The Darkest Surrender (Lords of the Underworld Series #8)

The Darkest Surrender (Lords of the Underworld Series #8)

by Gena Showalter

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Original)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Darkest Surrender 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 452 reviews.
Dannie33 More than 1 year ago
Zgarza01, here is the ordering that I had along with release dates. I loved Strider's story, not my favorite. But another book I couldn't put down! 1.The Darkest Fire, April 2008 novella ebook-Geyron (Guardian of Hell) 2.The Darkest Night, May 2008-Maddox (Keeper of Violence) 3.The Darkest Kiss, June 2008-Lucien (Keeper of Death) 4.The Darkest Pleasure, July 2008-Reyes (Keeper of Pain) 5.The Darkest Prison, July 2009 novella ebook-Atlas (Titan God of Strength) 6.The Darkest Whisper, September 2009-Sabin (Keeper of Doubt) 7.The Darkest Angel novella in Heart of the Darkness and in the anthology Dark Beginnings, January 2010-angel Lysander 8.The Darkest Passion, June 2010-Aeron (Keeper of Wrath) 9.The Darkest Lie, July 2010-Gideon (Keeper of Lies) 10.The Darkest Secret, April 2011-Amun (Keeper of Secrets) 11.The Darkest Surrender, September 2011-Strider (Keeper of Defeat) 12.The Darkest Seduction, February 2012-Paris (Keeper of Promiscuity)
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.
SKY_MORROW More than 1 year ago
As much as I hate having to admit this, I'm starting to be disappointed with Gena Showalter's books. She is the author that got me into reading Paranormal Romance, because once I read Maddox's story, I was in love with the Lords of the Underworld. The fact is, that Amun's story, Strider's story and her new Vampire book, have me wondering why I continue to buy and read her books. I could not wait for Strider's story, but quite frankly Kaia is too aggressive and it's not appealing to me. I remember when these Lords were dark, sinister and strong. I'm channeling Lucien, Maddox, Reyes and even Sabin. The worst part about all of this is that I don't like the way these Lords talk or even act and the girls too. Why do they all have to talk like they are texting their high school friends? I teach high school, so when I go to read an "adult novel" I don't want text message type of writing to read. TMI, LOL or "Stridey-man" when Strider is referencing his manhood. I want them to be dark, sinister and strong, not one step above the Jersey Shore guys. Sorry, I'm just starting to get frustrated. I still buy the books and probably will buy Paris' story, but after that I am not sure I will continue. I do think Showalter is a talented writer, clever at times, witty and funny, but I just need more depth to these characters. I don't expect her to write like JR Ward, but to be honest, those characters (The Black Dagger Brotherhood) are dangerous and all so unique. There is a lot of depth there and they don't talk like high school kids, which I am getting more and more annoyed by with Showalter's stories. Sorry I had to say this. As an aspiring author myself, I just hate critiquing those who have "made it" but, I guess I have to be honest in the end.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Fifteen centuries ago, fourteen years old Kaia Skyhawk wants to be known as the strongest harpy. Her only rival at the Harpy Games is Juliette the Eradicator. Juliet captured a male but her new consort remains defiant. Thinking she can make this warrior obey, Kaia, ignoring her mother's admonition about men, frees him. He goes on a rampage killing many harpies. It is fifteen hundred years later and everyone especially her mother blames Kaia the Disappointment for the massacre; she and her sister Bianka have been banned from participating in the games ever since. For the first time since the disaster, the Skyhawks sisters are invited to the games. Bianka and Kaia know someone is setting them up for something though it could be Juliette or even their mom, but each agrees they must attend. She also tells Bianka that she believes Strider is her soulmate, but he and his demon Defeat refuse to accept their attraction to the notorious harpy. However, he reconsiders his position of keeping his distance when he learns first prize at the games is the dangerous ancient Paring Rod that could kill him and his Dark Lord peers. The latest Lords of the Underworld romantic fantasy (see The Darkest Secret) is a terrific refreshing entry due to the macabrely humorous yet lunatic Harpy culture. The story line is fast-paced from the opening fiasco and never slows down as Kaia who tasted defeat refuses to accept it again except as the demon accompanying her Strider. Madcap, the zany Harpy Games is fun to attend. Harriet Klausner
WendyH33 More than 1 year ago
Ok let me start off by saying I have loved loved loved every other book in this series. I have told strangers on the street that they need to read this series. I was so looking forward to this book not only to see the continuation of the story, but because Strider has been one of my very favorite characters throughout the whole book. Not to mention, how do you not love Kaia??? Not possible. Having said that, the book was entertaining, but I found the whole "harpie games" backdrop to the story stupid and done before. I was a little disappointed. I think I would have given this book fewer stars if I wasn't already so in love with all of these characters. I eagerly anticipate the release of Paris' book in January.
jmaloney17 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the latest installment in Showalter's Lords of the Underworld series. This is the story of Strider (who houses the demon Defeat) and Kaia, one of the harpies. It is a pretty good one. It follows the series well. It also adds some information on Paris' story, and starts up some new information on Kane and William. Paris' book must be coming soon. Or maybe Showalter is saving that one for last, and is just torturing us with all the tidbits in each book!One note: I cracked up when I read what Kaia's nickname was for Strider. Hilarious!
DarkAngel10106 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I picked the first book of this series out by accident. It was mainly because I was in highschool and I needed something to read.The cover looked pretty good and it was one of the cheeper books. Boy am I glad that I did.Gena Showalter is one of the best paranormal writers I have ever read. Unlike those who have series, she does not repeat herself, it does not turn into a monotonious cycle where I know what will happen after the first page. Stryder has always been a favorite of mine. His attitude and demon just speak to me, mainly because I am stubborn and hate to back down from a challange myself. I was glad to see that he was not given some week knee'd female but instead a harpy and one that would make him work for the rest of his life. Kaia like most of the females paired off with the Lord's hadn't had the easiest life either. I was glad to see that dispite everything she didn't give up until she had fixed the wrongs that happened because of her when she was a child by Harpy standard. Dispite the twists and turns of their love story it was a great tale and one I could hardly put down.Bring on the next in the series! Favorite Quotes:"Both your consorts suck. Now shut up and move out.' Bianka stuck her tongue out at Kaia ' Mine sucks less then yours,' muttered." "Well that's because I'm made of awesome.' ' And dipped in awesome' 'And sprinkled in awesome' "You're a goddess Kaia' Another kiss, soft and sweet. 'Nah. That's just a rumor one of my old boyfriends started."
ABookwormsHaven on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I don¿t know how Gena does it, but these books just keep getting better and better as we go. I was not sure I would like Stider¿s story, but I was happily surprised. Plus we get sneak peeks at what is going on with Paris and he is the Lord whose story I am dying to read! But, Strider¿s story did need to come first and I loved both him and his heroine, Kaia.The idea of Strider and Kaia hooking up has been alluded to in previous books, but the fact that Paris has slept with Kaia was something Strider was having a hard time getting over. Kaia was not willing to go down without a fight though, and was always trying to wiggle her way into his heart.At this point in the books, many of the Lords are out on other missions, including the honorary Lord, William, who is out for revenge on Gilly¿s parents and Kane, keeper of disaster, who had an extremely interesting run in with the fates. I cannot believe what they revealed to him and am dying to know how his story will be affecting everyone¿s lives from now on! As for Strider, he has agreed to help Paris track down Sienna. He is all set to go with Paris when he is persuaded to accompany Kaia to the harpy games as her consort. He has not fully agreed to the position, but does not want to see her hurt, so he agrees to go to help her however he can.My absolute favorite part of any of the Lords of the Underworld books is the relationships that are formed and the humor that is a result of that. I can¿t even count how many times I was laughing out loud at the sarcastic comments that were flying back and forth between the Lords, their significant others and basically anyone they encountered. I always love reading these books knowing that the story will be amazing, but they will always make me laugh along with the characters constantly.As for the romance, poor Strider is having a really hard time dealing with the whole Paris/Kaia thing and tries to keep her at a distance because of this. Kaia on the other hand, knows that Strider is her consort and is pulling out all the stops trying to get him to fall for her. One of my favorite little ploys of hers happens when they are getting ready to go out for a night; here is a little peek at it from the book:¿Strider¿s pupils did that expanding thing, almost always a prelude to touching. ¿You need to put on a pair of pants.¿ His voice was a croak. And he did not move toward her.This was one of those times when ¿almost¿ sucked the big one. ¿Duh. As if I¿d go out like this. I¿ve got a pair¿right¿¿ She looked around. ¿There.¿ She stalked to the nightstand and lifted the ¿pants¿ in question. A scrap of red lace spandex that wouldn¿t fall below her dress.With a quick step, step, tug, she shimmied into the material and once again faced off with her consort.His mouth hung open. ¿We were just sitting on the bed, together, and you were just drinking from me, your mouth on my skin, and you didn¿t have any panties on?¿¿You mean you didn¿t look?¿ she said with a pout. No wonder he¿d left her so easily.¿No. I wouldn¿t let myself.¿¿Why?¿¿Damn it, Kaia,¿ he said, ignoring her. ¿You can¿t just go around pantiless.¿¿Which is why I just pulled on a pair. Were you not watching?¿His eyes narrowed to tiny slits. ¿You said pants. That you were putting on a pair of pants.¿¿Yeah. Underpants.¿Seriously? Harpies are just awesome! I don¿t know how Strider holds out so long, because Kaia is hilarious and knows how to fight dirty. When he does finally give into his feelings though, he does not let doubt creep in there or turn away from Kaia. He is an all or nothing kind of guy and I appreciated that once the two of them realized how important they were to each other there was no petty fighting or one leaving the other for no reason.I also enjoyed learning more about the harpy games. I knew they were vicious, but geez, when they fight they are dirty, ruthless and there is a whole lot of blood and body parts flying around. It was a no holds barred match every time they challenged eac
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the most thrilling books I've ever read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Out of her Lords series I like Strider's and Kane's books the best! They were both funny and heartwarning. Hopefully she will finish the rest of the Lords stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago