a slob, he's crude and it makes him such a contrast to Holly it's delicious. And he's definitely the most vocal of the IAD heroes in bed. I'm usually not very into accents in a books, cause they can go overboard, but I liked Cadeon's accent in this book, fit his cocky attitude perfectly! - Holly was a bundle of nerves, logical to fault and she lied to herself constantly but still even with her ODD of having things free and being a germaphobe she was surprisingly likable, but also extremely butt headed and strong - which was a fabulous mix and I truly enjoyed her especially towards the end where she begins to accept her Valkyries roots. - Dark Desires After Dusk is a great paranormal, sexy and tormented road trip across America and many check points to find the Metallurgist. DDAD was so much fun read, the characters well developed to grab the reader's attention and the keep it, the contradiction were what made this book so entertaining as well as the love beginning to blossom between them and the very yummy jealousy Cadeon hadn't been familiar feeling. This book is for the fans of adventure, sexy paranormal romance and those of us who like their heroes bit rough around the edges. ;) - There isn't much negatives one can say about this series, I suppose if I had to think of one it would be that with the twisting plot I love can be little hectic and confusing at times, not enough to bother the story as you read, but it's gotten much more complex since book one ( both pro and con ), and in retrospect I can see the hecticness. Still it only takes away one star so it's not something that would ever stop me from reading these books!
Missyps More than 1 year ago
This book has been my favorite book by Ms. Cole thus far. Cade is a sexy as hell bad-boy. Holly is a lovable heroine with OCD (hehehe)... I absolutely recommend all of Kresley Cole's Immortals after Dark books. She has created a world that has drawn me in as nothing else ever has. Anyone who doesn't appreciate her writing is insane. Kresley Cole is a GENIUS!
DComfort More than 1 year ago
Dark Desires After Dusk is the fifth novel in the Immortals After Dark paranormal romance series. The story concentrates on Cadeon Woede, a character first introduced a couple of books ago when he was competing in the Talisman's Hie (No Rest For The Wicked). Cade has cropped up as a secondary character in all the books since then but now he finally has his own story. For a while now Cade has been painted as a fun loving but slightly unreliable (if not down right unlucky) demon. He was responsible for his brother, deposed King Rydstrom, losing the crown of their homeland and although he has fought along side Rydstrom for nine hundred years since then he has never succeeded in regaining the throne for his brother. The Dark Desires After Dusk prologue finally tells readers exactly how he lost the crown in the first place and chapter one gives Cade a sure-fire guaranteed not to fail way to regain it and redeem himself with his brother. All he has to do is capture the Vessel, a female of the Lore who is capable of giving birth to the ultimate warrior, and turn her over to an evil sorcerer who wishes to sire the ultimate evil warrior. In return Cade and Rydstrom will be given the only sword in existence that can kill Omort the Deathless who stole their throne. Determined not to get it wrong this time, Cade's resolve is tested when he realises that the Vessel is the human female that he has been mooning over for the past year. Recognizing her as his own fated female, he has been forced to watch her from afar because a mortal female would not survive the mating ritual. Holly, a mathematician suffering from OCD, has her safe controlled world ripped away from her when a posse of demons kidnap her from campus. Frightened beyond all measure her body is kick-started into its transition from human to Valkyrie. Thrown into the company of Cade, the pair makes a dangerous cross country road trip where they battle with demons, ghosts, vampires, noble fey and wendigo who all seem to want Holly either "dead or bred." This book seems to everything I could possibly desire - sexy heroes, feisty heroines, imaginative mythology and hot, Hot, HOT romance just for starters. This combined with plenty of humor and an action packed plot that speeds faster than a bullet train, makes reading Dark Desires After Dusk an addictive pleasure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am 14 years old, and i have read all of them form "A Hunger Like No Other" to "Kiss of a Damon King," and this is totally the best one! it is one of my favorite books ever, definitly of this series, and im am totally in love with Cade!!! his character is funny but also sweet and touching, and i think this storyline is beyond amazing! Krsy Cole has done it again, these books are the perfect balance of Romance, Action, and Comedy. I love this series sooooo much and cant wait for the "Pleasures of a Dark Prince" to come out Id recomend this book/series to anyone (older than me, at least, lol)!!!!
Bookworm2004 More than 1 year ago
This was by far my favorite book in the series so far. Her books are so funny I find my self laughing out loud!
LuvsMenWhoBite More than 1 year ago
This is by far one of my favorites of the series!!! If you like strong sexy men who know how to protect and show a woman a good time, then you will enjoy this book!
BelladonnaLS More than 1 year ago
Kresley Cole's Dark Desires After Dusk delivers on all accounts. She does a great job of weaving the main character's story line around previous characters from her earlier books and characters whose stories have yet to come. You not only care about what happens to the main characters but you also can't wait to see whose story will be next. With this series, Kresley Cole has also created an imaginative world where witches, vampires, lykaes, valkryies, etc. all coexist, not always peacefully, which is what makes the story lines so good. In this book, Holly Ashwin is a Valkryie but does not know it because she has not come into her powers yet. An attack on her by demons anxious to control her and the child that she is destined to bear brings out all of her powers with a vengeance. By the time Cade appears to rescue her, she has killed them all. Cade is a great hero, torn between loyalty to his brother who is attempting to reclaim his throne as demon king and love of Holly who is is his true life mate. He must betray one of them. The emotional torment that he endures and the decision that he finally comes to make for a great read. Plus, you cannot discount the love scenes. For those of you who like your books hot and steamy, you will love this book. The males in her series are all alpha males, very protective of the women that they become involved with, and extremely loyal to friends and/or family. If you like paranormal romance, you will love this book! I recommend reading the whole series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Cadeon Woede was a number of things ¿ warrior, mercenary, disobedient and often times disrespectful. One thing Cade was not was restrained, but restrained he became once he laid eyes on Holly Ashwin and discovered this human was what all demons longed for - his fated female. Cade knew that he could only look at her, never be able to touch her or claim her for fear of harming her even though these thoughts consumed him. Yes restrained is what he became but restrained is not what he would remain once she was captured and about to be used as a sacrifice, that¿s when he became whatever he had to in order to save her. Every detail of their lives changed that night, Cade made up his mind to claim her as his fated female and Holly discovered that she was not human but instead a Valkyrie (or half-one) by birth ¿ who knew! Cade has been alive and battling since medieval times to regain the homeland for his brother. The possibility of this happening is as close as obtaining a magical sword from Omort. Omort is a ruthless demon that will exchange this sword if Cade is able to bring a vessel from which he can spread his evil. This vessel just happens to be Holly and Cade has decided to agree to this arrangement in order to buy time to work out a plan that would allow him to both take her to Omort and yet not give her to Omort ¿ the devil was in the details. This was a quandary that Cade knew he could work out because he was a demon that had found his female and nothing was going to keep them apart. Holly liked her life the way it was ¿ ordinary and routine. She craved the simplicity of it and worked her code that would finally help her obtain her PhD but especially Holly hated random. She never thought she would find herself attacked by ghosts, chased by Fey or be driving around in a million dollar car with a demon while driving across North America to meet a fate she knew nothing about and basically feared. Her ordinary life seemed very appealing but yesterday but today she like being with Cade and trying to figure out what exactly the future held for her as an immortal. This is the 5th book in the Immortals After Dark Series and a jewel in this crown. The storyline is well written without being drawn out and the prior books and characters are explained enough for the first time reader. The story between Cade and Holly is never given a moment to be dull or over told. You are taken on a journey with the two of them and the relationship lets itself be drawn out while the reader is drawn in. An excellent combination of romance and suspense which is always a pleasure to put together.
Deserie.Comfort on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dark Desires After Dusk is the fifth novel in the Immortals After Dark paranormal romance series. The story concentrates on Cadeon Woede, a character first introduced a couple of books ago when he was competing in the Talisman's Hie (No Rest For The Wicked). Cade has cropped up as a secondary character in all the books since then but now he finally has his own story. For a while now Cade has been painted as a fun loving but slightly unreliable (if not down right unlucky) demon. He was responsible for his brother, deposed King Rydstrom, losing the crown of their homeland and although he has fought along side Rydstrom for nine hundred years since then he has never succeeded in regaining the throne for his brother. The Dark Desires After Dusk prologue finally tells readers exactly how he lost the crown in the first place and chapter one gives Cade a sure-fire guaranteed not to fail way to regain it and redeem himself with his brother. All he has to do is capture the Vessel, a female of the Lore who is capable of giving birth to the ultimate warrior, and turn her over to an evil sorcerer who wishes to sire the ultimate evil warrior. In return Cade and Rydstrom will be given the only sword in existence that can kill Omort the Deathless who stole their throne. Determined not to get it wrong this time, Cade's resolve is tested when he realises that the Vessel is the human female that he has been mooning over for the past year. Recognizing her as his own fated female, he has been forced to watch her from afar because a mortal female would not survive the mating ritual. Holly, a mathematician suffering from OCD, has her safe controlled world ripped away from her when a posse of demons kidnap her from campus. Frightened beyond all measure her body is kick-started into its transition from human to Valkyrie. Thrown into the company of Cade, the pair makes a dangerous cross country road trip where they battle with demons, ghosts, vampires, noble fey and wendigo who all seem to want Holly either "dead or bred." This book seems to everything I could possibly desire - sexy heroes, feisty heroines, imaginative mythology and hot, Hot, HOT romance just for starters. This combined with plenty of humor and an action packed plot that speeds faster than a bullet train, makes reading Dark Desires After Dusk an addictive pleasure.
hbos0527 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Cadeon and Holly are so sweet together. She is the vessel and he needs her to save his brother's kingdom. He may have to let her go even though she is his mate. They journey together but for different reasons and fall in love.
knielsen83 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the less "sex-filled" books in this series, but it was full of action. I love her characters and the conflicts that she sets up. I just wonder when she will write her next one. :)
AngelLocke on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This one is my favorite Kresley Coles so far. She has a way of making every character unique and their own person. Most writers have one way of portraying their heroes and leading ladies. Not Cole! She even varies sex preferences among the characters so that they are unique all the way to the bone! Truly refreshing and exciting. A must read and can't wait to get my hands on the next.
flemmily on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I spent the morning reading this instead of doing my school work (and of course I'm spending right now writing this instead of doing my school work). Most of the series has followed this pattern: I start the book and I'm not sure I'll like it, and then I get X amount of pages in and can't put it down. Book 4 took quite a few pages to hook me, this one I got into right away. Plus you gotta love a quirky OCD heroine.
fairypenguin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the fifth installment in Kresley Cole's wonderful Immortals After Dark series, and its one of her finest. It follows the tale a Holly, a half-Valkyrie who was raised as a human. Her neat and tidy world is turned upside down when she meets Cadeon, a demon mercenary, who informs her that not only is she an immortal, she is also the "Vessal"--a rare woman who in the coming war will bare a child of either ultimate good or evil. He offers her protection, but has ulterior motives that threaten the fragile relationship developing between them.I was amused by both characters. Cadeon is extremely funny and hot. Holly is smart and quirky, and it's fun to watch her develop a backbone. My only complaint with this book was that the ending was a bit rushed and unsatisfactory, but it's definitely worth reading anyway.
noahsmae on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My favorite one so far. I really enjoyed the snarky banter between Cade and Holly.
Jenson_AKA_DL on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
For a year the infamous demon mercenary Cadeon Woede has watched his other from afar, believing the human to be forever out of his reach. Holly Ashwin enjoyed her ordered life between teaching classes and working on a new, ground breaking computer code never she never realized that there is more to her existence. When fate conspires to bring Cade and Holly together it could bring about the birth of the ultimate good or the ultimate evil that every faction of the Lore is determined to use to tip the scale in their own favor.Of all the Immortals After Dark books I have to say this has been the most disappointing one to me. I think it may have to do with the fact that Cade has stuck out to me as a character and I expected a little more from his story. I didn't like him as much as I thought I would. I enjoyed Holly's OCD quirks although I found her to be a bit on the self-centered side which kind of annoyed me. Despite my disappointment I did find it to be an engrossing story that was fast paced and read very smoothly. Although I'm looking forward to Rydstrom's story next, it is with a little trepidation based on what we found at the end of this one. In any event I am sure it will be interesting to see how it all works out.
emilyjo2001 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have liked reading this series and I recommend it to those who are familiar with their mythology. In this book a demon (who is good) mates with a math nerd female immortal warrior. They go on this long trek to retrieve a sword to kill a someone who can't die by normal methods and get back his kingdom. I wonder what happened to the brother, the sword and how the big battle between the demons as well as the battle within the lore is coming will fare. With all of Nix's involvement in this battle of the lore, I want to read her romance story.
jjmachshev on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
NOOOOO, now I have to wait for the next one!!I don't know how Kresley Cole's 'Immortals After Dark' series keeps getting better, but it does. Each book in this series has ramped up the plotline and put us further on the road towards the Accession. We've learned about Valkyries, Demons, Vamps, Lykae (weres), Ghosts, Phantoms, Wraiths, and Fae. (If I left any entities out, please don't hurt me.) Each with different strengths and weaknesses.I thought this story was very enjoyable mostly due to the hot sexual tension and exquisite wordplay between Cadeon and Holly. OCD genius meets messy Demon...how can that pairing not be loads of fun?If you've been reading this series, GO NOW, today, right this second...and pick this one up. Of course, as soon as you read it, you'll be stuck like me...panting for Rydstrom's story which I'm hoping is next and SOON!If you haven't been reading this series, WHAT'S THE MATTER WITH YOU? Get off your duff and get reading. You should be just as hooked as the rest of us.
blingtastic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
cole is back with another installment; much improved since her last novel; the hero was wicked/tortured and the tension between them pulled you in; definitely a keeper