Death's Crooked Shadow

Death's Crooked Shadow

by Gordon N. Mcintosh

Hardcover

$30.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Use Standard Shipping. For guaranteed delivery by December 24, use Express or Expedited Shipping.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Death's Crooked Shadow 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
beckvalleybooks on LibraryThing 20 days ago
As Doug Sutherland is just about to start his new project of re-development, a body of alderman Danny Delaney is found inside one of the crumbling Greek columns. As he is investigated, it takes him on a journey back through his past.The building in question belonged to his dad who mysteriously disappeared 15 years ago along with a substantial amount of money. This leads to a trail of political corruption throughout the powers of Chicargo from businessmen, politicians and some members of the police force.As Doug tries to clear his Dad's name he locates certain documents and tapes which implicate the real culprits, as he approaches these people he puts his life and the life of his the sister of a murdered reporter, who is helping him, in danger.Who can he trust, as everyone he looks to for help has a hidden agenda or is either linked or has been bribed by the murderers. Each time he gets closer or receives information, the informer ends up dead. Can Doug find out the truth?The characters and the position and power they hold are current with the modern day and they way they act and respond to their fear are well described. This was a good follow up to the first instalment, The Lagarto Stone. I actually enjoyed this more than the first book as it was more believable and the actions of the bad guys reflected the power, corruption and the hold that certain individuals had over influencial peers.
MOMOF3CHAOS More than 1 year ago
Murder, greed, and corruption. Those are just a few things you'll find in Death's Crooked Shadow by Gordon N. McIntosh. An elaborate web of lies and deceit that will keep you guessing right up until the very end. This is an action packed thriller that is a must read! I had a really hard time putting this down. The thing I liked best about Death's Crooked Shadow, is that it's believable. Anytime you combine power and greed bad things happen and rich people try to cover it up. Also, I liked that it kept me guessing, and just when I thought I had it figured out there was a new twist. I really liked the main character, Doug Sutherland, for some reason when I picture him I see George Clooney. That being said, I think this has the makings for a good movie too! I look forward to reading more from Gordon N. McIntosh in the future.
khale46 More than 1 year ago
Some books - like this one - are simply a pleasure to read, great pool side books and also keep me up all night books. In Death's Crooked Shadow, Gordon N. McIntosh takes you on a riveting journey that begins immediately. Doug Sutherland is a leading man that takes you with him to every clue and every step of the way. The story revolves around Doug, a real estate developer who has stumbled upon a murder mystery. Clue after clue, search after search, more and more murder follow him until the conclusion. In a few simple words, this book to me was reminiscent of the first Michael Crichton book I ever read, Concrete Blonde. Not only were there mysterious bodies present, but it was the clue upon clue that kept you spinning that reminded me how much I loved that book. Yes, I will say that Gordon hits it out of the ballpark with this one. Although lengthy descriptions and what some would possibly say "adjective heavy" at times, this is a 4 star book that is narrowing in on 5 stars. I definitely look forward to reading his future books to see how he builds upon the talent he already has.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Real estate developer Doug Sutherland thinks it is just going to be another sweltering summer day in Chicago. But when the foreman restoring his late father's rundown office building discovers a skull and human bones encased in a crumbling Greek column, Sutherland is suddenly propelled into a cauldron of greed, sadism, and murder. The last thing Sutherland needs is bad publicity. When he learns the victim is notorious alderman Danny Delaney, however, he realizes a fifteen-year-old mystery is about to be solved-and that now, his deceased father is one of the prime suspects. Then the murdered man's notebook and videotapes suddenly surface, and Sutherland discovers that his father had more secrets than he ever realized. As he is relentlessly harassed for what he might know-endangering both his life and his business-Sutherland must convince everyone that he knows nothing. Unfortunately, no one believes him. As a desperate Sutherland collaborates with an ambitious reporter and his calculating sister in a pursuit strewn with murder victims, he soon finds out that trusting the wrong person can lead to dire consequences. My review: I found this book to be real interesting. I enjoyed reading it but the question remains would I have spent my own money to buy this book to read it? The answer to that question is no. Yes it is a good book but I tend to be picky about the little money I have and what books I buy for myself. This is where your going to get confused because I would tell all my readers to read this book somehow. I would say about 75% of my readers should go out and actually buy it with their own money. I do want the author to know that he is a wonderful author in my eyes and I hope he keeps up the great work. Stars I give this book: ***** (5)
MeganCoffie More than 1 year ago
Doug Sutherland is just another real estate developer in Chicago... except for the fact that a body has just been found in his dad's old office building. The body belongs to the famous alderman, Danny Delaney, making it an even bigger mystery. How did he get there and who put him there? Was it Doug's father? Does Doug know what happened? I love the idea of this book. A sexy, wealthy business owner thrown into a murder mystery. It sounds like it would make a great movie, right? I was really into it for the first couple of chapters but I just wished it moved a little bit faster. My attention span seems to shorten each and every day so for me, less is more. That being said, I thought that the overall story was pretty good. It's a book that will keep you guessing and it's quite complex. Several times I thought I had the book figured out but then something or someone new came along to mess up my idea! The characters and situations seemed realistic which isn't always true for suspense novels. This could be the reason why I found it to be slightly slow moving! When you're spoiled by TV shows that solve murder mysteries in under an hour, it can be a little misleading. While others are writing quick, cookie-cutter thrillers, the fact that Gordon McIntosh was able to write a story that's both believable and complex is commendable. It leaves me to wonder how fictitious it is... kidding, kidding.
beckvalleybooks More than 1 year ago
As Doug Sutherland is just about to start his new project of re-development, a body of alderman Danny Delaney is found inside one of the crumbling Greek columns. As he is investigated, it takes him on a journey back through his past. The building in question belonged to his dad who mysteriously disappeared 15 years ago along with a substantial amount of money. This leads to a trail of political corruption throughout the powers of Chicargo from businessmen, politicians and some members of the police force. As Doug tries to clear his Dad's name he locates certain documents and tapes which implicate the real culprits, as he approaches these people he puts his life and the life of his the sister of a murdered reporter, who is helping him, in danger. Who can he trust, as everyone he looks to for help has a hidden agenda or is either linked or has been bribed by the murderers. Each time he gets closer or receives information, the informer ends up dead. Can Doug find out the truth? The characters and the position and power they hold are current with the modern day and they way they act and respond to their fear are well described. This was a good follow up to the first instalment, The Lagarto Stone. I actually enjoyed this more than the first book as it was more believable and the actions of the bad guys reflected the power, corruption and the hold that certain individuals had over influencial peers.
hink521 More than 1 year ago
Suspense novels are my favorite, the rush you get when you cannot read the page fast enough. This book got my blood racing. It takes you back 15yrs into a murder mystery, with many suspects. I really liked how the author pulled you into each and every one, you lived their triumphs as well as their fears. As the story progressed, you think you have it figured out, and WHAM!!!! Did not see that coming. This was the first novel for my by Gordon McIntosh and I cannot wait until I get another of his novels. If you love Mystery Novels, get your hands on this one, you won't regret it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think I’ve said before just how much I love a mystery. I’m addicted to mystery books, tv shows and movies – always have been. As a lover of mystery, I tend to scrutinize them and long for a fast paced story that keeps me thinking. Mr McIntosh certainly hits one out of the park for me with Death’s Crooked Shadow! This story revolves around a real estate developer, Doug Sutherland, who is thrown into a 15 yr old murder mystery that looks as though it involves his father. With the suspected involvement of his father, Doug is also under suspicion and has to work with a reporter to help prove his innocence. As the story develops, you find there are many secrets lurking in the past of his family. I found the characters in this book to be very well developed and you find yourself in tune with each of them. It was easy to picture the events the events of the book and you sense the desperation that Doug feels. Very much a page turner and I finished it overnight! Death’s Crooked Shadow won an Editors Choice award from iUniverse and it is no surprise to me. I just finished reading The Lagarto Stone by Gordon McIntosh and enjoyed it very much, so I’m really looking forward to more from this author!