The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish

The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish

Paperback(REPRINT)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
bibliophilist More than 1 year ago
This is just a funny little story about two kids out to get their dad back. It's entertaining and frivolous. This is the kind of book you could read over and over again because getting through the story is the fun part.The illustration also add to the fun.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My six year old son loved the silliness of this story and all the various locations the story took us to. Fun for both the parent and the child to read!
EdAndMew on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The artwork is delightful and Gaiman tells a fairly simple and amusing story that still manages to provide thoughtful reflection (what if we parents are so boring our children are tempted to trade us for 2 goldfish!?)
ezwicky on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An interesting story of a good idea that was possibly not as great as it seemed at the time. The poor father ends up in a rabbit hutch, but at least his son defends him -- he may be a lousy rabbit, but he's not meant to be a good one, and apparently he's an excellent father. He's certainly a good sport. I'm fonder of The Wolves in the Walls; it's darker, but the characters are more congenial in general.
thioviolight on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is such a DELIGHTFUL book! Funny and quirky, I like to read this over and over. And Dave McKean's art is lovely as always!
Moriquen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a funny little book. I would think this is indeed how children view adults trying to quietly read their newspaper or book. Being so interested in it that they would barely notice being traded of for two goldfish. But I would have preferred swapping one of my sisters. I had a spare one anyway! ;)
jiangyi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A boy traded his clueless dad who just sits on the couch reading newspaper all day and have no clue what's going on with his friend for 2 beautiful goldfishes, but when the boy's mother came back home, she yelled at the boy and told him to get his father back, but his friend traded his dad for something else, and this happened several times as he runs all over the town trying to get his dad back. Finally, he found his dad and brought him home but the dad didn't even have a clue of what happened and is still reading the same newspaper! What a weird father and what a weird son he has for trading something so priceless for something so common!
hebeaton on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I picked this book because of the illustrations. They are so cool and very different than any other children's book I had seen. After I read the book I liked it even more. It is about a boy who trades his dad for some goldfish and his dad keeps getting traded around to other people. It is very interesting and unlike most other children's books.
NataliaLucia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Personal Response: I loved the illustrations in this book. I also enjoyed the bickering between the brother and his little sister.Curricular Connection: In a First Grade Classroom, students can take turns reading the pages aloud at circle time. Then, the class can collectively make a chart of all the exchanges the children go through to get their father back.
ElizaJane on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately, I can't say I enjoyed this picture book much. A cliched story of swapping one thing for another ... and so on with a little twist that the thing being swapped is a boy's father. The father is oblivious to his repeatedly being swapped as he is immersed in reading the newspaper. When the mother finds out that father has been swapped for two goldfish she sends the son off to swap him back. Of course, when he arrives he finds out that his dad has been swapped for something else and the boy runs all over town re-swapping items until the mindless father is finally found. Can't say the story did anything for me at all and I really didn't like the portrayal of the clueless father. )A great book with a swapping theme that I highly recommend is The Seventeenth Swap by Eloise Jarvis McGraw.) However, I did really enjoy the mixed-media collage illustrations by McKean. I dabble in this myself and found myself studying the techniques used in each illustration.
dylantanner on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Trouble happens when a boy trades his dad for two goldfish. Goldfish are fun, but how hard is it going to be to get dad back. Well, a lot.Children's Picturebook, fanatsyI have a soft spot for Neil Gaiman and know him from adult fantasy and comic books, and I wasn't sure how well it would translate. As it turns out it translates pretty darn well. It's funny and irreverent and definitely something that kids can relate to.The downside of this book for the classroom is that the art is a little too loose, it's hard to relate to visually for kids. One-on-one you can walk through the story with a kid, but the messy pictures seem too busy for carpet time.
Dougy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I deify anyone not to love this book! It is such a fun, quirky tale that only the coldest person could not enjoy it. Even the title brings s mile to your face!
stipe168 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
a generous story of swapping and trading.. cute kids.. i guess i expected a bit more though...
silentq on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A young boy swaps his dad for two goldfish that his friend brings over. His mother protests, so he and his sister go out to do a series of swaps to get his dad back, as things got swapped onward. Dave McKean did the illustrations, so they're lush and slightly off kilter, a perfect complement to the slightly off kilter story. :)
kestrels on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Surely every kid has wanted to swap their dad for a pair of goldfish. But what happens when dad actually gets swapped?This is a terrific story, and I adore the art by Dave McKean. Ages 9 and up.
GeniusBabies on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The tale of a young boy who must undo a series of trades to get back his dad. It has its cute moments, but overall the story is somewhat lacking. The illustrations are interesting, though they give a somewhat creepy feel to the book. Overall an interesting read, but definitely not for everyone.
invisibleinkling on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Gaiman hits another gold star! My kids WILL know this book. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago