Darkness Rises

Darkness Rises

by Dianne Duvall

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Darkness Rises 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was another great story from this series, i only have two complaints: they are over too soon and i have to waite too long for the nrxt one. The story is just under 300 pages.
Lisa_Annesley More than 1 year ago
Two opposites, one goal: Krysta is a mortal whose "gift" of seeing auras has helped her fight vampires for the past six years. She's constantly getting injured and putting her life on the line, but she won't stop until every last vampire is dead. Then someone who seems to be a vampire comes to her aid in a fight, and she's suddenly not sure who is a friend and who is a foe. She just knows that Etienne is handsome and sexy and seems to be on her side. She wants to believe in him. Etienne is an Immortal Guardian whose gift is telepathy. Yes, Immortal Guardians survive on blood and are sensitive to light, but they're not vampires. They have been protecting humans from vampires for millennia. When Etienne sees Krysta fighting vampires, he's protective and attracted to her. Because she's gifted and therefore a potential Immortal Guardian, he brings her and her brother into the world of the Immortal Guardians. Soon Immortal Guardians and vampires alike are under attack from an enemy that should not exist. The Immortal Guardians, with Krysta's help, must uncover this powerful, mysterious enemy. Before one of them is captured and becomes a lab rat. Love, mystery, mortal danger, and betrayal: Etienne is a protective hero who knows how to curl a girl's toes with his kisses. He's also a two hundred year-old gentleman who knows that he's "wooing" a young, modern woman. He tries to be up to date for Krysta's sake, which leads to some funny dialogue. Krysta is a kick-butt heroine with a great sense of humor. In fact, there is a lot more humor overall in this book than in the previous ones. There's a scene in which Krysta's brother, Sean, visit--well, I don't want to spoil it for you. But you'll enjoy getting to know the other side of some of the more staid characters. There's plenty of mortal danger, and I found myself worrying about characters that I cared about. I wasn't sure if all of them were going to survive. Again, no spoilers here. The enigmatic character Zach features prominently in DARKNESS RISES. I'm sure we'll be seeing a lot of him in the future. Most likely in the next book.  The mystery of the enemy's identity will keep you turning the pages. The answer is a blow to the leaders of the Immortal Guardians, Seth and David, and leaves us with a cliffhanger. Fortunately, other story lines are wrapped up nicely to make up for it. Is DARKNESS RISES on your TBR pile? I highly recommend it. To get the most enjoyment out of the book, read the series starting with book one, DARKNESS DAWNS. 
SoniaF More than 1 year ago
I'm a fan of D. Duvall's series since the first book; I got addicted and the degree of this addiction has never diminished - that's because each book is a surprise and, despite I expect each and every one to be good, I'm still surprised to confirm that it is. In this fourth book, I saw everything I expect in a great book - romance, friendship, action, surprises, thrill, intriguing... And some things more. It was such a pleasure to read it. Krysta is a human vampire hunter, with a supernatural power - she's a gifted one, and she's helped by her brother Sean, another gifted one. Étienne meets Krysta when she's in trouble with a bunch of vampires and helps her. After that, he can't stop from being after her and helping her even when she doesn't realize he's doing it. When a new threat arises - to both the Immortals and vampires - Krysta joins Étienne and his team and they'll have to try to get the help from the vampires, intending to help them too. Once again, it was great to see the big and wonderful family that the Immortals and their Seconds are. It makes me wish I could enter the book to be a part of it. From the beginning almost, we get to know who'll be Lisette's hero in next book and what a surprise it was, let me tell you! :) I'm anxious for it and waiting a year is terrible. Also, the end of the book, as happened with the previous books, leaves open a thread for next book that's killing me. This is one of the best series I've ever known.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have fallen in love with this series. I agree...having to wait a whole year for the next is far too long ! I could stand to have a new book every couple of weeks !
dsubsits More than 1 year ago
Darkness Rises (Immortal Guardians #4) by Dianne Duvall (oct 1) 4 of 5 Stars Two hundred-year-old Immortal Guardian, Étienne d’Alencon, discovers a beautiful vampire hunter while on patrol.  He is instantly intrigued with her.  He uses her as bait and follows her in order to slay the vampires she has attracted. Krysta Linz has been hunting vampires for the last six years.  One night while on patrol, she came across more vampires than usual.  Just when she thought, she might be in trouble a vampire comes to her rescue.  However, he is no ordinary vampire; his aurora is different.  Instead of being orange it is white with swirls of purple.   Darkness Rises is exciting from the first page.  This action pact novel is thrilling. I love the interaction between the characters.  The different personalities of the individuals make the story all the more interesting. Typically, I prefer to read series in order.  That being said a reader would have no problem following this book without reading the others.   Dianne Duvall is an amazing writer.  Darkness Rising is well-written and creative.  I’ll be anxiously waiting for the next book in the Immortal Guardian Series.  ARC provided publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  
Sailon More than 1 year ago
I found Darkness Rises a phenomenal read! All of Dianne Duvall's Immortal Guardians series have become a favorite of mine but Darkness Rises has even rose above every one of my expectations. If you haven't check out her work...WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR, IT IS INCREDIBLE! Krysta and her brother Sean have been fighting vampires for the past six years. Hunting one night Krysta accidentally attracts an Immortal Guardian as well as a large group of vampires. Just when the tides of battle with the vampires would of turned against her, Etienne steps in. Etienne is shocked by the voracious fighting skills of the human he was following. Drawn to her like a moth to flame, he follows her home and discovers that her brother is a gifted human...sparking hope that Krysta shares that trait. The stakes are too high to allow humans to walk around with knowledge of the Immortals, but Etienne can't seem to keep away from her. When a familiar enemy resurfaces, Krysta comes to Etinene's rescue bringing her to the attention of the Immortals and their Guardians. O.M.G. This book blew me away. In a non-stop read-a-thon, I finished this book into the wee-hours of the morning. I truly couldn't put it down.  Duvall pulls out all the stops in this incredibly fascinating world she has created. Not only did she give us sex scene's that will make your temperature rise but she also provided insight into secondary characters. Characters that you can't wait to read their stories just as much as Krysta's and Etienne's.  Krysta is a strong female characters who really doesn't need a hero but thrills in the excitement of finding someone with similar goals and superior abilities. Breath taking action, hot and steamy romance, awesome characters and a brilliantly devised plot!!! Duvall definitely ROCKED Darkness Rises. I received this ARC copy of Darkness Rises from Kensington Books in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication October 1, 2013. Written by: Dianne Duvall Series: Immortal Guardians Sequence in Series: 4 Mass Market Paperback: 416 pages Publisher: Kensington - Zebra  Publication Date: October 1, 2013 ISBN-10: 1420129783 ISBN-13: 978-1420129786 Rating: 5 Stars FAVORITE Genre: Paranormal Romance Age Recommendation: Adult
sin39 More than 1 year ago
** spoiler alert ** I was gripped from the beginning of the latest Immortal Guardians story. Etienne & Krista are very interesting to watch.  Etienne is a 200 year old Immortal Guardian. He was out on patrol on campus looking for vampires when he see a "tipsy" woman. Krista is a vampire hunter who has stayed off the Immortal Guardian's radar  for 6 years. He is imminently attracted to her. Krista has a special gift. She can see auras. The vampires have orange which gives her an advantage to hunting them. While surrounded by vampires Etienne decides to help her. Krista is shocked that a "vampire" is helping her kill his kind. When she get a better look at him she see his aura is different. To say she is leery of him is an understatement. She gets away from him and called her brother Sean to pick her up. Etienne with his super seep follows them to find out more about them. He decides to protect her when she goes out hunting. We also will see more of Zsck. Very interesting with this side story. You must read the latest by Dianne Duvall to see what happens next
LisaB95 More than 1 year ago
This series just keeps getting better and better! I loved Krysta. She is perfect for Etienne. (Spelling?) Dianne is such a talented author. I think one of the things that makes her my favorite is how she always seems to bring in all the characters from the previous books. And there’s always such an intense action packed story throughout. This one was so unique because Krysta can see auras and this helps her fight vampires. Her brother and parents are gifted. Her brother is a healer and in college to be a doctor. I can’t wait to see him in the future. I hope Dianne had more of the parents in future books also.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldnt put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series. Am enjoying each and every book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I i i ii ?.
WildHeartReviews More than 1 year ago
Darkness Rises is the 4th book in Dianne Duvall’s Immortal Guardian Series. That being said, let me stop you right there. This book can can be read as a standalone, but I could not recommend it. If you’re just now stepping into the world of the Immortal Guardians, do yourself a favor and go back to the first book. You won’t regret it. As for Darkness Rises itself, this book touches on so many different things, preps you for the next book in the series and packs one hell of a love story. In this book, we get the story of Etienne, one of the “younger” Immortal Guardians. When some of them are thousands of years old, this guy only being two hundred is nothing. I’m going to try to just focus on Etienne and Krysta for this review, because if I say much about the book itself, it is going to give away A LOT of spoilers, not only for this book, but for the whole series. This book is written in alternative third person point-of-views and it flows extremely well. The writing is on par with the rest of Dianne Duvall’s books, meaning, it’s excellent. The characters, as usual, are well thought out, planned, have specific personalities and they have depth. I’ve never found what I call a “filler” character in Ms. Duvall’s books. (Unless you count the vamps that get offed, and even then, some you come to know and love, or hate as the case may be. ;) ) The world of the Immortal Guardians, although modern and contemporary for all intents and purposes is fascinating. Etienne, being one of the savvy French Immortal Guardians, can read minds. (You’ll know this if you’ve read the other boos, so I don’t consider it much of a spoiler.) What can’t do, is get into Krysta’s head. At least, not in general unless she’s “broadcasting” very loudly. He’s stronger and faster, as are most of the Guardians, but they all have their own talents. When Etienne sees Krysta for the first time, he’s instantly charmed. Krysta has no clue that beings like Etienne even exist. To her, they are all vampires… and they all need to die. So she goes out hunting them every night, with the help of her brother. Krysta is actually pretty special, what human can really hunt vampires and live to tell the tale? Not many. Watching her do this complete intrigues Etienne, because it’s not the norm. There is obviously more to this woman. Eventually, these two do clash. I’m not going to go into how they meet, again, spoilers! However, it’s worth it to read it. I was beyond amused by how they did meet and from that point, Etienne goes about trying to protect her, even if she doesn’t want the help, claims she doesn’t need it and also hey, he’s a “vampire”, supposedly. ;) She doesn’t want him around, but she can’t help that she’s drawn to him, anymore than he is drawn to her. You might be wondering why it’s a four star rating for me instead of a five star. Well, to put it plainly, I wanted more of the story between our main characters then what was going on in the whole series. I felt like you got more of the series then the characters. It’s not a horrible thing and still gets a four star from me because I love -all- the characters in these books. The banter between them is one of those things that will make you burst out laughing when you’re reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this one
TJ_Shaw More than 1 year ago
Great Continuation in the Series! I loved the chemistry between Etienne and Krysta and really found myself rooting for them. We also get to read about past couples as they contribute to the overall story without detracting from the main characters or slowing down the action. And can I just say that I laugh during any scene where Sheldon opens his mouth! He’s one funny dude! I whipped through these books in record time and now I’m stuck waiting on the next one in the series. I have so many questions and want to know more about Zach and his fascination with Lisette. What an enjoyable and intriguing read. So come on, Ms. Duvall, give us Immortal Guardian fans the next one! Focused. Strong. True.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kronan1 More than 1 year ago
Unlikable Heroin............................................... Krysta was one of those TSTL  heroines who is supposed to come off as spunky and charming.  To me she is selfish and self centered.  She is constantly putting her brother and others in danger because she does not accept her limitations.  She is like a child jumping off a high table assuming someone is going to catch her.  Someone always does of course but sometimes they almost die trying.  I've read other books in the series and liked them.  This one I would not recommend.   
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was looking for a book to get me back into reading. I picked the perfect book! This series seems to get more intense with each installment.
TSteiner More than 1 year ago
4.5 Stars I have followed this series from the start.  I absolutely fell in love with the guardians and I’m totally surprised it took me this long to pick up the next installment in the series.  I forgot about the joy they gave me; the wonder in the writing and dimension of the storyline.  Absolutely brilliant. Krysta is yet another wonderfully strong and resilient woman to join the group.  She is tough, kick-butt and as stubborn as they come.  She is also the perfect match for Etienne. Etienne is a young immortal, by their standards, at two hundred years.  For centuries he has fought alongside his two siblings, but now there is a new force in town.  She makes his blood heat and well other things.  No one can understand what has happened to Etienne to make him seem distant and withdrawn, but he knows.  Now if he can just figure out how to protect her from herself and have her in his bed. Unknown to the immortals, danger is back.  They must band together to fight an enemy they thought they defeated.  Only they are the last to know that the game has changed.  Unfortunately there are even more things to protect, but together they can conquer. Ms. Duvall has written an amazing story.  She has consistently written solid plots and engaging characters.  All of this while keeping secrets tight to her chest and making me love and want the series more and more.  Her stories are filled with action, humor, intrigue and romance.  This is definitely not your grandma’s bodice ripper.  It is also not a blush worthy, read it in secret, erotic romance.  It’s a perfect blend of genres.  Something everyone can enjoy. Darkness Rises is a wonderful read.  It is fast paced and makes you want to read “one more chapter”, time and time again.  Regrettably, I do think you need to read all of the stories in the series before this novel.  I just can’t fathom someone enjoying this book as much as someone who knows the characters and is invested in them.  This is a tight knit group and the past couples are written throughout the book.  I will say that if you love a good vampire novel then you won’t be dissatisfied.  Darkness Rises didn’t disappoint me and I will keep coming back for more.  I can’t wait for the next installment, Night Unbound.
kasboes More than 1 year ago
loved this book had everything great in it a must read series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago