Darkness Calls (Hunter Kiss Series #2)

Darkness Calls (Hunter Kiss Series #2)

by Marjorie M. Liu

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Original)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Darkness Calls (Hunter Kiss Series #2) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 48 reviews.
Melhay More than 1 year ago
The synopsis the book gives is very well done, it hits on all the major parts in the book. If you have read the first book you need to read this one. The beginning of the book gives a lot of review with the new happenings to catch you up with the time from reading book one and the release of book two. There is a lot here to get you back up to speed in that break time frame, however for me it was a little slow since I had just finished the first book with all the happenings fresh in my mind. But, when the book picks up on its own path and goes... It goes! You do get your share of action with Maxine along with the love her and Grant share. But most of all you start to get the story behind Jack and a few other key characters (you have to read to see who and what it is - it is worth it!). The history with Jack and many of the characters, including Maxines' heritage, is amazing and really opens the world up to so much more possibilities. I love the style Marjorie has used to tell the stories through-out the book. You start to see that through the labyrinth their is a large world and lots of great mystery behind the different creatures you are introduced to. You even get to see the connection between all the creatures that is intreging. Then there is an interesting take on where humans came from in accordance to the ancient beings. I have loved the world and mystery in the Labyrinth. I would love to learn more of the Labyrinth and the magics it holds. After reading this book with the great character building we are still waiting for the veil to fail, and there are a few other troubles that could come Maxines way for the next few books to come.
Babyfro on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the Hunter Kiss series, surprisingly enough, while the first one dragged it actually felt like something was happening. In Darkness Calls the story didn't drag quite so much, but it also felt like not a lot transpired. Part of the problem is that while Liu does a great job with description and building out the world and characters the lead, Maxine, has no personality of her own. The supporting characters in the novel have much more draw and throughout the story you'd much rather it come from one of them than her.The two characters that finally made the first book a little bit fun and interesting for me, Orturu and Tracker were absent in this book leaving only the little demons really retaining my interest at all. I won't be going on in the series, this book left off at a spot that I can consider an ending for me. I don't have any questions about what will happen and frankly didn't build enough interest to continue to care about the characters welfare.
MelHay on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If you have read the first book you need to read this one.The beginning of the book gives a lot of review with the new happenings to catch you up with the time from reading book one and the release of book two. There is a lot here to get you back up to speed in that break time frame, however for me it was a little slow since I had just finished the first book with all the happenings fresh in my mind. But, when the book picks up on its own path and goes... It goes!You do get your share of action with Maxine along with the love her and Grant share. But most of all you start to get the story behind Jack and a few other key characters (you have to read to see who and what it is - it is worth it!). The history with Jack and many of the characters, including Maxines' heritage, is amazing and really opens the world up to so much more possibilities. I love the style Marjorie has used to tell the stories through-out the book. You start to see that through the labyrinth their is a large world and lots of great mystery behind the different creatures you are introduced to. You even get to see the connection between all the creatures that is intreging. Then there is an interesting take on where humans came from in accordance to the ancient beings.I have loved the world and mystery in the Labyrinth. I would love to learn more of the Labyrinth and the magics it holds. After reading this book with the great character building we are still waiting for the veil to fail, and there are a few other troubles that could come Maxines way for the next few books to come.
onyx95 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Being raised to work alone, then finding a man to love and to keep as her own, Maxine Kiss never thought she would grow to trust and need others. Finding out that her man (Grant Cooperon) was also the last of his kind with special powers made the connection between the two even more difficult to understand. Now they have to try to get information from her grandfather Jack, a man that has not proved himself to be reliable in the past, and then find a way to stop the newest, or is it the oldest threat to humanity and this powerful couple.Book 2 ¿.. So much information, past and present are thrown together to relate more of the story of how and why the prison vail was created and what will happen when it is fails. The information and action are almost non-stop. This book was hard to put down (felt like you might miss something), at times it was so packed with info that I had to re-read sections to make sure I understood, but that was just because it was all happening so fast. Blood and gore action with several characters changing before your eyes, their growth was strong. There is a few new characters that I would like to see again (if Marjorie M. Liu does a third book of the Hunter Kiss series - I hope so). I want to point out that in this book, even with the blood and guts, it has a sweet sensitive side to it, but it is mostly about the action.
SunnySD on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When a priest from Grant's past appears and summons him to China to "help" an old friend, Maxine gets the heebie-jeebies. Something's not right. And in fact, something is very wrong indeed. But saving Grant may require more from Maxine than she's prepared for.Liu continues to skip around and allude to things the reader hasn't quite encountered yet. Still, she manages to do so in such a way that keeps me reading. Hopefully some of the holes will be filled in eventually!
Ter59 More than 1 year ago
This is the first I've read by this author and I enjoyed these so much that I'll try more of her books. This was a really different way of writting about demons.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kitty_Queen More than 1 year ago
Marjorie Liu has become one of my favorite urban fantasy writer because of the Hunter Kiss series. The characters are complex yet accessible and the writing style easily allows the reader to get lost in the story. Seems that the series challenges the definitions of friend and enemy in an X-files-like reality. People aren't what they seem, tattoos live, and music can change a person. Literally.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dugan-Zarbo More than 1 year ago
Again Marjorie M. Liu has kept me entranced with her creativity in this book. She is an exceptional writer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago